The Marissa and Greg Frankenfield

Private foundation · Grantmaker Shorewood, MN EIN: 85-6812675

The Marissa and Greg Frankenfield is a private foundation based in Shorewood, Minnesota. Its 2024 filing reports charitable grants to organizations working in areas including children’s health, substance-use prevention, storytelling and literacy, psychotherapy, housing, and food assistance.

Key facts about The Marissa and Greg Frankenfield

In short: The Marissa and Greg Frankenfield gave $372K across 15 grants in 2024 (avg $25K), mostly in Minnesota. 73% of 2024 grantees were new. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.

EIN
85-6812675
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2024
Annual giving (2024)
$371,517
Grants made (2024)
15
Average grant
$24,768
Median grant
$1,000
New grantees (estimate)
73% first-time grantees (11 of 15, 2024)
Total assets
$687,301
Primary geography
Minnesota (67% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
Accepts unsolicited proposals
No
How to apply
The foundation does not accept unsolicited requests for funds and makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations. Full details ↓

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2024; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.

Financial Overview

From 2024 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing

Total Assets

$687K

-35.6% YoY

Annual Giving

$372K

+20.7% YoY

Grant Count

15

+25.0% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$25K

-3.4% YoY

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, The Marissa and Greg Frankenfield reported a distributable amount of $48K for 2024 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Is The Marissa and Greg Frankenfield open to new grantees?

73%

first-time grantees, 2024

In 2024, 11 of 15 grantees (73%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $14K; repeat grants $53K. How we count

Medians: $500 first-time, $6K repeat.

  • 20% of 2024 grantees were also funded in 2023. Method
  • Giving grew 53% from 2021 to 2024. Method
  • In 2024 it paid out 786% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method

Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2021–2024). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.

Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.

Mission & Focus Areas

No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its 2024 grants included support for organizations with varied missions. Young Storytellers says it develops literacy through storytelling and helps underserved public-school children express themselves through writing and performance. Rose City Center says it offers affordable psychotherapy in California and psychoanalytic training for clinicians. People’s City Mission says it provides temporary housing and assistance to homeless people in the Lincoln, Nebraska area. Feed My Starving Children describes its work as feeding children and striving to eliminate child starvation worldwide. Mom’s Haven of Hope says it supports single mothers and their children through housing and a supportive community. Kenya Children’s Fund says it helps children in Kenya access education, nutrition, and health care.

Grantmaking

In filing year 2024, the foundation reported 15 grants totaling $371,517. Grant amounts ranged from $100 to $200,000, with a median grant of $1,000.

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with The Marissa and Greg Frankenfield?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

In 2024, 67% of grant dollars went to recipients in Minnesota, 27% to Virginia, and 5% to California. The filing also reports recipient-state shares of 0% for Nebraska and New York.

Grant Distribution by State

13states

Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 15 itemized grants.

Cities

MinneapolisSaint PaulExcelsiorFridleyNew YorkLos AngelesSalt Lake CityAlexandriaAnna MariaAtlantaBlaineCenter CityCoon RapidsGaithersburgHartfordLincolnPasadenaRedwood CitySalineSan Antonio

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$100K$200K$300K$400K5 grants2021 13 grants2022 12 grants2023 15 grants2024

From 2021 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $242K (2021) to $372K (2024). In 2024 it made 15 grants totaling $372K.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 10 recipients in 2024

Children's Minnesota: $200KChildren's Minnesota$200KSmart Approaches to Marijuana: $100KSmart Approaches to Marijuana$100KHazelden Betty Ford: $25KHazelden Betty Ford$25KMasonic Cancer Center U of M: $20KMasonic Cancer Center U of M$20KYoung Storytellers: $10KYoung Storytellers$10KRose City Center: $10KRose City Center$10KPhilippine Scholars: $3KPhilippine Scholars$3KExcelsior Lions Club: $1KExcelsior Lions Club$1KPeople's City Mission: $1KPeople's City Mission$1KCovenant House: $500Covenant House$500

The largest 2024 recipient was Children's Minnesota ($200K). Together the top 10 received $370K.

