Burgess Foundation logo

Burgess Foundation

Public charity · Grantmaker Onawa, IA EIN: 42-1188964 Website

Burgess Foundation is committed to seeking community partners whose time, talent and treasures ensure the future of burgess health center.

Burgess Foundation at a glance

In short: Burgess Foundation gave $625K across 1 grant in 2025 (avg $625K), mostly in Iowa. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.

Annual giving (2025)
$625,134
+11.9% vs 2024
Grants made (2025)
1
+0.0% vs 2024
Average grant
$625,134
+11.9% vs 2024
Median grant
$625,134
Total assets
$1,365,017
-23.3% vs 2024
Primary geography
Iowa (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.

Who Burgess Foundation funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top recipient in 2025

Burgess Health Center: $625KBurgess Health Center$625K

The largest 2025 recipient was Burgess Health Center ($625K).

Grant Size Distribution

4 grants across all recorded years

1<$50K$50–100K1$100–250K$250–500K2$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was in the $500K–1M range: 2 grants of 4 (50%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

1state

Share of the 2025 grant dollars on its one itemized grant.

States

Cities

Onawa

How Burgess Foundation gives

  • Giving grew 1818% from 2022 to 2025. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$200K$400K$600K$800K1 grant2019 1 grant2020 1 grant2021 1 grant2022 0 grants2023 1 grant2024 1 grant2025

From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $33K (2022) to $625K (2025). In 2025 it made 1 grant totaling $625K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Burgess Health Center Onawa, IAFunding the Purchase of Medical Equipment$625,134
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Burgess Foundation?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsNet Investment Income
2025$1,365,017$560,531$1,004,080$625,1341$160,423
2024$1,779,777$371,044$716,579$558,6041$142,749
2023$1,996,894$219,525$90,939——$50,582
2022$1,712,246$241,083$107,520$32,5931$79,624
2021$2,012,410$166,628$181,431$104,2831$41,911
2020$1,513,288$153,995$242,431$179,6061$51,327
2019$1,607,490$150,211$543,322$475,7491$55,048

About Burgess Foundation

Based on IRS filings

Burgess Foundation is a public charity focused on Health, based in Onawa, IA. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $1.4M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 1 grant totaling $625K. Net investment income was $160K.

Focus Areas

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Burgess Foundation is led by Lynn Wold, President & CEO - Bhc on every filing since 2024; none of the 10 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Lynn Wold

    President & CEO - Bhc

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Kathy Westergaard

    President

    Director → President, 2024

    On filings since 2019

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Bobbi Johnson

    Executive Director

    On filings since 2021

    40 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Phil Morrow

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Scott Brekke

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Charles Persinger

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Trent Rodman

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Cheryl Warner

    Secretary & Treasurer

    Director → Secretary & Treasurer, 2024

    On filings since 2019

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Peggy Hanner

    Vice President

    Director → Vice President, 2025

    On filings since 2023

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • James Gobell

    Vice President of Finance - Bhc

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (17)
  • Former: Lou Hewitt (2019–2024) — Director
  • Former: Susan Johnson (2019–2024) — Vice President
  • Former: Carl Behne (2021–2024) — President & CEO - Bhc
  • Former: John Wilker (2022–2024) — Vice President of Finance
  • Former: Geri Johnson (2019–2023) — President
  • Former: Larae McKinven (2019–2023) — Secretary & Treasurer
  • Former: Tammy Bramley (2019–2023) — Director
  • Former: Savannah Hinze (2023) — Director
  • Former: Teresa Butler (2023) — Interm President & CEO - Bhc
  • Former: Francis Tramp (2019–2022) — Vice President of Finance
  • Former: Chrissy Westendorf (2021–2022) — Director
  • Former: Bart McDowell (2019–2021) — Executive Director
  • Former: Eric Brown (2019–2021) — Director
  • Former: Jessica Hupke (2019–2020) — Director
  • Former: Nancy Carlson (2019–2020) — Vice President of Finance - Bhc
  • Former: Rob Meyer (2019–2020) — Director
  • Former: Terry Framke (2019) — President

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Frequently asked questions about Burgess Foundation

How much does Burgess Foundation give each year?

