The Supreme Council 33 ANC&ACCEPTED Scottish Rite of Freemasonry S Jr logo

The Supreme Council 33 ANC&ACCEPTED Scottish Rite of Freemasonry S Jr

Public charity · Grantmaker Washington, DC EIN: 53-0152875 Website

Domestic fraternal order which is devoted to religious, charitable, scientific, literary, educational, and fraternal purposes.

The Supreme Council 33 ANC&ACCEPTED Scottish Rite of Freemasonry S Jr at a glance

In short: The Supreme Council 33 ANC&ACCEPTED Scottish Rite of Freemasonry S Jr gave $967K across 1 grant in 2024 (avg $967K), mostly in District of Columbia. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990.

Annual giving (2024)
$967,337
+75.5% vs 2023
Grants made (2024)
1
+0.0% vs 2023
Average grant
$967,337
+75.5% vs 2023
Median grant
$967,337
Total assets
$28,592,089
+6.5% vs 2023
Primary geography
District of Columbia (100% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2024 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990, 2024; updated September 2026.

How to apply to The Supreme Council 33 ANC&ACCEPTED Scottish Rite of Freemasonry S Jr

Who The Supreme Council 33 ANC&ACCEPTED Scottish Rite of Freemasonry S Jr funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top recipient in 2024

The House of the Temple Historic Preservation Foundation Inc: $967KThe House of the TempleHistoric Preservation…$967K

The largest 2024 recipient was The House of the Temple Historic Preservation Foundation Inc ($967K).

Grant Size Distribution

5 grants across all recorded years

<$50K$50–100K1$100–250K1$250–500K2$500K–1M1$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was in the $500K–1M range: 2 grants of 5 (40%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

1state

Share of the 2024 grant dollars on its one itemized grant.

Cities

Washington

How The Supreme Council 33 ANC&ACCEPTED Scottish Rite of Freemasonry S Jr gives

  • Giving fell 39% from 2021 to 2024. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$500K$1M$1.5M$2M1 grant2020 1 grant2021 1 grant2022 1 grant2023 1 grant2024

From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $104K (2020) to $1.6M (2021). In 2024 it made 1 grant totaling $967K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
The House of the Temple Historic Preservation Foundation Inc Washington, DCProgram Support, R&M$967,337
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with The Supreme Council 33 ANC&ACCEPTED Scottish Rite of Freemasonry S Jr?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsNet Investment Income
2024$28,592,089$5,661,771$5,954,155$967,3371$574,354
2023$26,849,255$5,221,758$6,595,937$551,2641$690,613
2022$25,802,340$5,114,409$5,113,086$287,7231$352,286
2021$28,646,656$6,184,451$6,347,009$1,582,2041$597,741
2020$26,609,500$5,201,510$4,524,501$103,9601$759,123

About The Supreme Council 33 ANC&ACCEPTED Scottish Rite of Freemasonry S Jr

Based on IRS filings

The Supreme Council 33 ANC&ACCEPTED Scottish Rite of Freemasonry S Jr is a public charity, based in Washington, DC. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2024. As of 2024, the organization holds $28.6M in total assets. In 2024, it awarded 1 grant totaling $967K. Net investment income was $574K.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

The Supreme Council 33 ANC&ACCEPTED Scottish Rite of Freemasonry S Jr's 2024 filing lists 46 officers; 8 of 46 officers listed in 2024 are compensated.

Officers on the 2024 filing

  • Dean Alban

    Director of Member

    Director of Membership → Director of Member, 2022

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $163K (2020) → $209K (2024)

  • Tamera Fannin

    Director of Data

    Director of Data Management → Director of Data, 2022

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $101K (2020) → $128K (2024)

  • Elizabeth McCarthy

    Director Strategi

    On filings since 2022

    40 hrs/week

    $113K (2022) → $128K (2024)

  • Billy W. Sloan

    Grand Herald & Trustee

    Trustee → Grand Herald, 2021

    Grand Herald → Grand Herald & Trustee, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • C. James Graham

