The Ortner Family Foundation logo

The Ortner Family Foundation

Private foundation · Grantmaker McLean, VA EIN: 47-5662226 Website

The Ortner Family Foundation is a private foundation based in McLean, Virginia. Its mission is to promote human flourishing through formation and fellowship consistent with Catholic teaching, with a particular emphasis on renewing Catholic education.

Key facts about The Ortner Family Foundation

In short: The Ortner Family Foundation gave $2.2M across 18 grants in 2024 (avg $123K), top state District of Columbia. 28% of 2024 grantees were new. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.

EIN
47-5662226
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2024
Annual giving (2024)
$2,208,682
Grants made (2024)
18
Average grant
$122,705
Median grant
$93,591
New grantees (estimate)
28% first-time grantees (5 of 18, 2024)
Total assets
$19,462,478
Primary geography
District of Columbia (32% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
Accepts unsolicited proposals
No
How to apply
The foundation states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Full details ↓

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2024; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.

Financial Overview

From 2024 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing

Total Assets

$19.5M

-6.4% YoY

Annual Giving

$2.2M

+46.7% YoY

Grant Count

18

+38.5% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$123K

+5.9% YoY

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, The Ortner Family Foundation reported a distributable amount of $1.3M for 2024 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Is The Ortner Family Foundation open to new grantees?

28%

first-time grantees, 2024

In 2024, 5 of 18 grantees (28%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $88K; repeat grants $136K. How we count

Medians: $25K first-time, $100K repeat.

  • 67% of 2024 grantees were also funded in 2023. Method
  • Giving grew 33% from 2021 to 2024. Method
  • In 2024 it paid out 192% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method

Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2020–2024). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.

Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.

Mission & Focus Areas

The foundation’s website describes churches, families, and schools as central to its view of cultural renewal and identifies Catholic schools as a starting point for its work. It supports Catholic education and related efforts in formation and fellowship. Its website names the Institute for Catholic Liberal Education, Religious Freedom Institute, Cana Academy, Thomistic Institute, Catholic Education Partners, Ethics and Public Policy Center, St. Jerome Institute, Thomas Aquinas College, and A Simple House among organizations it supports.

The grantees’ stated missions illustrate the range of its giving. The Religious Freedom Institute says it works to promote religious liberty as a fundamental human right and a cornerstone of a successful society. The Ethics and Public Policy Center says it applies the Judeo-Christian moral tradition to public policy issues and seeks to influence policymakers and culture. The Evangelical Catholic says it trains and supports local Catholic ministries for evangelization. Trinity House Community says it supports families and the renewal of faith and culture through programs for parents and parish communities.

The foundation also oversees Catholic School Playbook, which shares best practices among high-performing Catholic schools with school leaders, and Run with Saints, which equips Catholics to build and participate in local communities with faithful peers and mentors.

Grantmaking

In filing year 2024, the foundation reported 18 grants totaling $2,208,682. Grants ranged from $2,500 to $385,000, with a median of $93,591. Notable awards included $385,000 to Cana Academy, $349,000 to the Religious Freedom Institute, $270,000 to St. Jerome Institute, $250,000 to Catholic Institute of Technology, and $150,000 each to Sent Institute for Entrepreneurship, Thomas Aquinas College, and Dominican House of Studies College of the Immaculate Conception.

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with The Ortner Family Foundation?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

In 2024, the largest shares of grant dollars went to recipients in the District of Columbia (32%), Virginia (26%), Massachusetts (18%), Maryland (13%), and California (6%).

Grant Distribution by State

10states

Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 18 itemized grants.

Cities

WashingtonFalls ChurchHyattsvilleVenturaStillwaterMadisonNorthfieldDallasLeesburgViennaArlingtonCambridgeClaremontHopkinsLindenMetairiePasadenaSterling

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$1M$2M$3M15 grants2020 12 grants2021 10 grants2022 13 grants2023 18 grants2024

From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $1.4M (2020) to $2.2M (2024). In 2024 it made 18 grants totaling $2.2M.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 10 recipients in 2024

Cana Academy: $385KCana Academy$385KReligious Freedom Institute: $349KReligious Freedom Institute$349KSt Jerome Institute: $270KSt Jerome Institute$270KCatholic Institute of Technology: $250KCatholic Institute ofTechnology$250KSent Institute for Entrepreneurship: $150KSent Institute forEntrepreneurship$150KThomas Aquinas College: $150KThomas Aquinas College$150KDominican House of Studies College of the Immaculate Conception: $150KDominican House of StudiesCollege of the Immaculate…$150KThe Institute for Catholic Liberal Education: $125KThe Institute for CatholicLiberal Education$125KEthics and Public Policy Center: $100KEthics and Public PolicyCenter$100KA Simple House: $87KA Simple House$87K

The largest 2024 recipient was Cana Academy ($385K). Together the top 10 received $2.0M.

