The Lakota Fund Incorporated logo

The Lakota Fund Incorporated

Public charity · Grantmaker Kyle, SD EIN: 46-0421416 Website

The Lakota Fund Incorporated is a public charity based in Kyle, an individual recipient It provides access to capital and financial services for Native people, supporting economic development through lending, technical assistance, workforce development, and financial education.

The Lakota Fund Incorporated at a glance

In short: The Lakota Fund Incorporated gave $1.4M across 10 grants in 2025 (avg $144K), mostly in South Dakota. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.

Annual giving (2025)
$1,435,968
-11.6% vs 2024
Grants made (2025)
10
-28.6% vs 2024
Average grant
$143,597
+23.8% vs 2024
Median grant
$81,459
Total assets
$31,952,863
+19.4% vs 2024
Primary geography
South Dakota (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.

How to apply to The Lakota Fund Incorporated

Contact

Mailing address: PO Box 340, Kyle, SD 57752
Phone: (605) 455-2500
Website: https://lakotafunds.org

Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.

Who The Lakota Fund Incorporated funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 9 recipients in 2025

SD Native Homeownership Coalition: $780KSD Native HomeownershipCoalition$780KFour Band Community Fund Inc: $139KFour Band Community Fund Inc$139KYankon Sioux Housing Authority: $114KYankon Sioux Housing Authority$114KCrow Creek Housing Authority: $100KCrow Creek Housing Authority$100KSisseton-Wahpeton Housing Authority: $100KSisseton-Wahpeton HousingAuthority$100KTatanka Funds: $50KTatanka Funds$50KSicangu Wicoti Awanyakapi: $50KSicangu Wicoti Awanyakapi$50KSinete Gleska University: $24KSinete Gleska University$24KSD School of Mines & Tech: $16KSD School of Mines & Tech$16K

The largest 2025 recipient was SD Native Homeownership Coalition ($780K). Together the top 9 received $1.4M.

Organizations only. It also paid 1 individual scholarship ($62,917), which are not listed by name.

Grant Size Distribution

24 grants across all recorded years

6<$50K9$50–100K7$100–250K$250–500K2$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was in the $50–100K range: 9 grants of 24 (38%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

The organization’s website identifies its investment area as the Pine Ridge Reservation or locations within 50 miles of its exterior boundaries, as recognized by the Oglala Sioux Tribe. Its 2025 filing describes program activity on the Pine Ridge and Rosebud Reservations and in the surrounding area. All grant dollars reported for filing year 2025 went to an individual recipient recipients.

Grant Distribution by State

2states

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 10 itemized grants.

Cities

MissionEagle ButteFort ThompsonRapid CityRosebudSissetonAberdeenAgency VillageFort YatesKyleMitchellSioux FallsWagnerWatertown

How The Lakota Fund Incorporated gives

  • 80% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method

Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990 filings (2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$500K$1M$1.5M$2M0 grants2020 0 grants2021 0 grants2022 0 grants2023 14 grants2024 10 grants2025

From 2024 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $1.4M (2025) to $1.6M (2024). In 2025 it made 10 grants totaling $1.4M.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
SD Native Homeownership Coalition Kyle, SDOperations$780,125
Four Band Community Fund Inc Eagle Butte, SDInternships$139,000
Yankon Sioux Housing Authority Wagner, SDInternships$114,068
Crow Creek Housing Authority Fort Thompson, SDInternships$100,000
Sisseton-Wahpeton Housing Authority Sisseton, SDInternships$100,000
1 individual scholarship Recipients not named —$62,917
Tatanka Funds Mission, SDInternships$50,000
Sicangu Wicoti Awanyakapi Rosebud, SDInternships$50,000
Sinete Gleska University Mission, SDTuition Assistance$24,026
SD School of Mines & Tech Rapid City, SDTuition Assistance$15,832
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with The Lakota Fund Incorporated?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsNet Investment Income
2025$31,952,863$8,006,642$5,049,704$1,435,96810$124,739
2024$26,760,118$11,507,561$6,872,313$1,624,52014$334,917
2023$22,342,828$6,200,914$2,950,294——$83,642
2022$17,693,947$1,806,150$1,824,701——$9,134
2021$17,004,625$4,059,450$1,190,765——$9,865
2020$12,818,913$4,173,691$1,480,002——$8,265

Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.

Mission & Focus Areas

Lakota Funds states its mission is to promote economic sustainability and break the cycle of poverty by providing Native people with access to the capital and financial services healthy communities need to flourish. Its website also describes its vision as “Sovereignty Through Self-Reliance.”

