Archie Tonge Education Fund

Public charity · Grantmaker Pollock Pines, CA EIN: 94-1630925

The Archie Tonge Education Fund is a public charity based in Pollock Pines, California. Formed in 1966, it provides grants to benefit or carry out the purposes of the Seventh-day Adventist Church, including support for Adventist education.

Key facts about Archie Tonge Education Fund

In short: Archie Tonge Education Fund gave $499K across 11 grants in 2025 (avg $45K), mostly in California. 45% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.

EIN
94-1630925
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2025
Annual giving (2025)
$499,435
Grants made (2025)
11
Average grant
$45,403
Median grant
$30,000
New grantees (estimate)
45% first-time grantees (5 of 11, 2025; small sample)
Total assets
$16,603,011
Primary geography
California (85% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)

Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology).

Financial Overview

From 2025 IRS Form 990 · View filing

Total Assets

$16.6M

+2.8% YoY

Annual Giving

$499K

-10.4% YoY

Grant Count

11

+37.5% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$45K

-34.8% YoY

Is Archie Tonge Education Fund open to new grantees?

45%

first-time grantees, 2025

In 2025, 5 of 11 grantees (45%) were first-time recipients. With only 11 grantees, that is a small sample: one grantee more or less moves the share by about 9 points. First grants averaged $23K; repeat grants $64K. How we count

Medians: $25K first-time, $38K repeat.

  • 36% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
  • Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (−4%). Method

Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990 filings (2020–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.

Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.

Mission & Focus Areas

The fund states its mission is “to provide grants to benefit or carry out the purpose of the Seventh Day Adventist Church.” Its filing describes grants to charitable organizations in furtherance of the fund’s exempt purpose.

The filing describes scholarships of up to $8,000 each for as many as five students annually. Scholarships may be renewed for four years if recipients remain eligible. School officials circulate applications; a committee of school employees, community members, and board members selects candidates, and the fund’s application review committee evaluates the results. Funds are forwarded to an Adventist college or university. This is a scholarship program for students, rather than a grant program for outside applicants.

The fund’s 2025 grants included Adventist colleges, universities, schools, and other organizations. Pacific Union College describes itself as a Seventh-day Adventist learning community offering Christ-centered education and preparing students for service. Walla Walla University says it seeks to provide broad knowledge and translate academic achievement into responsible citizenship and service. La Sierra University describes a mission of scholarship, reflection, instruction, mentoring, and service to local and global communities. These are the grantees’ stated missions, not the fund’s.

Grantmaking

In 2025, the fund reported 11 grants totaling $499,435. Grant amounts ranged from $5,333 to $241,350, with a median of $30,000.

The largest 2025 grant was $241,350 to Pacific Union College. Other notable grants were $50,000 to Central Valley Christ; $44,602 to Walla Walla University; $42,500 to Central California Conference of Seventh-day Adventists; $32,000 to Southern Adventist University; and $30,000 to Monterey Bay Academy. The filing listed the purpose for these grants as “Assistance to Seventh-Day Adventist.”

The filing describes a student scholarship application process through school officials and an application review committee.

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Archie Tonge Education Fund?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

In 2025, 85% of grant dollars went to recipients in California, 9% to Washington, and 6% to Tennessee.

Grant Distribution by State

7states

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 11 itemized grants.

Cities

AngwinCollege PlaceCollegedaleLincolnRiversideCeresLoma LindaLos AltosChicoHealdsburgPleasant HillArroyo GrandeBakersfieldBozemanClovisFletcherHonoluluMills RiverOceansideOrangevale

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$250K$500K$750K$1M9 grants2020 8 grants2021 10 grants2022 10 grants2023 8 grants2024 11 grants2025

From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $436K (2021) to $833K (2023). In 2025 it made 11 grants totaling $499K.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 10 recipients in 2025

Pacific Union College: $241KPacific Union College$241KCentral Valley Christ: $50KCentral Valley Christ$50KWalla Walla University: $45KWalla Walla University$45KCentral Ca Conf of SDA: $43KCentral Ca Conf of SDA$43KSouthern Adventist University: $32KSouthern Adventist University$32KMonterey Bay Academy: $30KMonterey Bay Academy$30KOceanside Adventist Elem: $25KOceanside Adventist Elem$25KValley View Adventist School: $11KValley View Adventist School$11KParadise Adventist Academy: $10KParadise Adventist Academy$10KBakersfield Adventist Academy: $9KBakersfield Adventist Academy$9K

The largest 2025 recipient was Pacific Union College ($241K). Together the top 10 received $494K.

