Dr Lorna Breen Heroes' Foundation logo

Dr Lorna Breen Heroes' Foundation

Public charity · Grantmaker Charlottesville, VA EIN: 85-1509081 Website

The foundation's mission is to reduce burnout of health care professionals and safeguard their well-being and job satisfaction. We envision a world where seeking mental health services is universally viewed as a sign of strength for health care professionals.

Key facts about Dr Lorna Breen Heroes' Foundation

In short: Dr Lorna Breen Heroes' Foundation gave $186K across 2 grants in 2025 (avg $93K), mostly in Maryland. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.

EIN
85-1509081
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2025
Annual giving (2025)
$185,500
Grants made (2025)
2
Average grant
$92,750
Median grant
$92,750
Total assets
$2,202,994
Primary geography
Maryland (81% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)

Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.

Financial Overview

From 2025 IRS Form 990 · View filing

Total Assets

$2.2M

-3.0% YoY

Annual Giving

$186K

Grant Count

2

Avg Grant Size

$93K

About Dr Lorna Breen Heroes' Foundation

Based on IRS filings

Dr Lorna Breen Heroes' Foundation is a public charity focused on Mental Health & Crisis Intervention, based in Charlottesville, VA. IRS filing data is available from 2021 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $2.2M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 2 grants totaling $186K. Net investment income was $55K.

Open Grants

1 open opportunity from Dr Lorna Breen Heroes' Foundation

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Dr Lorna Breen Heroes' Foundation?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

2states

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 2 itemized grants.

Cities

ElkridgeSeattle

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$50K$100K$150K$200K0 grants2021 0 grants2022 0 grants2023 0 grants2024 2 grants2025

In 2025 it made 2 grants totaling $186K.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 2 recipients in 2025

Ghanaian-Diaspora Nursing Alliance: $150KGhanaian-Diaspora NursingAlliance$150KSeattle Childern's Foundation: $36KSeattle Childern's Foundation$36K

The largest 2025 recipient was Ghanaian-Diaspora Nursing Alliance ($150K). Together the top 2 received $186K.

Grant Size Distribution

2 grants across all recorded years

1<$50K$50–100K1$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 1 grant of 2 (50%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Ghanaian-Diaspora Nursing Alliance Elkridge, MDGrantmaking for programs aimed at reducing burnout and improving the mental health of healthcare professionals$149,985
Seattle Childern's Foundation Seattle, WAGrantmaking for programs aimed at reducing burnout and improving the mental health of healthcare professionals$35,515

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Revenue
Expenses
Net Investment Income
$0$1M$2M$3M2021 2022 2023 2024 2025
Metric202520242023
Total Assets$2,202,994$2,270,141$1,155,908
Revenue$2,274,094$2,070,322$1,527,262
Expenses$2,223,060$1,400,668$744,313
Net Investment Income$54,573$36,499—

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS August 23, 2024)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS November 12, 2025)
  3. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2021–2025

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Dr Lorna Breen Heroes' Foundation is led by J. Corey Feist, Chief Executive Officer since 2024 (on filings since 2021); 2 of 11 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • J. Corey Feist

    Chief Executive Officer

    President → Chief Executive Officer, 2024

    On filings since 2021

    40 hrs/week

    $224K (2022) → $250K (2025)

  • Jennifer Feist

    Chair & Treasurer

    Treasurer → President & Treasurer, 2024

    President & Treasurer → Chair & Treasurer, 2025

    On filings since 2021

    8 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Katie Wright

    Director

    On filings since 2021

    5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Pamela Cipriano

    Director

    On filings since 2021

    5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jonathan Ripp

    Director

    On filings since 2022

    5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Timothy Brigham

    Director

    On filings since 2022

    5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jake Goodman

    Director

    New on the 2025 filing

    5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Leigh Cantrell

    Director

    New on the 2025 filing

    5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Stefanie Simmons

    Chief Medical Officer

    Director → Chief Medical Officer, 2024

    On filings since 2021

    40 hrs/week

    $133K (2024) → $265K (2025)

  • Deborah Marcus

    Vice Chair

    Director → Vice President, 2024

    Vice President → Vice Chair, 2025

    On filings since 2021

    8 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Nathalie Douge

    Secretary

    Director → Secretary, 2024

    On filings since 2022

    8 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (3)
  • Former: Vivian Riefberg (2021–2024) — Director
  • Former: Linda Cantrell (2022–2024) — Director
  • Former: Kara Ramirez Mullins (2021–2023) — Director

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2021–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Stefanie Simmons — Chief Medical Officer: $265KStefanie SimmonsChief Medical Officer$265KJ Corey Feist — Chief Executive Officer: $250KJ Corey FeistChief Executive Officer$250K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $265K, to Stefanie Simmons (Chief Medical Officer). 2 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Frequently asked questions about Dr Lorna Breen Heroes' Foundation

How much does Dr Lorna Breen Heroes' Foundation give each year?

Dr Lorna Breen Heroes' Foundation gave $186K across 2 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990.

How large is Dr Lorna Breen Heroes' Foundation?

Dr Lorna Breen Heroes' Foundation reported $2.2M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $2.3M.

What is Dr Lorna Breen Heroes' Foundation?

