Doug and Melanie Wilson Family
Doug and Melanie Wilson Family is a private foundation, based in Destin, FL. IRS filing data is available from 2022 through 2024. As of 2024, the organization holds $1.4M in total assets. In 2024, it awarded 7 grants totaling $63K. Net investment income was $40K.
Key facts about Doug and Melanie Wilson Family
In short: Doug and Melanie Wilson Family gave $63K across 7 grants in 2024 (avg $9K), mostly in Mississippi. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.
- EIN
- 92-1215184
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2024
- Annual giving (2024)
- $63,000
- Grants made (2024)
- 7
- Average grant
- $9,000
- Median grant
- $6,000
- Total assets
- $1,361,046
- Primary geography
- Mississippi (87% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2024; updated September 2026.
Financial Overview
From 2024 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing
Total Assets
$1.4M
+31.8% YoY
Annual Giving
$63K
+26.0% YoY
Grant Count
7
+250.0% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$9K
-64.0% YoY
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Doug and Melanie Wilson Family reported a distributable amount of $63K for 2024 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
How Doug and Melanie Wilson Family gives
- In 2024 it paid out 105% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.
Ready to take the next step with Doug and Melanie Wilson Family?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 7 itemized grants.
States
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2023 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $50K (2023) to $63K (2024). In 2024 it made 7 grants totaling $63K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 7 recipients in 2024
The largest 2024 recipient was University of Mississippi ($25K). Together the top 7 received $63K.
Grant Size Distribution
9 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 9 grants of 9 (100%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| University of Mississippi Oxford, MS | School of Business | $25,000 |
| Christ Covenant School Ridgeland, MS | Building Fund | $20,000 |
| Canopy Children's Services Jackson, MS | General Support | $6,000 |
| Daystar Counseling Ministries Inc Nashville, TN | General Support | $6,000 |
| Promise Keepers Colorado Springs, CO | General Suppor | $2,000 |
| Real Christian Foundation Richland, MS | General Support | $2,000 |
| Christian Valley Missionary Baptist Church Silver City, MS | General Support | $2,000 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Metric | 2024 | 2023 | 2022 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $1,361,046 | $1,032,333 | $998,463 |
| Revenue | $40,301 | $-42,830 | $991,258 |
| Expenses | $65,428 | $55,406 | — |
| Qualifying Distributions | $65,428 | $50,000 | — |
| Net Investment Income | $40,301 | $26,235 | — |
| Distributable Amount | $62,540 | $50,869 | $4,042 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2022–2024
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Doug and Melanie Wilson Family is led by Doug Wilson, Director on every filing since 2022 — the only officer listed, and uncompensated.
Officers on the 2024 filing
Doug Wilson
Director
On filings since 2022
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2022–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Frequently asked questions about Doug and Melanie Wilson Family
How much does Doug and Melanie Wilson Family give each year?
Doug and Melanie Wilson Family gave $63K across 7 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2023 it gave $50K across 2 grants.
What is Doug and Melanie Wilson Family's typical grant size?
Doug and Melanie Wilson Family's median grant in 2024 was $6,000, and its average grant was $9,000, across 7 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.
Where does Doug and Melanie Wilson Family give grants?
Doug and Melanie Wilson Family gives mostly in Mississippi: 87% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest state was Tennessee (10%).
Does Doug and Melanie Wilson Family give general operating support?
Yes: 71% of Doug and Melanie Wilson Family's 2024 grants with a stated purpose (5 of 7) were for general or operating support, per its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.
Who are Doug and Melanie Wilson Family's largest grantees?
Doug and Melanie Wilson Family's largest 2024 grantees include University of Mississippi ($25,000), Christ Covenant School ($20,000) and Canopy Children's Services ($6,000), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 81% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.
How large is Doug and Melanie Wilson Family?
Doug and Melanie Wilson Family reported $1.4M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $65K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $63K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What is Doug and Melanie Wilson Family's EIN?
Doug and Melanie Wilson Family's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 92-1215184. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2022–2024.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.
Here's the math on researching Doug and Melanie Wilson Family by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Doug and Melanie Wilson Family's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders with grantees in common
Make a Difference Foundation
Ridgeland, MS
Assets
$481K
Grants
8
Total Given
$159K
C Spire Foundation
Ridgeland, MS
C Spire Foundation primarily funds STEM and STEAM education, digital literacy, technology, professional skills, and workforce development, mainly in Mississippi, Tennessee, and Alabama, with a strong emphasis on Mississippi. Its 2025 grants ranged from $1,000 to $100,000, with a median of $7,500. It accepts formal requests through an online application from eligible 501(c)(3) organizations; the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$364K
Grants
41
Total Given
$617K
Feild Co-Operative Association
Ridgeland, MS
The association supports charitable, educational, and scientific causes, with 2024 grants benefiting organizations in areas including education, health care, children’s services, youth leadership, and community support; it also offers supplemental student loans to eligible Mississippi residents. Its 59 grants in 2024 totaled $837,500, ranging from $5,000 to $40,000, with a median of $10,000, and most funding went to Mississippi. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited grant requests.
Assets
$31.8M
Grants
59
Total Given
$838K
The Reba & Dave Williams Foundation for Literature & the Arts
Charlottesville, VA
Assets
$22K
Grants
1
Total Given
$25K
College Art Association of America Inc
New York, NY
The college art association (CAA), as the preeminent international leadership organization in the visual arts, promotes these arts and their understanding through advocacy, intellectual engagement, and a commitment to the diversity of practices and practitioners.
Assets
$12.2M
Grants
2
Total Given
$18K
Giggle Foundation Inc
Newport Beach, CA
Assets
$49K
Grants
3
Total Given
$5K
Jack E Dawson Charitable Fund
Columbia, MO
Assets
$385K
Grants
4
Total Given
$14K
Soli DEO Gloria Foundation
Nashville, TN
Assets
$6.3M
Grants
8
Total Given
$464K
Francis F Carnes Education Charitable Trust
Jefferson, WI
The trust’s 2026 grants supported college scholarships, with 15 awards totaling $42,000—typically $1,500–$3,000—and most funding going to Wisconsin, with some grants in Iowa and Ohio. Its 2025 filing says it does not accept unsolicited requests and limits awards to preselected organizations; it also describes a scholarship application process, but that filing is marked final, so the process may no longer be current.
Assets
—
Grants
15
Total Given
$42K
The Mabel Amos Memorial Fund
Montgomery, AL
The Mabel Amos Memorial Fund provides scholarships to young men and women from Alabama attending any educational institution. In 2025, it awarded 18 grants totaling $373,600, ranging from $500 to $150,850, with a median award of $4,750. It does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests; applicants are directed to contact Regions Bank and apply through a link shared by high school counselors.
Assets
$6.3M
Grants
18
Total Given
$374K
R D Cundiff Scholarship Trust Dtd 10121
East Peoria, IL
The R D Cundiff Scholarship Trust funds scholarships through colleges and universities, primarily in Illinois, with smaller grants reaching nearby states. In 2025, it awarded 19 grants totaling $128,775; awards ranged from $1,925 to $27,525, with a median of $1,925. It accepts no unsolicited requests and gives only to preselected organizations.
Assets
$3.0M
Grants
19
Total Given
$129K
Dorsey J Barefield Charitable
Pearl, MS
The foundation supports charitable organizations, including schools, service organizations, and cultural organizations, with most of its giving in Mississippi. Its 2025 grants ranged from $1,000 to $10,000, with a median of $4,000. It gives only to preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$1.1M
Grants
20
Total Given
$80K
More Funders in Florida
Doug and Melanie Wilson Family down — hundreds of funders to go?