Chamber of Progress
Chamber of Progress is a center-left tech industry coalition devoted to a progressive society, economy, workforce, and consumer climate. We back public policies that will build a fairer, more inclusive country in which all people benefit from technological leaps.
Chamber of Progress at a glance
In short: Chamber of Progress gave $85K across 2 grants in 2025 (avg $43K), mostly in District of Columbia. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.
- Annual giving (2025)
- $85,000
- -43.3% vs 2024
- Grants made (2025)
- 2
- -60.0% vs 2024
- Average grant
- $42,500
- +41.7% vs 2024
- Median grant
- $42,500
- Total assets
- $13,259,723
- -7.6% vs 2024
- Primary geography
- District of Columbia (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990, 2025 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.
Who Chamber of Progress funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 2 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Democratic Legislative Campaign Committee ($65K). Together the top 2 received $85K.
Grant Size Distribution
14 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 11 grants of 14 (79%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 2 itemized grants.
Cities
How Chamber of Progress gives
- Giving grew 325% from 2022 to 2025. Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2021 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $10K (2021) to $150K (2024). In 2025 it made 2 grants totaling $85K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Democratic Legislative Campaign Committee Washington, DC | 2024 Speakers Council Membership | $65,000 |
| Newdeal Washington, DC | 2025 Membership | $20,000 |
Ready to take the next step with Chamber of Progress?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Net Investment Income |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $13,259,723 | $5,061,306 | $6,165,535 | $85,000 | 2 | $142,526 |
| 2024 | $14,346,791 | $9,683,024 | $8,174,841 | $150,000 | 5 | $156,448 |
| 2023 | $12,595,548 | $8,681,678 | $6,534,986 | $110,000 | 4 | — |
| 2022 | $10,357,158 | $29,920,121 | $24,240,229 | $20,000 | 2 | — |
| 2021 | $5,318,636 | $10,610,320 | $6,164,029 | $10,000 | 1 | — |
About Chamber of Progress
Based on IRS filings
Chamber of Progress is a public charity focused on Community Improvement & Capacity Building, based in McLean, VA. IRS filing data is available from 2021 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $13.3M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 2 grants totaling $85K. Net investment income was $143K.
Focus Areas
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Chamber of Progress is led by Adam Kovacevich, Chief Executive Officer on every filing since 2021; none of the 5 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Adam Kovacevich
Chief Executive Officer
On filings since 2021
40 hrs/week
$370K (2021) → $0 (2025)
Julie Samuels
Treasurer
On filings since 2021
0.3 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Maura Corbett
Secretary
On filings since 2021
0.3 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Hillary Brill
Board Member
On filings since 2022
0.3 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Randall Rothenberg
Board Member
On filings since 2022
0.3 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (14)
- Former: Kaitlyn Harger (2023–2024) — Senior Economist
- Former: Kouri Marshall (2023–2024) — Director, State & Local Govt Affairs
- Former: Mark Jenssen (2023–2024) — Senior Director of Campaigns
- Former: Brett Fleming (2024) — Director Partnerships & Development
- Former: Kirsten D'souza (2024) — Coalitions Director
- Former: Robert Singleton (2024) — Director W Region
- Former: Timothy O'Boyle (2024) — Vice President of Tech Policy
- Former: Vidushi Dyall (2024) — Director of Legal Analysis
- Former: Christopher Mackenzie (2022–2023) — Senior Director & Communications
- Former: Koustubh Bagchi (2022–2023) — Vice President of Technology
- Former: Alain Xiong-Calmes (2023) — Director of State & Local Public Policy
- Former: Jessica Miers (2023) — Senior Counsel & Legal Advocacy
- Former: Elizabeth Banker (2022) — Vice President of Legal Advocacy
- Former: Tepring Piquado (2022) — Senior Director & Of Gov't Relations
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2021–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2024 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2024 filing was $524K, to Adam Kovacevich (Chief Executive Officer). 9 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.
Frequently asked questions about Chamber of Progress
How much does Chamber of Progress give each year?
Chamber of Progress gave $85K across 2 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $150K across 5 grants.
How large is Chamber of Progress?
Chamber of Progress reported $13.3M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $5.1M.
What is Chamber of Progress?
Chamber of Progress is a public charity focused on Community Improvement & Capacity Building, based in McLean, VA. It holds $13.3M in total assets as of 2025.
Where does Chamber of Progress operate?
Chamber of Progress has awarded grants in Colorado, District of Columbia, Virginia.
What is Chamber of Progress's EIN?
Chamber of Progress's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 85-3963084. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2021–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.
Data update history
(6)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS May 9, 2022)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS November 14, 2023)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS November 11, 2024)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS November 7, 2025)
- Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS August 12, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2021–2024
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Chamber of Progress's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders with grantees in common
Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America
Washington, DC
PhRMA funds organizations and initiatives related to biopharmaceutical research, patient access and affordability, health care policy, and public education, with grants mainly going to U.S. recipients. Its 2024 grants had a median of $20,000, though awards ranged from $5,250 to more than $6.8 million. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$349.0M
Grants
461
Total Given
$41.4M
Securities Industry and Financial Markets Association
New York, NY
This organization occasionally funds charitable projects aligned with its mission of supporting a strong securities and financial industry, including market research, investor education, and related policy work. In 2025, its 16 grants ranged from $7,500 to $55,000, with a median of $10,000; recipients were in D.C., Massachusetts, New York, Virginia, and Colorado. It does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$73.0M
Grants
16
Total Given
$254K
American Federation of Labor and Congress of Industrial Organizations
Washington, DC
The AFL-CIO supports worker organizing, collective bargaining, and related worker and labor programs, with its Organizing Fund prioritizing strategic campaigns led by national or international unions. In 2025, grants ranged from $5,938 to $8.56 million, with a median of $57,500; funding went mainly to Washington, DC, with recipients also across the country. Organizing Fund requests are developed with the AFL-CIO Organizing Department by unions seeking support; the profile does not state whether other unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$159.5M
Grants
136
Total Given
$29.0M
Nuclear Energy Institute Inc
Washington, DC
NEI funds organizations and initiatives that support nuclear energy, including public education, policy research, industry outreach, and professional development, as well as some unrelated civic and cultural causes. Its 2024 grants ranged from $8,500 to $2.3 million, with a median of $10,000; 95% of grant dollars went to Washington, DC recipients. The available information does not say whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$99.2M
Grants
25
Total Given
$2.8M
Ctia - the Wireless Association
Washington, DC
CTIA supports organizations working in wireless and telecommunications advocacy, public policy, and community programs; its 2024 grants went mainly to recipients in Washington, DC, and Colorado. Grants ranged from $5,148 to $1,382,400, with a median of $20,000; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$311.1M
Grants
44
Total Given
$2.6M
Biotechnology Innovation Organization
Washington, DC
BIO supports biotechnology and life-sciences advocacy, policy, research investment, patient access, and related organizations through contributions, sponsorships, and complimentary memberships. In 2024, grants ranged from $3,500 to $195,000, with a median of $10,000; most funding went to DC recipients, and grants also went to organizations in other states. No application process or policy on unsolicited requests is stated.
Assets
$170.1M
Grants
76
Total Given
$2.0M
More similar funders
More Funders in Virginia
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from Chamber of Progress's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
Chamber of Progress down — hundreds of funders to go?