Foundation for Food and Agriculture Research logo

Foundation for Food and Agriculture Research

Public charity · Grantmaker Washington, DC EIN: 47-1559027 Website

The Foundation for Food and Agriculture Research (FFAR) is a public charity based in Washington, DC. Founded in 2014, it connects funders, researchers and farmers through public-private partnerships to support research addressing food and agriculture challenges.

Key facts about Foundation for Food and Agriculture Research

In short: Foundation for Food and Agriculture Research gave $25.7M across 28 grants in 2024 (avg $918K), top state North Carolina. 54% of 2024 grantees were new. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990.

EIN
47-1559027
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2024
Annual giving (2024)
$25,700,536
Grants made (2024)
28
Average grant
$917,876
Median grant
$449,966
New grantees (estimate)
54% first-time grantees (15 of 28, 2024)
Total assets
$295,166,746
Primary geography
North Carolina (15% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
How to apply
For a funding opportunity, applicants should submit a complete application through FFAR’s online grants management system in response to the relevant request for applications. Full details ↓

Data from IRS Form 990, 2024; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.

Financial Overview

From 2024 IRS Form 990 · View filing

Total Assets

$295.2M

-21.4% YoY

Annual Giving

$25.7M

-74.4% YoY

Grant Count

28

-45.1% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$918K

-53.3% YoY

Is Foundation for Food and Agriculture Research open to new grantees?

54%

first-time grantees, 2024

In 2024, 15 of 28 grantees (54%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $663K; repeat grants $1.2M. How we count

Medians: $450K first-time, $670K repeat.

  • 36% of 2024 grantees were also funded in 2023. Method
  • Giving fell 45% from 2021 to 2024. Method

Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990 filings (2020–2024). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.

Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.

Mission & Focus Areas

FFAR’s stated mission is to connect funders, researchers and farmers through public-private partnerships to support audacious research addressing major food and agriculture challenges. Its four research priorities are:

  • Cultivating Thriving Production Systems: Research on animal and crop systems, including productivity, pests and diseases, animal welfare, and farmers’ livelihoods.
  • Sustaining Vibrant Agroecosystems: Research into interactions between agriculture and the surrounding environment.
  • Bolstering Healthy Food Systems: Research to improve nutritious food availability, human health, food processes and products, and the U.S. food system.
  • Strengthening the Scientific Workforce: Programs addressing research workforce needs and scientific training.

FFAR’s 2024 grants included universities and research organizations. For example, the Swine Health Information Center describes its own mission as protecting and enhancing the health of the U.S. swine herd through research, monitoring and analysis of swine health data. North Carolina State University describes its mission as supporting the university’s colleges, libraries and other university-connected functions.

Grantmaking

In filing year 2024, FFAR reported 28 grants totaling **$25,700,536**. Grant amounts ranged from **$37,500 to $3,746,812**, with a median of **$449,966**.

Review Cycle

are specified in each opportunity. FFAR generally welcomes applications from U.S. higher-education institutions, nonprofit and for-profit organizations, government-affiliated researchers, and domestic and international organizations; proposals must benefit the U.S. food and agriculture system. FFAR’s process includes concept development and review, program approval, and project application and review.

Open Grants

15 open opportunities from Foundation for Food and Agriculture Research

Show all 15 →
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Foundation for Food and Agriculture Research?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

FFAR states that its research must benefit the U.S. food and agriculture system. Its 2024 grants included recipients in North Carolina, Wisconsin, Massachusetts, Kansas, Iowa and other states.

Grant Distribution by State

40states

Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 28 itemized grants.

Cities

DavisWashingtonAmesFort CollinsManhattanRaleighCollege StationGainesvilleIthacaNew YorkPullmanLubbockMadisonMinneapolisSanta CruzWest LafayetteArlingtonAustinColumbusCorvallis

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$50M$100M$150M47 grants2020 41 grants2021 47 grants2022 51 grants2023 28 grants2024

From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $25.7M (2024) to $100.2M (2023). In 2024 it made 28 grants totaling $25.7M.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 10 recipients in 2024

