Central Minnesota Council on Aging Inc logo

Central Minnesota Council on Aging Inc

Public charity · Grantmaker St Cloud, MN EIN: 36-3338395 Website

Central Minnesota Council on Aging Inc. is a public charity based in St. Cloud, Minnesota, and designated by the Minnesota Board on Aging as the area agency on aging for a 14-county region. It connects older adults and caregivers with community services and awards Older Americans Act grants and contracts to local agencies for services that support independence and help people remain in their homes and communities.

Central Minnesota Council on Aging Inc at a glance

In short: Central Minnesota Council on Aging Inc gave $4.8M across 19 grants in 2024 (avg $251K), mostly in Minnesota. 0% of 2024 grantees were new. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990.

Annual giving (2024)
$4,777,304
+18.0% vs 2023
Grants made (2024)
19
-9.5% vs 2023
Average grant
$251,437
+30.4% vs 2023
Median grant
$67,744
Total assets
$3,086,174
+71.4% vs 2023
New grantees (estimate)
0% first-time grantees (0 of 19, 2024; small sample)
Primary geography
Minnesota (100% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2024 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990, 2024; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology).

How to apply to Central Minnesota Council on Aging Inc

How to Apply

Apply through an announced funding opportunity when funds are available.

Contact

Mailing address: 3333 W Division Street 217, St Cloud, MN 56301
Phone: (320) 253-9349
Website: https://cmcoa.org

Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.

Who Central Minnesota Council on Aging Inc funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 10 recipients in 2024

Catholic Charities: $2.5MCatholic Charities$2.5MLutheran Social Services: $803KLutheran Social Services$803KFamily Pathways: $205KFamily Pathways$205KHorizon Health: $176KHorizon Health$176KMid MN Legal Assistance: $173KMid MN Legal Assistance$173KWright County Community in Action: $136KWright County Community inAction$136KAssumption Community Faith in Action: $121KAssumption Community Faith inAction$121KCass County Faith in Action: $82KCass County Faith in Action$82KPaynesville Lahbnp: $68KPaynesville Lahbnp$68KSenior Community Services: $68KSenior Community Services$68K

The largest 2024 recipient was Catholic Charities ($2.5M). Together the top 10 received $4.3M.

Grant Size Distribution

95 grants across all recorded years

45<$50K25$50–100K15$100–250K$250–500K5$500K–1M5$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 45 grants of 95 (47%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

CMCOA’s planning and service area comprises Benton, Cass, Chisago, Crow Wing, Isanti, Kanabec, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Pine, Sherburne, Stearns, Todd, Wadena, and Wright counties in Minnesota. Its 2024 reported grant dollars went entirely to Minnesota recipients. The Live Well at Home program is described as statewide, administered locally through CMCOA.

Grant Distribution by State

1state

Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 19 itemized grants.

States

Cities

St CloudMoraChisago CityCold SpringHackensackHoldingfordMaple LakeMinneapolisMinnetonkaMoorheadNorth BranchPaynesvillePierzFoleyBemidjiiBuffaloBrainerdCass LakeDeerwoodPortland

Is Central Minnesota Council on Aging Inc open to new grantees?

0%

first-time grantees, 2024

In 2024, 0 of 19 grantees (0%) were first-time recipients. With only 19 grantees, that is a small sample: one grantee more or less moves the share by about 5 points. How we count

  • 100% of 2024 grantees were also funded in 2023. Method
  • Giving held roughly steady from 2021 to 2024 (−5%). Method

Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990 filings (2020–2024). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$2M$4M$6M22 grants2020 17 grants2021 16 grants2022 21 grants2023 19 grants2024

