Bryn Mawr College logo

Bryn Mawr College

Public charity · Grantmaker Bryn Mawr, PA EIN: 23-1352621 Website

Bryn Mawr College at a glance

In short: Bryn Mawr College gave $1.0M across 7 grants in 2025 (avg $148K), mostly in District of Columbia. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.

Annual giving (2025)
$1,036,414
+12.7% vs 2024
Grants made (2025)
7
+133.3% vs 2024
Average grant
$148,059
-51.7% vs 2024
Median grant
$13,745
Total assets
$1,689,158,235
+5.5% vs 2024
Primary geography
District of Columbia (92% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.

Who Bryn Mawr College funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 7 recipients in 2025

American Councils for International Education: $917KAmerican Councils forInternational Education$917KFoundation for Community Services: $38KFoundation for CommunityServices$38KSmithsonian Institution: $32KSmithsonian Institution$32KUniversity of Colorado: $14KUniversity of Colorado$14KBrandeis University: $13KBrandeis University$13KCommunity College of Philadelphia: $12KCommunity College ofPhiladelphia$12KJohns Hopkins University: $11KJohns Hopkins University$11K

The largest 2025 recipient was American Councils for International Education ($917K). Together the top 7 received $1.0M.

Grant Size Distribution

19 grants across all recorded years

12<$50K2$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K2$500K–1M3$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 12 grants of 19 (63%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

6states

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 7 itemized grants.

Cities

WashingtonBryn MawrBaltimoreDenverOronoPhiladelphiaWaltham

How Bryn Mawr College gives

  • Giving fell 46% from 2022 to 2025. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$2M$4M$6M2 grants2020 2 grants2021 3 grants2022 4 grants2023 3 grants2024 7 grants2025

From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $920K (2024) to $4.7M (2020). In 2025 it made 7 grants totaling $1.0M.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
American Councils for International Education Washington, DCForeign Language Training$917,463
Foundation for Community Services Bryn Mawr, PAOperational Support$37,500
Smithsonian Institution Washington, DCResearch Support$32,405
University of Colorado Denver, COResearch Support$13,745
Brandeis University Waltham, MAResearch Support$13,088
Community College of Philadelphia Philadelphia, PAResearch Support$11,600
Johns Hopkins University Baltimore, MDResearch Support$10,613
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Bryn Mawr College?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsNet Investment Income
2025$1,689,158,235$273,694,436$225,276,959$1,036,4147$106,573,666
2024$1,601,208,391$254,582,770$212,323,082$919,6643$96,958,153
2023$1,532,694,711$241,836,662$194,965,091$1,350,1454$87,211,331
2022$1,590,150,712$282,034,081$181,601,834$1,926,8633$137,047,175
2021$1,564,567,339$239,161,459$162,420,536$2,354,7432$92,893,838
2020$1,216,445,162$204,085,223$172,384,837$4,655,6492$66,145,477

About Bryn Mawr College

Based on IRS filings

Bryn Mawr College is a public charity focused on Education, based in Bryn Mawr, PA. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $1.7B in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 7 grants totaling $1.0M. Net investment income was $106.6M.

Focus Areas

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Bryn Mawr College is led by Kimberly E. Cassidy, President & Professor since 2025 (on filings since 2020); 18 of 49 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Kimberly E. Cassidy

    President & Professor

    President of the College → President & Professor, 2025

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $542K (2020) → $760K (2025)

  • Cynthia Archer

    Chair Board of Trustees

    Vice Chair & Board of Trustees → Chair & Board of Trustees, 2022

    Chair & Board of Trustees → Chair Board of Trustees, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Gene Kim

    Managing Director & Investments

    Director of Investments → Managing Director & Investments, 2025

    On filings since 2022

    40 hrs/week

    $203K (2022) → $521K (2025)

  • Gina Siesing

    CIO & Director of Libraries

    CIO & Director of Libraries → Chief Info Officer & Director of Libraries, 2023

    Chief Info Officer & Director of Libraries → CIO & Director of Libraries, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $193K (2020) → $245K (2025)

