F&J Spence Bell Tua FBO Duke UNV

Private foundation · Grantmaker Saint Louis, MO EIN: 56-6064953

F&J Spence Bell Tua FBO Duke UNV is a private foundation, based in Saint Louis, MO. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $78K in total assets. In 2025, it made $8K in qualifying distributions. Net investment income was $17K.

F&J Spence Bell Tua FBO Duke UNV at a glance

Total assets
$78,396
+11.8% vs 2024
Revenue (2025)
$17,523
+422.3% vs 2024
Qualifying distributions (2025)
$8,165
+3.2% vs 2024
Expenses (2025)
$9,059
-3.9% vs 2024
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.

Who F&J Spence Bell Tua FBO Duke UNV funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Grant Size Distribution

4 grants across all recorded years

4<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 4 grants of 4 (100%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

1state

Cities

Durham

How F&J Spence Bell Tua FBO Duke UNV gives

  • Giving held roughly steady from 2021 to 2024 (+0%). Method
  • In 2025 it paid out 222% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$1K$2K$3K$4K1 grant2020 1 grant2021 1 grant2022 1 grant2023 1 grant2024 0 grants2025

From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $3K (2023) to $4K (2024). In 2024 it made 1 grant totaling $4K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Duke University Durham, NCGeneral Operating$3,500
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with F&J Spence Bell Tua FBO Duke UNV?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsQualifying DistributionsNet Investment IncomeDistributable Amount
2025$78,396$17,523$9,059——$8,165$16,921$3,679
2024$70,141$3,355$9,425$3,5001$7,912$1,855$4,023
2023$76,174$1,760$5,651$3,0001$4,220$830$3,839
2022$80,071$1,634$6,498$3,5001$4,664$857$4,119
2021$84,954$14,273$6,500$3,5001$4,663$12,532$4,540
2020$77,209$5,542$6,161$3,5001—$4,006$4,072

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, F&J Spence Bell Tua FBO Duke UNV reported a distributable amount of $4K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

F&J Spence Bell Tua FBO Duke UNV's only listed officer is Wells Fargo Bank N A, Trustee on every filing since 2020 (compensated).

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Wells Fargo Bank N A

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    $2K (2020) → $662 (2025)

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Wells Fargo Bank N a — Trustee: $662Wells Fargo Bank N aTrustee$662

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $662, to Wells Fargo Bank N a (Trustee).

Frequently asked questions about F&J Spence Bell Tua FBO Duke UNV

How large is F&J Spence Bell Tua FBO Duke UNV?

F&J Spence Bell Tua FBO Duke UNV reported $78K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $8K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $4K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).

Where does F&J Spence Bell Tua FBO Duke UNV operate?

F&J Spence Bell Tua FBO Duke UNV has awarded grants in North Carolina.

What is F&J Spence Bell Tua FBO Duke UNV's EIN?

F&J Spence Bell Tua FBO Duke UNV's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 56-6064953. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.

Data update history

(6)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS May 7, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS May 11, 2022)
  3. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS May 9, 2023)
  4. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS April 19, 2024)
  5. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS May 6, 2025)
  6. Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 4, 2026)

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in F&J Spence Bell Tua FBO Duke UNV's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders with grantees in common

The Horn Foundation

Santa Monica, CA

The Horn Foundation supports education and environmental projects, along with organizations addressing related social and environmental challenges, with 2024 grants ranging from $500 to $550,000 and a median of $15,000. Its 2024 giving went mainly to recipients in New York, California, Washington, D.C., Massachusetts, and North Carolina. It does not accept unsolicited requests and gives only to preselected organizations.

Assets

$57.0M

Grants

61

Total Given

$3.2M

Fite Family Foundation

Santa Monica, CA

The Fite Family Foundation supports preselected charitable organizations, including schools, universities, foundations, hospitals, and media organizations. Its 2024 grants ranged from $2,500 to $300,000, with a median of $30,000, and went mainly to recipients in New York and California, with additional funding in North Carolina, Tennessee, and Illinois. It does not accept unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$7.6M

Grants

17

Total Given

$1.0M

David Mitchell Marcus Foundation

Carbondale, CO

Assets

$325K

Grants

6

Total Given

$30K

Society for Conservation Biology

Washington, DC

SCB funds applied conservation biology projects at universities and other organizations, as well as conservation research awards and fellowships. Its 2025 grants ranged from $12,000 to $117,528, with a median of $111,185, and its programs and community are global; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Environment & Animals

Assets

$4.1M

Grants

15

Total Given

$1.2M

Creighton University

Omaha, NE

Creighton University’s outside grants support education, health, community services, arts and cultural activities, and other organizations, primarily in Nebraska, with some giving in Arizona and elsewhere. In 2025, its 14 grants ranged from $6,000 to $150,000, with a median of $12,500. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Education

Assets

$2.2B

Grants

14

Total Given

$363K

The Schlanger Family Foundation Inc

Boca Raton, FL

The Schlanger Family Foundation supports a range of charitable organizations, including health and education groups, with 2025 grants typically around $8,750 (median; awards ranged from $2,000 to $107,500). Based in Boca Raton, Florida, it gave most of its 2025 grant dollars to organizations in New York, followed by Florida, New Jersey, Michigan, and North Carolina. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$7.4M

Grants

22

Total Given

$357K

More similar funders

More Funders in Missouri

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from F&J Spence Bell Tua FBO Duke UNV's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

F&J Spence Bell Tua FBO Duke UNV down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?