Black Hills Electric Cooperative Inc logo

Black Hills Electric Cooperative Inc

Public charity · Grantmaker Custer, SD EIN: 46-0111503 Website

Black Hills Electric Cooperative is a non-profit member owned organization whose mission is to provide great electric distribution service at the lowest cost consistent with sound business practices.

Black Hills Electric Cooperative Inc at a glance

In short: Black Hills Electric Cooperative Inc reported $18K in grants paid in 2025 (a total; its filing lists no individual grants). Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.

Grants paid (2025)
$17,752 — reported as a total on the IRS filing, without an itemized list
+5.9% vs 2024
Total assets
$83,436,674
+1.3% vs 2024
Revenue (2025)
$26,713,860
+3.6% vs 2024
Net investment income (2025)
$331,206
-21.4% vs 2024
Expenses (2025)
$24,676,569
+14.4% vs 2024
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.

Who Black Hills Electric Cooperative Inc funds

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

States

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$5K$10K$15K$20K1 grant2020 Total only2021 Total only2022 Total only2023 Total only2024 Total only2025

From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $11K (2020) to $18K (2025). In 2025 it reported $18K in grants paid, as a total without an itemized list.

Hatched bars: grants paid as reported on the IRS filing, which lists no individual grants for that year.

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Black Hills Electric Cooperative Inc?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsNet Investment Income
2025$83,436,674$26,713,860$24,676,569$17,752Total only$331,206
2024$82,396,288$25,781,472$21,574,581$16,766Total only$421,300
2023$82,154,386$24,904,597$21,076,110$15,835Total only$296,556
2022$78,519,547$27,331,090$21,089,119$12,900Total only$1,790,351
2021$75,104,972$23,022,656$19,702,955$11,319Total only$195,727
2020$68,564,753$23,355,698$19,718,772$10,8881$413,601

"Total only": grants paid as reported on the IRS filing, which lists no individual grants for that year.

About Black Hills Electric Cooperative Inc

Based on IRS filings

Black Hills Electric Cooperative Inc is a public charity, based in Custer, SD. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $83.4M in total assets. In 2025, it reported $18K in grants paid as a total on its IRS filing, without an itemized list. Net investment income was $331K.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Black Hills Electric Cooperative Inc is led by Walker Witt, CEO on every filing since 2020; all 17 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Walker Witt

    CEO

    On filings since 2020

    55.1 hrs/week

    $226K (2020) → $338K (2025)

  • David Lindblom

    Board President

    Director → Board Vice President, 2024

    Board Vice President → Board President, 2025

    On filings since 2021

    2.2 hrs/week

    $4K (2021) → $5K (2025)

  • Gary Kluthe

    Director

    Board Secretary → Board Treasurer, 2021

    Board Treasurer → Director, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    2.9 hrs/week

    $4K (2020) → $9K (2025)

  • Jim Preston

    Director

    Board Vice President → Board President, 2024

    Board President → Director, 2025

    On filings since 2020

    1.2 hrs/week

    $5K (2020) → $3K (2025)

  • Michelle Fisher

    Director of Communications-Member Service

    Director of Communications Member Service → Director of Communications-Member Service, 2024

    On filings since 2023

    43.8 hrs/week

    $108K (2023) → $138K (2025)

  • Alan Bishop

    Board Assistant Secretary

    Board President → Director, 2021

    Director → Board Assistant Secretary, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    3.7 hrs/week

    $5K (2020) → $9K (2025)

  • Bill Brisk

    Manger of Operations

    Mng of Operations → Manger of Operations, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    47.8 hrs/week

    $139K (2020) → $177K (2025)

  • Dean Whitney

    Crew Foreman

    On filings since 2020

    44.4 hrs/week

    $103K (2020) → $125K (2025)

  • Dennis Quivey

    Board Vice President

    Board President → Director, 2024

    Director → Board Vice President, 2025

    On filings since 2020

    2.8 hrs/week

    $6K (2020) → $7K (2025)

  • Don Anderson

    Board Treasurer

    Board Assistant Secretary → Board Secretary, 2021

    Board Secretary → Board Treasurer, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    4.2 hrs/week

    $8K (2020) → $11K (2025)

  • Jesse Sorenson

    System Coordinator

    On filings since 2020

    44.5 hrs/week

    $118K (2020) → $159K (2025)

  • Sammi Langendorf

    CFO

    On filings since 2020

    50.8 hrs/week

    $131K (2020) → $179K (2025)

  • Thad Wasson

    Board Secretary

    Director → Board Assistant Secretary, 2023

    Board Assistant Secretary → Board Secretary, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    3.7 hrs/week

    $1K (2020) → $9K (2025)

  • Beau Bradeen

    Crew Foreman

    On filings since 2022

    45.4 hrs/week

    $106K (2022) → $126K (2025)

  • Jeff Barnes

    It Specialist

    On filings since 2022

    43.5 hrs/week

    $111K (2022) → $129K (2025)

  • Rory Halverson

    Staking Tech

    On filings since 2023

    43 hrs/week

    $106K (2023) → $116K (2025)

  • Lonnie Schryvers

    Staking Tech

    New on the 2025 filing

    42 hrs/week

    $116K (2025)

Former officers (4)
  • Former: Al Perry (2020–2021) — Former Director
  • Former: William Brisk (2021) — Mng of Operations
  • Former: Dave Lindblom (2020) — Director
  • Former: Mike Chase (2020) — Mng of Marketing & Member Services

