The Thomas B and Robertha K
THE THOMAS B AND ROBERTHA K is a private foundation based in New Bern, North Carolina. In 2025, it made 26 grants totaling $197,900, supporting organizations and activities that included historic preservation, education, religious aid, and assistance to people and animals.
Key facts about The Thomas B and Robertha K
In short: The Thomas B and Robertha K gave $198K across 26 grants in 2025 (avg $8K), mostly in North Carolina. 58% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- EIN
- 56-2086113
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025
- Annual giving (2025)
- $197,900
- Grants made (2025)
- 26
- Average grant
- $7,612
- Median grant
- $1,000
- New grantees (estimate)
- 58% first-time grantees (14 of 24, 2025)
- Total assets
- $4,549,185
- Primary geography
- North Carolina (96% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Accepts unsolicited proposals
- No
- How to apply
- The foundation makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests. Full details ↓
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Financial Overview
From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing
Total Assets
$4.5M
+6.1% YoY
Annual Giving
$198K
+26.7% YoY
Grant Count
26
-10.3% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$8K
+41.3% YoY
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, The Thomas B and Robertha K reported a distributable amount of $212K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Is The Thomas B and Robertha K open to new grantees?
58%
first-time grantees, 2025
In 2025, 14 of 24 grantees (58%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $2K; repeat grants $17K. How we count
Medians: $500 first-time, $2K repeat.
- 38% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
- Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (−3%). Method
- In 2025 it paid out 94% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2019–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Mission & Focus Areas
No mission statement is provided. The 2025 grant list includes support for historic preservation and culture, educational assistance and arts enhancement, religious aid, help for indigent families, animal welfare, and environmental awareness.
Grantees’ own descriptions illustrate some of the kinds of organizations supported. Chatham Hall says it prepares girls for college and productive lives through an educational program focused on intellectual growth, creativity, and personal responsibility. Tried by Fire Inc. describes its mission as operating transitional housing for women returning to the community after incarceration. Craven Literacy Council says it builds literacy skills to empower adults and families, while Children’s Hope Alliance says it works to find and support safe family settings for children.
Grantmaking
In 2025, the foundation made 26 grants totaling $197,900. Grant amounts ranged from $100 to $135,000, with a median of $1,000.
Ready to take the next step with The Thomas B and Robertha K?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
In 2025, 96% of grant dollars went to recipients in North Carolina, 3% to Virginia, and 1% to Delaware.
Grant Distribution by State
Share of all 26 itemized 2025 grant dollars.
States
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $145K (2019) to $203K (2022). In 2025 it made 26 grants totaling $198K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Bradham's Legacy ($135K). Together the top 10 received $188K.
Grant Size Distribution
136 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 131 grants of 136 (96%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Bradham's Legacy New Bern, NC | Historic Preservation | $135,000 |
| Christ Episcopal Church New Bern, NC | Religious Aid | $20,000 |
| Tryon Palace Historic Sites & Garde New Bern, NC | Historic Culture Preservation | $11,000 |
| Public Radio East New Bern, NC | Educational Enhancement Through Medi | $5,000 |
| Chatham Hall Chatham, VA | Educational Assistance | $5,000 |
| Religious Community Services New Bern, NC | Assist Indigent Families | $3,000 |
| St Andrew's School Middletown, DE | Educational Assistance | $2,500 |
| Craven County College Foundation New Bern, NC | Educational Assistance | $2,500 |
| Colonial Capital Humane Society New Bern, NC | Assist Abandoned Animals | $2,000 |
| Western Carolina Community Foundati Asheville, NC | Assist Indigent Families | $2,000 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $4,549,185 | $262,999 | $224,594 | $197,900 |
| 2024 | $4,289,256 | $290,261 | $179,981 | $156,248 |
| 2023 | $3,565,837 | $35,838 | $172,268 | $152,346 |
| Metric | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $4,549,185 | $4,289,256 | $3,565,837 |
| Revenue | $262,999 | $290,261 | $35,838 |
| Expenses | $224,594 | $179,981 | $172,268 |
| Qualifying Distributions | $199,831 | $158,204 | $154,222 |
| Net Investment Income | $238,236 | $268,484 | $18,646 |
| Distributable Amount | $211,877 | $194,356 | $158,109 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS August 24, 2020)
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 13, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2025 filing lists Katherine C Haroldson as President/SE, Thomas Brooks Coleman III as Vice-President, Sarah B Haroldson as Director, John O Haroldson as Treasurer, and Katherine L Haroldson as Director.