Grant Size Distribution

68 grants across all recorded years

23<$50K12$50–100K20$100–250K10$250–500K3$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 23 grants of 68 (34%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Cana Academy Falls Church, VAGeneral Purpose$385,000
Religious Freedom Institute Washington, DCGeneral Purpose$349,000
St Jerome Institute Hyattsville, MDGeneral Purpose$270,000
Catholic Institute of Technology Cambridge, MAGeneral Purpose$250,000
Sent Institute for Entrepreneurship Vienna, VAGeneral Purpose$150,000
Thomas Aquinas College Northfield, MAGeneral Purpose$150,000
Dominican House of Studies College of the Immaculate Conception Washington, DCGeneral Purpose$150,000
The Institute for Catholic Liberal Education Ventura, CAGeneral Purpose$125,000
Ethics and Public Policy Center Washington, DCGeneral Purpose$100,000
A Simple House Washington, DCGeneral Purpose$87,182

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Filing year Assets Revenue Expenses Grants
2024 $19,462,478 $1,273,419 $2,596,230 $2,208,682
2023 $20,784,759 $657,158 $1,932,157 $1,505,823
2022 $22,061,131 -$267,830 $1,937,617 $1,544,050
Revenue
Expenses
Qualifying Distributions
Net Investment Income
$0$1M$2M$3M2020 2021 2022 2023 2024
Metric202420232022
Total Assets$19,462,478$20,784,759$22,061,131
Revenue$1,273,419$657,158$-267,830
Expenses$2,596,230$1,932,157$1,937,617
Qualifying Distributions$2,476,833$1,825,013$1,812,671
Net Investment Income$1,147,075$617,261$547,063
Distributable Amount$1,293,210$1,243,964$51,993

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Leadership & Key People

Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings

The 2024 filing lists Michael Ortner as president, Elizabeth Ortner as secretary, and Kimberly Begg as program director.

The Ortner Family Foundation is led by Michael Ortner, President on every filing since 2020; 1 of 3 officers listed in 2024 is compensated.

Officers on the 2024 filing

  • Michael Ortner

    President

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Kimberly Begg

    Program Director

    On filings since 2022

    40 hrs/week

    $160K (2022) → $26K (2024)

  • Elizabeth Ortner

    Secretary

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2024 IRS filing

Kimberly Begg — Program Director: $26KKimberly BeggProgram Director$26K

The highest reported compensation on the 2024 filing was $26K, to Kimberly Begg (Program Director).

Contact

Mailing address: 6805 Rosemont Drive, Mclean, VA 22101
Phone: (202) 251-4183
Website: https://ortnerfamilyfoundation.org

Frequently asked questions about The Ortner Family Foundation

How much does The Ortner Family Foundation give each year?

The Ortner Family Foundation gave $2.2M across 18 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2023 it gave $1.5M across 13 grants.

What is The Ortner Family Foundation's typical grant size?

The Ortner Family Foundation's median grant in 2024 was $93,591, and its average grant was $122,705, across 18 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from The Ortner Family Foundation that year got $88K on average.

Where does The Ortner Family Foundation give grants?

The Ortner Family Foundation's top state is District of Columbia, with 32% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. The next largest states were Virginia (26%) and Massachusetts (18%). The most frequent recipient cities were Washington, DC (6 grants).

Does The Ortner Family Foundation give general operating support?

Yes: 100% of The Ortner Family Foundation's 2024 grants with a stated purpose (18 of 18) were for general or operating support, per its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.

Who are The Ortner Family Foundation's largest grantees?

The Ortner Family Foundation's largest 2024 grantees include Cana Academy ($385,000), Religious Freedom Institute ($349,000) and St Jerome Institute ($270,000), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 45% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.

How large is The Ortner Family Foundation?

The Ortner Family Foundation reported $19.5M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $2.5M in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $1.3M (roughly 5% of its investment assets).

What does The Ortner Family Foundation fund?

The foundation’s website describes churches, families, and schools as central to its view of cultural renewal and identifies Catholic schools as a starting point for its work. It supports Catholic education and related efforts in formation and fellowship. See mission & focus areas ↑

How do I apply for a grant from The Ortner Family Foundation?

The foundation states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑

What is The Ortner Family Foundation's EIN?

The Ortner Family Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 47-5662226. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.

Does The Ortner Family Foundation accept unsolicited proposals?

