Accelerate - The National Collaborative is a public charity based in Nashville, Tennessee, formed in 2022. It connects research, policy, and implementation to help schools put evidence-based learning approaches into practice and improve student outcomes at scale, particularly for students who need support most.
Key facts about Accelerate - the National Collaborative for Accelerated Learning
In short: Accelerate - the National Collaborative for Accelerated Learning gave $10.4M across 62 grants in 2025 (avg $168K), top state Illinois. 42% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.
- EIN
- 88-3207484
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990, 2025
- Annual giving (2025)
- $10,422,894
- Grants made (2025)
- 62
- Average grant
- $168,111
- Median grant
- $100,000
- New grantees (estimate)
- 42% first-time grantees (26 of 62, 2025)
- Total assets
- $12,135,619
- Primary geography
- Illinois (33% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology).
Financial Overview
From 2025 IRS Form 990 · View filing
Total Assets
$12.1M
+1.6% YoY
Annual Giving
$10.4M
-48.6% YoY
Grant Count
62
+44.2% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$168K
-64.3% YoY
Is Accelerate - the National Collaborative for Accelerated Learning open to new grantees?
42%
first-time grantees, 2025
In 2025, 26 of 62 grantees (42%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $159K; repeat grants $175K. How we count
Medians: $128K first-time, $57K repeat.
- 53% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990 filings (2023–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Mission & Focus Areas
Accelerate’s stated mission is to bring evidence-based practices to scale in public education by bridging gaps between research, policy, and school systems. Its work includes tutoring and individualized instruction, state-level policy and implementation support, research and evaluation, and educational technology. Its Call for Effective Technology program supports the development, implementation, and evaluation of promising AI-powered and other educational technology tools, with a focus on personalized learning, instructional effectiveness, and equitable access.
Accelerate’s stated grant programs include States Leading Recovery, which supports states seeking to use high-impact tutoring to address academic gaps, and Call to Effective Action, which supports evidence-based tutoring and individualized-instruction models with potential to operate at scale. The organization also describes work to fund implementation actors, collect and report implementation data, evaluate interventions, share lessons, and connect education-sector stakeholders.
Its grantees include state agencies, education organizations, tutoring providers, and research institutions. For example, grantee North Carolina Education Corps describes its mission as equipping adults to improve literacy outcomes for low-performing K–5 students; Literacy Mid-South says it mobilizes the community to maximize the impact of literacy and learning services; and the University of Chicago describes its mission as communicating and creating knowledge and fostering a community of scholars and students.
Grantmaking
In filing year 2025, Accelerate reported 62 grants totaling $10,422,894. Grant amounts ranged from $2,000 to $3,387,500, with a median grant of $100,000.
Open Grants
6 open opportunities from Accelerate - the National Collaborative for Accelerated Learning
Call for Effective Technology (CET)
Accelerate - the National Collaborative for Accelerated Learning
Amount
$150,000 - $200,000
Deadline
Rolling / Open
Call to Effective Action (CEA) Grant Program
Accelerate - the National Collaborative for Accelerated Learning
Amount
Up to $350,000
Deadline
Rolling / Open
Education Innovation and Research (EIR) Award - Oklahoma Literacy Study
Accelerate - the National Collaborative for Accelerated Learning
Amount
$13,760,000
Deadline
Rolling / Open
Ready to take the next step with Accelerate - the National Collaborative for Accelerated Learning?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Accelerate describes its work and grant programs as national in scope. Its website reports that grantees have provided access to individualized instruction in 29 states since 2022. In 2025, the largest share of grant dollars went to recipients in Illinois (33%), followed by the District of Columbia, Texas, and California (8% each), and Arkansas (5%).
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 62 itemized grants.
States
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2023 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $4.3M (2023) to $20.3M (2024). In 2025 it made 62 grants totaling $10.4M.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was University of Chicago ($3.4M). Together the top 10 received $6.4M.
