The Janice Gardner Foundation
The Janice Gardner Foundation is a private foundation based in Minneapolis, Minnesota. Its 2024 IRS filing is marked as the organization’s final return, indicating that it has terminated or is winding down and may no longer be making grants.
Key facts about The Janice Gardner Foundation
In short: The Janice Gardner Foundation gave $1.1M across 23 grants in 2024 (avg $50K), mostly in Minnesota. 35% of 2024 grantees were new. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.
- EIN
- 41-1603464
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2024
- Annual giving (2024)
- $1,144,430
- Grants made (2024)
- 23
- Average grant
- $49,758
- Median grant
- $50,000
- New grantees (estimate)
- 35% first-time grantees (8 of 23, 2024)
- Primary geography
- Minnesota (90% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
- Accepts unsolicited proposals
- Yes
- How to apply
- The 2024 filing says the foundation accepts unsolicited requests: any qualified 501(c)(3) organization may apply. Full details ↓
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2024; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Financial Overview
From 2024 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing
Total Assets
—
Annual Giving
$1.1M
+229.3% YoY
Grant Count
23
-8.0% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$50K
+258.0% YoY
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, The Janice Gardner Foundation reported a distributable amount of $30K for 2024 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Is The Janice Gardner Foundation open to new grantees?
35%
first-time grantees, 2024
In 2024, 8 of 23 grantees (35%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $30K; repeat grants $61K. How we count
Medians: $30K first-time, $50K repeat.
- 65% of 2024 grantees were also funded in 2023. Method
- Giving grew 722% from 2021 to 2024. Method
- In 2024 it paid out well above its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2020–2024). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Mission & Focus Areas
No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its 2024 grants show support for a range of organizations. For example, Jack’s Caregiver Coalition describes its mission as improving how men think, feel, and act through their caregiving journeys. Canvas Health says it aims to be a recognized leader in community mental health, while Washburn Center for Children describes providing therapeutic services to support children’s social, emotional, or behavioral development.
Other 2024 grantees describe work that includes empowering people impacted by disabilities (Wingspan Life Resources), working to end hunger in Minnesota (Hunger Solutions Minnesota), serving neighbors through meals, housing, and supportive services (Union Gospel Mission Duluth), fostering hope and post-traumatic growth for veterans (Every Third Saturday), and helping people live independently through meals and human connection (Metro Meals on Wheels).
Grantmaking
In 2024, the foundation awarded 23 grants totaling $1,144,430. Grant amounts ranged from $2,430 to $250,000, with a median of $50,000. Notable awards included $250,000 to Hope Interfaith Center for general operations, $75,000 to Jack’s Caregiver Coalition for general operating support, and $54,000 to Beacon Interfaith for general operations. Other $50,000 awards included grants to Alex’s Lemonade Stand, Barren Heights, CANDO Canines, Loaves & Fishes, Waycross Evangelical Church, Wingspan Life Resources, Youth Farm, Washburn Center for Children, and Canvas Health.
Review Cycle
.
Ready to take the next step with The Janice Gardner Foundation?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
In 2024, 90% of grant dollars went to recipients in Minnesota, 6% to recipients in Kentucky, and 4% to recipients in Pennsylvania.
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 23 itemized grants.
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $138K (2020) to $1.1M (2024). In 2024 it made 23 grants totaling $1.1M.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2024
The largest 2024 recipient was Hope Interfaith Center ($250K). Together the top 10 received $729K.
Grant Size Distribution
105 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 92 grants of 105 (88%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Hope Interfaith Center Mankato, MN | General Operations | $250,000 |
| Jack's Caregiver Coalition Minneapolis, MN | General Operating | $75,000 |
| Beacon Interfaith Saint Paul, MN | General Operations | $54,000 |
| Alex's Lemonade Stand Wynnewood, PA | General Operations | $50,000 |
| Barren Heights Louisville, KY | General Operating | $50,000 |
| Cando Canines New Hope, MN | General Operating | $50,000 |
| Loaves & Fishes Minneapolis, MN | General Operations | $50,000 |
| Waycross Evangelical Church Minneapolis, MN | General Operations | $50,000 |
| Wingspan Life Resources St. Paul, MN | General Operations | $50,000 |
| Youth Farm Minneapolis, MN | General Operations | $50,000 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Grant total | Number of grants |
|---|---|---|
| 2024 | $1,144,430 | 23 |
| 2023 | $347,500 | 25 |
| 2022 | $140,200 | 20 |
| Metric | 2024 | 2023 | 2022 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | — | $886,455 | $1,192,282 |
| Revenue | $281,426 | $65,560 | $-150,958 |
| Expenses | $1,167,881 | $371,387 | $166,438 |
| Qualifying Distributions | $1,153,965 | $354,277 | $146,638 |
| Net Investment Income | $267,510 | $48,475 | $12,472 |
| Distributable Amount | $30,425 | $64,364 | $74,540 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS May 14, 2021)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS May 6, 2022)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS May 10, 2023)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS May 9, 2024)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS May 14, 2025)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2024 filing lists Elizabeth Glaeser as director, Penelope Tower as director and secretary, and Barbara Illies as director, president, and treasurer.