North Carolina State University: $3.7MNorth Carolina StateUniversity$3.7MUniversity of Wisconsin Madison: $2.5MUniversity of WisconsinMadison$2.5MMassachusetts Institute of Technology: $2.5MMassachusetts Institute ofTechnology$2.5MKansas State University: $2.2MKansas State University$2.2MSwine Health Information Center: $2.0MSwine Health InformationCenter$2.0MTexas A&M Agrilife Research: $1.7MTexas A&M Agrilife Research$1.7MAgricultural Research Service (Usda): $1.5MAgricultural Research Service(Usda)$1.5MUniversity of California Division of Agriculture & Natural Resources: $1.3MUniversity of CaliforniaDivision of Agriculture &…$1.3MTwo Blades Foundation: $1.0MTwo Blades Foundation$1.0MUniversity of Kansas: $882KUniversity of Kansas$882K

The largest 2024 recipient was North Carolina State University ($3.7M). Together the top 10 received $19.4M.

Grant Size Distribution

214 grants across all recorded years

4<$50K11$50–100K35$100–250K58$250–500K46$500K–1M52$1–5M8$5M+

The most common grant size was in the $250–500K range: 58 grants of 214 (27%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
North Carolina State University Raleigh, NCResearch$3,746,812
University of Wisconsin Madison Madison, WIResearch$2,500,000
Massachusetts Institute of Technology Cambridge, MAResearch$2,500,000
Kansas State University Manhattan, KSResearch$2,223,474
Swine Health Information Center Ames, IAResearch$2,000,000
Texas A&M Agrilife Research College Station, TXResearch$1,709,281
Agricultural Research Service (Usda) Beltsville, MDResearch$1,500,000
University of California Division of Agriculture & Natural Resources Davis, CAResearch$1,344,764
Two Blades Foundation Evanston, ILResearch$1,000,000
University of Kansas Lawrence, KSResearch$881,526

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Filing year Assets Revenue Expenses Grants reported
2024 $295,166,746 $49,062,378 $46,485,429 $25,700,536 (28 grants)
2023 $375,647,579 $132,259,089 $161,268,338 $100,233,384 (51 grants)
2022 $348,883,479 $103,276,406 $56,841,081 $39,180,031 (47 grants)
Revenue
Expenses
Net Investment Income
$0$50M$100M$150M$200M2020 2021 2022 2023 2024
Metric202420232022
Total Assets$295,166,746$375,647,579$348,883,479
Revenue$49,062,378$132,259,089$103,276,406
Expenses$46,485,429$161,268,338$56,841,081
Net Investment Income$14,313,759$5,506,197$7,821,406

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS November 12, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS November 14, 2022)
  3. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS November 15, 2023)
  4. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS November 14, 2024)
  5. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS November 17, 2025)
  6. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Leadership & Key People

Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings

The 2024 filing lists Dr. Mark Keenum as chairman, Dr. Douglas Buhler as vice chairman, Dr. Chris Mallett as treasurer and Danita Rodibaugh as secretary. Other listed board members are Dr. Alton Thompson, Ben Noble, Dr. Carolyn Lawrence-Dill, Hon. Dan Glickman, David Donnan and Joe Del Bosque.

Foundation for Food and Agriculture Research is led by Saharah Moon Chapotin, Executive Director on every filing since 2022; 9 of 30 officers listed in 2024 are compensated.

Officers on the 2024 filing

  • Saharah Moon Chapotin

    Executive Director

    On filings since 2022

    40 hrs/week

    $163K (2022) → $481K (2024)

  • Mark Keenum

    Chairman

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • John Reich

    Scientific Program Director

    Scientific Program Director → Scientifc Program Director, 2022

    Scientifc Program Director → Scientific Program Director, 2023

    On filings since 2021

    40 hrs/week

    $179K (2021) → $221K (2024)

  • Lakisha Odom

    Scientific Program Director

    On filings since 2021

    40 hrs/week

    $177K (2021) → $227K (2024)

  • Sarah Goldberg

    Director of Communications & Legislative Affairs

    On filings since 2022

    40 hrs/week

    $193K (2022) → $206K (2024)

  • Jonna Davis

    Operations & Impact Director

    New on the 2024 filing

    40 hrs/week

    $231K (2024)

  • Magda Galindo

    Director of Grants Management

    New on the 2024 filing

    40 hrs/week

    $205K (2024)