Grant Size Distribution
173 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 80 grants of 173 (46%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| University of Chicago Chicago, IL | Research | $3,387,500 |
| Texas Education Agency Austin, TX | States Leading Recovery | $711,394 |
| Arkansas Department of Education Division of Elementary and Secondary Educ Little Rock, AR | States Leading Recovery | $550,000 |
| Citybridge Education Washington, DC | States Leading Recovery | $325,000 |
| DC Treasurer Office of the State Superintendent of Education (Osse) Washington, DC | States Leading Recovery | $300,000 |
| Maryland State Department of Education Baltimore, MD | States Leading Recovery | $250,000 |
| University of Florida Foundation Inc Gainesville, FL | States Leading Recovery | $250,000 |
| Air Education Inc San Mateo, CA | Call to Effective Action | $225,000 |
| Carnegie Mellon University Pittsburgh, PA | Call to Effective Action | $225,000 |
| Cignition Inc Portola Valley, CA | Call to Effective Action | $225,000 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants reported |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $12,135,619 | $14,985,752 | $15,086,502 | $10,422,894 |
| 2024 | $11,949,799 | $21,755,731 | $24,166,045 | $20,271,000 |
| 2023 | $16,318,370 | $19,934,228 | $5,739,427 | $4,294,189 |
| Metric | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $12,135,619 | $11,949,799 | $16,318,370 |
| Revenue | $14,985,752 | $21,755,731 | $19,934,228 |
| Expenses | $15,086,502 | $24,166,045 | $5,739,427 |
| Net Investment Income | $508,378 | $213,558 | — |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS January 26, 2024)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS February 21, 2025)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS November 14, 2025)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2023–2025
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2025 filing lists Janice Jackson as board chair; John Schnur as board secretary; Chad Geston, Christina Grant, John White, and Sherry Lachman as board members; Kevin Huffman as chief executive officer; T Nakia Towns as chief operating officer; Narric Rome as managing director of federal and state policy; and Matthew Steinberg as managing director of research and evaluation.
Accelerate - the National Collaborative for Accelerated Learning is led by Kevin Huffman, Chief Executive Officer on every filing since 2023; 8 of 13 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Kevin Huffman
Chief Executive Officer
On filings since 2023
40 hrs/week
$440K (2024) → $447K (2025)
Janice Jackson
Board Chair
Board Chairperson → Board Chair, 2025
On filings since 2023
2 hrs/week
$30K (2024) → $50K (2025)
Jennifer Bronson
Managing Director of Programs
New on the 2025 filing
40 hrs/week
$173K (2025)
Matthew Steinberg
Managing Director of Research & Evaluation
New on the 2025 filing
40 hrs/week
$183K (2025)
Narric Rome
Managing Director of Federal & State Policy
New on the 2025 filing
40 hrs/week
$178K (2025)
Tu-Quyen Nguyen
Managing Director of Operations
New on the 2025 filing
40 hrs/week
$146K (2025)
T. Nakia Towns
Chief Operating Officer
Chief Program Officer → Chief Operating Officer, 2024
On filings since 2023
40 hrs/week
$179K (2024) → $284K (2025)
Kimberly Ueyama
Chief of Staff
New on the 2025 filing
40 hrs/week
$154K (2025)
John Schnur
Board Secretary
On filings since 2023
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Chad Geston
Board Member
On filings since 2024
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Christina Grant
Board Member
On filings since 2024
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
John White
Board Member
On filings since 2024
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Sherry Lachman
Board Member
New on the 2025 filing
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (2)
- Former: Naeha Dean (2023–2024) — Chief Strategy Officer
- Former: Susanna Loeb (2023–2024) — Board Vice Chairperson
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2023–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2025 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $447K, to Kevin Huffman (Chief Executive Officer). 8 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.
Contact
Mailing address: 501 Union Street Pmb 85221 545, Nashville, TN 37219-1876
Phone: (215) 850-8866
Website: https://accelerate.us
Frequently asked questions about Accelerate - the National Collaborative for Accelerated Learning
How much does Accelerate - the National Collaborative for Accelerated Learning give each year?
