Tree Research and Education Endowment Fund logo

Tree Research and Education Endowment Fund

Public charity · Grantmaker Naperville, IL EIN: 37-1018692 Website

Support scientific discovery and dissemination of new knowledge in the fields of arboriculture and urban forestry

Tree Research and Education Endowment Fund at a glance

In short: Tree Research and Education Endowment Fund gave $327K across 7 grants in 2024 (avg $47K), top state Pennsylvania. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990.

Annual giving (2024)
$326,714
+174.1% vs 2023
Grants made (2024)
7
+75.0% vs 2023
Average grant
$46,673
+56.6% vs 2023
Median grant
$30,000
Total assets
$6,331,810
+5.1% vs 2023
Primary geography
Pennsylvania (48% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2024 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990, 2024; updated September 2026.

How to apply to Tree Research and Education Endowment Fund

Who Tree Research and Education Endowment Fund funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 7 recipients in 2024

Pennsylvania State University: $157KPennsylvania State University$157KWest Virginia University Foundation: $50KWest Virginia UniversityFoundation$50KTulane University: $30KTulane University$30KUniversity of Virginia School of Architecture: $30KUniversity of Virginia Schoolof Architecture$30KThe Davey Institute: $25KThe Davey Institute$25KColorado State University: $25KColorado State University$25KUniversity of Georgia Research Foundation: $10KUniversity of Georgia ResearchFoundation$10K

The largest 2024 recipient was Pennsylvania State University ($157K). Together the top 7 received $327K.

Grant Size Distribution

29 grants across all recorded years

23<$50K3$50–100K3$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 23 grants of 29 (79%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

16states

Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 7 itemized grants.

Cities

State CollegeMorgantownAmherstAthensCharlottesvilleKentDes MoinesFort CollinsGainesvilleHonoluluIthacaLisleMarine N St CroixMoreland HillsNew OrleansStephenvilleStevens Point

How Tree Research and Education Endowment Fund gives

  • Giving grew 105% from 2021 to 2024. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$100K$200K$300K$400K6 grants2020 5 grants2021 7 grants2022 4 grants2023 7 grants2024

From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $119K (2023) to $383K (2022). In 2024 it made 7 grants totaling $327K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Pennsylvania State University State College, PASupport Research$157,223
West Virginia University Foundation Morgantown, WVSupport Research$50,000
Tulane University New Orleans, LASupport Research$30,000
University of Virginia School of Architecture Charlottesville, VASupport Research$30,000
The Davey Institute Kent, OHSupport Research$25,000
Colorado State University Fort Collins, COSupport Research$24,977
University of Georgia Research Foundation Athens, GASupport Research$9,514
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Tree Research and Education Endowment Fund?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsNet Investment Income
2024$6,331,810$686,919$875,218$326,7147$68,039
2023$6,023,755$708,013$632,992$119,1904$1,905
2022$5,360,565$668,187$902,680$382,7137$177
2021$6,282,789$725,659$642,800$159,4945—
2020$5,582,083$677,998$781,326$263,6376—

About Tree Research and Education Endowment Fund

Based on IRS filings

Tree Research and Education Endowment Fund is a public charity focused on Environment & Animals, based in Naperville, IL. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2024. As of 2024, the organization holds $6.3M in total assets. In 2024, it awarded 7 grants totaling $327K. Net investment income was $68K.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Tree Research and Education Endowment Fund is led by Paul Putman, President & CEO on every filing since 2023; 1 of 13 officers listed in 2024 is compensated.

Officers on the 2024 filing

  • Paul Putman

    President & CEO

    On filings since 2023

    40 hrs/week

    $55K (2023) → $116K (2024)

  • Patrick Franklin

    Chair

    Vice Chair → Chair Elect, 2023

    Chair Elect → Chair, 2024

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Beau Brodbeck

    Trustee

    Trustee → Chair Elect, 2022

    Chair Elect → Trustee, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Dan Herms

    Trustee

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Lori Brockelbank

    Trustee

    On filings since 2022

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Pete Smith

    Trustee

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Sam Vanmaanen

    Trustee

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Asia Dowtin

    Trustee

    New on the 2024 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • De'etra Young

    Trustee

    New on the 2024 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jon Hicks

    Trustee

    New on the 2024 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jacques Brunswick

    Treasurer

    Trustee → Treasurer & Secretary, 2022

    Treasurer & Secretary → Treasurer, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Rachel Barker

    Chair-Elect

    Trustee → Vice Chair, 2023

    Vice Chair → Chair-Elect, 2024

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • David Gorden

    Vice Chair

    Trustee → Vice Chair, 2024

    On filings since 2022

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (19)
  • Former: Sharon Jean-Phillippe (2020–2023) — Trustee
  • Former: Steven Geist (2020–2023) — Trustee
  • Former: Gordon Mann (2022–2023) — Trustee
  • Former: Arnold Brodbeck (2023) — Chairman
  • Former: Daniel Herms (2023) — Trustee
  • Former: Jeffrey Edgar (2023) — Trustee
  • Former: Kathleen Wolf (2023) — Trustee
  • Former: Jeff Edgar (2020–2022) — Trustee
  • Former: Russell King (2020–2022) — President & CEO
  • Former: Kathy Wolf (2022) — Trustee
  • Former: Brett Heinrich (2020–2021) — Chair Elect
  • Former: George Hudler (2020–2021) — Trustee
  • Former: Jim Urban (2020–2021) — Trustee
  • Former: Randy Miller (2020–2021) — Trustee
  • Former: Ray Henning (2020–2021) — Treasurer
  • Former: Will Nutter (2020–2021) — Chairman
  • Former: Dave Krause (2020) — Vice Chair
  • Former: Paul Fletcher (2020) — Trustee
  • Former: Sharon Lilly (2020) — Trustee

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2024 IRS filing

Paul Putman — President/CEO: $116KPaul PutmanPresident/CEO$116K

The highest reported compensation on the 2024 filing was $116K, to Paul Putman (President/CEO).