  • Barry Mills

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Christy A. Allen

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Cynthia Chalker

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jeffrey I. Kohn

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jing-Yea Hsu

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Karen Kerr

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Kiki Jamieson

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Mary L. Clark

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Saskia Subramanian

    Trustee

    Trustee & President of Alumnae Assc → Trustee, 2021

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Severa Von Wentzel

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Thabani Clemens Sinkula

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Rhea Graham

    Trustee

    On filings since 2021

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Sara Moreno

    Trustee

    On filings since 2021

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Gina Kim

    Trustee

    On filings since 2022

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Lorelei A. Vargas

    Trustee

    On filings since 2022

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Sally Bachofer

    Trustee

    On filings since 2022

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Tuajuanda C. Jordan

    Trustee

    On filings since 2022

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Charlie Bruce

    Trustee

    On filings since 2023

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Diane Jaffee

    Trustee

    On filings since 2023

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Lori A. Perine

    Trustee

    On filings since 2023

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Courtney Seibert-Fennimore

    Trustee

    On filings since 2024

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • James Matteo

    Trustee

    On filings since 2024

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Margaret Breen

    Trustee

    On filings since 2024

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Molly Macdougall

    Trustee

    On filings since 2024

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Anita Ntem Thomas

    Trustee

    New on the 2025 filing

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Judith Calhoun

    Trustee

    New on the 2025 filing

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Cheryl Lynn Horsey

    Vice President of Enrollment

    Chief Enrollment Officer → Vice President of Enrollment, 2025

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $179K (2020) → $274K (2025)

  • Deepak Kumar

    Professor

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $204K (2020) → $245K (2025)

  • Robert A. Miller

    Vice President for Alumni Relations & Development

    Chief Alum Relations & Development Officer → Vice President for Alumni Relations & Development, 2025

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $274K (2020) → $402K (2025)

  • Samuel B. Magdovitz

    College Counsel

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $195K (2020) → $147K (2025)

  • Timothy Harte

    Provost & Professor

    Provost & Professor → Provost & Professor of Russian, 2022

    Provost & Professor of Russian → Provost & Professor, 2025

    On filings since 2021

    40 hrs/week

    $166K (2021) → $285K (2025)

  • Brooke H. Jones

    Vice President & Chief Investment Officer

    Chief Investment Officer → Vice President & Chief Investment Officer, 2025

    On filings since 2022

    40 hrs/week

    $767K (2022) → $1.3M (2025)

  • Karlene Burrell-McRae

    Dean of the Ug College

    Dean of Undergraduate College → Dean of the Ug College, 2025

    On filings since 2024

    40 hrs/week

    $357K (2024) → $423K (2025)

  • Millicent Bond

    Secretary of the College

    On filings since 2024

    40 hrs/week

    $142K (2024) → $168K (2025)

  • Tijana Stefanovic

    Interim CFO & Controller

    Interim CFO & CAO → Interim CFO & Controller, 2025

    On filings since 2024

    40 hrs/week

    $176K (2024) → $299K (2025)

  • Amanda Chudnow

    Secretary of the College

    New on the 2025 filing

    40 hrs/week

    $109K (2025)

  • Gwendolyn Cadge - Pres

    Of the College & Prof.

    New on the 2025 filing

    40 hrs/week

    $307K (2025)

  • Janet Shapiro Eisenberg - Dean

    Grad School of Soc. Work & Prof.

    New on the 2025 filing

    40 hrs/week

    $240K (2025)

  • Maria Quintero

    Professor

    New on the 2025 filing

    40 hrs/week

    $229K (2025)

  • Paul Melvin

    Professor

    New on the 2025 filing

    40 hrs/week

    $230K (2025)

  • Susan Kraus

    College Counsel

    New on the 2025 filing

    40 hrs/week

    $168K (2025)

  • Amy T. Loftus

    Vice Chair & Board of Trustees

    Trustee → Vice Chair & Board of Trustees, 2022

    On filings since 2020

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Patrick T. McCarthy

    Vice Chair & Board of Trustees

    Secretary & Board of Trustees → Trustee, 2024

    Trustee → Vice Chair & Board of Trustees, 2025

    On filings since 2020

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Teresa Wallace

    Secretary & Board of Trustees

    Trustee → Secretary & Board of Trustees, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Samir Datta

