The Linda and Harvey Saligman Charitable logo

The Linda and Harvey Saligman Charitable

Private foundation · Grantmaker St. Louis, MO EIN: 27-3169763 Website

The Linda and Harvey Saligman Charitable is a private foundation based in St. Louis, Missouri. In its 2025 filing, it reported 21 grants totaling $366,883 to charitable organizations in several states.

Key facts about The Linda and Harvey Saligman Charitable

In short: The Linda and Harvey Saligman Charitable gave $512K across 18 grants in 2026 (avg $28K), mostly in California. 6% of 2026 grantees were new. Source: 2026 IRS Form 990-PF.

EIN
27-3169763
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2026
Annual giving (2026)
$511,510
Grants made (2026)
18
Average grant
$28,417
Median grant
$9,725
New grantees (estimate)
6% first-time grantees (1 of 16, 2026)
Total assets
$8,956,733
Primary geography
California (72% of itemized 2026 grant dollars)
Accepts unsolicited proposals
No
How to apply
The foundation states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests. Full details ↓

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2026; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.

Financial Overview

From 2026 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing

Total Assets

$9.0M

+16.3% YoY

Annual Giving

$512K

+39.4% YoY

Grant Count

18

-14.3% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$28K

+62.7% YoY

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, The Linda and Harvey Saligman Charitable reported a distributable amount of $578K for 2026 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Is The Linda and Harvey Saligman Charitable open to new grantees?

6%

first-time grantees, 2026

In 2026, 1 of 16 grantees (6%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $2K; repeat grants $34K. How we count

Medians: $2K first-time, $10K repeat.

  • 88% of 2026 grantees were also funded in 2025. Method
  • Giving grew 31% from 2023 to 2026. Method
  • In 2026 it paid out 89% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method

Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2020–2026). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.

Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.

Mission & Focus Areas

No mission statement is provided. The 2025 grants show support for organizations working in a range of areas. For example, the Metropolitan Museum of Art says it connects people to creativity, knowledge, and ideas through collecting, studying, conserving, and presenting art. The Donald Danforth Plant Science Center describes its work as using plant science and research to improve human health, address hunger, renew the environment, and support the regional economy.

Other 2025 recipients include Little Folks School, which says it operates a nursery school focused on children’s development, and the Nantucket Atheneum, which says it provides public library services. United Way of Greater St. Louis describes its work as mobilizing people, resources, and funding to build strong and equitable communities.

Grantmaking

In 2025, the foundation reported 21 grants totaling $366,883. Grants ranged from $1,000 to $150,000, with a median grant of $5,000.

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with The Linda and Harvey Saligman Charitable?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

The foundation is based in St. Louis, Missouri. In 2025, 46% of its grant dollars went to recipients in Missouri, 34% to California, 11% to Massachusetts, 4% to the District of Columbia, and 3% to New York. Its reported grants also included recipients in Iowa.

Grant Distribution by State

8states

Share of 2026 grant dollars across all 18 itemized grants.

Cities

NantucketSt. LouisNew YorkWashingtonPalm BeachWest Des MoinesBostonLos AngelesOlivetteSan FranciscoVeniceMashpeePhiladelphiaWest Palm BeachHyannis

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$200K$400K$600K23 grants2020 28 grants2021 31 grants2022 35 grants2023 30 grants2024 21 grants2025 18 grants2026

From 2020 to 2026, annual grant giving ranged from $328K (2020) to $512K (2026). In 2026 it made 18 grants totaling $512K.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 10 recipients in 2026

The Linda & Harvey Saligman Foundation Donor Advised Fund: $360KThe Linda & Harvey SaligmanFoundation Donor Advised Fund$360KNantucket Cottage Hospital: $41K across 2 grantsNantucket Cottage Hospital$41K · 2 grantsWashington University: $25KWashington University$25KNantucket Historical Assocation: $14K across 2 grantsNantucket HistoricalAssocation$14K · 2 grantsMetropolitan Museum of Art: $12KMetropolitan Museum of Art$12KBoys and Girls Club of Los Angeles: $10KBoys and Girls Club of LosAngeles$10KDonald Danforth Plant Science Center: $10KDonald Danforth Plant ScienceCenter$10KLittle Folks School: $10KLittle Folks School$10KNational Speech & Debate Association: $10KNational Speech & DebateAssociation$10KIn Town Play Group: $5KIn Town Play Group$5K

The largest 2026 recipient was The Linda & Harvey Saligman Foundation Donor Advised Fund ($360K). Together the top 10 received $497K.

