Dale Earnhardt Foundation Inc
Dale Earnhardt Foundation Inc is a private foundation focused on Human Services, based in Mooresville, NC. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2024. As of 2024, the organization holds $4.8M in total assets. In 2024, it awarded 1 grant totaling $600K. Net investment income was $577K.
Dale Earnhardt Foundation Inc at a glance
In short: Dale Earnhardt Foundation Inc gave $600K across 1 grant in 2024 (avg $600K), mostly in North Carolina. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.
- Annual giving (2024)
- $600,000
- +147.9% vs 2023
- Grants made (2024)
- 1
- -75.0% vs 2023
- Average grant
- $600,000
- +891.7% vs 2023
- Median grant
- $600,000
- Total assets
- $4,823,350
- -6.1% vs 2023
- Primary geography
- North Carolina (100% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2024 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2024; updated September 2026.
Who Dale Earnhardt Foundation Inc funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top recipient in 2024
The largest 2024 recipient was Catawba Valley Community College ($600K).
Grant Size Distribution
7 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 4 grants of 7 (57%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of the 2024 grant dollars on its one itemized grant.
States
Cities
How Dale Earnhardt Foundation Inc gives
- In 2024 it paid out 269% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2022 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $60K (2022) to $600K (2024). In 2024 it made 1 grant totaling $600K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Catawba Valley Community College Hickory, NC | Endowment & Operations | $600,000 |
Ready to take the next step with Dale Earnhardt Foundation Inc?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Qualifying Distributions | Net Investment Income | Distributable Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | $4,823,350 | $646,308 | $2,013,608 | $600,000 | 1 | $691,102 | $577,418 | $256,616 |
| 2023 | $5,134,671 | $391,332 | $408,093 | $242,000 | 4 | $336,695 | $295,691 | $240,689 |
| 2022 | $4,689,209 | $-126,995 | $216,147 | $60,000 | 2 | $147,438 | $51,484 | $258,467 |
| 2021 | $6,060,217 | $1,004,880 | $169,897 | — | — | $81,040 | $930,717 | $271,085 |
| 2020 | $5,053,402 | $681,012 | $147,674 | — | — | — | $628,671 | $199,840 |
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Dale Earnhardt Foundation Inc reported a distributable amount of $257K for 2024 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Dale Earnhardt Foundation Inc is led by Teresa Earnhardt, Chair & Treasurer on every filing since 2020; 1 of 3 officers listed in 2024 is compensated.
Officers on the 2024 filing
Teresa Earnhardt
Chair & Treasurer
On filings since 2020
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Pat LeGare
Director
On filings since 2020
15 hrs/week
$38K (2020) → $29K (2024)
Judy Queen
Secretary
On filings since 2020
4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2024 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2024 filing was $29K, to Pat LeGare (Director).
Frequently asked questions about Dale Earnhardt Foundation Inc
How much does Dale Earnhardt Foundation Inc give each year?
Dale Earnhardt Foundation Inc gave $600K across 1 grant in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2023 it gave $242K across 4 grants.
How large is Dale Earnhardt Foundation Inc?
Dale Earnhardt Foundation Inc reported $4.8M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $691K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $257K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What is Dale Earnhardt Foundation Inc?
Dale Earnhardt Foundation Inc is a private foundation focused on Human Services, based in Mooresville, NC. It holds $4.8M in total assets as of 2024.
Where does Dale Earnhardt Foundation Inc operate?
Dale Earnhardt Foundation Inc has awarded grants in North Carolina, Tennessee.
What is Dale Earnhardt Foundation Inc's EIN?
Dale Earnhardt Foundation Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 51-0421279. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.
Data update history
(1)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Dale Earnhardt Foundation Inc's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders with grantees in common
Dogwood Health Trust
Asheville, NC
Dogwood Health Trust funds work in housing, education, economic opportunity, and health and wellness that improves wellbeing in Western North Carolina, including its 18 counties and the Qualla Boundary. Its 2024 grants ranged from $2,000 to $21 million, with a median of $37,500; application requirements vary by funding opportunity.
Assets
$2.0B
Grants
835
Total Given
$148.2M
Spartanburg County Foundation
Spartanburg, SC
The Spartanburg County Foundation funds nonprofits and community groups serving Spartanburg County residents, with priorities including quality of life, education, economic mobility, and organizational capacity. Its itemized 2025 grants had a median of $15,500; listed programs offer awards of up to $10,000–$35,000.
Assets
$280.4M
Grants
227
Total Given
$19.0M
The Emily B Andrews Memorial Foundation
Morganton, NC
Assets
$137K
Grants
9
Total Given
$22K
NC Idea
Durham, NC
NC IDEA funds innovative, growth-oriented North Carolina companies and organizations that strengthen the state’s entrepreneurial ecosystem, with a focus on expanding opportunity for Black entrepreneurs and underserved communities. Company grants are typically $10,000 through MICRO or $50,000 through SEED; its 2025 grants overall ranged from $1,050 to $65,000. It accepts applications through grant-program cycles, generally held twice a year.
Assets
$51.6M
Grants
190
Total Given
$2.6M
North Carolina Community Colleges Foundation
Raleigh, NC
The foundation funds scholarships, grant development, and nursing and health-workforce programs through North Carolina community colleges and their foundations. Its 2025 grants ranged from $8,000 to $467,479, with a median of about $19,000, and all reported grants went to North Carolina recipients. The available information does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$14.9M
Grants
36
Total Given
$4.4M
FA Furniture Foundation
High Point, NC
FA Furniture Foundation funds education and research that directly benefit the home furnishings industry, including scholarships and educational initiatives. Its 2025 grants ranged from $1,250 to $15,000, with a median of $2,500; most funding went to North Carolina recipients. Application instructions are provided, but whether unsolicited requests are accepted is not stated.
Assets
$1.2M
Grants
16
Total Given
$75K
More similar funders
More Funders in North Carolina
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from Dale Earnhardt Foundation Inc's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
Dale Earnhardt Foundation Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?