Accelerate - the National Collaborative for Accelerated Learning gave $10.4M across 62 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $20.3M across 43 grants.
What is Accelerate - the National Collaborative for Accelerated Learning's typical grant size?
Accelerate - the National Collaborative for Accelerated Learning's median grant in 2025 was $100,000, and its average grant was $168,111, across 62 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Organizations receiving their first grant from Accelerate - the National Collaborative for Accelerated Learning that year got $159K on average.
Where does Accelerate - the National Collaborative for Accelerated Learning give grants?
Accelerate - the National Collaborative for Accelerated Learning's top state is Illinois, with 33% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990. The next largest states were District of Columbia (8%) and Texas (8%). The most frequent recipient cities were Washington, DC (6 grants), New York, NY (4 grants), San Francisco, CA (3 grants) and Raleigh, NC (2 grants).
Does Accelerate - the National Collaborative for Accelerated Learning give general operating support?
Not in 2025: none of the 62 grants with a stated purpose on Accelerate - the National Collaborative for Accelerated Learning's 2025 IRS Form 990 were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Call to Effective Action" (27 grants), "Community of Practice" (22 grants) and "States Leading Recovery" (11 grants).
Who are Accelerate - the National Collaborative for Accelerated Learning's largest grantees?
Accelerate - the National Collaborative for Accelerated Learning's largest 2025 grantees include University of Chicago ($3,387,500), Texas Education Agency ($711,394) and Arkansas Department of Education Division of Elementary and Secondary Educ ($550,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. Together they received 45% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is Accelerate - the National Collaborative for Accelerated Learning?
Accelerate - the National Collaborative for Accelerated Learning reported $12.1M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $15.0M.
What does Accelerate - the National Collaborative for Accelerated Learning fund?
Accelerate’s stated mission is to bring evidence-based practices to scale in public education by bridging gaps between research, policy, and school systems. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from Accelerate - the National Collaborative for Accelerated Learning?
Accelerate - the National Collaborative for Accelerated Learning has no public application process in the sources Grantable reviewed. Check accelerate.us for current guidelines, or contact the foundation directly before submitting a request.
What is Accelerate - the National Collaborative for Accelerated Learning's EIN?
Accelerate - the National Collaborative for Accelerated Learning's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 88-3207484. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2023–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Here's the math on researching Accelerate - the National Collaborative for Accelerated Learning by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Accelerate - the National Collaborative for Accelerated Learning's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
Silicon Valley Community Foundation
Mountain View, CA
Silicon Valley Community Foundation funds work in areas such as housing, economic security, education, health, the environment, arts and culture, and civic engagement, with Community Action Grants supporting local, community-led organizations in San Mateo and Santa Clara counties. Its 2024 grants had a median of $51,716, though amounts varied widely; applications depend on the program, and SVCF states that it does not accept unsolicited proposals for advised funds.
Assets
$12.3B
Grants
3,576
Total Given
$3.2B
Walton Family Foundation Inc
Bentonville, AR
The Walton Family Foundation funds K–12 education, river and ocean conservation, and quality-of-life initiatives in Northwest Arkansas and the Arkansas-Mississippi Delta; its grants also support organizations and projects elsewhere in the U.S. Its 2024 grants had a median of $200,000, with awards ranging from $1,000 to $35.6 million. It does not accept unsolicited requests except from eligible public charter school developers applying to its startup grant program; other organizations must first submit a letter of inquiry and await an invitation.
Assets
$6.1B
Grants
1,020
Total Given
$562.3M
Gates Foundation
Seattle, WA
The Gates Foundation funds work on global health, poverty reduction, gender equality, economic opportunity, and U.S. education, primarily in low-income countries and the United States. Its 2024 grants had a median of $500,000, though amounts varied widely. It generally does not accept unsolicited requests; organizations are usually invited to apply, with occasional published funding opportunities.