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Walker Witt — CEO: $338KWalker WittCEO$338KSammi Langendorf — CFO: $179KSammi LangendorfCFO$179KBill Brisk — Manger of Operations: $177KBill BriskManger of Operations$177KJesse Sorenson — System Coordinator: $159KJesse SorensonSystem Coordinator$159KMichelle Fisher — Dir of Communications-Member Service: $138KMichelle FisherDir of Communications-Member…$138KJeff Barnes — IT Specialist: $129KJeff BarnesIT Specialist$129KBeau Bradeen — Crew Foreman: $126KBeau BradeenCrew Foreman$126KDean Whitney — Crew Foreman: $125KDean WhitneyCrew Foreman$125KLonnie Schryvers — Staking Tech: $116KLonnie SchryversStaking Tech$116KRory Halverson — Staking Tech: $116KRory HalversonStaking Tech$116KDon Anderson — Board Treasurer: $11KDon AndersonBoard Treasurer$11KAlan Bishop — Board Assistant Secretary: $9KAlan BishopBoard Assistant Secretary$9KThad Wasson — Board Secretary: $9KThad WassonBoard Secretary$9KGary Kluthe — Director: $9KGary KlutheDirector$9KDennis Quivey — Board Vice President: $7KDennis QuiveyBoard Vice President$7KDavid Lindblom — Board President: $5KDavid LindblomBoard President$5KJim Preston — Director: $3KJim PrestonDirector$3K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $338K, to Walker Witt (CEO). 17 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Frequently asked questions about Black Hills Electric Cooperative Inc

How much does Black Hills Electric Cooperative Inc give each year?

Black Hills Electric Cooperative Inc reported $18K in grants paid in 2025 on its 2025 IRS Form 990, as a total without an itemized list of grants. In 2024 it reported $17K in grants paid.

How large is Black Hills Electric Cooperative Inc?

Black Hills Electric Cooperative Inc reported $83.4M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $26.7M.

Where does Black Hills Electric Cooperative Inc operate?

Black Hills Electric Cooperative Inc has awarded grants in South Dakota.

What is Black Hills Electric Cooperative Inc's EIN?

Black Hills Electric Cooperative Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 46-0111503. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Data update history

(6)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS May 11, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS April 20, 2022)
  3. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS April 22, 2023)
  4. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS April 17, 2024)
  5. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS April 22, 2025)
  6. Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS April 23, 2026)

Other open foundation grants in South Dakota

South Dakota Open opportunities, soonest deadline first.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Black Hills Electric Cooperative Inc's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Similar funders in South Dakota

South Dakota Community Foundation

Pierre, SD

The South Dakota Community Foundation funds nonprofits and charitable projects in areas including education, health, human services, culture, and economic development, primarily benefiting South Dakota communities. Its 2024 grants had a median of $18,562, while 2026 Beyond Idea Grants range from $5,000 to $100,000 per year. Eligible nonprofits can apply for South Dakota Fund and Beyond Idea Grants through its online portal.

Assets

$939.2M

Grants

390

Total Given

$39.7M

Sioux Falls Area Community Foundation Inc

Sioux Falls, SD

The Sioux Falls Area Community Foundation funds local charitable, educational, cultural, religious, community-development, and environmental needs, including new programs and nonprofit capacity building, primarily in the Sioux Falls area and surrounding communities. Its 2025 grants had a median of $25,000, though awards varied widely; organizations may submit a Letter of Inquiry for Community Fund Grants.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$390.9M

Grants

308

Total Given

$38.0M

Sanford Group Return

Sioux Falls, SD

Sanford Group Return funds health care access and outcomes, community wellbeing, workforce and education, and related community needs, including health professions education and research. In 2024, its median grant was $24,900, with awards ranging from $5,500 to $3.6 million; giving was concentrated in South Dakota, North Dakota, and Minnesota. Its Community Dividend Fund accepts online funding requests in South Dakota, Iowa, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, and Wyoming; whether unsolicited requests are accepted is not stated.

Assets

$4.3B

Grants

171

Total Given

$45.3M

Avera Health

Sioux Falls, SD

Avera Health supports eligible nonprofits working in health and wellness, unmet community health needs, healthy lifestyles, environmental and social initiatives, and civic or community development. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,100 to $850,000, with a median of $17,737; funding is focused on central and eastern South Dakota and nearby parts of Minnesota, Iowa, North Dakota, and Nebraska. It accepts requests through its Community Partnership/Donation Request process and asks applicants to use its form.

Assets

$2.6B

Grants

109

Total Given

$6.2M

Black Hills Area Community Foundation

Rapid City, SD

The foundation funds community needs across areas including youth and families, social services, education, basic needs, arts, animal welfare, and nonprofit capacity building in seven Black Hills counties of South Dakota. Its 2025 grants had a median award of $15,000; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$95.1M

Grants

120

Total Given

$5.7M

Ch Robinson Worldwide Foundation

Sioux Falls, SD

The foundation funds community needs, supply-chain and logistics initiatives, and environmental sustainability, with a Twin Cities program focused on hunger, shelter, K–12 education, and workforce development. Its 2024 grants ranged from $750 to $2.69 million, with a median of $5,000; its Twin Cities program focuses on Minneapolis–St. Paul, while grants also went to organizations elsewhere. The Strategic Industry program is invitation-only, while the Twin Cities program has an application process.

Education

Assets

$18.2M

Grants

87

Total Given

$4.0M

More similar funders

More Funders in South Dakota

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Black Hills Electric Cooperative Inc's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Black Hills Electric Cooperative Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?