Community Action of Northeast Indiana
Community Action of Northeast Indiana, inc. Helps communities, families, and individuals remove the causes and conditions of poverty.the organization achieves their purpose through the: provision of a range of services and activities having a measurable impact on causes of poverty within regions, communities, or areas within communities where poverty is a problem; provision of activities designed to assist low-income participants; provision on an emergency basis of such supplies and services as may be necessary to counteract conditions of poverty; creation of economic opportunities within communities that lack access to affordable capital and financial services; coordination and establishment of linkages between government and other social service programs to assure the effective delivery of services to low income persons; and encouragement of entities in the private, public, and non-profit sectors to participate in efforts to ameliorate conditions of poverty in communities.
Community Action of Northeast Indiana at a glance
- Total assets
- $21,674,787
- +7.9% vs 2024
- Revenue (2025)
- $33,936,442
- +5.9% vs 2024
- Net investment income (2025)
- $262,105
- +24.6% vs 2024
- Expenses (2025)
- $31,709,401
- +1.4% vs 2024
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990, 2025 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.
Who Community Action of Northeast Indiana funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Grant Size Distribution
2 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was in the $50–100K range: 2 grants of 2 (100%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
States
Cities
How Community Action of Northeast Indiana gives
- Giving held roughly steady from 2021 to 2024 (−6%). Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2019 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $60K (2024) to $70K (2020). In 2024 it made 1 grant totaling $60K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Cani's Center for Community and Economic Development Inc Fort Wayne, IN | Fund Support | $60,000 |
Ready to take the next step with Community Action of Northeast Indiana?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Net Investment Income |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $21,674,787 | $33,936,442 | $31,709,401 | — | — | $262,105 |
| 2024 | $20,092,972 | $32,039,560 | $31,286,863 | $60,000 | 1 | $210,321 |
| 2023 | $17,955,097 | $32,650,261 | $31,562,160 | — | — | $134,531 |
| 2022 | $12,113,853 | $34,557,435 | $33,983,135 | — | — | $127,806 |
| 2021 | $12,271,152 | $26,462,293 | $25,460,076 | $64,039 | 1 | $53,741 |
| 2020 | $10,421,786 | $22,107,258 | $22,331,969 | $70,282 | 1 | $53,803 |
| 2019 | $8,610,592 | $21,513,067 | $21,318,641 | $70,140 | 1 | $60,806 |
About Community Action of Northeast Indiana
Based on IRS filings
Community Action of Northeast Indiana is a public charity focused on Community Improvement & Capacity Building, based in Fort Wayne, IN. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $21.7M in total assets. Net investment income was $262K.
Focus Areas
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Community Action of Northeast Indiana is led by Stephen Hoffman, President & CEO on every filing since 2019; 5 of 27 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Stephen Hoffman
President & CEO
On filings since 2019
40 hrs/week
$144K (2019) → $214K (2025)
Kathy Heuer
Chairperson
Secretary → Chairperson, 2020
On filings since 2019
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Kim Carpenter
Chairperson
Treasurer → Vice Chairperson, 2021
Vice Chairperson → Chairperson, 2025
On filings since 2019
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Veronica Mertz
Vice President of Administration
Fiscal Manager → Vice President of Administration, 2023
On filings since 2019
40 hrs/week
$69K (2019) → $148K (2025)
Pamela Brookshire
Vice President Community Service
On filings since 2021
40 hrs/week
$108K (2021) → $149K (2025)
Kristi Stull
Fiscal Manager
On filings since 2022
40 hrs/week
$11K (2022) → $80K (2025)
Matthew Crouch
Vice President of Community Econ. Development
On filings since 2023
40 hrs/week
$112K (2023) → $151K (2025)
Gina Kostoff
Board Member
Vice Chairperson → Secretary, 2021
Secretary → Board Member, 2022
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
John Court
Vice Chairperson
Board Member → Vice Chairperson, 2025
On filings since 2019
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Justin Busch
Board Member
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Laqueisha Brown
Secretary
Board Member → Secretary, 2025
On filings since 2019
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Phil Giaquinta
Board Member
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Raquel Kline
Board Member
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Russ Jehl
Treasurer
Board Member → Treasurer, 2025
On filings since 2019
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Sue Ehinger
Secretary
Board Member → Secretary, 2022
On filings since 2019
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Susan Berghoff
Treasurer
Treasurer → Secretary, 2020
Secretary → Treasurer, 2021
On filings since 2019
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
John Milner
Board Member
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Denita Washington
Board Member
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Joseph Cohen
Board Member
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Paul Hardy
Board Member
On filings since 2022
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Teri Dematas
Board Member
On filings since 2022
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Justin Libey
Board Member
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Thomas Summerville
Board Member
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Britni McDole
Board Member
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Cassie Lepper
Board Member
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Crystal Karn
Board Member
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Kayla Wigent
Board Member
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (10)
- Former: Lajuana Dunbar (2019–2024) — Board Member
- Former: Mary Lee Freeze (2024) — Vice President of Head Start
- Former: Todd Fleetwood (2020–2023) — Board Member
- Former: Chris Angellatta (2019–2022) — Board Member
- Former: Josh Neal (2019–2022) — Board Member
- Former: Michael O'Keefe (2019–2022) — Board Member
- Former: Sherry Early-Aden (2021) — Vice President Operations
- Former: Karl Kostoff (2019–2020) — Board Member
- Former: Maynard Scales (2019–2020) — Board Member
- Former: Peter Adams (2019–2020) — Board Member
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2025 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $214K, to Stephen Hoffman (President/CEO). 5 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.
