Averett University logo

Averett University

Public charity · Grantmaker Danville, VA EIN: 54-0129860 Website

Averett University prepares students to serve and lead as catalysts for positive change. Averett fulfills this mission by educating students from diverse backgrounds, cultures and nations through liberal arts-based undergraduate and graduate programs in a personal, collegial, interdisciplinary environment.

Averett University at a glance

Total assets
$68,663,682
-0.3% vs 2024
Revenue (2025)
$59,620,653
+9.9% vs 2024
Net investment income (2025)
$1,881,345
+210.5% vs 2024
Expenses (2025)
$58,196,083
-8.5% vs 2024
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.

Who Averett University funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Grant Size Distribution

2 grants across all recorded years

1<$50K$50–100K$100–250K1$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 1 grant of 2 (50%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

2states

Cities

DanvillePrinceton

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$200K$400K$600K0 grants2020 2 grants2021 0 grants2022 0 grants2023 0 grants2024 0 grants2025

In 2021 it made 2 grants totaling $503K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Danville Regional Foundation Danville, VACareer Development and Community Service$488,155
The Corella and Bertram F Bonner Foundation Princeton, NCHelping People with Educaitonal Opportunity$15,000
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Averett University?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsNet Investment Income
2025$68,663,682$59,620,653$58,196,083——$1,881,345
2024$68,836,187$54,255,552$63,574,928——$605,962
2023$78,643,056$54,663,239$60,055,807——$-339,948
2022$74,504,725$52,537,799$58,894,855——$499,211
2021$81,230,669$53,271,038$52,319,002$503,1552$1,039,050
2020$74,339,676$51,016,894$48,500,590——$1,798,744

About Averett University

Based on IRS filings

Averett University is a public charity focused on Education, based in Danville, VA. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $68.7M in total assets. Net investment income was $1.9M.

Focus Areas

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Averett University is led by Tiffany Franks, President on every filing since 2020; 8 of 35 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Tiffany Franks

    President

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    $280K (2020) → $289K (2025)

  • Thomas Powell

    President

    New on the 2025 filing

    No compensation reported

  • Daniel Carlton

    Chairperson

    Chairperson → Trustee, 2022

    Trustee → Chairperson, 2025

    On filings since 2020

    No compensation reported

  • Brandon Potter

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    No compensation reported

  • Calvin R. Snowden

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    No compensation reported

  • Deborah W. Upton

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    No compensation reported

  • Gary W. Collins

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    No compensation reported

  • Jan Gf Barnett

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    No compensation reported

  • Kirk Bidgood

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    No compensation reported

  • Kris Willard

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    No compensation reported

  • Linda Green

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    No compensation reported

  • Mary M. G. Riddle

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    No compensation reported

  • Richard Brown

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    No compensation reported

  • Todd McGregor Yeatts

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    No compensation reported

  • Toni Rice

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    No compensation reported

  • Christopher E. West

    Trustee

    On filings since 2021

    No compensation reported

  • John Eddie Herndon Jr.

    Trustee

    On filings since 2021

    No compensation reported

  • Ellen E. Beville

    Trustee

    On filings since 2022

    No compensation reported

  • Michael E. Keck

    Trustee

    On filings since 2022

    No compensation reported

  • Sarah L. Collie

    Trustee

    On filings since 2022

    No compensation reported

  • Brenda Bowman

    Trustee

    On filings since 2023

    No compensation reported

  • Hayward Majors

    Trustee

    On filings since 2023

    No compensation reported

  • Lenora Billings-Harris

    Trustee

    On filings since 2023

    No compensation reported

  • Starlette Johnson

    Trustee

    On filings since 2023

    No compensation reported

  • L. Hampton Wilkins

    Trustee

    On filings since 2024

    No compensation reported

  • Grayson Eaton

    Trustee

    New on the 2025 filing

    No compensation reported

  • Don Aungst

    Former CFO

    Vice President Finance & CFO → Former Vice President Finance & COO, 2024

    Former Vice President Finance & COO → Former CFO, 2025

    On filings since 2021

    $239K (2021) → $114K (2025)

  • Melissa Wohlstein

    Vice President Advancement

    Vice President Institutional Advancement → Vice President Advancement, 2023

    On filings since 2022

    1 hr/week

    $172K (2022) → $178K (2025)

  • Venita Mitchell

    Vice President Student Engagement

    Vice President Advancement → Vice President Student Engagement, 2023

    On filings since 2022

    1 hr/week

    $134K (2022) → $138K (2025)

  • Lee Beaumont

    Vice President Admissions

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    $167K (2023) → $180K (2025)

  • Michael Boehm

    CIO

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    $179K (2023) → $173K (2025)

  • Don Mericks

    CFO

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    $25K (2025)

  • Virginia Henderson

    Vice President Academic Affairs

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    $149K (2025)