From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $3.8M (2022) to $5.0M (2021). In 2024 it made 19 grants totaling $4.8M.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Catholic Charities St Cloud, MNCongregate Dining, Home Delivered Meals and Telephone Reasurrance$2,510,436
Lutheran Social Services Moorhead, MNCongregate dining and home delivered meals, caregiver consultation, homemaker, telephone reasurrance, support group, caregiver informaon sessions and respite$803,308
Family Pathways North Branch, MNHomemaker, Caregiver Consultant$204,678
Horizon Health Pierz, MNTransportation, chore, homemaker, caregiver consultant, respite, telephone reasurrance, support group and caregiver information sessions, evidence based health promotion$175,947
Mid MN Legal Assistance Minneapolis, MNLegal Services$173,177
Wright County Community in Action Maple Lake, MNAssisted trasportation, homemaker, chore, telephone reasurrance, caregiver consultation and caregiver education$136,442
Assumption Community Faith in Action Cold Spring, MNTransportation, chore, homemaker, support planning, caregiver consultant, education, respite, support group$120,875
Cass County Faith in Action Hackensack, MNAssisted Transportation, Homemaker, Chore, Telephone Reasurrance$82,078
Paynesville Lahbnp Paynesville, MNTransportation, homemaker, chore, and evidenced based health promotion and telephone reasurrance$67,915
Senior Community Services Minnetonka, MNHomemaker, chore, caregiver consulting, support group, caregiver information sessions and telephone reasurrance$67,744
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Central Minnesota Council on Aging Inc?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

In its 2024 filing narrative, CMCOA reported that service providers used $816,092 as in-kind match for the services described.

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsNet Investment Income
2024$3,086,174$8,025,532$8,032,477$4,777,30419$11,181
2023$1,800,205$6,995,260$6,987,345$4,048,35021$992
2022$1,911,341$6,660,931$6,668,881$3,805,65516$113
2021$1,794,478$8,211,648$8,203,186$5,027,32517$52
2020$1,275,140$7,874,791$7,873,175$4,368,16822$131

Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.

Mission & Focus Areas

CMCOA’s mission is to maintain the highest level of independence for older people by developing and coordinating community care, reducing isolation, and improving access to services.

Its funding supports services such as meals, transportation, legal assistance, homemaker and chore services, health promotion, caregiver support, and information and referral. In its 2024 filing narrative, CMCOA reported that purchased services included 86,931 congregate meals, 367,746 home-delivered meals, 18,877 assisted-transportation rides, and caregiver respite, counseling, and support services.

The grantees’ own mission statements illustrate the range of organizations receiving support. Family Pathways says it works alongside people to enhance lives through essential services and community-led social change. Horizon Health says it provides compassionate, dignified, individualized care in partnership with families and communities. Senior Community Services describes its mission as empowering people as they age. Helping Hands Outreach says it works to create a healthy community where older adults and adults with disabilities can live and participate.

Grantmaking

In filing year 2024, CMCOA reported 19 grants totaling $4,777,304. Grant amounts ranged from $31,744 to $2,510,436, with a median of $67,744. All reported grant dollars went to Minnesota recipients.

The largest reported awards included Catholic Charities in St. Cloud ($2,510,436) for congregate dining, home-delivered meals, and telephone reassurance; Lutheran Social Services in Moorhead ($803,308) for meals, caregiver and homemaker services, and related supports; Family Pathways in North Branch ($204,678) for homemaker and caregiver-consultant services; Horizon Health in Pierz ($175,947) for transportation, chore, homemaker, caregiver, and health-promotion services; and Mid Minnesota Legal Assistance in Minneapolis ($173,177) for legal services. Other reported recipients included Wright County Community Action ($136,442), Assumption Community Faith in Action ($120,875), and Cass County Faith in Action ($82,078).

CMCOA describes Title III grants as supporting services including information and referral, meals, health and wellness, in-home care, transportation, elder-abuse prevention, caregiver support, and adult day care. Applications are for providers and professionals serving older adults. When funding is available, opportunities are offered through an application process. CMCOA Contracts staff provide technical assistance that may cover project need and design, outcomes, sustainability, budgets, and draft proposals. The organization also provides technical assistance to applicants pursuing other aging-related funding, including Live Well at Home grants administered by the Minnesota Department of Human Services.

