Clause 40 Foundation logo

Clause 40 Foundation

Public charity · Grantmaker Washington, DC EIN: 82-4127219 Website

Clause 40 Foundation is a public charity focused on Crime & Legal Related, based in Washington, DC. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2024. As of 2024, the organization holds $26K in total assets.

Clause 40 Foundation at a glance

Total assets
$26,026
-68.3% vs 2023
Revenue (2024)
$67,311
-32.5% vs 2023
Expenses (2024)
$69,769
-38.9% vs 2023
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-EZ, 2024 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990-EZ, 2024; updated September 2026.

Who Clause 40 Foundation funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Grant Size Distribution

1 grant across all recorded years

<$50K1$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was in the $50–100K range: 1 grant of 1 (100%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

1state

Cities

Washington

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$20K$40K$60K0 grants2020 0 grants2021 1 grant2022 0 grants2023 0 grants2024

In 2022 it made 1 grant totaling $50K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Due Process Institute Washington, DCAmicus Work$50,000
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Clause 40 Foundation?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsNet Investment Income
2024$26,026$67,311$69,769———
2023$82,219$99,688$114,138——$901
2022$164,045$116,303$298,779$50,0001—
2021$314,597$87,315$191,660———
2020$323,522$341,746$115,821———

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Clause 40 Foundation is led by Shana-Tara O'Toole, President & CEO on every filing since 2020; none of the 8 officers listed in 2024 report compensation.

Officers on the 2024 filing

  • Shana-Tara O'Toole

    President & CEO

    On filings since 2020

    1.9 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Ross Garber

    Chair

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Brett Tolman

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Michael Chase

    Director

    Treasurer → Treasurer & Director, 2023

    Treasurer & Director → Director, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Timothy O'Toole

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Alex Litvack

    Director

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Blair Brown

    Secretary

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Karen Blackistone

    Treasurer

    Director → Director & Treasurer, 2023

    Director & Treasurer → Treasurer, 2024

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (2)
  • Former: Jason Pye (2021–2023) — Director & Rule of Law Initiatives
  • Former: Reginald Brown (2020) — Director

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Frequently asked questions about Clause 40 Foundation

How large is Clause 40 Foundation?

Clause 40 Foundation reported $26K in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990-EZ. Its revenue that year was $67K.

What is Clause 40 Foundation?

Clause 40 Foundation is a public charity focused on Crime & Legal Related, based in Washington, DC. It holds $26K in total assets as of 2024.

Where does Clause 40 Foundation operate?

Clause 40 Foundation has awarded grants in District of Columbia.

What is Clause 40 Foundation's EIN?

Clause 40 Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 82-4127219. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Data update history

(2)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS November 10, 2023)
  2. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Live grants for the work Clause 40 Foundation funds

Crime & Legal Related Open opportunities, soonest deadline first.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Clause 40 Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in District of Columbia

Coalition for Public Safety

Washington, DC

The Coalition for Public Safety funded criminal justice reform, including efforts to reduce overincarceration, improve fairness, and support people returning from incarceration. Its 2022 grants totaled $1.575 million across 17 grants, with several awards of $50,000–$700,000; no geographic focus or unsolicited-application policy is stated. The Coalition dissolved and stopped grantmaking by the end of 2023.

Crime & Legal Related

Assets

—

Grants

0

Total Given

$2K

Justice Action Network Foundation

Washington, DC

The mission of the Corporation is to maximize the effective and fair use of limited public resources in the criminal justice system.

Assets

$2.6M

Grants

3

Total Given

$70K

Reform Action Fund

New York, NY

The mission of the Reform Action Fund is to engage in advocacy activities aligned with dramatically reducing the number of people who are unjustly under the control of the criminal justice system.

Crime & Legal Related

Assets

$1.1M

Grants

3

Total Given

$325K

Justice Action Network

Washington, DC

The mission of the Corporation is to promote the common good and general welfare of citizens of the United States by advocating in favor of reforms to criminal justice policy that will maximize the effective and fair use of limited public resources in the criminal justice system.

Crime & Legal Related

Assets

$1.3M

Grants

4

Total Given

$108K

The Civil Justice Reform Group

Palmyra, VA

The Civil Justice Reform Group funds organizations advancing civil justice reform, litigation, courts, and legal policy at the local, state, and national levels, supporting grantees across the country. In 2025, grants ranged from $10,000 to $1,007,500, with a median of $48,750. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$1.6M

Grants

12

Total Given

$1.8M

Action Now Inc

Houston, TX

Action Now funds U.S. policy advocacy, education, and research addressing higher education, charitable giving, criminal justice, elections, health care, housing, and infrastructure. In 2025, grants ranged from $15,000 to $1.75 million, with a median of about $229,000; funding went to organizations across the country, with the largest shares in Washington, DC, New York, Texas, Virginia, and Michigan. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Civil Rights, Social Action & Advocacy

Assets

$4.4M

Grants

68

Total Given

$17.9M

More similar funders

More Funders in District of Columbia

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Clause 40 Foundation's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Clause 40 Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?