The Janice Gardner Foundation is led by Barbara Illies, Director, President & Treasurer since 2022 (on filings since 2020); 1 of 3 officers listed in 2024 is compensated.
Officers on the 2024 filing
Barbara Illies
Director, President & Treasurer
Director, Secretary & Treasurer → Director, President & Treasurer, 2022
On filings since 2020
5 hrs/week
$7K (2020) → $8K (2024)
Penelope Tower
Director & Secretary
Director → Director & Secretary, 2022
On filings since 2020
No compensation reported
Elizabeth Glaeser
Director
On filings since 2022
No compensation reported
Former officers (1)
- Former: George W. Gardner (2020–2021) — Director & President
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2024 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2024 filing was $8K, to Barbara Illies (Director / President/Treasurer).
Contact
Application contact: Barbara Illies
Mailing address: 7995 Afton Road Apt 109, Woodbury, MN 55125
Phone: (612) 865-8158
Email: jbfl@aol.com
Frequently asked questions about The Janice Gardner Foundation
How much does The Janice Gardner Foundation give each year?
The Janice Gardner Foundation gave $1.1M across 23 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2023 it gave $348K across 25 grants.
What is The Janice Gardner Foundation's typical grant size?
The Janice Gardner Foundation's median grant in 2024 was $50,000, and its average grant was $49,758, across 23 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from The Janice Gardner Foundation that year got $30K on average.
Where does The Janice Gardner Foundation give grants?
The Janice Gardner Foundation gives mostly in Minnesota: 90% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest state was Kentucky (6%). The most frequent recipient cities were Minneapolis, MN (9 grants), Saint Paul, MN (5 grants) and Oakdale, MN (2 grants).
Does The Janice Gardner Foundation give general operating support?
Yes: 100% of The Janice Gardner Foundation's 2024 grants with a stated purpose (23 of 23) were for general or operating support, per its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.
Who are The Janice Gardner Foundation's largest grantees?
The Janice Gardner Foundation's largest 2024 grantees include Hope Interfaith Center ($250,000), Jack's Caregiver Coalition ($75,000) and Beacon Interfaith ($54,000), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 33% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.
What does The Janice Gardner Foundation fund?
No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its 2024 grants show support for a range of organizations. For example, Jack’s Caregiver Coalition describes its mission as improving how men think, feel, and act through their caregiving journeys. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from The Janice Gardner Foundation?
The 2024 filing says the foundation accepts unsolicited requests: any qualified 501(c)(3) organization may apply. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑
How much is The Janice Gardner Foundation required to give away each year?
Private foundations must generally distribute about 5% of their assets annually. For 2024, The Janice Gardner Foundation reported a distributable amount of $30K on its IRS Form 990-PF — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
What is The Janice Gardner Foundation's EIN?
The Janice Gardner Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 41-1603464. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.
Does The Janice Gardner Foundation accept unsolicited proposals?
Yes, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Here's the math on researching The Janice Gardner Foundation by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in The Janice Gardner Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Minnesota
The Minneapolis Foundation
Minneapolis, MN
The Minneapolis Foundation supports civic, social, and economic needs, including economic mobility, education equity, community safety, health, and the environment. In 2025, its grants had a median of $25,000, though awards varied widely; 77% of grant dollars went to Minnesota recipients. It does not state a general policy on unsolicited requests; current opportunities are closed, and some programs are invitation-based.
Assets
$1.2B
Grants
1,565
Total Given
$121.7M
The Richard M Schulze Family Foundation
Minneapolis, MN
The Richard M. Schulze Family Foundation funds education, health care, and human services, including college scholarships, with most support benefiting working- and middle-class families in specified Minnesota and Florida counties; it also makes some national grants. Its 2024 grants had a median of $5,000, though awards ranged from $50 to $10 million. It plans to move to invitation-only grantmaking in 2027; whether it currently accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.