Leadership & Key People

Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings

The 2024 filing lists Steve Hallan as chairman of the board and Leigh Lenzmeier as vice chair. Other listed board members are Tarryl Clark, Alan Duff, Lisa Fobbe, Richard Greene, Jeanne Holland, Jon Kangas, Bobby Kasper, and Randy Neumann.

Central Minnesota Council on Aging Inc is led by Lori Vrolson, Executive Director on every filing since 2020; 2 of 17 officers listed in 2024 are compensated.

Officers on the 2024 filing

  • Lori Vrolson

    Executive Director

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $95K (2020) → $131K (2024)

  • Steve Hallan

    Chairman of the Board

    Chair → Chairman of the Board, 2022

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Linda Gansen

    Financial Manager

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $93K (2020) → $120K (2024)

  • Genny Reynolds

    Board Member

    Secretary → Board Member, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jeff Peterson

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Leigh Lenzmeier

    Vice Chair

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Randy Neumann

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Richard Greene

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Tarryl Clark

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Beth Schlangen

    Board Member

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Alan Duff

    Board Member

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Bobby Kasper

    Board Member

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jeanne Holland

    Board Member

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jon Lubke

    Board Member

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Lisa Fobbe

    Board Member

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Peter Ripka

    Board Member

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jon Kangas

    Board Member

    New on the 2024 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (11)
  • Former: Murlyn Kreklau (2021–2023) — Board Member
  • Former: Barb Burandt (2020–2022) — Treasurer
  • Former: Bill Brekken (2020–2022) — Board Member
  • Former: Mike Wilson (2020–2022) — Board Member
  • Former: Susan Morris (2020–2022) — Board Member
  • Former: Mary Wetter (2021–2022) — Board Member
  • Former: Rick Mattson (2022) — Director
  • Former: Gene Anderson (2020–2021) — Board Member
  • Former: Charles Borrell (2020) — Board Member
  • Former: Chuck Horsager (2020) — Board Member
  • Former: Spencer Buerkle (2020) — Treasurer

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2024 IRS filing

Lori Vrolson — Executive Director: $131KLori VrolsonExecutive Director$131KLinda Gansen — Financial Manager: $120KLinda GansenFinancial Manager$120K

The highest reported compensation on the 2024 filing was $131K, to Lori Vrolson (Executive Director). 2 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Frequently asked questions about Central Minnesota Council on Aging Inc

How much does Central Minnesota Council on Aging Inc give each year?

Central Minnesota Council on Aging Inc gave $4.8M across 19 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990. In 2023 it gave $4.0M across 21 grants.

What is Central Minnesota Council on Aging Inc's typical grant size?

Central Minnesota Council on Aging Inc's median grant in 2024 was $67,744, and its average grant was $251,437, across 19 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990.

Where does Central Minnesota Council on Aging Inc give grants?

Central Minnesota Council on Aging Inc gives mostly in Minnesota: 100% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990 went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were St Cloud, MN (5 grants).

Does Central Minnesota Council on Aging Inc give general operating support?

Not in 2024: none of the 19 grants with a stated purpose on Central Minnesota Council on Aging Inc's 2024 IRS Form 990 were described as general or operating support.

Who are Central Minnesota Council on Aging Inc's largest grantees?

Central Minnesota Council on Aging Inc's largest 2024 grantees include Catholic Charities ($2,510,436), Lutheran Social Services ($803,308) and Family Pathways ($204,678), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990. Together they received 74% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.

How large is Central Minnesota Council on Aging Inc?

Central Minnesota Council on Aging Inc reported $3.1M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $8.0M.

What does Central Minnesota Council on Aging Inc fund?

CMCOA’s mission is to maintain the highest level of independence for older people by developing and coordinating community care, reducing isolation, and improving access to services. See mission & focus areas ↑

How do I apply for a grant from Central Minnesota Council on Aging Inc?