    Vice President for Finance & Administrator

    New on the 2025 filing

    40 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (35)
  • Former: Cecilia A. Conrad (2020–2024) — Trustee
  • Former: Darlyne Bailey (2020–2024) — Professor
  • Former: Janet L. Steinmayer (2020–2024) — Vice Chair & Board of Trustees
  • Former: Jennifer Suh Whitfield (2020–2024) — Trustee
  • Former: Kari Fazio (2020–2024) — CFO & CAO
  • Former: Nanar Tabrizi Yoseloff (2020–2024) — Trustee
  • Former: Ruth Lindeborg (2020–2024) — Secretary of the College
  • Former: Stephanie L. Brown (2020–2024) — Trustee
  • Former: Tim Blake Nelson (2020–2024) — Trustee
  • Former: Hazara Akthar (2022–2024) — Trustee
  • Former: Henry Phan (2023–2024) — Director of Investment Operations & Risk Managem
  • Former: Wei Xu (2024) — Director of Investments Private Market
  • Former: Elizabeth Vogel Warren (2020–2023) — Trustee
  • Former: Jennifer Walters (2020–2023) — Dean of Undergrad Clg
  • Former: Margaret Sarkela (2020–2023) — Trustee
  • Former: Ivy Gluck (2021–2023) — Trustee
  • Former: Gary McDonogh (2023) — Professor
  • Former: Aparajita Bhattacharyya (2020–2022) — Trustee
  • Former: Denise Lee Hurley (2020–2022) — Vice Chair & Board of Trustees
  • Former: Mary Osirim (2020–2022) — Professor
  • Former: Sandy Baum (2020–2022) — Trustee
  • Former: Susan Jin Davis (2020–2022) — Trustee
  • Former: Karen Greif (2022) — Professor
  • Former: Ann Logan (2020–2021) — Chair & Board of Trustees
  • Former: Eileen P. Kavanagh (2020–2021) — Secretary Board of Trustees
  • Former: Grace Armstrong (2020–2021) — Professor
  • Former: Justine D. Jentes (2020–2021) — Vice Chair & Board of Trustees
  • Former: Robert J. Dostal (2020–2021) — Professor
  • Former: Susan Maclaurin (2020–2021) — Vice Chair & Board of Trustees
  • Former: Gabrielle Farrell (2021) — Trustee
  • Former: Ana Maria Lopez (2020) — Trustee
  • Former: Antonia L Kerle (2020) — Trustee
  • Former: Catherine Allegra (2020) — Trustee
  • Former: Cheryl R Holland (2020) — Vice Chair & Board of Trustees
  • Former: Janet Shapiro Eisenberg (2020) — Dean of Gsswsr & Professor

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Brooke H Jones — VP & Chief Investment Officer: $1.3MBrooke H JonesVP & Chief Investment Officer$1.3MKimberly Cassidy — President (Thru 6/24); Professor: $760KKimberly CassidyPresident (Thru 6/24); Professor$760KGene Kim — Managing Director, Investments: $521KGene KimManaging Director, Investments$521KKarlene Burrell-McRae — Dean of the Ug College (Thru 1/25): $423KKarlene Burrell-McRaeDean of the Ug College (Thru…$423KRobert Miller — VP for Alumni Relations & Dev.: $402KRobert MillerVP for Alumni Relations & Dev.$402KGwendolyn Cadge - Pres — Of the College & Prof. (Beg 7/24): $307KGwendolyn Cadge - PresOf the College & Prof. (Beg…$307KTijana Stefanovic — Interim CFO (Thru 3/25); Controller: $299KTijana StefanovicInterim CFO (Thru 3/25)…$299KTimothy Harte — Provost & Professor: $285KTimothy HarteProvost & Professor$285KCheryl Lynn Horsey — VP of Enrollment: $274KCheryl Lynn HorseyVP of Enrollment$274KDeepak Kumar — Professor: $245KDeepak KumarProfessor$245KGina Siesing — CIO & DIR of Libraries (Thru 1/25): $245KGina SiesingCIO & DIR of Libraries (Thru…$245KJanet Shapiro Eisenberg - Dean — Grad School of Soc. Work & Prof.: $240KJanet Shapiro Eisenberg…Grad School of Soc. Work & Prof.$240KPaul Melvin — Professor: $230KPaul MelvinProfessor$230KMaria Quintero — Professor: $229KMaria QuinteroProfessor$229KMillicent Bond — Secretary of the College (Thru 5/25): $168KMillicent BondSecretary of the College (Thru…$168KSusan Kraus — College Counsel (Beg 7/24): $168KSusan KrausCollege Counsel (Beg 7/24)$168KSamuel B Magdovitz — College Counsel (Thru 6/24): $147KSamuel B MagdovitzCollege Counsel (Thru 6/24)$147KAmanda Chudnow — Secretary of the College (Beg 5/25): $109KAmanda ChudnowSecretary of the College (Beg…$109K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $1.3M, to Brooke H Jones (VP & Chief Investment Officer). 18 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Frequently asked questions about Bryn Mawr College

How much does Bryn Mawr College give each year?