The organization provides business loans, technical assistance, workforce development, and financial education. Its website says it offers business loans from $500 to $2 million and financing for construction and contracting, agriculture, and food sovereignty. Its 2025 filing also describes support through scholarships and tuition assistance, and funding for housing assistance, internships, and stipends.

Grantmaking

In filing year 2025, the organization reported 10 grants totaling $1,435,968. Grant amounts ranged from $15,832 to $780,125, with a median of $81,458. All reported grant dollars went to recipients in an individual recipient

The largest reported grants were $780,125 to SD Native Homeownership Coalition for operations; $139,000 to Four Band Community Fund Inc for internships; $114,068 to Yankton Sioux Housing Authority for internships; and $100,000 each to Crow Creek Housing Authority and Sisseton-Wahpeton Housing Authority for internships. Other reported grants included tuition assistance and internships.

The 2025 filing says the organization works with colleges on student scholarships and tuition assistance and with other nonprofits on housing assistance, internships, and stipends. It also says the organization follows up to ensure grant funds are used consistently with its mission.

Leadership & Key People

Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings

The 2025 filing lists Tawney Brunsch (Executive DI), Ellen White Thunder (Deputy Direc), Lavonne Randall (Finance Dire), Warren Cross (Vice Chair), Marla Thunder Bull (Secretary/TR), Carol Ferguson (Director), Angie Eagle Bull (Board Chairm), Donalee Fischer (Director), Kevin Yellowbird Steele (Director), and Russell Cournoyer (Director).

The Lakota Fund Incorporated is led by Angie Eagle Bull, Board Chairman since 2025 (on filings since 2020); all 10 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Angie Eagle Bull

    Board Chairman

    Vice Chair → Board Chairman, 2025

    On filings since 2020

    3 hrs/week

    $100 (2020) → $4K (2025)

  • Carol Ferguson

    Director

    Member → Director, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    3 hrs/week

    $400 (2020) → $4K (2025)

  • Kevin Yellowbird Steele

    Director

    Member → Director, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    3 hrs/week

    $400 (2020) → $3K (2025)

  • Donalee Fischer

    Director

    On filings since 2024

    3 hrs/week

    $3K (2024) → $4K (2025)

  • Lavonne Randall

    Finance Director

    On filings since 2024

    40 hrs/week

    $98K (2024) → $99K (2025)

  • Russell Cournoyer

    Director

    New on the 2025 filing

    3 hrs/week

    $800 (2025)

  • Tawney Brunsch

    Executive Di

    On filings since 2020

    45 hrs/week

    $99K (2020) → $132K (2025)

  • Warren Cross

    Vice Chair

    Secretary → Vice Chair, 2025

    On filings since 2020

    3 hrs/week

    $400 (2020) → $5K (2025)

  • Marla Thunder Bull

    Secretary

    Member → Director, 2024

    Director → Secretary, 2025

    On filings since 2023

    3 hrs/week

    $3K (2024) → $4K (2025)

  • Ellen White Thunder

    Deputy Director

    New on the 2025 filing

    40 hrs/week

    $104K (2025)

Former officers (4)
  • Former: Elsie Meeks (2020–2024) — Board Chairman
  • Former: Andrea Angie Eagle Bull (2023–2024) — Vice Chair
  • Former: Dona Leavens (2020–2023) — Member
  • Former: Red Dawn Foster (2020–2023) — Member

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Tawney Brunsch — Executive Di: $132KTawney BrunschExecutive Di$132KEllen White Thunder — Deputy Direc: $104KEllen White ThunderDeputy Direc$104KLavonne Randall — Finance Dire: $99KLavonne RandallFinance Dire$99KWarren Cross — Vice Chair: $5KWarren CrossVice Chair$5KMarla Thunder Bull — Secretary/Tr: $4KMarla Thunder BullSecretary/Tr$4KCarol Ferguson — Director: $4KCarol FergusonDirector$4KAngie Eagle Bull — Board Chairm: $4KAngie Eagle BullBoard Chairm$4KDonalee Fischer — Director: $4KDonalee FischerDirector$4KKevin Yellowbird Steele — Director: $3KKevin Yellowbird SteeleDirector$3KRussell Cournoyer — Director: $800Russell CournoyerDirector$800

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $132K, to Tawney Brunsch (Executive Di). 10 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Frequently asked questions about The Lakota Fund Incorporated

How much does The Lakota Fund Incorporated give each year?

The Lakota Fund Incorporated gave $1.4M across 10 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $1.6M across 14 grants.

What is The Lakota Fund Incorporated's typical grant size?

The Lakota Fund Incorporated's median grant in 2025 was $81,459, and its average grant was $143,597, across 10 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990.

Where does The Lakota Fund Incorporated give grants?

The Lakota Fund Incorporated gives mostly in South Dakota: 100% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990 went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Mission, SD (2 grants).