  • Sergio Furman

    Chief Development Officer

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $219K (2020) → $151K (2024)

  • Angela Records

    Chief Scientific Officer

    New on the 2024 filing

    40 hrs/week

    $284K (2024)

  • Katherine Ayers

    Chief Financial & Operations Officer

    New on the 2024 filing

    40 hrs/week

    $273K (2024)

  • Alton Thompson

    Board Member

    Board Member → Director, 2023

    Director → Board Member, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Ben Noble

    Board Member

    Board Member → Director, 2023

    Director → Board Member, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Chris Mallett

    Treasurer

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Dan Glickman

    Board Member

    Board Member → Director, 2023

    Director → Board Member, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Danita Rodibaugh

    Secretary

    Board Member → Secretary, 2022

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Michael R. Ladisch

    Board Member

    Board Member → Director, 2023

    Director → Board Member, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Nancy Creamer

    Board Member

    Board Member → Director, 2023

    Director → Board Member, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Pam Marrone

    Board Member

    Board Member → Director, 2023

    Director → Board Member, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Kysta Harden

    Board Member

    Board Member → Director, 2023

    Director → Board Member, 2024

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • David Donnan

    Board Member

    Board Member → Director, 2023

    Director → Board Member, 2024

    On filings since 2022

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Denise Heard

    Board Member

    Board Member → Director, 2023

    Director → Board Member, 2024

    On filings since 2022

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Donald Nkrumah

    Board Member

    Board Member → Director, 2023

    Director → Board Member, 2024

    On filings since 2022

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Venkata Kishore

    Board Member

    Board Member → Director, 2023

    Director → Board Member, 2024

    On filings since 2022

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Carolyn Lawrence-Dill

    Board Member

    Director → Board Member, 2024

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Joe Del Bosque

    Board Member

    Director → Board Member, 2024

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Kyle Bridgeforth

    Board Member

    Director → Board Member, 2024

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Polly Ruhland

    Board Member

    Director → Board Member, 2024

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Douglas Buhler

    Vice Chairman

    New on the 2024 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Douglas Cameron

    Board Member

    New on the 2024 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Stanley Prusiner

    Board Member

    New on the 2024 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (29)
  • Former: Chavonda Jacobs-Young (2020–2023) — Director
  • Former: Doug Buhler (2020–2023) — Vice Chairman
  • Former: Doug Cameron (2020–2023) — Director
  • Former: Julia Reynes (2020–2023) — COO
  • Former: Stanley Pruisner (2020–2023) — Director
  • Former: Thomas J. Vilsack (2021–2023) — Director
  • Former: Dionne Toombs (2022–2023) — Former Director
  • Former: Simon Malcomber (2022–2023) — Former Director
  • Former: Manjit Misra (2023) — Director
  • Former: Simon Liu (2023) — Director
  • Former: Susan Marqusee (2023) — Director
  • Former: Joanne Tornow (2020–2022) — Board Member
  • Former: John Lumpkin (2020–2022) — Board Member
  • Former: Kashyap Choksi (2020–2022) — Director of Scienific Partnerships
  • Former: Kathyrn Boor (2020–2022) — Board Member
  • Former: Sarah J. Rockey (2020–2022) — Executive Director
  • Former: Terry McElwain (2020–2022) — Board Member
  • Former: Caroyln Lawrence-Dill (2022) — Board Member
  • Former: Jeffery Rosichan (2022) — Consortia Director
  • Former: Carrie Castille (2020–2021) — Board Member
  • Former: Debby Delmer (2020–2021) — Board Member
  • Former: Jeff Rosichan (2020–2021) — Consortium Director
  • Former: Lucyna Kurtyka (2020–2021) — Scientific Program Director
  • Former: Sonny Perdue (2020–2021) — Board Member
  • Former: Hubert Hamer (2021) — Board Member
  • Former: Bob Stallman (2020) — Board Member
  • Former: Rashada Alexander (2020) — Director of Impact & Operations
  • Former: Scott Hutchins (2020) — Board Member
  • Former: Tim Kurt (2020) — Scientific Program Director