Grant Size Distribution

45 grants across all recorded years

40<$50K$50–100K5$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 40 grants of 45 (89%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Children's Minnesota Saint Paul, MNCharitable Giving$200,000
Smart Approaches to Marijuana Alexandria, VACharitable Giving$100,000
Hazelden Betty Ford Center City, MNCharitable Giving$25,000
Masonic Cancer Center U of M Minneapolis, MNCharitable Giving$20,000
Young Storytellers Los Angeles, CACharitable Giving$10,000
Rose City Center Pasadena, CACharitable Giving$10,000
Philippine Scholars Fridley, MNCharitable Giving$2,500
Excelsior Lions Club Excelsior, MNCharitable Giving$1,000
People's City Mission Lincoln, NECharitable Giving$1,000
Covenant House New York, NYCharitable Giving$500

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Filing year Assets Revenue Expenses Grants
2024 $687,301 $4,213 $384,140 $371,517
2023 $1,067,228 -$26,652 $319,713 $307,689
2022 $1,413,593 -$65,231 $346,444 $331,510
Revenue
Expenses
Qualifying Distributions
Net Investment Income
$0$1M$2M$3M2021 2022 2023 2024
Metric202420232022
Total Assets$687,301$1,067,228$1,413,593
Revenue$4,213$-26,652$-65,231
Expenses$384,140$319,713$346,444
Qualifying Distributions$373,767$307,689$331,510
Net Investment Income$12,473$16,366$12,095
Distributable Amount$47,570$60,000$74,815

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2021–2024

Leadership & Key People

Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings

The 2024 filing lists Gregory G Frankenfield as treasurer and Marissa Frankenfield as president.

The Marissa and Greg Frankenfield is led by Marissa Frankenfield, President on every filing since 2021; none of the 2 officers listed in 2024 report compensation.

Officers on the 2024 filing

  • Marissa Frankenfield

    President

    On filings since 2021

    No compensation reported

  • Gregory G. Frankenfield

    Treasurer

    On filings since 2021

    No compensation reported

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2021–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Contact

Mailing address: 5750 Merry Lane, Shorewood, MN 55331

Frequently asked questions about The Marissa and Greg Frankenfield

How much does The Marissa and Greg Frankenfield give each year?

The Marissa and Greg Frankenfield gave $372K across 15 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2023 it gave $308K across 12 grants.

What is The Marissa and Greg Frankenfield's typical grant size?

The Marissa and Greg Frankenfield's median grant in 2024 was $1,000, and its average grant was $24,768, across 15 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from The Marissa and Greg Frankenfield that year got $14K on average.

Where does The Marissa and Greg Frankenfield give grants?

The Marissa and Greg Frankenfield gives mostly in Minnesota: 67% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest states were Virginia (27%) and California (5%). The most frequent recipient cities were Saint Paul, MN (2 grants) and Excelsior, MN (2 grants).

Does The Marissa and Greg Frankenfield give general operating support?

Not in 2024: none of the 15 grants with a stated purpose on The Marissa and Greg Frankenfield's 2024 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Charitable Giving" (15 grants).

Who are The Marissa and Greg Frankenfield's largest grantees?

The Marissa and Greg Frankenfield's largest 2024 grantees include Children's Minnesota ($200,000), Smart Approaches to Marijuana ($100,000) and Hazelden Betty Ford ($25,000), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 87% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.

How large is The Marissa and Greg Frankenfield?

The Marissa and Greg Frankenfield reported $687K in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $374K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $48K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).

What does The Marissa and Greg Frankenfield fund?

No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its 2024 grants included support for organizations with varied missions. Young Storytellers says it develops literacy through storytelling and helps underserved public-school children express themselves through writing and performance. See mission & focus areas ↑

How do I apply for a grant from The Marissa and Greg Frankenfield?

The foundation does not accept unsolicited requests for funds and makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑

What is The Marissa and Greg Frankenfield's EIN?

The Marissa and Greg Frankenfield's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 85-6812675. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2021–2024.

Does The Marissa and Greg Frankenfield accept unsolicited proposals?

No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching The Marissa and Greg Frankenfield by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in The Marissa and Greg Frankenfield's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

Greater Horizons

Kansas City, MO

Greater Horizons is a donor-advised fund provider whose donor-directed grants support eligible U.S. public charities across a broad range of causes; international organizations may also qualify with additional review and fees. In 2024, grants had a median of $15,000, with itemized awards ranging from $5,001 to $10,073,050, and recipients were located across the United States, especially in California, Texas, Nebraska, New York, and Kansas. It describes a grant-request process for donors, not an application process for organizations, so unsolicited requests are not stated as accepted.

Assets

$2.8B

Grants

3,282

Total Given

$212.2M

Enterprise Holdings Foundation

Saint Louis, MO

Enterprise Holdings Foundation supports nonprofits in health, education, arts, disaster relief, reforestation, hunger relief, and community equity, with an emphasis on organizations actively supported by Enterprise employees and their families. Its reported grants range widely: 2024 giving averaged about $7,700 across 9,499 grants, while the foundation also offers awards of up to $40,000; it supports communities where Enterprise operates worldwide. Unsolicited requests are accepted at any time, but eligible applications must be submitted by an Enterprise team member or their spouse or domestic partner on behalf of a nonprofit they actively support.