Grant Size Distribution

47 grants across all recorded years

29<$50K8$50–100K9$100–250K1$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 29 grants of 47 (62%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Pacific Union College Angwin, CAAssistance to Seventh-Day Adventist$241,350
Central Valley Christ Ceres, CAAssistance to Seventh-Day Adventist$50,000
Walla Walla University College Place, WAAssistance to Seventh-Day Adventist$44,602
Central Ca Conf of SDA Clovis, CAAssistance to Seventh-Day Adventist$42,500
Southern Adventist University Collegedale, TNAssistance to Seventh-Day Adventist$32,000
Monterey Bay Academy Watsonville, CAAssistance to Seventh-Day Adventist$30,000
Oceanside Adventist Elem Oceanside, CAAssistance to Seventh-Day Adventist$24,750
Valley View Adventist School Arroyo Grande, CAAssistance to Seventh-Day Adventist$10,500
Paradise Adventist Academy Chico, CAAssistance to Seventh-Day Adventist$9,900
Bakersfield Adventist Academy Bakersfield, CAAssistance to Seventh-Day Adventist$8,500

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Filing year Assets Revenue Expenses Grants
2025 $16,603,011 $1,224,855 $780,311 $499,435
2024 $16,158,467 $1,470,169 $812,233 $557,228
2023 $15,500,531 $661,810 $1,089,177 $833,068
Revenue
Expenses
Net Investment Income
$0$500K$1M$1.5M$2M2020 2021 2022 2023 2024 2025
Metric202520242023
Total Assets$16,603,011$16,158,467$15,500,531
Revenue$1,224,855$1,470,169$661,810
Expenses$780,311$812,233$1,089,177
Net Investment Income$1,220,199$1,470,164$659,754

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS May 13, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS November 9, 2021)
  3. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS November 4, 2022)
  4. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS October 13, 2023)
  5. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS November 12, 2024)
  6. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS November 12, 2025)
  7. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2025

Leadership & Key People

Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings

The 2025 filing lists Mayra Thompson, Margaret Tonge Klammer, Kathleen Tonge, and Judith Jones Coyle as directors; Larry M Ballew as CEO; Larry Pressley as chairperson; Jennifer Zinke as president; and Ian Johnson as secretary/treasurer.

Archie Tonge Education Fund is led by Larry M Ballew, CEO on every filing since 2022; all 8 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Larry M Ballew

    CEO

    On filings since 2022

    10 hrs/week

    $20K (2022) → $42K (2025)

  • Jennifer Zinke

    President

    President → Director, 2021

    Director → President, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    $900 (2020) → $900 (2025)

  • Larry Pressley

    Chairperson

    Director → Chairperson, 2021

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    $300 (2020) → $900 (2025)

  • Judith Jones Coyle

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    $900 (2020) → $900 (2025)

  • Kathleen Tonge

    Director

    Director → Secretary & Treasurer, 2021

    Secretary & Treasurer → Director, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    $600 (2020) → $900 (2025)

  • Margaret Tonge Klammer

    Director

    Director → President, 2021

    President → Director, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    $900 (2020) → $900 (2025)

  • Mayra Thompson

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    $600 (2020) → $600 (2025)

  • Ian Johnson

    Secretary & Treasurer

    Director → Secretary & Treasurer, 2023

    On filings since 2022

    1 hr/week

    $600 (2022) → $900 (2025)