Frequently asked questions about Community Action of Northeast Indiana
How large is Community Action of Northeast Indiana?
Community Action of Northeast Indiana reported $21.7M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $33.9M.
What is Community Action of Northeast Indiana?
Community Action of Northeast Indiana is a public charity focused on Community Improvement & Capacity Building, based in Fort Wayne, IN. It holds $21.7M in total assets as of 2025.
Where does Community Action of Northeast Indiana operate?
Community Action of Northeast Indiana has awarded grants in Indiana.
What is Community Action of Northeast Indiana's EIN?
Community Action of Northeast Indiana's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 35-1111819. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.
Data update history
(2)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS July 20, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2019–2024
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Community Action of Northeast Indiana's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Indiana
Heart of Indiana United Way Inc
Muncie, IN
Heart of Indiana United Way supports education and school readiness, financial stability, health, and basic-needs services in Delaware, Fayette, Henry, Madison, and Randolph counties, Indiana. Its 2025 grants ranged from $6,000 to $69,200, with a median of $13,200. The information provided does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests; its listed 2022–2024 application process is closed.
Assets
$5.5M
Grants
37
Total Given
$626K
Bussing-Koch Foundation Inc
Evansville, IN
The foundation supports scholarships, capital campaigns, general operations, and other charitable work, with most funding going to Indiana organizations. Its 2025 grants ranged from $100 to $80,500, with a median of $1,000. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$2.8M
Grants
43
Total Given
$302K
The Community Foundation of Muncie and Delaware County Inc
Muncie, IN
The Community Foundation of Muncie and Delaware County funds nonprofits serving Muncie and Delaware County, Indiana, in education, human services, community betterment, arts and culture, and economic development. Its 2024 grants ranged from $6,000 to $322,739, with a median award of $25,000; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$100.6M
Grants
83
Total Given
$3.5M
Mutualbank Charitable Foundation Inc
Muncie, IN
The foundation’s 2022 grants supported Indiana organizations in education, culture, human services, community development, and related areas. Grants ranged from $1,000 to $6,951,230, with a median of $10,000; it funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
—
Grants
22
Total Given
$7.7M
George and Frances Ball Foundation
Muncie, IN
The George and Frances Ball Foundation funds 501(c)(3) organizations working on education and youth, civic improvements, nature and historic preservation, wrap-around services, and arts and culture, primarily to improve livability and educational attainment in East Central Indiana. Its 2024 grants ranged from $3,000 to $1.11 million, with a median of $40,000. Applicants must first request a pre-grant meeting with staff; the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$89.6M
Grants
49
Total Given
$5.0M
Ball Brothers Foundation
Muncie, IN
Ball Brothers Foundation funds Indiana nonprofits, schools, and government organizations in education, arts and culture, health, the environment, community vitality, and human services, with a strong focus on Muncie, Delaware County, and East Central Indiana. General Grants typically range from $5,000 to $100,000, and Rapid Grants offer up to $5,000. It accepts online applications; organizations are encouraged to speak with foundation staff before applying.
Assets
$173.8M
Grants
113
Total Given
$8.3M
More similar funders
More Funders in Indiana
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from Community Action of Northeast Indiana's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
Community Action of Northeast Indiana down — hundreds of funders to go?