Dr Lorna Breen Heroes' Foundation is a public charity focused on Mental Health & Crisis Intervention, based in Charlottesville, VA. It holds $2.2M in total assets as of 2025.

Where does Dr Lorna Breen Heroes' Foundation operate?

Dr Lorna Breen Heroes' Foundation has awarded grants in Maryland, Washington.

What is Dr Lorna Breen Heroes' Foundation's EIN?

Dr Lorna Breen Heroes' Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 85-1509081. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2021–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching Dr Lorna Breen Heroes' Foundation by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Dr Lorna Breen Heroes' Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Virginia

Gates Foundation

Seattle, WA

The Gates Foundation funds work on global health, poverty reduction, gender equality, economic opportunity, and U.S. education, primarily in low-income countries and the United States. Its 2024 grants had a median of $500,000, though amounts varied widely. It generally does not accept unsolicited requests; organizations are usually invited to apply, with occasional published funding opportunities.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$78.7B

Grants

4,974

Total Given

$6.3B

Jack Kent Cooke Foundation

Lansdowne, VA

The Jack Kent Cooke Foundation funds education for exceptionally promising students with financial need, through student scholarships and grants to organizations serving them. Its 2025 grants ranged from $6 to $515,000, with a median of $7,702; 86% of grant dollars went to Virginia recipients, with others across multiple states and Washington, D.C. The available information does not state whether it accepts unsolicited organizational requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$940.1M

Grants

1,419

Total Given

$25.1M

Donors Trust Inc

Alexandria, VA

Donors Trust supports charities and programs in social welfare, health, the environment, economics, governance, foreign relations, and arts and culture, with a strong emphasis on conservative and libertarian policy and education groups. Its 2024 grants had a median of $50,000, though awards ranged from $5,038 to $35 million, and recipients were concentrated in Washington, D.C., Virginia, New York, Texas, and California. It does not accept unsolicited requests; donor-advisors recommend grants through their accounts.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$1.4B

Grants

919

Total Given

$282.1M

The Community Foundation Inc

Richmond, VA

The Community Foundation funds health and wellness, education, economic prosperity, and community vibrancy, as well as other causes through donor-advised and field-of-interest funds. Its 2024 grants had a median of $25,000, with awards ranging from $5,100 to $1.795 million; most funding went to Virginia, especially the Richmond area. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$852.4M

Grants

917

Total Given

$61.8M

America's Charities

Chantilly, VA

America’s Charities distributes workplace-giving contributions to member nonprofits working in areas such as education, health, hunger, human rights, and disaster relief; it also manages emergency assistance for eligible employees. In 2024, reported grants ranged from $5,017 to $1,379,226, with a median of $9,674, and recipients were concentrated in California, Virginia, D.C., Maryland, and Pennsylvania. These disbursements are donor-directed contributions rather than competitive grants; the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Assets

$36.2M

Grants

808

Total Given

$16.4M

Dominion Energy Charitable Foundation

Richmond, VA

Dominion Energy Charitable Foundation funds eligible 501(c)(3) organizations in health and human services, education, arts and culture, civic and community development, and the environment within Dominion’s operating area. Its 2024 grants ranged from $100 to $1 million, with a median of $5,000. It accepts online applications during spring and fall grant cycles.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$2.3M

Grants

773

Total Given

$16.4M

The Nature Conservancy

Arlington, VA

The Nature Conservancy funds conservation activities, including land and water protection, climate resilience, and conservation partnerships, with grants reaching organizations and projects in many locations worldwide. Its 2025 grants had a median of about $31,000, while its New York Climate Resilience program offered grants of up to $50,000 for acquisition and $25,000 for planning and capacity; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$10.1B

Grants

671

Total Given

$67.8M

Foster Foundation

Brookneal, VA

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$18.6M

Grants

686

Total Given

$1.3M

Charlottesville Area Community Foundation

Charlottesville, VA

Charlottesville Area Community funds nonprofits, schools, and government agencies working in areas such as youth development, essential needs, housing, the environment, arts, and racial equity across Charlottesville and surrounding counties. Its 2024 itemized grants ranged from $5,300 to $1,217,019, with a median of $20,100. It offers application-based grants through several funds; the profile describes application procedures but does not explicitly state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$292.3M

Grants

437

Total Given

$27.9M

JT-Minnie Maude Charitable Trust

Danville, VA

The J.T.–Minnie Maude Charitable Trust funds tax-exempt organizations and government agencies for a wide range of projects that improve quality of life for residents of Danville and/or Pittsylvania County, Virginia. Its 2025 grants had a median of $2,000 and ranged from $500 to $220,000. It accepts unsolicited requests through an online application, with an annual August 1 deadline.

Assets

$51.2M

Grants

678

Total Given

$2.3M

NRA Foundation Inc

Fairfax, VA

The NRA Foundation funds firearm and hunting safety, shooting-sports and marksmanship programs, firearms education, conservation, and related training across the United States. Its 2024 median grant was $2,677, though awards varied widely; 72% of grant dollars went to Virginia recipients. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$212.2M

Grants

510

Total Given

$13.9M

More Funders in Virginia

Dr Lorna Breen Heroes' Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?