Grant Size Distribution

135 grants across all recorded years

123<$50K6$50–100K5$100–250K1$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 123 grants of 135 (91%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
The Linda & Harvey Saligman Foundation Donor Advised Fund San Francisco, CAGeneral Support$360,000
Nantucket Cottage Hospital Nantucket, MABoston Pops$31,500
Washington University St. Louis, MOAlzheimer's Research Fund$25,000
Nantucket Historical Assocation Nantucket, MANantucket Nights$14,310
Metropolitan Museum of Art New York, NYBryant Fellows$12,000
Boys and Girls Club of Los Angeles Los Angeles, CAGeneral Support$10,000
Donald Danforth Plant Science Center Olivette, MOGeneral Support$10,000
Little Folks School Washington, DCGeneral Support$10,000
National Speech & Debate Association West Des Moines, IAGeneral Support$10,000
Nantucket Cottage Hospital Nantucket, MAGeneral Support$9,450

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Filing year Assets Revenue Expenses Grants Grant count
2025 $7,699,309 $2,637,054 $406,699 $366,883 21
2024 $5,507,266 $1,761,725 $374,428 $341,051 30
2023 $4,109,811 $175,444 $428,574 $390,872 35
Revenue
Expenses
Qualifying Distributions
Net Investment Income
$0$1M$2M$3M2020 2021 2022 2023 2024 2025 2026
Metric202620252024
Total Assets$8,956,733$7,699,309$5,507,266
Revenue$1,907,822$2,637,054$1,761,725
Expenses$605,827$406,699$374,428
Qualifying Distributions$514,300$366,883$342,494
Net Investment Income$1,851,754$2,623,204$1,729,791
Distributable Amount$577,591$516,566$392,749

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2026 (received by the IRS August 27, 2026)
  2. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS August 26, 2020)
  3. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS August 12, 2021)
  4. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS August 22, 2022)
  5. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS August 29, 2023)
  6. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS February 3, 2025)
  7. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS February 12, 2026)
  8. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2025

Leadership & Key People

Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings

The 2025 filing lists Linda Saligman, Brian Saligman, and Adam Saligman as trustees.

The Linda and Harvey Saligman Charitable's 2026 filing lists 3 officers; none of the 3 officers listed in 2026 report compensation.

Officers on the 2026 filing

  • Adam Saligman

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    No compensation reported

  • Brian Saligman

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    No compensation reported

  • Linda Saligman

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    No compensation reported

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2026. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Contact

Mailing address: 150 Carondelet Plaza 2401, St Louis, MO 63105
Phone: (314) 863-5777
Website: https://fidelitycharitable.org

Frequently asked questions about The Linda and Harvey Saligman Charitable

How much does The Linda and Harvey Saligman Charitable give each year?

The Linda and Harvey Saligman Charitable gave $512K across 18 grants in 2026, according to its 2026 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2025 it gave $367K across 21 grants.

What is The Linda and Harvey Saligman Charitable's typical grant size?

The Linda and Harvey Saligman Charitable's median grant in 2026 was $9,725, and its average grant was $28,417, across 18 grants on its 2026 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from The Linda and Harvey Saligman Charitable that year got $2K on average.

Where does The Linda and Harvey Saligman Charitable give grants?

The Linda and Harvey Saligman Charitable gives mostly in California: 72% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2026 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest states were Massachusetts (13%) and Missouri (7%). The most frequent recipient cities were Nantucket, MA (8 grants), St. Louis, MO (2 grants), Washington, DC (2 grants) and New York, NY (2 grants).

Does The Linda and Harvey Saligman Charitable give general operating support?

Yes: 50% of The Linda and Harvey Saligman Charitable's 2026 grants with a stated purpose (9 of 18) were for general or operating support, per its 2026 IRS Form 990-PF.

Who are The Linda and Harvey Saligman Charitable's largest grantees?

The Linda and Harvey Saligman Charitable's largest 2026 grantees include The Linda & Harvey Saligman Foundation Donor Advised Fund ($360,000), Nantucket Cottage Hospital ($40,950 across 2 grants) and Washington University ($25,000), according to its 2026 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 83% of its itemized 2026 grant dollars.

How large is The Linda and Harvey Saligman Charitable?

The Linda and Harvey Saligman Charitable reported $9.0M in total assets on its 2026 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $514K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $578K (roughly 5% of its investment assets). Falling short in one year is not a violation: foundations have until the end of the next year to meet the minimum.

What does The Linda and Harvey Saligman Charitable fund?

No mission statement is provided. The 2025 grants show support for organizations working in a range of areas. For example, the Metropolitan Museum of Art says it connects people to creativity, knowledge, and ideas through collecting, studying, conserving, and presenting art. See mission & focus areas ↑

How do I apply for a grant from The Linda and Harvey Saligman Charitable?

The foundation states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑

What is The Linda and Harvey Saligman Charitable's EIN?

The Linda and Harvey Saligman Charitable's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 27-3169763. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2026.

Does The Linda and Harvey Saligman Charitable accept unsolicited proposals?