The Thomas B and Robertha K is led by Katherine L. Haroldson, President, Secretary & Director on every filing since 2019; none of the 4 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Katherine L. Haroldson
President, Secretary & Director
On filings since 2019
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Sarah B. Haroldson
Director
On filings since 2019
No compensation reported
John O. Haroldson
Treasurer
On filings since 2019
No compensation reported
Thomas Brooks Coleman III
Vice President
On filings since 2019
No compensation reported
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Contact
Mailing address: Post Office Box 1169, New Bern, NC 28563
Phone: (252) 638-2728
Frequently asked questions about The Thomas B and Robertha K
How much does The Thomas B and Robertha K give each year?
The Thomas B and Robertha K gave $198K across 26 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $156K across 29 grants.
What is The Thomas B and Robertha K's typical grant size?
The Thomas B and Robertha K's median grant in 2025 was $1,000, and its average grant was $7,612, across 26 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from The Thomas B and Robertha K that year got $2K on average.
Where does The Thomas B and Robertha K give grants?
The Thomas B and Robertha K gives mostly in North Carolina: 96% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were New Bern, NC (13 grants) and New York, NY (2 grants).
Does The Thomas B and Robertha K give general operating support?
Not in 2025: none of the 26 grants with a stated purpose on The Thomas B and Robertha K's 2025 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Assist Indigent Families" (5 grants), "Educational Assistance" (5 grants) and "Educational Enhancement Through Arts" (4 grants).
Who are The Thomas B and Robertha K's largest grantees?
The Thomas B and Robertha K's largest 2025 grantees include Bradham's Legacy ($135,000), Christ Episcopal Church ($20,000) and Tryon Palace Historic Sites & Garde ($11,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 84% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is The Thomas B and Robertha K?
The Thomas B and Robertha K reported $4.5M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $200K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $212K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What does The Thomas B and Robertha K fund?
No mission statement is provided. The 2025 grant list includes support for historic preservation and culture, educational assistance and arts enhancement, religious aid, help for indigent families, animal welfare, and environmental awareness. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from The Thomas B and Robertha K?
The foundation makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑
What is The Thomas B and Robertha K's EIN?
The Thomas B and Robertha K's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 56-2086113. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.
Does The Thomas B and Robertha K accept unsolicited proposals?
No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Here's the math on researching The Thomas B and Robertha K by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in The Thomas B and Robertha K's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
North Carolina Community Foundation
Raleigh, NC
The North Carolina Community Foundation supports local needs across North Carolina, especially in rural communities, including human services, education, youth development, health, food and nutrition, arts, and scholarships. Its 2025 grants had a median award of $15,000, though amounts varied widely; organizations may apply through the relevant affiliate, giving circle, or community fund, with eligibility and deadlines varying by program.
Assets
$569.1M
Grants
732
Total Given
$30.6M
Foundation for the Carolinas
Charlotte, NC
Foundation For The Carolinas funds nonprofits and other eligible organizations working in areas such as education, health and human services, the environment, youth development, and animal welfare, primarily across 13 counties in North and South Carolina. Its 2024 grants had a median of $25,000, though amounts varied widely; most grants are donor-recommended and have no application process, while some competitive programs accept applications under program-specific rules.
