Thomas J Moran Family Foundation
Thomas J Moran Family Foundation is a private foundation, based in Lakeway, TX. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2024. As of 2024, the organization holds $2.4M in total assets. In 2024, it awarded 8 grants totaling $168K. Net investment income was $79K.
Key facts about Thomas J Moran Family Foundation
In short: Thomas J Moran Family Foundation gave $168K across 8 grants in 2024 (avg $21K), mostly in Texas. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.
- EIN
- 27-0633964
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2024
- Annual giving (2024)
- $167,500
- Grants made (2024)
- 8
- Average grant
- $20,938
- Median grant
- $12,500
- Total assets
- $2,357,751
- Primary geography
- Texas (60% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2024; updated September 2026.
Financial Overview
From 2024 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing
Total Assets
$2.4M
Annual Giving
$168K
Grant Count
8
Avg Grant Size
$21K
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Thomas J Moran Family Foundation reported a distributable amount of $116K for 2024 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
How Thomas J Moran Family Foundation gives
- Giving fell 35% from 2021 to 2024. Method
- In 2024 it paid out 144% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.
Open Grants
1 open opportunity from Thomas J Moran Family Foundation
Ready to take the next step with Thomas J Moran Family Foundation?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 8 itemized grants.
States
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $168K (2024) to $256K (2021). In 2024 it made 8 grants totaling $168K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 8 recipients in 2024
The largest 2024 recipient was Wheelies for Healers ($50K). Together the top 8 received $168K.
Grant Size Distribution
39 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 34 grants of 39 (87%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Wheelies for Healers Austin, TX | General Fund | $50,000 |
| Dadth Austin, TX | General Fund | $50,000 |
| Hope Ministries Baton Rouge Baton Rouge, LA | General Fund | $30,000 |
| Ward's Foundation Charlotte, NC | General Fund | $15,000 |
| Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center Baton Rouge, LA | General Fund | $10,000 |
| Emerge School Baton Rouge, LA | General Fund | $5,000 |
| First Tee Baton Rouge, LA | General Fund | $5,000 |
| Pat's Coats for Kids Baton Rouge, LA | General Fund | $2,500 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Metric | 2024 | 2022 | 2021 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $2,357,751 | $2,413,762 | $2,592,889 |
| Revenue | $113,989 | $31,751 | $220,727 |
| Expenses | $170,000 | $210,878 | $273,804 |
| Qualifying Distributions | $167,500 | $191,250 | $256,125 |
| Net Investment Income | $78,587 | $50,225 | $58,659 |
| Distributable Amount | $116,407 | $117,966 | — |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS November 4, 2021)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS November 26, 2022)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS November 1, 2023)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS February 2, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Thomas J Moran Family Foundation is led by Elizabeth Vance, President on every filing since 2020; none of the 7 officers listed in 2024 report compensation.
Officers on the 2024 filing
Elizabeth Vance
President
On filings since 2020
No compensation reported
Burke Moran
Director
On filings since 2020
No compensation reported
Erin Thrash
Director
On filings since 2020
No compensation reported
Katherine Jensen
Director
On filings since 2020
No compensation reported
Katy Jensen
Director
On filings since 2020
No compensation reported
Megan Moran
Director
On filings since 2020
No compensation reported
Samuel Thrash
Director
On filings since 2020
No compensation reported
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Frequently asked questions about Thomas J Moran Family Foundation
How much does Thomas J Moran Family Foundation give each year?
Thomas J Moran Family Foundation gave $168K across 8 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.
What is Thomas J Moran Family Foundation's typical grant size?
Thomas J Moran Family Foundation's median grant in 2024 was $12,500, and its average grant was $20,938, across 8 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.
Where does Thomas J Moran Family Foundation give grants?
Thomas J Moran Family Foundation gives mostly in Texas: 60% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest states were Louisiana (31%) and North Carolina (9%). The most frequent recipient cities were Baton Rouge, LA (5 grants) and Austin, TX (2 grants).
Does Thomas J Moran Family Foundation give general operating support?
Yes: 100% of Thomas J Moran Family Foundation's 2024 grants with a stated purpose (8 of 8) were for general or operating support, per its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.
Who are Thomas J Moran Family Foundation's largest grantees?
Thomas J Moran Family Foundation's largest 2024 grantees include Wheelies for Healers ($50,000), Dadth ($50,000) and Hope Ministries Baton Rouge ($30,000), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 78% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.
How large is Thomas J Moran Family Foundation?
Thomas J Moran Family Foundation reported $2.4M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $168K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $116K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What is Thomas J Moran Family Foundation's EIN?
Thomas J Moran Family Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 27-0633964. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.
