D H Jones Family Foundation
D H Jones Family Foundation is a private foundation based in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, and files as a Form 990-PF organization. Its 2021 filing is marked as its final return, indicating that it appears to have wound down or stopped grantmaking.
D H Jones Family Foundation at a glance
In short: D H Jones Family Foundation gave $266K across 27 grants in 2021 (avg $10K), mostly in Indiana. 4% of 2021 grantees were new. Source: 2021 IRS Form 990-PF.
- Annual giving (2021)
- $266,085
- +5597.8% vs 2020
- Grants made (2021)
- 27
- +0.0% vs 2020
- Average grant
- $9,855
- +5597.8% vs 2020
- Median grant
- $9,855
- New grantees (estimate)
- 4% first-time grantees (1 of 27, 2021)
- Primary geography
- Indiana (89% of itemized 2021 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2021 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2021; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology).
How to apply to D H Jones Family Foundation
- Accepts unsolicited proposals
- No
- How to Apply
-
The foundation does not accept unsolicited requests for funds and states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations. Its 2021 filing is marked as a final return.
- Contact
Mailing address: 116 Allegheny Center Mall P8Yb3502L, Pittsburgh, PA 15212
Phone: (412) 807-6328
Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Who D H Jones Family Foundation funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2021
The largest 2021 recipient was Fort Wayne Rescue Mission ($10K). Together the top 10 received $99K.
Grant Size Distribution
81 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 81 grants of 81 (100%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
The 2021 filing reports that 89% of grant dollars went to Indiana recipients, with 4% each going to recipients in Washington, DC, Illinois, and Tennessee. Many listed recipients were based in Fort Wayne, Indiana.
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2021 grant dollars across all 27 itemized grants.
Cities
Is D H Jones Family Foundation open to new grantees?
4%
first-time grantees, 2021
In 2021, 1 of 27 grantees (4%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $10K; repeat grants $10K. How we count
Medians: $10K first-time, $10K repeat.
- 96% of 2021 grantees were also funded in 2020. Method
- In 2021 it paid out well above its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2019–2021). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2019 to 2021, annual grant giving ranged from $4K (2019) to $266K (2021). In 2021 it made 27 grants totaling $266K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Fort Wayne Rescue Mission Fort Wayne, IN | General Support | $9,855 |
| American Red Cross Washington, DC | General Support | $9,855 |
| Cancer Serv of Allen CO Fort Wayne, IN | General Support | $9,855 |
| Anthony Wayne Area Council Inc Fort Wayne, IN | Boy Scouts of America | $9,855 |
| Erin's House - Grieving Children Fort Wayne, IN | General Support | $9,855 |
| Parkview Foundation Fort Wayne, IN | General Support | $9,855 |
| Fort Wayne Park Foundation Ft Wayne, IN | General Support | $9,855 |
| Scan Fort Wayne, IN | General Support | $9,855 |
| Audience Unlimited Inc Fort Wayne, IN | General Support | $9,855 |
| Community Harvest Food Bank Fort Wayne, IN | General Support | $9,855 |
Ready to take the next step with D H Jones Family Foundation?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Qualifying Distributions | Net Investment Income | Distributable Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | — | $147,444 | $266,909 | $266,085 | 27 | $266,087 | — | $1,017 |
| 2020 | $119,468 | $31,179 | $5,427 | $4,670 | 27 | — | $30,799 | $5,901 |
| 2019 | $93,589 | $3,181 | $6,705 | $3,618 | 27 | — | $1,836 | $6,550 |
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, D H Jones Family Foundation reported a distributable amount of $1K for 2021 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.
Mission & Focus Areas
No foundation mission statement is provided. Its 2021 grants went to organizations working in areas including food and housing assistance, child and family services, health, scouting, parks, and grief support.
The grantees describe their own work in varied ways: Fort Wayne Rescue Mission says it provides a home for people experiencing homelessness, food for people who are hungry, and hope for the future; Homebound Meals says it delivers hot, nutritious, low-cost meals to people who are shut in, usually older adults. IRIS Family Support Center, formerly known as SCAN, says it works to protect children, prepare parents, strengthen families, and educate the community to stop child abuse and neglect. Fort Wayne Park Foundation says it preserves green spaces and provides free and affordable leisure opportunities.
Grantmaking
In 2021, the foundation reported 27 grants totaling $266,085. Each grant was $9,855, making $9,855 the median as well as the smallest and largest grant reported. Recipients included Fort Wayne Rescue Mission, Cancer Services of Allen County, Anthony Wayne Area Council, Erin’s House – Grieving Children, Parkview Foundation, Fort Wayne Park Foundation, SCAN, Audience Unlimited, Community Harvest Food Bank, Trinity Episcopal Church, and Family & Children’s Services, each receiving $9,855.
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
PNC Bank NA was listed as trustee on the 2021 filing.
D H Jones Family Foundation's only listed officer is PNC Bank NA, Trustee on every filing since 2019 (compensated).
Officers on the 2021 filing
PNC Bank NA
Trustee
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
$2K (2019) → $5 (2021)
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2021. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2021 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2021 filing was $5, to PNC Bank NA (Trustee).