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2024 IRS filing

Dr Saharah Moon Chapotin — Executive Director: $481KDr Saharah Moon ChapotinExecutive Director$481KDr Angela Records — Chief Scientific Officer: $284KDr Angela RecordsChief Scientific Officer$284KKatherine Ayers — Chief Financial & Operations Officer: $273KKatherine AyersChief Financial & Operations…$273KJonna Davis — Operations & Impact Director: $231KJonna DavisOperations & Impact Director$231KLakisha Odom — Scientific Program Director: $227KLakisha OdomScientific Program Director$227KJohn Reich — Scientific Program Director: $221KJohn ReichScientific Program Director$221KSarah Goldberg — Director of Communication & Legislative Affairs: $206KSarah GoldbergDirector of Communication &…$206KMagda Galindo — Director of Grants Management: $205KMagda GalindoDirector of Grants Management$205KSergio Furman — Chief Development Officer: $151KSergio FurmanChief Development Officer$151K

The highest reported compensation on the 2024 filing was $481K, to Dr Saharah Moon Chapotin (Executive Director). 9 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Contact

Mailing address: 401 9Th Street Nw 730, Washington, DC 20004
Phone: (202) 624-0700
Website: https://foundationfar.org

Frequently asked questions about Foundation for Food and Agriculture Research

How much does Foundation for Food and Agriculture Research give each year?

Foundation for Food and Agriculture Research gave $25.7M across 28 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990. In 2023 it gave $100.2M across 51 grants.

What is Foundation for Food and Agriculture Research's typical grant size?

Foundation for Food and Agriculture Research's median grant in 2024 was $449,966, and its average grant was $917,876, across 28 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990. Organizations receiving their first grant from Foundation for Food and Agriculture Research that year got $663K on average.

Where does Foundation for Food and Agriculture Research give grants?

Foundation for Food and Agriculture Research's top state is North Carolina, with 15% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990. The next largest states were Kansas (12%) and Wisconsin (10%). The most frequent recipient cities were Davis, CA (2 grants).

Does Foundation for Food and Agriculture Research give general operating support?

Not in 2024: none of the 28 grants with a stated purpose on Foundation for Food and Agriculture Research's 2024 IRS Form 990 were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Research" (28 grants).

Who are Foundation for Food and Agriculture Research's largest grantees?

Foundation for Food and Agriculture Research's largest 2024 grantees include North Carolina State University ($3,746,812), University of Wisconsin Madison ($2,500,000) and Massachusetts Institute of Technology ($2,500,000), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990. Together they received 34% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.

How large is Foundation for Food and Agriculture Research?

Foundation for Food and Agriculture Research reported $295.2M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $49.1M.

What does Foundation for Food and Agriculture Research fund?

FFAR’s stated mission is to connect funders, researchers and farmers through public-private partnerships to support audacious research addressing major food and agriculture challenges. Its four research priorities are: See mission & focus areas ↑

How do I apply for a grant from Foundation for Food and Agriculture Research?

For a funding opportunity, applicants should submit a complete application through FFAR’s online grants management system in response to the relevant request for applications. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑

What is Foundation for Food and Agriculture Research's EIN?

Foundation for Food and Agriculture Research's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 47-1559027. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching Foundation for Food and Agriculture Research by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Foundation for Food and Agriculture Research's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

Johns Hopkins University

Baltimore, MD

Johns Hopkins University funds education, research, clinical practice, and related programs, with many large awards listed as sub-awards; its 2025 grants had a median of $100,000. Grants went mainly to recipients in California and Maryland, among other states, but no geographic restriction or policy on unsolicited requests is stated.

Assets

$25.3B

Grants

813

Total Given

$594.1M

Columbus Foundation

Columbus, OH

The Columbus Foundation supports nonprofits and community initiatives in areas including arts and culture, education, youth, neighborhoods, basic needs, and capacity building, with a median 2024 grant of about $21,500. Its focus is Central Ohio, though it also funds organizations elsewhere; most grants are donor-directed and not application-based, but some programs accept applications.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$2.8B

Grants

1,747

Total Given

$242.7M

Tulsa Community Foundation

Tulsa, OK

Tulsa Community Foundation supports a broad range of charitable needs, including arts and humanities, healthcare, education, scholarships, emergency assistance, and endowments. Its 2024 grants had a median of $18,560 and primarily benefited the Tulsa area and eastern Oklahoma, with grants also reaching elsewhere in the U.S.; it administers application cycles for selected funds.