Here's the math on researching Thomas J Moran Family Foundation by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Thomas J Moran Family Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
The Huey & Angelina Wilson Foundation
Baton Rouge, LA
The Huey & Angelina Wilson Foundation funds human services, education, healthcare, prison reentry, and nonprofit capacity building, with programs focused on North Baton Rouge, vulnerable residents across 10 parishes, and some statewide work. Its 2024 grants had a median of about $40,000; program awards range from specified multi-year capacity-building grants to Engage grants typically anticipated at $50,000–$100,000 per year. It accepts online requests from eligible nonprofits; the profile states that requests are accepted online only.
Assets
$170.5M
Grants
104
Total Given
$5.8M
Blue Cross & Blue Shield
Baton Rouge, LA
The foundation funds programs that improve Louisianians’ health and well-being, including community-wide health, education and well-being efforts, innovative pilots, and crisis or disaster response. Its 2024 grants ranged from $1,000 to $360,000, with a median of $33,333; 98% of grant dollars went to Louisiana recipients. It accepts quarterly Letters of Intent for Collective Impact Grants, and crisis-response requests are accepted on an ongoing basis while funds and need remain.
Assets
$35.2M
Grants
62
Total Given
$3.0M
Baton Rouge Area Foundation
Baton Rouge, LA
The Baton Rouge Area Foundation funds nonprofits and community projects in areas including education, health, economic prosperity, human services, and safer, more resilient communities, primarily in greater Baton Rouge and South Louisiana. Competitive grants range by program: Impact Grants offer up to $50,000, while Cox Charities grants offer up to $5,000 for nonprofits and $2,500 for eligible schools. It accepts requests through specific competitive opportunities; Impact Grant applicants submit a Letter of Intent, and only selected organizations are invited to apply in full.
Assets
$342.7M
Grants
370
Total Given
$32.9M
The Credit Bureau
Baton Rouge, LA
The Credit Bureau of supports Louisiana organizations promoting self-sufficiency and family and community stability, with grants spanning education, arts and culture, civic affairs, community improvement, and human services. In 2024, grants ranged from $6,000 to $322,214, with a median of $20,000; most funding went to Louisiana recipients. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$24.0M
Grants
50
Total Given
$1.5M
The Lozick Family Foundation
Pepper Pike, OH
The Lozick Family Foundation funds charitable organizations in areas including health care, education, housing, and community support, with most 2024 grant dollars going to Ohio and Florida. Its 334 grants ranged from $100 to $3,532,500, with a median of $5,250. It does not accept unsolicited requests and gives only to preselected organizations.
Assets
$278.7M
Grants
334
Total Given
$15.0M
Communities Foundation of Texas Inc
Dallas, TX
Communities Foundation of Texas funds charitable work in health, wealth, living, and learning, with much of its grantmaking supporting North Texas nonprofits; its 2025 grants had a median of $18,779, though award sizes varied widely. Nearly all opportunities are by invitation, and its Nonprofit Gateway profile is not a grant application.
Assets
$1.2B
Grants
2,209
Total Given
$209.2M
Greater Houston Community Foundation
Houston, TX
The Foundation makes grants through donor-advised and other donor-established funds for public benefit, human services, education, and health, including initiatives addressing economic mobility and poverty in Harris County. In 2024, its median grant was $25,000; it serves Greater Houston, while grants also go to recipients elsewhere in Texas and beyond. It does not accept proposals for the upcoming High-Impact Grantmaking cycle and plans to invite selected organizations or collaboratives to apply.
Assets
$1.1B
Grants
1,724
Total Given
$232.3M
The Houston Food Bank
Houston, TX
The Houston Food Bank supports food distribution and related hunger-relief programs, including school, children’s, and senior food initiatives, through community organizations in 18 Southeast Texas counties. Its 2025 grants had a median of $33,402, though awards varied widely; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$164.4M
Grants
1,128
Total Given
$210.7M
BNSF Railway Foundation
Fort Worth, TX
The BNSF Railway Foundation supports civic, cultural, educational, health and human services, environmental, and youth programs, as well as general operating costs, in communities served by BNSF across its 28-state network. Its 2025 median grant was $2,500; its current grants program lists awards of $1,000–$10,000.
Assets
$23.0M
Grants
993
Total Given
$7.0M
Baker Hughes Foundation
Houston, TX
Assets
$2.2M
Grants
990
Total Given
$3.2M
Community Foundation of North Texas (Tax
Fort Worth, TX
The Community Foundation of North Texas supports nonprofits through grants for areas including animal welfare, conservation, community development, nonprofit capacity, and opportunity, primarily in North Texas, including seven listed counties. Its 2024 grants had a median amount of $14,250, with awards ranging from $5,100 to $1.5 million. It offers competitive grants through application cycles; nonprofits cannot apply for donor-advised grants.
Assets
$544.9M
Grants
872
Total Given
$41.3M
More Funders in Texas
Thomas J Moran Family Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?