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • David L. Nielsen

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Frank Loui

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jose R. Lopez-Rivera

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Richard B. Smith

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Teddy C. Collins

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Alan W. Adkins

    Trustee

    On filings since 2021

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Richard G. Hoover

    Trustee

    On filings since 2021

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Terry L. Bowman

    Trustee

    On filings since 2021

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Wesley D. Thornton

    Trustee

    On filings since 2022

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Andrew Geiser

    Trustee

    New on the 2024 filing

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Arnold Gene Cobb

    Trustee

    New on the 2024 filing

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Col Jmichael Taylor

    Trustee

    New on the 2024 filing

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Dale Sandstrom

    Trustee

    New on the 2024 filing

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Daniel Wellendorf

    Trustee

    New on the 2024 filing

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Donald Smith

    Trustee

    New on the 2024 filing

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • John Barnett

    Trustee

    New on the 2024 filing

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Karl Hinkle

    Trustee

    New on the 2024 filing

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Michael Broom

    Trustee

    New on the 2024 filing

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Nroman Pin

    Trustee

    New on the 2024 filing

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Randall Jager

    Trustee

    New on the 2024 filing

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Richard Komraus

    Trustee

    New on the 2024 filing

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Robert Bradshaw

    Trustee

    New on the 2024 filing

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Roger Nelson

    Trustee

    New on the 2024 filing

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Warren Rensner

    Trustee

    New on the 2024 filing

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Arturo Dehoyos

    Grand Archiv

    Grand Archivist → Grand Archiv, 2022

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $145K (2020) → $199K (2024)

  • James D. Cole

    Sovereign Gr

    Sovereign Grand Commander → Sovereign Gr, 2022

    On filings since 2020

    20 hrs/week

    $227K (2020) → $279K (2024)

  • Jorge Franchi

    CFO

    Chief Financial Officer → CFO, 2022

    On filings since 2020

    28 hrs/week

    $140K (2020) → $208K (2024)

  • William G. Sizemore II

    Grand Executive D

    Grand Executive Director → Grand Executive D, 2022

    On filings since 2020

    20 hrs/week

    $121K (2020) → $180K (2024)

  • Richard Thurfield

    Associate Director Me

    New on the 2024 filing

    40 hrs/week

    $115K (2024)

  • David O. Martinez

    Grand Orator

    Grand Herald → Grand Orator, 2021

    On filings since 2020

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Frank C. Baker

    Grnd Master

    Grand Master of Ceremonies → Grnd Master, 2022

    On filings since 2020

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Gary L. Sissel

    Grand Secretary

    Grand Secretary General → Grand Secretary, 2022

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jeffrey D. Larson

    Grand Treasurer

    Grand Treasurer General → Grand Treasurer, 2022

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Joe C. Harrison

    Grand Min. O

    Trustee → Grand Min. O, 2022

    On filings since 2020

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Joe R. Manning Jr.

    Lt. Grand Co

    Grand Prior → Lt. Grand Co, 2022

    On filings since 2020

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Joseph E. Alexander

    Grand Chambe

    Second Grand Equerry → Grand Chambe, 2022

    On filings since 2020

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Leonard Proden

    Grand Prior

    Grand Almoner → Grand Minister of State, 2021

    Grand Minister of State → Grand Prior, 2022

    On filings since 2020

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Marlin L. Mills

    Grand Almone

    Grand Standard Bearer → Grand Almoner, 2021

    Grand Almoner → Grand Almone, 2022

    On filings since 2020

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Michael L. Wiggins

    Grand Sword

    Trustee → Grand Sword Bearer, 2021

    Grand Sword Bearer → Grand Sword, 2022

    On filings since 2020

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Robert W. Cockerham

    Grand Chance

    Grand Orator → Grand Chancellor, 2021

    Grand Chancellor → Grand Chance, 2022

    On filings since 2020

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Tony R. Krall

    Grand Stndar

    Trustee → Grand Standard Bearer, 2021

    Grand Standard Bearer → Grand Stndar, 2022

    On filings since 2020

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (15)
  • Former: Alvin W. Jorgensen (2020–2023) — Second Grand
  • Former: Jack Yost (2020–2023) — First Grand
  • Former: John S. Dodd (2021–2023) — Membership
  • Former: Gary W. Kuney (2020–2021) — Grand Chamberlain
  • Former: Lynn Craig (2021) — Controller
  • Former: Wesley D. Thronton (2021) — Trustee
  • Former: Barbara Golden (2020) — Legal Counsel
  • Former: Charles I. Ottem (2020) — Trustee
  • Former: Charles V. Sederstrom (2020) — Grand Chancellor
  • Former: Hugh W. Gill III (2020) — First Grand Equerry
  • Former: Jamie Smith (2020) — Grand Sword Bearer
  • Former: Michael D. Smith (2020) — Lt Grand Commander
  • Former: S. Brent Morris (2020) — Managing Editor
  • Former: Stephen M. Munsinger (2020) — Trustee
  • Former: William B. Brunk (2020) — Grand Minister of State