Assets
$218.3M
Grants
1,431
Total Given
$47.9M
Saint Paul & Minnesota Foundation
St. Paul, MN
The Saint Paul & Minnesota Foundation funds community-led work in areas including economic development, health and human services, youth and education, arts and culture, democracy, and nonprofit capacity, serving the East Metro and communities statewide. Its 2025 grants had a median of $26,000, while the Management Improvement Fund offers up to $15,000. It accepts unsolicited requests through open application programs, though some opportunities are invite-only.
Assets
$1.7B
Grants
1,473
Total Given
$107.2M
Otto Bremer Trust
St. Paul, MN
The Otto Bremer Trust funds organizations and projects addressing community needs and opportunities, including health care and social services, in Minnesota, Montana, North Dakota, and Wisconsin. In 2025, grants ranged from $3,500 to $4.2 million, with a median of $150,000. It does not accept unsolicited requests or direct grant applications; Community Responsive Fund grants are offered through selected intermediaries.
Assets
$1.4B
Grants
180
Total Given
$57.2M
Pohlad Family Foundation
Minneapolis, MN
Assets
$76.4M
Grants
372
Total Given
$14.1M
Wells Fargo Foundation
Minneapolis, MN
The Wells Fargo Foundation funds nonprofits working on financial opportunity, affordable housing, and small-business growth, with giving at national and local levels. Its 2025 grants ranged from $3,000 to $8 million, with a median of $35,000. It does not accept unsolicited requests; eligible organizations are invited to apply.
Assets
$8.6M
Grants
1,376
Total Given
$157.4M
C K Blandin Foundation
Grand Rapids, MN
The C K Blandin Foundation funds community wealth-building, rural placemaking and small-community efforts, including work on housing, civic engagement, community spaces and food systems. It primarily supports rural Minnesota, especially Itasca County and nearby communities, and its 2024 median grant was $2,900, though awards ranged from $50 to $335,000.
Assets
$506.3M
Grants
931
Total Given
$15.8M
The McKnight Foundation
Minneapolis, MN
The McKnight Foundation funds nonprofit organizations, research, and community initiatives in arts and culture, food systems, climate and energy, neuroscience, and equitable communities, primarily in Minnesota and the Midwest, with some work in Africa and South America and beyond. Its 2024 grants ranged from $1,150 to $10 million, with a median of $100,000; prospective applicants are asked to contact program staff first, who provide proposal instructions if they determine funding may be considered.
Assets
$2.7B
Grants
790
Total Given
$145.9M
Neighborhood Development Center Inc
Saint Paul, MN
Neighborhood Development Center supports entrepreneurs and neighborhood revitalization through business financing, training, services, and affordable commercial space, primarily in Saint Paul and Minneapolis, with grants going to Minnesota recipients. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,100 to $207,211, with a median of $13,500. It does not state a general policy on unsolicited requests; a specific small-business grant RFP described was a past cycle.
Assets
$55.3M
Grants
571
Total Given
$10.2M
Marshall H and Nellie Alworth Memorial Fund
Duluth, MN
The Marshall H and Nellie Alworth Memorial Fund awards scholarships to eligible students pursuing mathematics, science, engineering, or medical fields, primarily serving students from northern Minnesota. Recent awards were typically $2,500, with grants ranging from $2,500 to $3,000. It accepts applications through its scholarship programs; high-school applications are due January 15, and the college-transfer pathway also has an application process.
Assets
$18.4M
Grants
566
Total Given
$1.5M
Catholic Community Foundation of Minnesota
St. Paul, MN
The Catholic Community Foundation of Minnesota funds spiritual, educational, and social needs through grants for education, capital improvements, assistance programs, and other charitable purposes. Its 2025 grants had a median of $16,124, and at least half of grants over any three-year period are intended for Minnesota organizations; 86% of 2025 grant dollars went to Minnesota. Its Social Impact and Educational Impact programs are invitation-only, while other CCF-directed programs may offer open, competitive applications.
Assets
$751.7M
Grants
504
Total Given
$43.9M
Communitygiving
St Cloud, MN
CommunityGiving supports nonprofits, schools, government entities, students, and community initiatives through partner foundations, donor-directed funds, competitive grants, and scholarships. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,100 to $680,477, with a median of $15,528; most funding went to Minnesota, though its network also includes Derby, Kansas. Competitive grant applications are accepted through online systems for specific opportunities; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests generally.
Assets
$282.6M
Grants
426
Total Given
$16.7M
More Funders in Minnesota
The Janice Gardner Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?