Does The Lakota Fund Incorporated give general operating support?

Not in 2025: none of the 10 grants with a stated purpose on The Lakota Fund Incorporated's 2025 IRS Form 990 were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Internships" (6 grants) and "Tuition Assistance" (3 grants).

Who are The Lakota Fund Incorporated's largest grantees?

The Lakota Fund Incorporated's largest 2025 grantees include SD Native Homeownership Coalition ($780,125), Four Band Community Fund Inc ($139,000) and Yankon Sioux Housing Authority ($114,068), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. It also paid 1 individual scholarship ($62,917), which are not listed by name. Together they received 72% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.

How large is The Lakota Fund Incorporated?

The Lakota Fund Incorporated reported $32.0M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $8.0M.

What does The Lakota Fund Incorporated fund?

Lakota Funds states its mission is to promote economic sustainability and break the cycle of poverty by providing Native people with access to the capital and financial services healthy communities need to flourish. Its website also describes its vision as “Sovereignty Through Self-Reliance.” See mission & focus areas ↑

How do I apply for a grant from The Lakota Fund Incorporated?

The Lakota Fund Incorporated has no public application process in the sources Grantable reviewed. Check lakotafunds.org for current guidelines, or contact the foundation directly before submitting a request.

What is The Lakota Fund Incorporated's EIN?

The Lakota Fund Incorporated's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 46-0421416. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.

Data update history

(2)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS July 25, 2025)
  2. Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS June 2, 2026)

Live grants for the work The Lakota Fund Incorporated funds

Community Improvement & Capacity Building Open opportunities, soonest deadline first.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in The Lakota Fund Incorporated's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Similar funders in South Dakota

South Dakota Community Foundation

Pierre, SD

The South Dakota Community Foundation funds nonprofits and charitable projects in areas including education, health, human services, culture, and economic development, primarily benefiting South Dakota communities. Its 2024 grants had a median of $18,562, while 2026 Beyond Idea Grants range from $5,000 to $100,000 per year. Eligible nonprofits can apply for South Dakota Fund and Beyond Idea Grants through its online portal.

Assets

$939.2M

Grants

390

Total Given

$39.7M

Sioux Falls Area Community Foundation Inc

Sioux Falls, SD

The Sioux Falls Area Community Foundation funds local charitable, educational, cultural, religious, community-development, and environmental needs, including new programs and nonprofit capacity building, primarily in the Sioux Falls area and surrounding communities. Its 2025 grants had a median of $25,000, though awards varied widely; organizations may submit a Letter of Inquiry for Community Fund Grants.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$390.9M

Grants

308

Total Given

$38.0M

Sanford Group Return

Sioux Falls, SD

Sanford Group Return funds health care access and outcomes, community wellbeing, workforce and education, and related community needs, including health professions education and research. In 2024, its median grant was $24,900, with awards ranging from $5,500 to $3.6 million; giving was concentrated in South Dakota, North Dakota, and Minnesota. Its Community Dividend Fund accepts online funding requests in South Dakota, Iowa, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, and Wyoming; whether unsolicited requests are accepted is not stated.

Assets

$4.3B

Grants

171

Total Given

$45.3M

Avera Health

Sioux Falls, SD

Avera Health supports eligible nonprofits working in health and wellness, unmet community health needs, healthy lifestyles, environmental and social initiatives, and civic or community development. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,100 to $850,000, with a median of $17,737; funding is focused on central and eastern South Dakota and nearby parts of Minnesota, Iowa, North Dakota, and Nebraska. It accepts requests through its Community Partnership/Donation Request process and asks applicants to use its form.

Assets

$2.6B

Grants

109

Total Given

$6.2M

Black Hills Area Community Foundation

Rapid City, SD

The foundation funds community needs across areas including youth and families, social services, education, basic needs, arts, animal welfare, and nonprofit capacity building in seven Black Hills counties of South Dakota. Its 2025 grants had a median award of $15,000; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$95.1M

Grants

120

Total Given

$5.7M

Ch Robinson Worldwide Foundation

Sioux Falls, SD

The foundation funds community needs, supply-chain and logistics initiatives, and environmental sustainability, with a Twin Cities program focused on hunger, shelter, K–12 education, and workforce development. Its 2024 grants ranged from $750 to $2.69 million, with a median of $5,000; its Twin Cities program focuses on Minneapolis–St. Paul, while grants also went to organizations elsewhere. The Strategic Industry program is invitation-only, while the Twin Cities program has an application process.

Education

Assets

$18.2M

Grants

87

Total Given

$4.0M

More similar funders

More Funders in South Dakota

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from The Lakota Fund Incorporated's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

The Lakota Fund Incorporated down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?