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2024 IRS filing

James D Cole — Sovereign GR: $279KJames D ColeSovereign GR$279KDean Alban — DIR. of Memb: $209KDean AlbanDIR. of Memb$209KJorge Franchi — CFO: $208KJorge FranchiCFO$208KArturo Dehoyos — Grand Archiv: $199KArturo DehoyosGrand Archiv$199KWilliam G Sizemore II — Grand Exec D: $180KWilliam G Sizemore IIGrand Exec D$180KTamera Fannin — DIR. of Data: $128KTamera FanninDIR. of Data$128KElizabeth McCarthy — DIR Strategi: $128KElizabeth McCarthyDIR Strategi$128KRichard Thurfield — Assoc DIR ME: $115KRichard ThurfieldAssoc DIR ME$115K

The highest reported compensation on the 2024 filing was $279K, to James D Cole (Sovereign GR). 8 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Frequently asked questions about The Supreme Council 33 ANC&ACCEPTED Scottish Rite of Freemasonry S Jr

How much does The Supreme Council 33 ANC&ACCEPTED Scottish Rite of Freemasonry S Jr give each year?

The Supreme Council 33 ANC&ACCEPTED Scottish Rite of Freemasonry S Jr gave $967K across 1 grant in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990. In 2023 it gave $551K across 1 grant.

How large is The Supreme Council 33 ANC&ACCEPTED Scottish Rite of Freemasonry S Jr?

The Supreme Council 33 ANC&ACCEPTED Scottish Rite of Freemasonry S Jr reported $28.6M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $5.7M.

Where does The Supreme Council 33 ANC&ACCEPTED Scottish Rite of Freemasonry S Jr operate?

The Supreme Council 33 ANC&ACCEPTED Scottish Rite of Freemasonry S Jr has awarded grants in District of Columbia.

What is The Supreme Council 33 ANC&ACCEPTED Scottish Rite of Freemasonry S Jr's EIN?

The Supreme Council 33 ANC&ACCEPTED Scottish Rite of Freemasonry S Jr's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 53-0152875. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Data update history

(6)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS October 28, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS November 15, 2022)
  3. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS October 16, 2023)
  4. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS September 30, 2024)
  5. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS October 21, 2025)
  6. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in The Supreme Council 33 ANC&ACCEPTED Scottish Rite of Freemasonry S Jr's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in District of Columbia

The Scottish Rite Foundation Southern Jurisdiction USA Inc

Washington, DC

To fund childhood language disorder programs, award scholarships for under-graduate and advanced degrees, and fund natural disaster relief efforts.

Education

Assets

$29.4M

Grants

7

Total Given

$1.5M

NCRC Community Development Fund Inc

Washington, DC

NCRC Community Development Fund supports affordable housing and homeownership, small businesses—especially minority-owned, women-owned, and low-income businesses—and certain nonprofit programs that provide capital or services to underserved communities. Its listed awards range from $5,000 to $50,000, though typical giving is not stated; it serves communities across the U.S., with some programs focused on Illinois. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$55.6M

Grants

2,666

Total Given

$149.3M

National Fish and Wildlife Foundation

Washington, DC

The National Fish and Wildlife Foundation makes competitive grants for science-based projects that conserve or restore fish, wildlife, plants, and habitats; it does not fund advocacy or litigation. Its 2025 grants had a median of about $106,500, and it supports projects across all 50 states and U.S. territories. Applications are competitive and program-specific; whether pre-proposals are required varies by program.

Assets

$3.6B

Grants

1,286

Total Given

$464.4M

Greater Washington Community Foundation

Washington, DC

The Greater Washington Community Foundation supports nonprofits working across areas such as economic opportunity, education, health, arts, and human services, with an emphasis on equity and economic justice. Its 2025 grants had a median of $20,000, and it generally funds organizations serving DC, Montgomery County, Prince George’s County, and specified Northern Virginia communities; it offers scheduled open competitive grant rounds as well as invite-only opportunities.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$518.3M

Grants

1,417

Total Given

$116.9M

Corporation for Public Broadcasting

Washington, DC

The Corporation for Public Broadcasting supported public radio and television stations, programming, infrastructure, and related services across the United States. Its 2026 grants had a median of $22,300, though awards ranged widely; CPB’s 2025 filing was marked as its final return, and the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Arts, Culture & Humanities

Assets

—

Grants

555

Total Given

$175.8M

AARP

Washington, DC

AARP funds nonprofits and other organizations working on aging-related issues, including caregiving, health, research, education, and community programs. Its 2024 grants had a median award of $15,000, with amounts ranging widely, and it supports work through offices across the states and territories; whether AARP accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.

Assets

$13.1B

Grants

688

Total Given

$35.8M

More similar funders

More Funders in District of Columbia

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from The Supreme Council 33 ANC&ACCEPTED Scottish Rite of Freemasonry S Jr's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

The Supreme Council 33 ANC&ACCEPTED Scottish Rite of Freemasonry S Jr down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?