Williams Lester & Frances Char Tr

Private foundation · Grantmaker Saint Louis, MO EIN: 42-6610647

Williams Lester & Frances Char Tr is a private foundation, based in Saint Louis, MO. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $2.4M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 3 grants totaling $155K. Net investment income was $172K.

Williams Lester & Frances Char Tr at a glance

In short: Williams Lester & Frances Char Tr gave $155K across 3 grants in 2025 (avg $52K), mostly in Iowa. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Annual giving (2025)
$155,295
+3.6% vs 2024
Grants made (2025)
3
+0.0% vs 2024
Average grant
$51,765
+3.6% vs 2024
Median grant
$51,765
Total assets
$2,382,013
+0.6% vs 2024
Primary geography
Iowa (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.

Who Williams Lester & Frances Char Tr funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 3 recipients in 2025

State University of Iowa Foundation: $52KState University of IowaFoundation$52KMarshalltown Area United Way: $52KMarshalltown Area United Way$52KMarshalltown Community College Fund: $52KMarshalltown Community CollegeFund$52K

The largest 2025 recipient was State University of Iowa Foundation ($52K). Together the top 3 received $155K.

Grant Size Distribution

15 grants across all recorded years

6<$50K9$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was in the $50–100K range: 9 grants of 15 (60%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

2states

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 3 itemized grants.

States

Cities

MarshalltownIowa CityAlexandria

How Williams Lester & Frances Char Tr gives

  • Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (−5%). Method
  • In 2025 it paid out 107% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$50K$100K$150K$200K3 grants2019 3 grants2020 3 grants2021 3 grants2022 3 grants2023 3 grants2024 3 grants2025

From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $136K (2023) to $163K (2022). In 2025 it made 3 grants totaling $155K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
State University of Iowa Foundation Iowa City, IAGeneral Operating$51,765
Marshalltown Area United Way Marshalltown, IAGeneral Operating$51,765
Marshalltown Community College Fund Marshalltown, IAGeneral Operating$51,765
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Williams Lester & Frances Char Tr?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsQualifying DistributionsNet Investment IncomeDistributable Amount
2025$2,382,013$207,495$195,100$155,2953$160,705$172,446$150,173
2024$2,368,672$176,543$194,447$149,9043$155,119$143,728$144,473
2023$2,386,722$342,523$162,965$136,1973$139,787$312,274$130,448
2022$2,211,635$2,623$190,808$162,6453$173,766$56,615$140,142
2021$2,399,820$202,125$188,920$162,6453$174,800$188,915$158,691
2020$2,386,615$105,293$169,849$144,6363—$94,240$141,000
2019$2,451,171$183,135$172,008$147,9153—$171,944$119,848

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Williams Lester & Frances Char Tr reported a distributable amount of $150K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Williams Lester & Frances Char Tr's only listed officer is Wells Fargo Bank N A, Trustee on every filing since 2023 (compensated).

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Wells Fargo Bank N A

    Trustee

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    $23K (2023) → $33K (2025)

Former officers (1)
  • Former: Wells Fargo Bank NA (2019–2022) — Custodian

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Wells Fargo Bank N a — Trustee: $33KWells Fargo Bank N aTrustee$33K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $33K, to Wells Fargo Bank N a (Trustee).

Frequently asked questions about Williams Lester & Frances Char Tr

How much does Williams Lester & Frances Char Tr give each year?

Williams Lester & Frances Char Tr gave $155K across 3 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $150K across 3 grants.

What is Williams Lester & Frances Char Tr's typical grant size?

Williams Lester & Frances Char Tr's median grant in 2025 was $51,765, and its average grant was $51,765, across 3 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Where does Williams Lester & Frances Char Tr give grants?

Williams Lester & Frances Char Tr gives mostly in Iowa: 100% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Marshalltown, IA (2 grants).

Does Williams Lester & Frances Char Tr give general operating support?

Yes: 100% of Williams Lester & Frances Char Tr's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (3 of 3) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

How large is Williams Lester & Frances Char Tr?

Williams Lester & Frances Char Tr reported $2.4M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $161K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $150K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).

What is Williams Lester & Frances Char Tr's EIN?

Williams Lester & Frances Char Tr's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 42-6610647. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.

Data update history

(8)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS April 10, 2020)
  2. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS April 12, 2021)
  3. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS June 15, 2022)
  4. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS May 9, 2023)
  5. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS June 17, 2024)
  6. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS May 6, 2025)
  7. Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 4, 2026)
  8. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2019–2024

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Williams Lester & Frances Char Tr's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Missouri

NFL Foundation Inc

New York, NY

The NFL Foundation funds youth football, athlete health and safety, education and youth services, sports-related medical research, and community initiatives, primarily in NFL club markets across the country, with a youth-services program for Hawaiian nonprofits. Its 2025 grants had a median of $20,000, though awards ranged widely. It does not describe a general unsolicited application process; for social justice funding, organizations can submit an idea form for possible invitation to apply, while some grants are limited to NFL clubs or team personnel.

Assets

$64.8M

Grants

324

Total Given

$97.6M

The Chicago Community Trust

Chicago, IL

The Chicago Community Trust funds eligible nonprofits working to narrow the wealth gap and meet urgent needs, with priorities including economic mobility, education, jobs, homeownership, and community development in metropolitan Chicago and Cook County. Its 2025 grants had a median of $26,500, though amounts varied widely; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$7.1B

Grants

4,316

Total Given

$1.2B

Enterprise Holdings Foundation

Saint Louis, MO

The Enterprise Holdings Foundation supports charitable and educational nonprofits in communities where Enterprise Mobility operates, focusing on health, education, arts, and disaster relief; applicants must be actively supported by an Enterprise Mobility team member, spouse, or domestic partner. Giving varies widely: it reported 9,499 grants in 2024, but its 2025 filing showed one grant of $101.4 million, so that amount is not a typical award. Applications are accepted at any time through eligible Enterprise-affiliated applicants; the Foundation does not limit giving to preselected organizations.

Assets

$594.3M

Grants

1

Total Given

$101.4M

America's Charities

Chantilly, VA

AMERICA’S CHARITIES routes donor-directed workplace giving to member charities and provides emergency assistance to eligible employees and people affected by disasters; its reported grants are fiscal-agent disbursements, not awards selected through an application process. In 2025 it reported 808 grants totaling $16.4 million, ranging from $5,000 to $515,354 (median $9,664), to recipients across the United States, with the largest shares going to Pennsylvania, California, Washington, D.C., Virginia, and Arizona. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$36.2M

Grants

808

Total Given

$16.4M

The Carter Chapman Shreve Family Foundation

Wilmington, DE

The foundation supports organizations working in areas including poverty relief, food assistance, education and research, public policy, and animal welfare, with 2024 grants ranging from $5,000 to $600,000 and a median of $50,000. It funds organizations in multiple states, with the largest shares going to Iowa and New York. It gives only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$19.8M

Grants

26

Total Given

$2.9M

Aetna Foundation Inc

Hartford, CT

Aetna Foundation supported health and wellness, access to health care, and related community needs; its 2021 grants ranged from $5,000 to $1 million, with a median of $40,000, and went to organizations across multiple states, especially in D.C. and Connecticut. Its 2021 filing was marked final, so it appears to have ended or be winding down grantmaking; that filing said there were no restrictions on who could apply and pointed applicants to its website for application materials.

Assets

—

Grants

65

Total Given

$7.2M

More similar funders

More Funders in Missouri

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Williams Lester & Frances Char Tr's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Williams Lester & Frances Char Tr down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?