The Madeleine Jude Brown Foundation Inc
The Madeleine Jude Brown Foundation Inc is a private foundation, based in Atlanta, GA. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $1.3M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 6 grants totaling $162K. Net investment income was $114K.
Key facts about The Madeleine Jude Brown Foundation Inc
In short: The Madeleine Jude Brown Foundation Inc gave $162K across 6 grants in 2025 (avg $27K), mostly in Georgia. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- EIN
- 26-0338062
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025
- Annual giving (2025)
- $161,558
- Grants made (2025)
- 6
- Average grant
- $26,926
- Median grant
- $27,585
- Total assets
- $1,326,879
- Primary geography
- Georgia (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.
Financial Overview
From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing
Total Assets
$1.3M
+0.4% YoY
Annual Giving
$162K
+5.6% YoY
Grant Count
6
-14.3% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$27K
+23.2% YoY
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, The Madeleine Jude Brown Foundation Inc reported a distributable amount of $83K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
How The Madeleine Jude Brown Foundation Inc gives
- Giving grew 167% from 2022 to 2025. Method
- In 2025 it paid out 244% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.
Ready to take the next step with The Madeleine Jude Brown Foundation Inc?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 6 itemized grants.
States
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $60K (2022) to $162K (2025). In 2025 it made 6 grants totaling $162K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 6 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Mercer University ($53K). Together the top 6 received $162K.
Grant Size Distribution
24 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 21 grants of 24 (88%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Mercer University Atlanta, GA | Scholarship for Room and Board | $52,500 |
| Georgia State University Atlanta, GA | Scholarship for Room and Board | $35,888 |
| Georgia Tech Atlanta, GA | Scholarship for Room and Board | $35,170 |
| Mercy Care Atlanta, GA | General Purpose | $20,000 |
| University of Georgia Athens, GA | Scholarship for Room, Board and Airfare | $15,000 |
| Abraham Pizano Atlanta, GA | Calculus Bootcamp | $3,000 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Metric | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $1,326,879 | $1,321,356 | $1,274,965 |
| Revenue | $214,194 | $230,033 | $195,215 |
| Expenses | $208,671 | $169,388 | $181,970 |
| Qualifying Distributions | $202,409 | $162,309 | $179,783 |
| Net Investment Income | $113,994 | $162,592 | $118,682 |
| Distributable Amount | $82,869 | $78,620 | $71,508 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS June 5, 2020)
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS June 22, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
The Madeleine Jude Brown Foundation Inc's 2025 filing lists 12 officers; none of the 12 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Catharine L. Intemann
Trustee
On filings since 2019
No compensation reported
Claire Conarro
Trustee
On filings since 2019
No compensation reported
Julia Haller MD
Trustee
On filings since 2019
No compensation reported
Karen B. Thompson
Trustee
On filings since 2019
No compensation reported
Kathleen Hersey
Trustee
On filings since 2019
No compensation reported
Mary G. Lynch MD
Trustee
On filings since 2019
No compensation reported
Reay H. Brown MD
Trustee
On filings since 2019
No compensation reported
Teresa L. Brennan MD
Trustee
On filings since 2019
No compensation reported
Veronica Huttman
Trustee
On filings since 2019
No compensation reported
Victoria L. Schneider MD
Trustee
On filings since 2019
No compensation reported
Annie Brown
Trustee
On filings since 2022
No compensation reported
Sarah Medrano
Trustee
New on the 2025 filing
No compensation reported
Former officers (1)
- Former: Kathleen Brennan (2024) — Trustee
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Frequently asked questions about The Madeleine Jude Brown Foundation Inc
How much does The Madeleine Jude Brown Foundation Inc give each year?
The Madeleine Jude Brown Foundation Inc gave $162K across 6 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $153K across 7 grants.
What is The Madeleine Jude Brown Foundation Inc's typical grant size?
The Madeleine Jude Brown Foundation Inc's median grant in 2025 was $27,585, and its average grant was $26,926, across 6 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Where does The Madeleine Jude Brown Foundation Inc give grants?
The Madeleine Jude Brown Foundation Inc gives mostly in Georgia: 100% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Atlanta, GA (5 grants).
Does The Madeleine Jude Brown Foundation Inc give general operating support?
Yes: 17% of The Madeleine Jude Brown Foundation Inc's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (1 of 6) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Recurring purposes include "Scholarship for Room and Board" (3 grants).
Who are The Madeleine Jude Brown Foundation Inc's largest grantees?
The Madeleine Jude Brown Foundation Inc's largest 2025 grantees include Mercer University ($52,500), Georgia State University ($35,888) and Georgia Tech ($35,170), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 76% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is The Madeleine Jude Brown Foundation Inc?
The Madeleine Jude Brown Foundation Inc reported $1.3M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $202K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $83K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What is The Madeleine Jude Brown Foundation Inc's EIN?