Bryn Mawr College gave $1.0M across 7 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $920K across 3 grants.

What is Bryn Mawr College's typical grant size?

Bryn Mawr College's median grant in 2025 was $13,745, and its average grant was $148,059, across 7 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990.

Where does Bryn Mawr College give grants?

Bryn Mawr College gives mostly in District of Columbia: 92% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990 went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Washington, DC (2 grants).

Does Bryn Mawr College give general operating support?

Yes: 14% of Bryn Mawr College's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (1 of 7) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990. Recurring purposes include "Research Support" (5 grants).

Who are Bryn Mawr College's largest grantees?

Bryn Mawr College's largest 2025 grantees include American Councils for International Education ($917,463), Foundation for Community Services ($37,500) and Smithsonian Institution ($32,405), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. Together they received 95% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.

How large is Bryn Mawr College?

Bryn Mawr College reported $1.7B in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $273.7M.

What is Bryn Mawr College?

Bryn Mawr College is a public charity focused on Education, based in Bryn Mawr, PA. It holds $1.7B in total assets as of 2025.

What is Bryn Mawr College's EIN?

Bryn Mawr College's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 23-1352621. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Data update history

(7)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS April 14, 2022)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS April 10, 2023)
  3. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS April 9, 2024)
  4. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS April 15, 2025)
  5. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS April 10, 2026)
  6. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS April 13, 2021)
  7. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2025

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Bryn Mawr College's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders with grantees in common

University of Delaware

Newark, DE

The University of Delaware supports instruction, research, and public service, and its 2023 grants went to educational, medical, and research organizations. It made 177 grants totaling $45.2 million that year, averaging about $255,000 per grant, with recipients in Delaware and elsewhere; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$4.8B

Grants

0

Total Given

$21.4M

American Association for the Advancement of Science

Washington, DC

AAAS funds science, engineering, STEM education and equity, policy fellowships, science journalism, and student research, with 2024 grants ranging from $11,250 to $433,110 and a median of $27,500. Its grants went to organizations across multiple U.S. states, while its mission is global; applications are specifically invited for State Academy Research Grants from NAAS-affiliated academies, but general unsolicited requests are not addressed.

Science & Technology

Assets

$166.3M

Grants

52

Total Given

$2.7M

Worcester Polytechnic Institute

Worcester, MA

Worcester Polytechnic Institute funds applied research, STEM education, and some community needs such as public library support, with grants to universities, nonprofits, research organizations, and local government. Its 2025 grants ranged from $6,051 to $2.27 million, with a median of $97,088; nearly half of grant dollars went to Massachusetts, with additional funding across the U.S. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$1.4B

Grants

60

Total Given

$12.2M

President and Fellows of Harvard College

Cambridge, MA

Harvard’s grantmaking primarily supports research and education, including research awards and sub-awards to universities, hospitals, and research institutes. In 2025, it reported 352 grants ranging from $5,002 to $27.4 million, with a median of $123,018; recipients were concentrated in Massachusetts, which received 64% of grant dollars. The profile does not state whether Harvard accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$79.9B

Grants

352

Total Given

$273.3M

West Virginia University Research Corporation

Morgantown, WV

West Virginia University Research Corporation primarily supports research, public service, instruction, and capital projects connected to WVU, including work in health, engineering, energy, sustainability, and aerospace. In 2025 it made 150 grants, with a median of about $63,000 and amounts ranging from about $5,500 to $7.5 million; nearly half of grant dollars went to West Virginia recipients. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Education

Assets

$179.7M

Grants

150

Total Given

$30.3M

American Council of Learned Societies

New York, NY

The American Council of Learned Societies funds humanities and interpretive social science research through fellowships and grants for scholars and scholarly teams, including support for research, education, cultural exchange, and public-facing work. In 2025, its 153 grants ranged from $5,668 to $1,232,000, with a median of $80,000; it supports scholars worldwide, though recent grant dollars were concentrated in several U.S. states and Washington, DC. Applications are made through individual program competitions; the profile does not say whether ACLS accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$217.0M

Grants

153

Total Given

$17.4M

More similar funders

More Funders in Pennsylvania

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Bryn Mawr College's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Bryn Mawr College down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?