Assets
$78.7B
Grants
4,974
Total Given
$6.3B
The Community Foundation of Middle Tennessee Inc
Nashville, TN
The Community Foundation of Middle Tennessee supports nonprofits through community impact and fund-specific grants across a range of charitable areas, primarily serving Middle Tennessee. Its 2024 grants had a median of $8,500, though awards varied widely; it accepts applications for annual Special Interest Grants, but is not opening a new competitive Community Impact cycle for 2026–2027.
Assets
$832.0M
Grants
2,450
Total Given
$107.1M
HCA Healthcare Foundation
Nashville, TN
HCA Healthcare Foundation funds community health and health equity, including primary care, basic needs, education, and the arts; its Middle Tennessee Fund serves nine counties, while other initiatives support communities served by HCA Healthcare. In 2024, grants ranged from $1,000 to $9.65 million, with a median of $5,000. It accepts requests through an Applicant Inquiry Form for new applicants and organizations that have not received funding in 18 months; staff provide next steps after review.
Assets
$192.7M
Grants
999
Total Given
$25.4M
Dollar General Employee Assistance
Goodletsville, TN
The foundation provides emergency financial assistance to active Dollar General employees and their families facing qualifying hardships, such as a home loss, a death, or a serious illness or injury. In 2026, grants ranged from $37 to $6,000, with a median of $2,000; all reported recipients were in Tennessee. It accepts applications from eligible employees, who must submit supporting documentation.
Assets
$5.8M
Grants
957
Total Given
$1.7M
The Community Foundation of Greater Chattanooga Inc
Chattanooga, TN
The foundation supports scholarships and community needs including affordable housing, health and wellness, workforce development, education, culture, and hunger relief, with a focus on Chattanooga and surrounding areas; Fund for Chattanooga grants prioritize organizations serving Hamilton County residents. Its 2024 grants had a median of $10,000, and a separate program offers unrestricted grants of up to $30,000. It does not describe an open unsolicited application process: prospective applicants are asked to discuss a proposal with staff, who may invite them to apply.
Assets
$245.3M
Grants
810
Total Given
$25.8M
Community Foundation of Greater Memphis Inc
Memphis, TN
The Community Foundation of Greater Memphis supports nonprofits serving West Tennessee, eastern Arkansas, and northern Mississippi across a range of community needs, with grants made mainly through donor-advised funds and several focused programs. Grant sizes vary widely; the 2025 median was $20,200, while its Nonprofit Capacity Building program averages about $15,000 and Community Solutions Grants ranged from $50,000 to $150,000. Some programs accept applications, but the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted generally.
Assets
$953.1M
Grants
761
Total Given
$134.3M
Christian Community Foundation
Memphis, TN
The foundation supports a broad range of U.S. charities through donor-advised funds, with a particular focus on Christian ministries and community transformation in Memphis; its Hope for Memphis Fund serves eligible Gospel-centered nonprofits in the Memphis metro area. Its 2025 grants had a median of $22,050, and it accepts applications for the Hope for Memphis Fund during its stated application cycle.
Assets
$229.0M
Grants
636
Total Given
$109.7M
Chattanooga Christian Community Foundation
Chattanooga, TN
The Generosity Trust supports Christian ministries and other nonprofits, education, community and human services, and ministry students, with a strong focus on the Chattanooga area but grants nationwide. Its 2024 listed grants had a median of $18,250 and ranged from $5,002 to $2.5 million; whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.
Assets
$136.1M
Grants
567
Total Given
$36.4M
Dollar General Literacy Foundation
Goodlettsville, TN
The Dollar General Literacy Foundation funds direct literacy and education programs for learners of all ages, including adult, family, youth, and summer reading programs, as well as disaster relief for eligible K–12 public school libraries. Its reported median grant was $10,000; most program awards are capped at $3,000–$10,000, and it supports eligible organizations in states where Dollar General operates, generally within 15 miles of a store.
Assets
$84.6M
Grants
564
Total Given
$14.5M
More Funders in Tennessee
Accelerate - the National Collaborative for Accelerated Learning down — hundreds of funders to go?