The Madeleine Jude Brown Foundation Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 26-0338062. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.
Here's the math on researching The Madeleine Jude Brown Foundation Inc by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in The Madeleine Jude Brown Foundation Inc's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
The Institute for College Access & Success
Oakland, CA
We seek to support state and federal policymakers through research, policy analysis, and advocacy about building a better, more affordable, and higher quality higher education system.
Assets
$6.6M
Grants
5
Total Given
$140K
Trustees of Tufts College
Medford, MA
Trustees of Tufts College supports university instruction, research, student services, and related organizations; its 2025 grants had a median of $76,881, though many large awards were subcontract grants. Giving is concentrated in Massachusetts, and its Tufts Community Grants offer $5,000 for eligible nonprofit projects in Boston, Grafton, Medford, and Somerville; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$4.9B
Grants
149
Total Given
$38.3M
Spelman College
Atlanta, GA
Spelman College’s reported grants support university research costs and faculty mentoring, alongside broader institutional priorities in student access, teaching and learning, innovation, and wellness. In 2025 it made 13 grants of $5,194–$35,999, with a median of $17,648, to recipients in multiple states; the profile does not establish a broader geographic focus. It does not state whether Spelman accepts unsolicited external requests.
Assets
$1.0B
Grants
13
Total Given
$262K
Cassner Foundation
Hillsboro, OH
The Cassner Foundation funds scholarships, school expansion, and general programs, primarily in Ohio, with most of its 2026 grant dollars going to Ohio recipients. Its 2026 awards ranged from $800 to $60,000, with a median of $3,500. It does not accept unsolicited funding requests.
Assets
$3.2M
Grants
32
Total Given
$197K
Communities of Coastal Georgia Foundation Inc
Brunswick, GA
Communities of Coastal Georgia Foundation funds nonprofits working on a range of community needs, including education, housing, family support, youth programs, and conservation, primarily in Camden, Glynn, and McIntosh counties, Georgia. Its 2024 grants ranged from $5,056 to $1,075,320, with a median of $15,250; it offers a competitive grant program, but whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.
Assets
$54.5M
Grants
121
Total Given
$5.4M
Northwestern University
Evanston, IL
Northwestern University funds research, education, faculty and postdoctoral development, and community projects; its ANCHOR grants support partnerships addressing health and resilience in Evanston and Chicago. Its 2024 grants had a median of about $63,000, while listed programs range from up to $3,000 for research-library grants to $25,000–$65,000 for ANCHOR projects. It lists specific funding opportunities but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests generally.
Assets
$20.8B
Grants
383
Total Given
$133.4M
Spencer Educational Foundation Inc
New York, NY
Spencer Educational Foundation supports scholarships, grants, internships, experiential learning, and curriculum development that prepare future risk management and insurance professionals. Its 2025 itemized grants ranged from $5,000 to $82,500, with a median of $10,000, and its programs serve eligible organizations in the United States and Canada.
Assets
$9.9M
Grants
122
Total Given
$2.0M
Georgia Health Foundation Inc
Atlanta, GA
Georgia Health Foundation funds health-related services, advocacy, nutrition and wellness, behavioral health, and innovative or collaborative programs, prioritizing rural, underserved, and higher-risk communities across Georgia. Its stated grant range is $10,000–$30,000, with a 2024 median award of $15,000. It accepts unsolicited requests from eligible Georgia 501(c)(3) nonprofits.
Assets
$12.5M
Grants
36
Total Given
$521K
CSF Associates Publius
Easton, PA
Research on federalism and publication of scholarly journal entitled Publius: The Journal of Federalism.
Assets
$2.9M
Grants
4
Total Given
$33K
Lehigh University
Bethlehem, PA
Lehigh University’s reported grants support universities and research-related organizations, with some funding for local economic development. Its 2025 grants ranged from $7,500 to $1,198,295, with a median of $82,570, and went to organizations across several states, especially Pennsylvania; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$3.5B
Grants
48
Total Given
$8.9M
The Selig Foundation Inc
Atlanta, GA
The Selig Foundation supports organizations across Jewish communal life, education, arts and culture, health, and social services, with most of its giving going to Georgia. Its 2025 grants ranged from $50 to $393,650, with a median of $2,125; it accepts written applications stating the requested amount and purpose, and lists no deadline.
Assets
$320K
Grants
68
Total Given
$1.2M
KPMG US Foundation Inc
Montvale, NJ
KPMG US Foundation supports education, mental health, community vitality, and community relief and resilience, with grants distributed across the United States. Its 2025 grants had a median of $25,000, though amounts ranged from about $5,000 to $2.2 million. The available information does not say whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$12.4M
Grants
387
Total Given
$33.5M
More Funders in Georgia
The Madeleine Jude Brown Foundation Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?