The Clifton Foundation
The Clifton Foundation is a private foundation, based in Lincoln, NE. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $4.5M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 2 grants totaling $6.9M. Net investment income was $1.7M.
The Clifton Foundation at a glance
In short: The Clifton Foundation gave $6.9M across 2 grants in 2025 (avg $3.4M), mostly in Nebraska. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- Annual giving (2025)
- $6,876,737
- +1096.0% vs 2024
- Grants made (2025)
- 2
- +0.0% vs 2024
- Average grant
- $3,438,369
- +1096.0% vs 2024
- Median grant
- $3,438,369
- Total assets
- $4,517,620
- -54.5% vs 2024
- Primary geography
- Nebraska (97% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.
Who The Clifton Foundation funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 2 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was University of Nebraska Foundation ($6.6M). Together the top 2 received $6.9M.
Grant Size Distribution
7 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was in the $250–500K range: 3 grants of 7 (43%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 2 itemized grants.
Cities
How The Clifton Foundation gives
- Giving grew 1734% from 2022 to 2025. Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $10K (2020) to $6.9M (2025). In 2025 it made 2 grants totaling $6.9M.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| University of Nebraska Foundation Lincoln, NE | Generally to support the don clifton strengths institute and college builders program through a long-term partnership with university of Nebraska-lincoln college of business administration. | $6,642,400 |
| George Mason University Fairfax, VA | Grant to Implement a Student Strengths Coach Program. | $234,337 |
Ready to take the next step with The Clifton Foundation?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Qualifying Distributions | Net Investment Income |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $4,517,620 | $1,536,765 | $6,957,858 | $6,876,737 | 2 | $6,955,089 | $1,734,028 |
| 2024 | $9,938,435 | $320,917 | $654,133 | $575,000 | 2 | $648,614 | $217,488 |
| 2023 | $10,270,617 | $229,544 | $505,007 | $375,000 | 1 | $497,341 | $214,990 |
| 2022 | $10,552,973 | $10,240,228 | $525,084 | $375,000 | 1 | $521,852 | — |
| 2021 | $834,669 | $-35,977 | $857,730 | $750,000 | 1 | $857,105 | $499,111 |
| 2020 | $1,727,012 | $83,171 | $132,951 | $10,000 | 1 | — | — |
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
The Clifton Foundation is led by Connie A Rath, President on every filing since 2020; none of the 3 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Connie A Rath
President
On filings since 2020
$78K (2020) → $0 (2025)
Mary C Reckmeyer
Chairman & Treasurer
On filings since 2020
No compensation reported
Jane E Miller
Secretary
On filings since 2020
No compensation reported
Former officers (1)
- Former: James Clifton (2020–2022) — Director
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2023 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2023 filing was $49K, to Connie A Rath (President).
Frequently asked questions about The Clifton Foundation
How much does The Clifton Foundation give each year?
The Clifton Foundation gave $6.9M across 2 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $575K across 2 grants.
How large is The Clifton Foundation?
The Clifton Foundation reported $4.5M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Its revenue that year was $1.5M.
Where does The Clifton Foundation operate?
The Clifton Foundation has awarded grants in Nebraska, Virginia.
What is The Clifton Foundation's EIN?
The Clifton Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 40-0002257. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.
Data update history
(7)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS November 11, 2021)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS November 14, 2022)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS November 16, 2023)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS May 8, 2024)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS May 12, 2025)
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 8, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Live grants for the work The Clifton Foundation funds
Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking Open opportunities, soonest deadline first.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in The Clifton Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Nebraska
Deloitte Foundation
Stamford, CT
The Deloitte Foundation funds U.S. education initiatives, including scholarships, curriculum and faculty support, mentoring, and grants to education nonprofits and universities, particularly through local programs in about 30 selected locations. Its 2025 grants had a median of $50,000, and it does not accept unsolicited requests for its Local Impact Grant Program.
Assets
$51.4M
Grants
121
Total Given
$32.5M
Charles Koch Foundation
Arlington, VA
The Charles Koch Foundation funds research, education, and social entrepreneurs working on issues including criminal justice, economic progress, higher education, health care, immigration, and free speech. Its 2024 grants had a median of $250,000, with awards ranging from $1,540 to $23.7 million; it is based in Virginia, where recipients received 53% of grant dollars, but also funds organizations in other states. It accepts unsolicited proposals online on a rolling basis, with no stated deadlines.
Assets
$758.9M
Grants
93
Total Given
$64.1M
The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
Princeton, NJ
The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation funds efforts to improve health and health equity in the United States, including systems change addressing structural barriers to health. In 2024, its grants ranged from $125 to $12.15 million, with a median of $40,000. It typically funds through targeted programs and partnerships; whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.
Assets
$13.4B
Grants
3,093
Total Given
$622.6M
The Stanton Foundation
Boston, MA
The Stanton Foundation has supported canine health and welfare, nuclear security, and informed-citizen and First Amendment initiatives, with grants concentrated in Massachusetts. Its 2025 grants ranged from $2,000 to $19.8 million, with a median of $80,000, but it closed in 2025 and is no longer accepting proposals; it made grants only to preselected organizations and did not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
—
Grants
76
Total Given
$28.3M
Tulsa Community Foundation
Tulsa, OK
Tulsa Community Foundation supports charitable causes through donor-advised grants and selected funds, including scholarships, emergency assistance, disaster relief, arts and humanities, healthcare, and financial literacy, primarily in the Tulsa metro area and eastern Oklahoma, with some giving elsewhere in the United States. Its 2024 median grant was $18,560; selected field-of-interest funds have application cycles, but the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests generally.
Assets
$1.1B
Grants
1,066
Total Given
$158.6M
Enterprise Holdings Foundation
Saint Louis, MO
The Enterprise Holdings Foundation supports charitable and educational nonprofits in communities where Enterprise Mobility operates, focusing on health, education, arts, and disaster relief; applicants must be actively supported by an Enterprise Mobility team member, spouse, or domestic partner. Giving varies widely: it reported 9,499 grants in 2024, but its 2025 filing showed one grant of $101.4 million, so that amount is not a typical award. Applications are accepted at any time through eligible Enterprise-affiliated applicants; the Foundation does not limit giving to preselected organizations.
Assets
$594.3M
Grants
1
Total Given
$101.4M
More similar funders
More Funders in Nebraska
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from The Clifton Foundation's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
The Clifton Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?