No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching The Linda and Harvey Saligman Charitable by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in The Linda and Harvey Saligman Charitable's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Missouri

Charina Foundation Inc

New York, NY

Charina Foundation supports 501(c)(3) organizations across varied fields, with most 2025 grant dollars going to recipients in New York and Massachusetts. Its 2025 grants ranged from $500 to $750,000, with a median of $7,500. It funds preselected organizations only and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$10.1M

Grants

279

Total Given

$3.8M

Ernst & Elfriede Frank Foundation Inc

New York, NY

The foundation supports education, arts and culture, healthcare, environmental causes, historical preservation, and social services across the United States and Canada. Its 2025 grants ranged from $500 to $50,000, with a median of $5,000. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$16.1M

Grants

151

Total Given

$914K

Silicon Valley Community Foundation

Mountain View, CA

Silicon Valley Community Foundation funds work in areas such as housing, economic security, education, health, the environment, arts and culture, and civic engagement, with Community Action Grants supporting local, community-led organizations in San Mateo and Santa Clara counties. Its 2024 grants had a median of $51,716, though amounts varied widely; applications depend on the program, and SVCF states that it does not accept unsolicited proposals for advised funds.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$12.3B

Grants

3,576

Total Given

$3.2B

Greater Horizons

Kansas City, MO

Greater Horizons is a donor-advised fund provider whose donor-directed grants support eligible U.S. public charities across a broad range of causes; international organizations may also qualify with additional review and fees. In 2024, grants had a median of $15,000, with itemized awards ranging from $5,001 to $10,073,050, and recipients were located across the United States, especially in California, Texas, Nebraska, New York, and Kansas. It describes a grant-request process for donors, not an application process for organizations, so unsolicited requests are not stated as accepted.

Assets

$2.8B

Grants

3,282

Total Given

$212.2M

St Louis Community Foundation Inc

St. Louis, MO

The St. Louis Community Foundation supports nonprofits through donor- and foundation-directed grants, with priorities including economic mobility and youth connections as well as education, health, arts, and culture. Its 2024 grants had a median of $20,000, though amounts ranged from $5,050 to $4 million; its regional priorities center on Greater St. Louis, especially designated high-need ZIP codes. Grant processes vary by fund, so the profile does not establish whether the Foundation accepts unsolicited requests generally.

Assets

$494.4M

Grants

839

Total Given

$63.9M

Commerce Bancshares Foundation

Kansas City, MO

The foundation supports a broad range of charitable organizations and community projects, with 2024 grants typically small (median $1,500) but ranging from $200 to $60,500. Most funding went to Missouri, followed by Kansas and Illinois, with smaller amounts elsewhere; it says applicants should contact the program director and provide proof of 501(c)(3) status, and does not restrict giving to preselected organizations.

Assets

$35.0M

Grants

645

Total Given

$2.0M

Patterson Family Foundation

Kansas City, MO

The Patterson Family Foundation funds healthcare, education, and economic opportunity, including program, operating, equipment, and capital grants for organizations serving rural communities in Kansas and western Missouri, generally in counties under 50,000 residents. Its 2021 awards ranged from $144 to $2.5 million, with a median of $6,300; it says it does not accept unsolicited funding requests and contributes only to preselected charitable organizations.

Assets

$1.5B

Grants

607

Total Given

$22.3M

Midway USA Foundation Inc

Columbia, MO

MidwayUSA Foundation funds U.S. high school, college, and other youth shooting-sports teams and activities across all shooting disciplines; it does not support adult programs or non-U.S. teams. In 2024, grants ranged from $902 to $388,797, with a median of $10,601; team cash grants are generally 5% of an eligible program’s endowment balance, and coach-training grants are $1,000–$5,000. It accepts applications through its online system from eligible programs.

Assets

$359.7M

Grants

497

Total Given

$10.1M

Community Foundation of the Ozarks Inc

Springfield, MO

The Community Foundation of the Ozarks funds projects in areas including education, health, economic development, environmental sustainability, arts, and community well-being, primarily in the Springfield area and affiliate communities across the Ozarks and southern Missouri. In 2025, its 477 grants ranged from $5,065 to $1 million, with a median of $20,000. It accepts applications for eligible programs through its grant portal; criteria and deadlines vary by program.

Assets

$539.7M

Grants

477

Total Given

$21.4M

Veterans United Foundation

Columbia, MO

Veterans United Foundation supports Veterans, service members, military families, and communities where Veterans United Home Loans has offices, funding community organizations, scholarships, and individual needs. In 2025, its grants had a median of $10,000, with awards ranging from $96 to $1.2 million. Organizations may apply for donations; the profile does not specify whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$36.1M

Grants

386

Total Given

$12.5M

Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation

Kansas City, MO

The Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation funds college access and completion, workforce and career development, and entrepreneurship, with an emphasis on economic mobility and equitable opportunity in the Kansas City region. Its 2024 median grant was $75,000, though awards vary widely by program; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Education

Assets

$2.5B

Grants

364

Total Given

$95.0M

Washington University

Saint Louis, MO

Washington University’s reported grants primarily support research, with 2025 awards going to universities, medical centers, and other organizations across multiple states. Grants ranged from $5,100 to $6.23 million, with a median of $77,080; the university’s listed seed grants are for WashU researchers, and the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests from outside applicants.

Assets

$22.3B

Grants

359

Total Given

$120.7M

More Funders in Missouri

The Linda and Harvey Saligman Charitable down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?