Aitkin Community Hospital DBA Riverwood Healthcare Center logo

Aitkin Community Hospital DBA Riverwood Healthcare Center

Public charity · Grantmaker Aitkin, MN EIN: 41-0745522 Website

To improve health by providing high quality, compassionate and personalized care.

Aitkin Community Hospital DBA Riverwood Healthcare Center at a glance

In short: Aitkin Community Hospital DBA Riverwood Healthcare Center gave $92K across 1 grant in 2025 (avg $92K), mostly in Minnesota. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.

Annual giving (2025)
$92,452
-29.5% vs 2024
Grants made (2025)
1
+0.0% vs 2024
Average grant
$92,452
-29.5% vs 2024
Median grant
$92,452
Total assets
$157,459,903
-8.6% vs 2024
Primary geography
Minnesota (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.

Who Aitkin Community Hospital DBA Riverwood Healthcare Center funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top recipient in 2025

Riverwood Healthcare Center & Community Hospital Foundation: $92KRiverwood Healthcare Center &Community Hospital Foundation$92K

The largest 2025 recipient was Riverwood Healthcare Center & Community Hospital Foundation ($92K).

Grant Size Distribution

5 grants across all recorded years

<$50K2$50–100K3$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was in the $100–250K range: 3 grants of 5 (60%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

1state

Share of the 2025 grant dollars on its one itemized grant.

States

Cities

Aitkin

How Aitkin Community Hospital DBA Riverwood Healthcare Center gives

  • Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (−3%). Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$50K$100K$150K1 grant2019 1 grant2020 1 grant2021 1 grant2022 1 grant2023 1 grant2024 1 grant2025

From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $37K (2019) to $131K (2024). In 2025 it made 1 grant totaling $92K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Riverwood Healthcare Center & Community Hospital Foundation Aitkin, MNTo Provide Administrative Support$92,452
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Aitkin Community Hospital DBA Riverwood Healthcare Center?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsNet Investment Income
2025$157,459,903$120,928,291$123,287,714$92,4521$1,670,967
2024$172,276,125$104,626,437$106,873,235$131,1581$665,989
2023$133,201,757$96,098,277$94,718,075$101,7801$305,703
2022$122,550,858$91,742,125$89,077,820$95,1781$3,240,912
2021$140,704,305$95,564,990$80,161,227$119,1981$1,539,385
2020$131,651,817$74,576,888$71,310,451$92,3051$1,504,838
2019$109,141,859$75,277,598$67,644,569$36,7371$2,649,730

About Aitkin Community Hospital DBA Riverwood Healthcare Center

Based on IRS filings

Aitkin Community Hospital DBA Riverwood Healthcare Center is a public charity focused on Health, based in Aitkin, MN. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $157.5M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 1 grant totaling $92K. Net investment income was $1.7M.

Focus Areas

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Aitkin Community Hospital DBA Riverwood Healthcare Center is led by Ken Westman, CEO on every filing since 2022; 10 of 20 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Ken Westman

    CEO

    On filings since 2022

    38 hrs/week

    $402K (2023) → $553K (2025)

  • Kathleen Ryan

    Chair

    Chairman → Chair, 2020

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jeffrey Ehnstrom

    Director & Physician

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $401K (2020) → $444K (2025)

  • Jared Lundgren

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Steve Wilson

    Director

    Secretary → Director, 2022

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Timothy Dirks

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Tom Lundberg

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Heather Hipp

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Bryan Nistler

    Director

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Casey Johnson

    CFO

    On filings since 2019

    38 hrs/week

    $158K (2019) → $269K (2025)

  • Cynthia Baker

    COO

    COO → COO & Interim CEO, 2021

    COO & Interim CEO → COO, 2022

    On filings since 2019

    38 hrs/week

    $205K (2019) → $272K (2025)

  • David Taylor

    CMO

    On filings since 2019

    40 hrs/week

    $402K (2019) → $631K (2025)

  • Donald Hughes

    Physician

    Provider → Physician, 2025

    On filings since 2019

    40 hrs/week

    $292K (2019) → $371K (2025)

  • Jim Harris

    Er Physician

    Er Physican → Er Physician, 2025

    On filings since 2019

    40 hrs/week

    $396K (2019) → $405K (2025)

  • Jessica Hodson

    Er Physician

    Er Physican → Er Physician, 2025

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $368K (2020) → $435K (2025)

  • Robert Schmieg

    Crna

    On filings since 2024

    40 hrs/week

    $381K (2024) → $449K (2025)

  • Janelle Tepper

    Crna

    New on the 2025 filing

    40 hrs/week

    $393K (2025)

  • Chad Gross

    Treasurer

    Director → Treasurer, 2022

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Christine Bright

    Vice Chair

    Vice Chair → Secretary, 2022

    Secretary → Vice Chair, 2024

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Lowell Larson

    Secretary

    Director → Secretary, 2024

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (13)
  • Former: Melissa Herbranson (2019–2024) — Provider
  • Former: Mike Paulbeck (2019–2024) — Vice Chair
  • Former: Christopher Hughes (2024) — Provider
  • Former: Erik Bostrom (2019–2023) — Provider
  • Former: Todd A. Sandberg (2019–2023) — CEO
  • Former: Tony Blankers (2022–2023) — Provider
  • Former: Timothy Arnold (2023) — Provider
  • Former: Alison Matalamaki (2019–2022) — Treasurer
  • Former: Austin Krohn (2019–2021) — Provider
  • Former: Chad Cooper (2019) — Former CEO
  • Former: David Meyer (2019) — Former Director
  • Former: Jeff Ehnstrom (2019) — Director & Physician
  • Former: Mark Heggem (2019) — Former CMO