Assets

$1.1B

Grants

1,066

Total Given

$158.6M

American Chemical Society

Washington, DC

The American Chemical Society funds chemical sciences research, education, students, educators, and chemistry-related projects, with grants to organizations across the United States and, through the Petroleum Research Fund, eligible institutions abroad. Its 2024 grants ranged from $5,200 to $504,691, with a median of $31,252; specific programs offer awards from up to $3,500 to $80,000. The profile does not state whether ACS accepts unsolicited requests.

Science & Technology

Assets

$2.2B

Grants

341

Total Given

$22.4M

American Heart Association Inc

Dallas, TX

The American Heart Association funds basic, clinical, behavioral, translational, population, and other research on cardiovascular, cerebrovascular, and brain health, mainly through research awards to eligible U.S.-based nonprofit institutions. In 2025, grants ranged from $5,000 to $9.9 million, with a median award of $20,000. Applications are submitted through designated programs; the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Diseases, Disorders & Medical Disciplines

Assets

$2.0B

Grants

833

Total Given

$198.2M

Alfred P Sloan Foundation

New York, NY

The Alfred P. Sloan Foundation supports original research and education in science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and economics, including public education about these fields. Its 2024 grants ranged from $10,000 to $1,479,024, with a median of $98,105; awards went mainly to U.S. recipients, especially in California, New York, and Massachusetts. It accepts funding requests year-round through Letters of Inquiry to relevant program directors.

Education

Assets

$2.2B

Grants

522

Total Given

$89.0M

The Simons Foundation Inc

New York, NY

The Simons Foundation funds research in mathematics and the basic sciences, as well as autism and other disease research, through grants to research centers, universities, and related organizations. In 2024, grants ranged from $1,480 to $20 million, with a median of $72,000; funding is concentrated in New York, California, and Massachusetts, with awards also made elsewhere in the U.S. and internationally. Whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$4.5B

Grants

1,727

Total Given

$272.0M

Silicon Valley Community Foundation

Mountain View, CA

Silicon Valley Community Foundation funds work in areas such as housing, economic security, education, health, the environment, arts and culture, and civic engagement, with Community Action Grants supporting local, community-led organizations in San Mateo and Santa Clara counties. Its 2024 grants had a median of $51,716, though amounts varied widely; applications depend on the program, and SVCF states that it does not accept unsolicited proposals for advised funds.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$12.3B

Grants

3,576

Total Given

$3.2B

NCRC Community Development Fund Inc

Washington, DC

NCRC Community Development Fund supports affordable housing and homeownership, small businesses—especially minority-owned, women-owned, and low-income businesses—and certain nonprofit programs that provide capital or services to underserved communities. Its listed awards range from $5,000 to $50,000, though typical giving is not stated; it serves communities across the U.S., with some programs focused on Illinois. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$55.6M

Grants

2,666

Total Given

$149.3M

Greater Washington Community Foundation

Washington, DC

The Greater Washington Community Foundation supports nonprofits and community initiatives across areas including education, health, human services, arts, economic development, and workforce development, with a focus on equity and economic justice. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,000 to $9.1 million, with a median of $20,000; it centers its work on DC, Montgomery and Prince George’s counties, and Northern Virginia. It accepts applications through scheduled competitive grant rounds and some solicited, invite-only opportunities; donor-recommended grants are not open to applicants.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$518.3M

Grants

1,417

Total Given

$116.9M

National Fish and Wildlife Foundation

Washington, DC

The National Fish and Wildlife Foundation funds competitive projects that conserve or restore fish, wildlife, plants, and habitats, including habitat restoration, species recovery, and coastal and watershed resilience; it does not fund advocacy or litigation. It works across all 50 states and U.S. territories, with a 2024 median grant of $81,584 and awards ranging from $5,169 to $29 million. Applications are made through specific grant programs and their requests for proposals; whether unsolicited requests are accepted is not stated.

Assets

$3.6B

Grants

1,286

Total Given

$464.4M

More Funders in District of Columbia

Foundation for Food and Agriculture Research down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?