Former officers (5)
  • Former: John Collins (2020–2022) — CEO
  • Former: Kristine Johnson (2020–2022) — Director
  • Former: Pamela Pressley (2020–2022) — Chairperson
  • Former: Dan Zinkie (2022) — Director
  • Former: Keith Scott (2020) — Director

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Larry M Ballew — CEO: $42KLarry M BallewCEO$42KLarry Pressley — Chairperson: $900Larry PressleyChairperson$900Jennifer Zinke — President: $900Jennifer ZinkePresident$900Margaret Tonge Klammer — Director: $900Margaret Tonge KlammerDirector$900Kathleen Tonge — Director: $900Kathleen TongeDirector$900Judith Jones Coyle — Director: $900Judith Jones CoyleDirector$900Ian Johnson — Secretary/Treas: $900Ian JohnsonSecretary/Treas$900Mayra Thompson — Director: $600Mayra ThompsonDirector$600

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $42K, to Larry M Ballew (CEO). 8 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Contact

Mailing address: 3107 Darby Lane, Pollock Pines, CA 95726
Phone: (530) 363-4614

Frequently asked questions about Archie Tonge Education Fund

How much does Archie Tonge Education Fund give each year?

Archie Tonge Education Fund gave $499K across 11 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $557K across 8 grants.

What is Archie Tonge Education Fund's typical grant size?

Archie Tonge Education Fund's median grant in 2025 was $30,000, and its average grant was $45,403, across 11 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Organizations receiving their first grant from Archie Tonge Education Fund that year got $23K on average.

Where does Archie Tonge Education Fund give grants?

Archie Tonge Education Fund gives mostly in California: 85% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990 went to recipients there. The next largest states were Washington (9%) and Tennessee (6%).

Does Archie Tonge Education Fund give general operating support?

Not in 2025: none of the 11 grants with a stated purpose on Archie Tonge Education Fund's 2025 IRS Form 990 were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Assistance to Seventh-Day Adventist" (11 grants).

Who are Archie Tonge Education Fund's largest grantees?

Archie Tonge Education Fund's largest 2025 grantees include Pacific Union College ($241,350), Central Valley Christ ($50,000) and Walla Walla University ($44,602), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. Together they received 67% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.

How large is Archie Tonge Education Fund?

Archie Tonge Education Fund reported $16.6M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $1.2M.

What does Archie Tonge Education Fund fund?

The fund states its mission is “to provide grants to benefit or carry out the purpose of the Seventh Day Adventist Church.” Its filing describes grants to charitable organizations in furtherance of the fund’s exempt purpose. See mission & focus areas ↑

How do I apply for a grant from Archie Tonge Education Fund?

Archie Tonge Education Fund has no public application process in the sources Grantable reviewed. Contact the foundation directly before submitting a request.

What is Archie Tonge Education Fund's EIN?

Archie Tonge Education Fund's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 94-1630925. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching Archie Tonge Education Fund by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Archie Tonge Education Fund's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

Versacare Inc

Loma Linda, CA

Versacare primarily funds Seventh-day Adventist ministries and related education, youth, healthcare, and humanitarian projects, with occasional support for other efforts. In 2024, grants ranged from $1,000 to $150,000, with a median of $10,000; eligible regions include North America, Central America, the Caribbean, Colombia, and Venezuela. The profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$67.5M

Grants

174

Total Given

$2.8M

WF & Blanche E West Educational & Coffman JF

Chehalis, WA

The foundation primarily funds scholarships at colleges and universities, with most 2025 grant dollars going to recipients in Washington and smaller amounts to organizations in other states. It awarded $179,667 across 44 grants in 2025; grants ranged from $667 to $41,000, with a median of $1,000. It does not accept unsolicited funding requests and gives only to preselected organizations.

Assets

$3.3M

Grants

44

Total Given

$180K

Adventist Health System Sunbelt Healthcare Corporation

Altamonte Springs, FL

Adventist Health System Sunbelt Healthcare Corporation funds universities, youth and religious organizations, healthcare providers, and community groups, with grants distributed across several states and community impact programs focused on specified Florida counties. Its 2024 grants ranged from $6,000 to $4 million, with a median of $43,800. Applications were invited for the described 2026 Florida community grant programs; no broader unsolicited-request policy is stated.