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Dr David Taylor — CMO: $631KDr David TaylorCMO$631KKen Westman — CEO: $553KKen WestmanCEO$553KRobert Schmieg — CRNA: $449KRobert SchmiegCRNA$449KDr Jeffrey Ehnstrom — Director/Physician: $444KDr Jeffrey EhnstromDirector/Physician$444KDr Jessica Hodson — Er Physician: $435KDr Jessica HodsonEr Physician$435KDr Jim Harris — Er Physician: $405KDr Jim HarrisEr Physician$405KJanelle Tepper — CRNA: $393KJanelle TepperCRNA$393KDonald Hughes — Physician: $371KDonald HughesPhysician$371KCynthia Baker — COO: $272KCynthia BakerCOO$272KCasey Johnson — CFO: $269KCasey JohnsonCFO$269K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $631K, to Dr David Taylor (CMO). 10 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Frequently asked questions about Aitkin Community Hospital DBA Riverwood Healthcare Center

How much does Aitkin Community Hospital DBA Riverwood Healthcare Center give each year?

Aitkin Community Hospital DBA Riverwood Healthcare Center gave $92K across 1 grant in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $131K across 1 grant.

How large is Aitkin Community Hospital DBA Riverwood Healthcare Center?

Aitkin Community Hospital DBA Riverwood Healthcare Center reported $157.5M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $120.9M.

What is Aitkin Community Hospital DBA Riverwood Healthcare Center?

Aitkin Community Hospital DBA Riverwood Healthcare Center is a public charity focused on Health, based in Aitkin, MN. It holds $157.5M in total assets as of 2025.

Where does Aitkin Community Hospital DBA Riverwood Healthcare Center operate?

Aitkin Community Hospital DBA Riverwood Healthcare Center has awarded grants in Minnesota.

What is Aitkin Community Hospital DBA Riverwood Healthcare Center's EIN?

Aitkin Community Hospital DBA Riverwood Healthcare Center's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 41-0745522. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Data update history

(7)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS August 11, 2025)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS August 14, 2026)
  3. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS August 10, 2020)
  4. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS August 12, 2021)
  5. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS August 12, 2022)
  6. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS August 11, 2023)
  7. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS August 13, 2024)

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Aitkin Community Hospital DBA Riverwood Healthcare Center's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Similar funders in Minnesota

The Minneapolis Foundation

Minneapolis, MN

The Minneapolis Foundation funds civic, social, and economic needs, including economic mobility, education, health, the environment, arts, and human services, with most grant dollars going to Minnesota. Its 2025 grants had a median of $25,000, though amounts varied widely. It says no funding opportunities are currently open; whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$1.2B

Grants

1,565

Total Given

$121.7M

Saint Paul & Minnesota Foundation

St. Paul, MN

The Saint Paul & Minnesota Foundation funds community-led work in areas including economic opportunity, health and human services, youth and education, housing, and organizational capacity. Its 2025 grants had a median of $26,000; listed programs offer up to $50,000 for eligible East Metro work and up to $15,000 for qualifying Minnesota organizations. It accepts applications through specific programs, including rolling application opportunities; the Community Solutions Grant Program serves Dakota, Ramsey, and Washington counties.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$1.7B

Grants

1,473

Total Given

$107.2M

The Richard M Schulze Family Foundation

Minneapolis, MN

The Richard M. Schulze Family Foundation funds education, health care, and human services, including college scholarships, with most support benefiting working- and middle-class families in specified Minnesota and Florida counties; it also makes some national grants. Its 2024 grants had a median of $5,000, though awards ranged from $50 to $10 million. It plans to move to invitation-only grantmaking in 2027; whether it currently accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.

Assets

$218.3M

Grants

1,431

Total Given

$47.9M

Wells Fargo Foundation

Minneapolis, MN

Wells Fargo Foundation funds financial opportunity, affordable housing, small business growth, and some other local community needs across national and eligible local communities. Its 2025 grants ranged from $3,000 to $8 million, with a median of $35,000. It does not accept unsolicited requests; eligible organizations may submit a grant interest form to be considered for an invitation.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$8.6M

Grants

1,376

Total Given

$157.4M

C K Blandin Foundation

Grand Rapids, MN

The C K Blandin Foundation funds rural Minnesota projects that build community wealth, improve rural places, strengthen small communities, and support capacity-building, with a primary focus on the Grand Rapids area. Rural grants are typically $25,000–$150,000; it does not accept unsolicited requests, offering opportunities through invitations or competitive RFPs.

Assets

$506.3M

Grants

931

Total Given

$15.8M

The McKnight Foundation

Minneapolis, MN

The McKnight Foundation funds arts and culture, resilient food systems, Midwest climate and energy, neuroscience, and equitable communities, with Minnesota a primary focus for several programs and work also extending beyond the state. Its 2024 grants had a median of $100,000; prospective applicants should first discuss fit with program staff, who provide proposal instructions if the work can be considered.

Assets

$2.7B

Grants

790

Total Given

$145.9M

More similar funders

More Funders in Minnesota

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Aitkin Community Hospital DBA Riverwood Healthcare Center's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Aitkin Community Hospital DBA Riverwood Healthcare Center down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?