Assets
$3.9B
Grants
1,605
Total Given
$609.1M
Triangle Community Foundation Inc
Durham, NC
The foundation supports nonprofits working in cultural arts, education and youth, nonprofit capacity building, and sustainable communities, with discretionary grants focused on Durham, Orange, Wake, and Chatham Counties in North Carolina. Its 2025 grants had a median of $20,000, though amounts varied widely. Eligible nonprofits or fiscally sponsored organizations can apply through its online system during open grant cycles, so requests are accepted when a relevant cycle is open.
Assets
$335.8M
Grants
599
Total Given
$26.7M
State Employees Credit Union Foundation
Raleigh, NC
The foundation funds capital projects, regional or statewide programs, and organizational capacity building that strengthen North Carolina communities; it favors projects with broad or replicable impact and does not fund operating budgets or shortfalls. Its 2025 grants ranged from $1,250 to $1 million, with a median of $2,500. Applications are accepted at any time and typically reviewed semiannually.
Assets
$61.0M
Grants
1,806
Total Given
$17.4M
Dogwood Health Trust
Asheville, NC
Dogwood Health Trust funds organizations working to improve health and wellbeing through housing, education, economic opportunity, and health and wellness in Western North Carolina’s 18 counties and the Qualla Boundary. Its 2024 grants ranged from $2,000 to $21 million, with a median of $37,500; amounts vary by opportunity.
Assets
$2.0B
Grants
835
Total Given
$148.2M
The Winston-Salem Foundation
Winston-Salem, NC
The Winston-Salem Foundation funds nonprofits and community groups serving Forsyth County, North Carolina, across areas including education, housing, health, arts, community development, and human services. Its 2024 grants had a median of $25,000; specific programs offer up to $2,000 for small grants, $30,000 for civic engagement and inclusion, and $15,000 through The Women’s Fund. It accepts applications through its grants portal for listed programs, subject to their requirements and deadlines.
Assets
$630.1M
Grants
823
Total Given
$88.8M
The Community Foundation
Asheville, NC
The Community Foundation of Western North Carolina funds nonprofits and public agencies working in cultural resources, education, human services and natural resources, with some programs also accepting faith communities. Grants serve 18 Western North Carolina counties and the Qualla Boundary; the median 2025 grant was $25,000, and the Human Services and Education program offers up to $25,000. Application access and deadlines vary by program; the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$481.0M
Grants
793
Total Given
$59.4M
The Leon Levine Foundation
Charlotte, NC
The Leon Levine Foundation funds healthcare, human services, education, and Jewish community work, primarily benefiting people in North and South Carolina. Its 2025 grants ranged from $10,000 to $2.1 million, with a median of $60,000. It accepts unsolicited requests through an eligibility quiz and portal, starting with a letter of inquiry.
Assets
$1.9B
Grants
522
Total Given
$57.9M
Nchsaa Foundation Inc
Chapel Hill, NC
The foundation funds NCHSAA member schools for student-athletes’ physical, mental, and psychosocial wellness and life-skill development, including scholarships, programs, safety initiatives, and equipment. Its 2025 grants ranged from $750 to $5,000, with a median of $1,845, and nearly all funding went to North Carolina recipients. It gives only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$25.9M
Grants
498
Total Given
$967K
The Duke Endowment
Charlotte, NC
The Duke Endowment funds child and family well-being, health care, higher education at four named colleges and universities, and rural churches, primarily in North Carolina and South Carolina. Its 2024 grants ranged from $7,000 to $6.8 million, with a median of $200,000. The application process varies by program; the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$3.6B
Grants
480
Total Given
$251.2M
The Morehead-Cain Foundation
Chapel Hill, NC
The Morehead-Cain Foundation funds the Morehead-Cain Scholars Program and undergraduate scholarships, with reported 2024 grants going to recipients in North Carolina. Its 409 grants ranged from $300 to $3,489,800, with a median of $28,200. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$225.0M
Grants
422
Total Given
$14.9M
More Funders in North Carolina
The Thomas B and Robertha K down — hundreds of funders to go?