Assets

$594.3M

Grants

1

Total Given

$101.4M

The Minneapolis Foundation

Minneapolis, MN

The Minneapolis Foundation supports civic, social, and economic needs, including economic mobility, education equity, community safety, health, and the environment. In 2025, its grants had a median of $25,000, though awards varied widely; 77% of grant dollars went to Minnesota recipients. It does not state a general policy on unsolicited requests; current opportunities are closed, and some programs are invitation-based.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$1.2B

Grants

1,565

Total Given

$121.7M

Saint Paul & Minnesota Foundation

St. Paul, MN

The Saint Paul & Minnesota Foundation funds community-led work in areas including economic development, health and human services, youth and education, arts and culture, democracy, and nonprofit capacity, serving the East Metro and communities statewide. Its 2025 grants had a median of $26,000, while the Management Improvement Fund offers up to $15,000. It accepts unsolicited requests through open application programs, though some opportunities are invite-only.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$1.7B

Grants

1,473

Total Given

$107.2M

The Richard M Schulze Family Foundation

Minneapolis, MN

The Richard M. Schulze Family Foundation funds education, health care, and human services, including college scholarships, with most support benefiting working- and middle-class families in specified Minnesota and Florida counties; it also makes some national grants. Its 2024 grants had a median of $5,000, though awards ranged from $50 to $10 million. It plans to move to invitation-only grantmaking in 2027; whether it currently accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.

Assets

—

Grants

1,431

Total Given

$47.9M

Wells Fargo Foundation

Minneapolis, MN

The Wells Fargo Foundation funds nonprofits working on financial opportunity, affordable housing, and small-business growth, with giving at national and local levels. Its 2025 grants ranged from $3,000 to $8 million, with a median of $35,000. It does not accept unsolicited requests; eligible organizations are invited to apply.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$8.6M

Grants

1,376

Total Given

$157.4M

C K Blandin Foundation

Grand Rapids, MN

The C K Blandin Foundation funds community wealth-building, rural placemaking and small-community efforts, including work on housing, civic engagement, community spaces and food systems. It primarily supports rural Minnesota, especially Itasca County and nearby communities, and its 2024 median grant was $2,900, though awards ranged from $50 to $335,000.

Assets

—

Grants

931

Total Given

$15.8M

The McKnight Foundation

Minneapolis, MN

The McKnight Foundation funds nonprofit organizations, research, and community initiatives in arts and culture, food systems, climate and energy, neuroscience, and equitable communities, primarily in Minnesota and the Midwest, with some work in Africa and South America and beyond. Its 2024 grants ranged from $1,150 to $10 million, with a median of $100,000; prospective applicants are asked to contact program staff first, who provide proposal instructions if they determine funding may be considered.

Assets

—

Grants

790

Total Given

$145.9M

Neighborhood Development Center Inc

Saint Paul, MN

Neighborhood Development Center supports entrepreneurs and neighborhood revitalization through business financing, training, services, and affordable commercial space, primarily in Saint Paul and Minneapolis, with grants going to Minnesota recipients. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,100 to $207,211, with a median of $13,500. It does not state a general policy on unsolicited requests; a specific small-business grant RFP described was a past cycle.

Human Services

Assets

$55.3M

Grants

571

Total Given

$10.2M

Marshall H and Nellie Alworth

Duluth, MN

The Marshall H and Nellie Alworth Memorial Fund awards scholarships to eligible students pursuing mathematics, science, engineering, or medical fields, primarily serving students from northern Minnesota. Recent awards were typically $2,500, with grants ranging from $2,500 to $3,000. It accepts applications through its scholarship programs; high-school applications are due January 15, and the college-transfer pathway also has an application process.

Assets

—

Grants

566

Total Given

$1.5M

Catholic Community Foundation of Minnesota

St. Paul, MN

The Catholic Community Foundation of Minnesota funds spiritual, educational, and social needs through grants for education, capital improvements, assistance programs, and other charitable purposes. Its 2025 grants had a median of $16,124, and at least half of grants over any three-year period are intended for Minnesota organizations; 86% of 2025 grant dollars went to Minnesota. Its Social Impact and Educational Impact programs are invitation-only, while other CCF-directed programs may offer open, competitive applications.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$751.7M

Grants

504

Total Given

$43.9M

Communitygiving

St Cloud, MN

CommunityGiving supports nonprofits, schools, government entities, students, and community initiatives through partner foundations, donor-directed funds, competitive grants, and scholarships. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,100 to $680,477, with a median of $15,528; most funding went to Minnesota, though its network also includes Derby, Kansas. Competitive grant applications are accepted through online systems for specific opportunities; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests generally.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$282.6M

Grants

426

Total Given

$16.7M

More Funders in Minnesota

The Marissa and Greg Frankenfield down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?