Bastinelli Family Foundation Inc

Foundation · Grantmaker Reisterstown, MD EIN: 87-4087068

Bastinelli Family Foundation Inc is a private foundation focused on Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking, based in Reisterstown, MD. IRS filing data is available from 2021 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $4.0M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 6 grants totaling $283K. Net investment income was $327K.

Key facts about Bastinelli Family Foundation Inc

In short: Bastinelli Family Foundation Inc gave $283K across 6 grants in 2025 (avg $47K), mostly in Maryland. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

EIN
87-4087068
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025
Annual giving (2025)
$282,500
Grants made (2025)
6
Average grant
$47,083
Median grant
$30,000
Total assets
$3,959,564
Primary geography
Maryland (96% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.

Financial Overview

From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing

Total Assets

$4.0M

+14.4% YoY

Annual Giving

$283K

+52.5% YoY

Grant Count

6

-14.3% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$47K

+77.9% YoY

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Bastinelli Family Foundation Inc reported a distributable amount of $179K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

How Bastinelli Family Foundation Inc gives

  • Giving grew 98% from 2022 to 2025. Method
  • In 2025 it paid out 157% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Bastinelli Family Foundation Inc?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

10states

Share of all 6 itemized 2025 grant dollars.

Cities

BaltimoreHavre De GraceOwings MillsAshevilleAtlantaBearBoydsCockeysvilleEdisonEllicott CityFreelandHackensackKissimmeeNew YorkPortlandSan FranciscoTimoniumWashington

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$100K$200K$300K0 grants20218 grants20226 grants20237 grants20246 grants2025

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 6 recipients in 2025

Living Classrooms Foundation: $115KLiving Classrooms Foundation$115KMercy Medical Center: $100KMercy Medical Center$100KStevenson University: $50KStevenson University$50KHackensack University Medical Center Foundation Inc: $10KHackensack University MedicalCenter Foundation Inc$10KCaves Valley Golf Club Foundation: $5KCaves Valley Golf ClubFoundation$5KFirst Tee of Baltimore: $3KFirst Tee of Baltimore$3K

Grant Size Distribution

27 grants across all recorded years

20<$50K2$50–100K5$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
LIVING CLASSROOMS FOUNDATION Baltimore, MDTO FURTHER EXEMPT PURPOSE$115,000
MERCY MEDICAL CENTER Baltimore, MDTO FURTHER EXEMPT PURPOSE$100,000
STEVENSON UNIVERSITY Owings Mills, MDTO FURTHER EXEMPT PURPOSE$50,000
HACKENSACK UNIVERSITY MEDICAL CENTER FOUNDATION INC Hackensack, NJTO FURTHER EXEMPT PURPOSE$10,000
CAVES VALLEY GOLF CLUB FOUNDATION Owings Mills, MDTO FURTHER EXEMPT PURPOSE$5,000
FIRST TEE OF BALTIMORE Cockeysville, MDTO FURTHER EXEMPT PURPOSE$2,500

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Revenue
Expenses
Qualifying Distributions
Net Investment Income
$0$1M$2M$3M$4M20212022202320242025
Metric202520242023
Total Assets$3,959,564$3,461,227$3,108,807
Revenue$453,757$21,604$421,540
Expenses$303,102$207,019$150,067
Qualifying Distributions$282,500$185,300$131,000
Net Investment Income$327,316$73,137$60,165
Distributable Amount$179,447$165,005$129,887

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 18, 2026)
  2. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2021–2024

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Bastinelli Family Foundation Inc is led by A. Richard Bastinelli, President & Treasurer on every filing since 2021; none of the 2 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • A. Richard Bastinelli

    President & Treasurer

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Charles B. Jones

    Secretary

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2021–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Frequently asked questions about Bastinelli Family Foundation Inc

How much does Bastinelli Family Foundation Inc give each year?

Bastinelli Family Foundation Inc gave $283K across 6 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $185K across 7 grants.

What is Bastinelli Family Foundation Inc's typical grant size?

Bastinelli Family Foundation Inc's median grant in 2025 was $30,000, and its average grant was $47,083, across 6 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Where does Bastinelli Family Foundation Inc give grants?

Bastinelli Family Foundation Inc gives mostly in Maryland: 96% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Baltimore, MD (2 grants) and Owings Mills, MD (2 grants).

Who are Bastinelli Family Foundation Inc's largest grantees?

Bastinelli Family Foundation Inc's largest 2025 grantees include Living Classrooms Foundation ($115,000), Mercy Medical Center ($100,000) and Stevenson University ($50,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 94% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.

How large is Bastinelli Family Foundation Inc?

Bastinelli Family Foundation Inc reported $4.0M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $283K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $179K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).

What is Bastinelli Family Foundation Inc?

Bastinelli Family Foundation Inc is a private foundation focused on Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking, based in Reisterstown, MD. It holds $4.0M in total assets as of 2025.

What is Bastinelli Family Foundation Inc's EIN?