Frequently asked questions about Tree Research and Education Endowment Fund

How much does Tree Research and Education Endowment Fund give each year?

Tree Research and Education Endowment Fund gave $327K across 7 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990. In 2023 it gave $119K across 4 grants.

What is Tree Research and Education Endowment Fund's typical grant size?

Tree Research and Education Endowment Fund's median grant in 2024 was $30,000, and its average grant was $46,673, across 7 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990.

Where does Tree Research and Education Endowment Fund give grants?

Tree Research and Education Endowment Fund's top state is Pennsylvania, with 48% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990. The next largest states were West Virginia (15%) and Louisiana (9%).

Does Tree Research and Education Endowment Fund give general operating support?

Not in 2024: none of the 7 grants with a stated purpose on Tree Research and Education Endowment Fund's 2024 IRS Form 990 were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Support Research" (7 grants).

Who are Tree Research and Education Endowment Fund's largest grantees?

Tree Research and Education Endowment Fund's largest 2024 grantees include Pennsylvania State University ($157,223), West Virginia University Foundation ($50,000) and Tulane University ($30,000), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990. Together they received 73% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.

How large is Tree Research and Education Endowment Fund?

Tree Research and Education Endowment Fund reported $6.3M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $687K.

What is Tree Research and Education Endowment Fund?

Tree Research and Education Endowment Fund is a public charity focused on Environment & Animals, based in Naperville, IL. It holds $6.3M in total assets as of 2024.

What is Tree Research and Education Endowment Fund's EIN?

Tree Research and Education Endowment Fund's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 37-1018692. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Data update history

(5)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS May 3, 2022)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS September 27, 2023)
  3. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS November 13, 2024)
  4. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS November 16, 2025)
  5. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Live grants for the work Tree Research and Education Endowment Fund funds

Environment & Animals Open opportunities, soonest deadline first.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Tree Research and Education Endowment Fund's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

Enterprise Holdings Foundation

Saint Louis, MO

The Enterprise Holdings Foundation supports charitable and educational nonprofits in communities where Enterprise Mobility operates, focusing on health, education, arts, and disaster relief; applicants must be actively supported by an Enterprise Mobility team member, spouse, or domestic partner. Giving varies widely: it reported 9,499 grants in 2024, but its 2025 filing showed one grant of $101.4 million, so that amount is not a typical award. Applications are accepted at any time through eligible Enterprise-affiliated applicants; the Foundation does not limit giving to preselected organizations.

Assets

$594.3M

Grants

1

Total Given

$101.4M

University of Delaware

Newark, DE

The University of Delaware supports instruction, research, and public service, and its 2023 grants went to educational, medical, and research organizations. It made 177 grants totaling $45.2 million that year, averaging about $255,000 per grant, with recipients in Delaware and elsewhere; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$4.8B

Grants

0

Total Given

$21.4M

Grant Thornton Foundation

Chicago, IL

In 2024, the Grant Thornton Foundation funded general support, educational institutions, and disaster relief, awarding 10 grants of $1,575 to $41,450 (median $19,060). It is based in Chicago, with 2024 grants concentrated in California, Arizona, and Florida. The foundation gives only to preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$224K

Grants

10

Total Given

$181K

Foundation for Food and Agriculture Research

Washington, DC

The Foundation for Food and Agriculture Research funds research partnerships tackling food and agriculture challenges, including production systems, ecosystems, and healthy food. Its 2024 grants ranged from $37,500 to $3.75 million, with a median of about $450,000, and went to organizations in multiple U.S. states. It lists open funding opportunities and application processes; whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.

Assets

$295.2M

Grants

28

Total Given

$25.7M

Farm Credit Foundation for Agricultural

Westminster, MD

The foundation funds agricultural scholarships for students and agriculture teachers, as well as community agriculture education, primarily in Horizon Farm Credit territory. Its 2024 grants ranged from $5,000 to $20,000, with a median of $10,000. The profile describes online scholarship applications but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited grant requests.

Assets

$7.7M

Grants

45

Total Given

$390K

Extension Foundation

Kansas City, MO

Extension Foundation funds Cooperative Extension programs, including pesticide safety education, multi-state initiatives addressing societal priorities, and professional resources, through universities and university-connected organizations nationwide. In 2024, its 51 grants ranged from $5,483 to $507,481, with a median of $69,553. Grants are awarded based on applications received; the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Assets

$4.1M

Grants

51

Total Given

$4.0M

More similar funders

More Funders in Illinois

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Tree Research and Education Endowment Fund's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Tree Research and Education Endowment Fund down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?