Frequently asked questions about D H Jones Family Foundation
How much does D H Jones Family Foundation give each year?
D H Jones Family Foundation gave $266K across 27 grants in 2021, according to its 2021 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2020 it gave $5K across 27 grants.
What is D H Jones Family Foundation's typical grant size?
D H Jones Family Foundation's median grant in 2021 was $9,855, and its average grant was $9,855, across 27 grants on its 2021 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from D H Jones Family Foundation that year got $10K on average.
Where does D H Jones Family Foundation give grants?
D H Jones Family Foundation gives mostly in Indiana: 89% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2021 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Fort Wayne, IN (23 grants).
Does D H Jones Family Foundation give general operating support?
Yes: 96% of D H Jones Family Foundation's 2021 grants with a stated purpose (26 of 27) were for general or operating support, per its 2021 IRS Form 990-PF.
Who are D H Jones Family Foundation's largest grantees?
D H Jones Family Foundation's largest 2021 grantees include Fort Wayne Rescue Mission ($9,855), American Red Cross ($9,855) and Cancer Serv of Allen CO ($9,855), according to its 2021 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 11% of its itemized 2021 grant dollars.
What does D H Jones Family Foundation fund?
No foundation mission statement is provided. Its 2021 grants went to organizations working in areas including food and housing assistance, child and family services, health, scouting, parks, and grief support. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from D H Jones Family Foundation?
The foundation does not accept unsolicited requests for funds and states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑
How much is D H Jones Family Foundation required to give away each year?
Private foundations must generally distribute about 5% of their assets annually. For 2021, D H Jones Family Foundation reported a distributable amount of $1K on its IRS Form 990-PF — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
What is D H Jones Family Foundation's EIN?
D H Jones Family Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 34-7124884. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2021.
Does D H Jones Family Foundation accept unsolicited proposals?
No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Data update history
(2)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS April 30, 2020)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2019–2021
Other open foundation grants in Pennsylvania
Pennsylvania Open opportunities, soonest deadline first.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in D H Jones Family Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
English-Bonter-Mitchell Fdn
Pittsburgh, PA
The foundation’s 2024 grants supported arts and culture, youth programming, education, health, and services for people with disabilities, with all reported grant dollars going to Indiana recipients. Grants ranged from $5,000 to $550,000, with a median of $25,000. It says it does not restrict giving to preselected organizations, but the available information does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$144.8M
Grants
109
Total Given
$6.4M
Edward M Wilson Foundation
Pittsburgh, PA
The Edward M Wilson Foundation has supported arts and culture, heritage, a zoo, parks, and community services, with grants recorded in Pennsylvania and Indiana; its latest filing directs all grant dollars to Pennsylvania. Giving has ranged from $1,609,000 across 83 grants in 2023 to $1,808,100 across one grant in 2025, but the typical individual award is unclear. A filing says it does not restrict giving to preselected organizations, but whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.
Assets
$37.6M
Grants
1
Total Given
$1.8M
Community Foundation of Greater Fort Wayne Inc
Fort Wayne, IN
The Community Foundation of Greater Fort Wayne funds nonprofits, scholarships, and community initiatives, with grant programs focused on Allen County and Northeast Indiana; its 2025 grants had a median award of $17,450, while specific programs offer up to $50,000. It accepts applications through some competitive grant programs, subject to program guidelines and application periods.
Assets
$287.7M
Grants
299
Total Given
$12.9M
Magee-O'Connor Foundation Inc
Georgetown, TX
The Magee-O’Connor Foundation supports health care, disability services, education and scholarships, and youth development, primarily in Indiana, with some giving in Texas and priority for Fort Wayne-area charities. In 2025, grants ranged from $2,500 to $30,000, with a median of $5,000; its filing says no application is required.
Assets
$5.5M
Grants
38
Total Given
$298K
Premier Bank Foundation
Canfield, OH
The foundation supports qualified charitable organizations and community efforts, with 2025 grants spanning neighborhood development, social equity, entrepreneurship, revitalization, and local services. Grants ranged from $30 to $60,000, with a median of $1,682, and most funding went to Ohio, followed by Indiana, Michigan, and Pennsylvania. Its filing says it does not limit giving to preselected organizations; awards are determined by its Distribution Committee, and no application form or materials are listed.
Assets
$14.5M
Grants
388
Total Given
$1.4M
Parkview Health System Inc
Fort Wayne, IN
Parkview Health System funds collaborative programs that address community health needs, including health-care access, mental health, substance use, maternal and child health, and other social drivers of health, with priority for underserved populations in northeast Indiana and northwest Ohio. Its 2024 grants ranged from $5,100 to $2.8 million, with a median of $40,000; its mini-grants offer up to $5,000. It accepts unsolicited applications through online forms, with mini-grant requests accepted year-round and reviewed quarterly; program-support applications have a stated application window.
Assets
$2.5B
Grants
23
Total Given
$5.6M
More similar funders
More Funders in Pennsylvania
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from D H Jones Family Foundation's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
D H Jones Family Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?