Bastinelli Family Foundation Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 87-4087068. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2021–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching Bastinelli Family Foundation Inc by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Bastinelli Family Foundation Inc's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

Brown Advisory Charitable Foundation Inc

Baltimore, MD

The foundation supports program work in higher education, health care, education and job training, human services, the arts, and community-based efforts. Its 2025 grants ranged from $100 to $387,250, with a median of $2,500; funding was concentrated in Maryland and South Carolina. It accepts requests from organizations beyond a preselected list, and the filing says awards are geographically restricted but does not specify the boundaries.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$5.3M

Grants

157

Total Given

$3.3M

Greater Washington Community Foundation

Washington, DC

The Greater Washington Community Foundation supports nonprofits and community initiatives across areas including education, health, human services, arts, economic development, and workforce development, with a focus on equity and economic justice. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,000 to $9.1 million, with a median of $20,000; it centers its work on DC, Montgomery and Prince George’s counties, and Northern Virginia. It accepts applications through scheduled competitive grant rounds and some solicited, invite-only opportunities; donor-recommended grants are not open to applicants.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$518.3M

Grants

1,417

Total Given

$116.9M

The United Way of Central Maryland Inc

Baltimore, MD

The United Way of Central Maryland funds nonprofits and community projects focused on basic needs and family stability, including housing, education, health, and economic advancement. Its grants vary widely; the 2025 median was about $15,000, with awards ranging from about $5,000 to $462,000. It serves Baltimore City and Anne Arundel, Baltimore, Carroll, Harford, and Howard counties; the provided information does not clearly state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$51.1M

Grants

216

Total Given

$10.6M

Baltimore Community Foundation Inc

Baltimore, MD

Baltimore Community Foundation funds stronger schools and neighborhoods, including kindergarten readiness, student mental health, school climate, neighborhood improvement, and community development, primarily in Baltimore City and Baltimore County. In 2024 it made 604 grants totaling $29.3 million, with a median grant of about $19,800. It accepts applications for certain programs through its online portal.

Assets

$314.3M

Grants

604

Total Given

$29.3M

Fancy Hill Foundation

Baltimore, MD

Assets

$8.3M

Grants

17

Total Given

$445K

The Pet Care Trust

Forest Hill, MD

The Pet Care Trust funds educational programs that help teachers use classroom pets and animal-assisted therapy to support student learning, primarily through Pets in the Classroom and Dogs in the Classroom. Its 2024 grants ranged from $9 to $49,500, with a median of $50, and its programs serve teachers in the United States and Canada. The Trust says it does not accept unsolicited funding requests; teachers may apply through the Pets in the Classroom program.

Environment & Animals

Assets

$1.3M

Grants

2,829

Total Given

$256K

Annie E Casey Foundation Inc

Baltimore, MD

The Annie E. Casey Foundation funds U.S. nonprofits and other partners working to improve outcomes for children and young people, including family strengthening, child welfare, education, employment, community development and juvenile justice. In 2024, grants ranged from $50 to $1,185,000, with a median of $40,000. Grants are by invitation only; it does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$2.3B

Grants

1,462

Total Given

$93.1M

The Harry and Jeanette Weinberg

Owings Mills, MD

The Harry and Jeanette Weinberg Foundation funds direct services, programs, general operations, and capital projects in housing, health, jobs, education, and aging for low-income and vulnerable people. Its 2024 grants had a median of $50,000; its Small Grants Program offers up to $50,000 over two years, with funding focused on Baltimore, Hawaiʻi, Israel, and Northeastern Pennsylvania. It awards grants by invitation only and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$1.8B

Grants

872

Total Given

$127.8M

Johns Hopkins University

Baltimore, MD

Johns Hopkins University funds education, research, health, and related work, including sub-awards to companies, research institutes, and universities. In 2025 it reported 813 grants totaling about $594 million, with a median award of $100,000; recipients were based across the U.S. and internationally, with the largest share of grant dollars going to California. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$25.3B

Grants

813

Total Given

$594.1M

The Keith Campbell Foundation

Bethesda, MD

The Keith Campbell Foundation funds watershed and environmental advocacy, clean water, agriculture, community engagement, water management, and capacity building, with particular interest in racial equity and diverse communities. Its 2024 grants ranged from $40 to $1.5 million, with a median of $5,000, and its focus includes the Chesapeake and Atlantic Coastal Bays and California, with additional priority counties in Maryland and Pennsylvania. It accepts unsolicited requests from eligible organizations through two grant cycles a year; prior grantees cannot apply through that process.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$420.2M

Grants

688

Total Given

$27.9M

Cystic Fibrosis Foundation

Bethesda, MD

The Cystic Fibrosis Foundation funds cystic fibrosis research, drug development, specialized care, and related community and patient-support programs, primarily through opportunities for academic and industry investigators. Its 2024 grants ranged from $2,800 to $12.9 million, with a median grant of about $150,000; the profile does not specify a geographic limit or whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Diseases, Disorders & Medical Disciplines

Assets

$5.0B

Grants

624

Total Given

$189.6M

Nora Roberts Foundation

Glenn Dale, MD

The Nora Roberts Foundation prioritizes literacy and also funds the arts, children, social justice, and the environment, supporting eligible public-serving nonprofits and programs across the United States, with priority for specified nearby counties and Washington, DC. Typical grants are about $5,000 for local groups and $3,000 for non-local groups; it recommends first-time applicants request $3,000–$5,000. Its 2024 filing says it does not accept unsolicited requests and gives only to preselected organizations, though its website describes an application process.

Assets

$105.4M

Grants

592

Total Given

$7.5M

More Funders in Maryland

Bastinelli Family Foundation Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?