Health

Assets

$12.5B

Grants

33

Total Given

$17.5M

Graham Family Foundation

Yreka, CA

The Graham Family Foundation supports charitable, educational, and community work, including scholarships, youth programs, food assistance, shelter, and outreach. Its 2025 grants ranged from $450 to $40,000, with a median of $2,000, and mainly went to organizations in Oregon and California, as well as several other states. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$5.0M

Grants

51

Total Given

$275K

Adventist Health SystemWest

Roseville, CA

Living God's love by inspiring health, wholeness and hope.

Health

Assets

$5.0B

Grants

6

Total Given

$590K

Deloitte Foundation

Stamford, CT

The Deloitte Foundation funds U.S. education initiatives, including scholarships, curriculum and faculty support, mentoring, and grants to education nonprofits and universities, particularly through local programs in about 30 selected locations. Its 2025 grants had a median of $50,000, and it does not accept unsolicited requests for its Local Impact Grant Program.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$51.4M

Grants

121

Total Given

$32.5M

Bainum Family Foundation

Washington, DC

The Bainum Family Foundation primarily funds early-childhood development and family well-being, including early learning, health, mental health, economic security, and housing stability, as well as select legacy programs. Its 2025 grants ranged from $26 to $1 million, with a median of $87,500; giving was concentrated in Washington, D.C., with grants also made across multiple states. It does not accept unsolicited funding requests and identifies potential partners directly.

Assets

$752.8M

Grants

114

Total Given

$16.1M

Council of Independent Colleges

Washington, DC

The Council of Independent Colleges funds nonprofit independent colleges, universities, state-based higher-education councils, and related programs, including NetVUE projects for students and professional development for faculty and staff. Recent grants ranged from $6,500 to $172,504, with a median of $26,354; funding went to recipients across multiple states. NetVUE has published grant opportunities and deadlines, but the available information does not say whether CIC accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$89.0M

Grants

176

Total Given

$5.9M

Silicon Valley Community Foundation

Mountain View, CA

Silicon Valley Community Foundation funds work in areas such as housing, economic security, education, health, the environment, arts and culture, and civic engagement, with Community Action Grants supporting local, community-led organizations in San Mateo and Santa Clara counties. Its 2024 grants had a median of $51,716, though amounts varied widely; applications depend on the program, and SVCF states that it does not accept unsolicited proposals for advised funds.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$12.3B

Grants

3,576

Total Given

$3.2B

California Community Foundation

Los Angeles, CA

The California Community Foundation supports nonprofits through discretionary and donor-directed grants, with discretionary priorities including education, health, housing and immigration, alongside other areas such as arts, civic engagement and economic opportunity. Its 2025 grants had a median of $50,000, and its work is focused on Los Angeles County; prospective discretionary applicants are asked to contact the relevant program officer before submitting a letter of intent.

Assets

$2.3B

Grants

2,174

Total Given

$326.6M

The William & Flora Hewlett Foundation

Menlo Park, CA

The William & Flora Hewlett Foundation funds education, climate and conservation, the arts, democracy, gender equity, racial justice, and efforts to strengthen nonprofits and philanthropy, with work spanning the San Francisco Bay Area, the U.S. West, and locations including East and West Africa and Mexico. Its 2024 grants had a median award of $150,000, though amounts varied widely. It generally does not accept unsolicited requests, but sometimes invites proposals through open processes.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$14.2B

Grants

2,001

Total Given

$625.0M

Marin Community Foundation

Novato, CA

Marin Community Foundation funds work in affordable housing and homelessness, community resilience and power, as well as social services, education, arts and conservation, with a focus on marginalized Marin County residents and some broader U.S. and international grantmaking. Its 2025 grants had a median of $25,000, though amounts varied widely. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$1.3B

Grants

1,573

Total Given

$186.1M

More Funders in California

Archie Tonge Education Fund down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?