Apply through an announced funding opportunity when funds are available. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑

What is Central Minnesota Council on Aging Inc's EIN?

Central Minnesota Council on Aging Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 36-3338395. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.

Data update history

(6)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS October 18, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS October 17, 2022)
  3. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS November 6, 2023)
  4. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS October 15, 2024)
  5. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS September 15, 2025)
  6. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Central Minnesota Council on Aging Inc's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

Hunger Solutions Minnesota

St. Paul, MN

Hunger Solutions Minnesota supported Minnesota food shelves, food banks, and other organizations addressing hunger, including through food access programs and advocacy. Its 2024 grants totaled $254,001 across 26 awards, with examples of individual grants ranging from $10,000 to about $15,000. The organization’s 2024 filing was marked as its final return, and no unsolicited-application policy is stated.

Assets

—

Grants

0

Total Given

$6.0M

Wright-Hennepin Electric Trust

Rockford, MN

Wright-Hennepin Electric Trust funds charitable and educational work, including community services, education and youth programs, environmental projects, emergency energy assistance, and disaster relief, primarily in Wright-Hennepin Cooperative Electric Association’s service area. In 2024, its grants ranged from $6,000 to $16,983, with a median of $10,000. It provides application forms for individuals, families, organizations, and groups, so unsolicited requests are accepted.

Human Services

Assets

$50K

Grants

15

Total Given

$141K

Otto Bremer Trust

St. Paul, MN

The Otto Bremer Trust funds organizations and projects addressing community needs and opportunities, including health care and social services, in Minnesota, Montana, North Dakota, and Wisconsin. In 2025, grants ranged from $3,500 to $4.2 million, with a median of $150,000. It does not accept unsolicited requests or direct grant applications; Community Responsive Fund grants are offered through selected intermediaries.

Assets

$1.4B

Grants

180

Total Given

$57.2M

United Way of Central Minnesota

St Cloud, MN

United Way of Central Minnesota funds nonprofits and eligible public entities working in youth opportunity, financial security, health, community resiliency, and related safety-net needs across Central Minnesota. Its 2025 grants ranged from $6,020 to $183,500, with a median of $15,825. The current application cycle is closed; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$3.4M

Grants

36

Total Given

$1.0M

Medica Foundation

Minnetonka, MN

Medica Foundation funds community-led programs that advance health equity in Minnesota, particularly in behavioral health, early childhood health, rural health, and strategic initiatives. Its 2024 grants ranged from $6,000 to $200,000, with a median grant of $10,000. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Health

Assets

$76.2M

Grants

79

Total Given

$2.8M

Initiative Foundation

Little Falls, MN

The Initiative Foundation funds nonprofit capacity-building, local government and school projects, and economic and workforce development across its 14-county Central Minnesota service area, including portions of the Leech Lake and Mille Lacs Bands of Ojibwe. Its 2024 grants ranged from $5,176 to $146,160, with a median award of $24,500. It accepts grant applications on a rolling basis through competitive review.

Assets

$114.7M

Grants

214

Total Given

$5.5M

More similar funders

More Funders in Minnesota

Cite this profile

Grantable. (2026). Central Minnesota Council on Aging Inc funder profile. GrantGraph. Retrieved October 24, 2026, from https://grantable.co/funders/central-minnesota-council-on-aging-inc-morg_da57ab9f83a3444b96d3a6aea569cdcf

BibTeX
@misc{grantable_363338395_2026,
  author       = {{Grantable}},
  title        = {{Central Minnesota Council on Aging Inc funder profile}},
  howpublished = {GrantGraph},
  year         = {2026},
  url          = {https://grantable.co/funders/central-minnesota-council-on-aging-inc-morg_da57ab9f83a3444b96d3a6aea569cdcf},
  note         = {Accessed 2026-10-24. Data licensed CC BY 4.0}
}

The figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0: reuse them with credit to Grantable and a link. Download the data.

Figures come from Central Minnesota Council on Aging Inc's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Central Minnesota Council on Aging Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?