Burgess Foundation gave $625K across 1 grant in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $559K across 1 grant.

How large is Burgess Foundation?

Burgess Foundation reported $1.4M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $561K.

What is Burgess Foundation?

Burgess Foundation is a public charity focused on Health, based in Onawa, IA. It holds $1.4M in total assets as of 2025.

Where does Burgess Foundation operate?

Burgess Foundation has awarded grants in Iowa.

What is Burgess Foundation's EIN?

Burgess Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 42-1188964. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Data update history

(7)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS May 7, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS May 13, 2022)
  3. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS May 12, 2023)
  4. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS May 14, 2025)
  5. Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS July 9, 2020)
  6. Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 12, 2026)
  7. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Burgess Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Iowa

Iowa Hospital Association

Des Moines, IA

The Iowa Hospital Association primarily supports Iowa hospitals and health systems, with grants for general support, health care scholarships and disaster relief, and hospital policy work. In 2024, its 8 grants ranged from $10,000 to $162,040, with a median of $20,300; most funding went to Iowa recipients, though some went out of state. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$19.3M

Grants

8

Total Given

$433K

Promise Partners

Council Bluffs, IA

Promise Partners supports children’s well-being and family stability in southwest Iowa, including family support, home visiting, childcare quality, mental health, and early childhood services. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,058 to $400,028, with a median award of $26,086; its FY27 opportunities specified nine eligible Iowa counties. It offered specific RFPs, but the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Human Services

Assets

$1.4M

Grants

24

Total Given

$1.6M

The Leona M and Harry B Helmsley

New York, NY

Helmsley funds health research, care, facilities, and technology focused on Crohn’s disease, Type 1 diabetes, rural healthcare, Israel, vulnerable children in Sub-Saharan Africa, and New York City, with some programs reaching beyond those places. In 2025, its grants ranged from $3,157 to $6,966,024, with a median of $396,866. It does not accept unsolicited requests; organizations generally apply only after an invitation.

Assets

$7.1B

Grants

570

Total Given

$440.9M

American Heart Association Inc

Dallas, TX

The American Heart Association funds basic, clinical, behavioral, translational and population research on cardiovascular, cerebrovascular and brain health, along with research training and education programs. In 2025 it awarded 833 grants totaling about $198 million; amounts ranged from $5,000 to nearly $9.93 million, with a median of $20,000. Research awards are for eligible U.S.-based nonprofit institutions, and the profile describes a formal proposal process but does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Diseases, Disorders & Medical Disciplines

Assets

$2.0B

Grants

833

Total Given

$198.2M

Community Fdn of Greater Des Moines F/K/a Greater Des Moines Community Fdn

Des Moines, IA

The Community Foundation of Greater Des Moines supports projects that improve quality of life in Greater Des Moines, including housing and transportation access, health, economic opportunity, inclusive communities, and nonprofit capacity-building. Its 2024 itemized grants had a median of about $12,900, though awards ranged from roughly $5,000 to $7.34 million.

Assets

$918.7M

Grants

1,259

Total Given

$55.7M

Pella Rolscreen Foundation

Pella, IA

The Pella Rolscreen Foundation supports charitable organizations working in education and community betterment, including civic, cultural, social, and physical-environment programs in communities where Pella Corporation employees live. Large grants generally range from $10,000 to $50,000 and typically cover no more than 25% of project costs; its 2024 grants had a median of $1,029. It accepts unsolicited requests from eligible 501(c)(3) nonprofits and government entities in communities where Pella has manufacturing plants.

Assets

$22.4M

Grants

433

Total Given

$1.9M

More similar funders

More Funders in Iowa

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Burgess Foundation's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Burgess Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?