No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching The Ortner Family Foundation by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in The Ortner Family Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Virginia

The Catholic Foundation No Colorado

Greenwood Village, CO

The Catholic Foundation of Colorado funds Catholic parishes, schools, seminaries, religious education, and charitable organizations serving people in need, primarily in the Archdiocese of Denver in northern Colorado. Its 2024 grants had a median of $20,000 and ranged from $5,000 to more than $5.2 million. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Religion Related

Assets

$211.7M

Grants

196

Total Given

$24.1M

The Lynde and Harry Bradley Foundation Inc

Milwaukee, WI

The Lynde and Harry Bradley Foundation supports 501(c)(3) organizations advancing constitutional order, free markets, civil society, and informed citizens, with grants across the U.S. and the largest share going to Wisconsin. In 2024, grants ranged from $500 to $6.62 million, with a median of $100,000. It accepts unsolicited letters of inquiry online on an ongoing basis; full applications are by invitation.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$993.4M

Grants

361

Total Given

$56.5M

Knights of Columbus Charitable Fund Inc

New Haven, CT

The fund supports Catholic organizations and other charities whose missions align with Catholic teachings, primarily through donor-advised grants; 2024 awards had a median of $16,250, though amounts varied widely. Its grants went to organizations across the United States, with the largest shares in Washington, DC, Ohio, Connecticut, Virginia, and California. It does not accept unsolicited grant applications.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$127.1M

Grants

358

Total Given

$77.1M

RBN Foundation

New Haven, CT

RBN Foundation supports faith, family, marriage, and virtue, with a strategic focus on K–12 education; its grants have also supported Catholic, educational, and public-policy organizations. In 2024, grants ranged from $10,000 to $500,000, with a median of $70,000, and went to organizations in several states, including California, Pennsylvania, and Washington, D.C. Funding is by invitation only, and the foundation does not offer a public application process.

Religion Related

Assets

$907K

Grants

12

Total Given

$1.5M

The Community Foundation for Greater Atlanta Inc

Atlanta, GA

The Community Foundation for Greater Atlanta funds equity and shared-prosperity work across areas including education, housing, income and wealth, arts and culture, health, and neighborhood development, primarily in the Atlanta region. Its 2024 grants had a median of $21,000, though amounts varied widely; specific arts programs offer $5,000–$7,500. The profile describes application opportunities through its Grants Portal but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$1.5B

Grants

1,414

Total Given

$152.3M

Jack Kent Cooke Foundation

Lansdowne, VA

The Jack Kent Cooke Foundation funds education for exceptionally promising students with financial need, through student scholarships and grants to organizations serving them. Its 2025 grants ranged from $6 to $515,000, with a median of $7,702; 86% of grant dollars went to Virginia recipients, with others across multiple states and Washington, D.C. The available information does not state whether it accepts unsolicited organizational requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$940.1M

Grants

1,419

Total Given

$25.1M

Donors Trust Inc

Alexandria, VA

Donors Trust supports charities and programs in social welfare, health, the environment, economics, governance, foreign relations, and arts and culture, with a strong emphasis on conservative and libertarian policy and education groups. Its 2024 grants had a median of $50,000, though awards ranged from $5,038 to $35 million, and recipients were concentrated in Washington, D.C., Virginia, New York, Texas, and California. It does not accept unsolicited requests; donor-advisors recommend grants through their accounts.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$1.4B

Grants

919

Total Given

$282.1M

The Community Foundation Inc

Richmond, VA

The Community Foundation funds health and wellness, education, economic prosperity, and community vibrancy, as well as other causes through donor-advised and field-of-interest funds. Its 2024 grants had a median of $25,000, with awards ranging from $5,100 to $1.795 million; most funding went to Virginia, especially the Richmond area. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$852.4M

Grants

917

Total Given

$61.8M

America's Charities

Chantilly, VA

America’s Charities distributes workplace-giving contributions to member nonprofits working in areas such as education, health, hunger, human rights, and disaster relief; it also manages emergency assistance for eligible employees. In 2024, reported grants ranged from $5,017 to $1,379,226, with a median of $9,674, and recipients were concentrated in California, Virginia, D.C., Maryland, and Pennsylvania. These disbursements are donor-directed contributions rather than competitive grants; the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Assets

$36.2M

Grants

808

Total Given

$16.4M

Dominion Energy Charitable Foundation

Richmond, VA

Dominion Energy Charitable Foundation funds eligible 501(c)(3) organizations in health and human services, education, arts and culture, civic and community development, and the environment within Dominion’s operating area. Its 2024 grants ranged from $100 to $1 million, with a median of $5,000. It accepts online applications during spring and fall grant cycles.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$2.3M

Grants

773

Total Given

$16.4M

Foster Foundation

Brookneal, VA

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$18.6M

Grants

686

Total Given

$1.3M

More Funders in Virginia

The Ortner Family Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?