  • Emma Maddux Kozlowski

    Vice Chairperson

    Trustee → Vice Chairperson, 2022

    On filings since 2020

    No compensation reported

  • Deborah Hall

    Interim CFO - Consultant

    New on the 2025 filing

    No compensation reported

Former officers (33)
  • Former: Annie P Wimbish (2020–2024) — Chairperson
  • Former: Bradley Cohen (2020–2024) — Trustee
  • Former: Jessie Barksdale (2020–2024) — Trustee
  • Former: Mark Gignac (2020–2024) — Trustee
  • Former: Megan Stevens (2024) — Vice President of Athletics
  • Former: Hampton Wilkins (2021–2023) — Trustee
  • Former: Teresa Beach (2022–2023) — Dean School of Nursing
  • Former: Ginger Henderson (2023) — Vice President Academic Affairs
  • Former: Afira Devries (2020–2022) — Trustee
  • Former: Jacob Frith (2020–2022) — Trustee
  • Former: Kelvin Perry (2020–2022) — Trustee
  • Former: Richard Roccesano (2020–2022) — Trustee
  • Former: Timothy Fulop (2020–2022) — Vice President Academics
  • Former: L. Samuel Saunders (2021–2022) — Trustee
  • Former: Michael Luter (2021–2022) — Trustee
  • Former: Peggy Wright (2021–2022) — Business Department
  • Former: Shelia Hill-Christian (2022) — Trustee
  • Former: Albert Rawley (2020–2021) — Vice President Advancement
  • Former: Mike Keck (2020–2021) — Trustee
  • Former: Pamela Giles (2020–2021) — School of Nursing
  • Former: Sheila Hill-Christian (2020–2021) — Trustee
  • Former: Stacy Gato (2020–2021) — Vice President Enrollment Trad
  • Former: Aaron Howell (2020) — Vice President Finance & CFO
  • Former: Brandon Veasey (2020) — Trustee
  • Former: Charles Harris (2020) — Executive Vice President
  • Former: Chris West (2020) — Trustee
  • Former: Joe Burke (2020) — Trustee
  • Former: Lee Hampton Wilkins (2020) — Trustee
  • Former: Mike Luter (2020) — Trustee
  • Former: Samuel Saunders (2020) — Second Vice Chairperson
  • Former: Steve Delgiorno (2020) — Trustee
  • Former: Timothy Carter (2020) — Trustee
  • Former: William Gentry (2020) — Trustee

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Dr Tiffany Franks — President: $289KDr Tiffany FranksPresident$289KLee Beaumont — VP Admissions: $180KLee BeaumontVP Admissions$180KMelissa Wohlstein — VP Advancement: $178KMelissa WohlsteinVP Advancement$178KMichael Boehm — CIO: $173KMichael BoehmCIO$173KVirginia Henderson — VP Academic Affairs: $149KVirginia HendersonVP Academic Affairs$149KVenita Mitchell — VP Student Engagement: $138KVenita MitchellVP Student Engagement$138KDon Aungst — Former CFO: $114KDon AungstFormer CFO$114KDon Mericks — CFO: $25KDon MericksCFO$25K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $289K, to Dr Tiffany Franks (President). 8 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Frequently asked questions about Averett University

How large is Averett University?

Averett University reported $68.7M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $59.6M.

What is Averett University?

Averett University is a public charity focused on Education, based in Danville, VA. It holds $68.7M in total assets as of 2025.

Where does Averett University operate?

Averett University has awarded grants in North Carolina, Virginia.

What is Averett University's EIN?

Averett University's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 54-0129860. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Data update history

(2)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS May 16, 2022)
  2. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2025

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Averett University's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Similar funders in Virginia

Jack Kent Cooke Foundation

Lansdowne, VA

The Jack Kent Cooke Foundation funds education programs that help exceptionally promising students with financial need, including college access, academic enrichment, and support for talented students. Its 2025 grants ranged from $6 to $515,000, with a median of $7,702; it funds across the United States, with most grant dollars going to Virginia. It does not restrict giving to preselected organizations and directs applicants to its website for current application instructions and eligibility.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$940.1M

Grants

1,419

Total Given

$25.1M

Donors Trust Inc

Alexandria, VA

Donors Trust supports charities and programs in social welfare, health, the environment, economics, governance, foreign relations, and arts and culture, with a strong emphasis on conservative and libertarian policy and education groups. Its 2024 grants had a median of $50,000, though awards ranged from $5,038 to $35 million, and recipients were concentrated in Washington, D.C., Virginia, New York, Texas, and California. It does not accept unsolicited requests; donor-advisors recommend grants through their accounts.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$1.4B

Grants

919

Total Given

$282.1M

The Community Foundation Inc

Richmond, VA

The Community Foundation funds health and wellness, education, economic prosperity, and community vibrancy, along with other causes through donor-advised and field-of-interest funds. In 2024, grants ranged from $5,100 to $1,795,000, with a median of $25,000; 78% of grant dollars went to Virginia recipients. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$852.4M

Grants

917

Total Given

$61.8M

America's Charities

Chantilly, VA

AMERICA’S CHARITIES routes donor-directed workplace giving to member charities and provides emergency assistance to eligible employees and people affected by disasters; its reported grants are fiscal-agent disbursements, not awards selected through an application process. In 2025 it reported 808 grants totaling $16.4 million, ranging from $5,000 to $515,354 (median $9,664), to recipients across the United States, with the largest shares going to Pennsylvania, California, Washington, D.C., Virginia, and Arizona. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$36.2M

Grants

808

Total Given

$16.4M

Dominion Energy Charitable Foundation

Richmond, VA

Dominion Energy Charitable Foundation funds eligible 501(c)(3) organizations working in health and human services, education, arts and culture, civic and community development, and the environment within its operating area. Its 2024 grants ranged from $100 to $1 million, with a median of $5,000; it accepts unsolicited requests during spring and fall cycles.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$2.3M

Grants

773

Total Given

$16.4M

The Nature Conservancy

Arlington, VA

The Nature Conservancy funds conservation work, including land and easement acquisition, research, planning, organizational capacity, and sustainable agriculture, across the United States and internationally. In 2025, its grants had a median of about $31,000, with awards ranging from about $5,000 to $2.1 million; some regional programs offer grants of up to $100,000.

Assets

$10.1B

Grants

671

Total Given

$67.8M

More similar funders

More Funders in Virginia

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Averett University's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Averett University down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?