The Carroll Community College Foundation Inc logo

The Carroll Community College Foundation Inc

Public charity · Grantmaker Westminster, MD EIN: 52-1886179 Website

The foundation is a non-profit corporation dedicated to the development of financial resources for the college to support the educational needs of all students, businesses and the entire community.

The Carroll Community College Foundation Inc at a glance

In short: The Carroll Community College Foundation Inc gave $825K across 1 grant in 2025 (avg $825K), mostly in Maryland. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.

Annual giving (2025)
$824,696
+70.0% vs 2024
Grants made (2025)
1
+0.0% vs 2024
Average grant
$824,696
+70.0% vs 2024
Median grant
$824,696
Total assets
$36,200,705
+25.5% vs 2024
Primary geography
Maryland (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.

Who The Carroll Community College Foundation Inc funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top recipient in 2025

Carroll County Community College: $825KCarroll County CommunityCollege$825K

The largest 2025 recipient was Carroll County Community College ($825K).

Grant Size Distribution

5 grants across all recorded years

<$50K$50–100K$100–250K2$250–500K3$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was in the $500K–1M range: 3 grants of 5 (60%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

1state

Share of the 2025 grant dollars on its one itemized grant.

States

Cities

Westminster

How The Carroll Community College Foundation Inc gives

  • Giving grew 89% from 2022 to 2025. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$250K$500K$750K$1M1 grant2019 1 grant2020 1 grant2021 1 grant2022 1 grant2023 1 grant2024 1 grant2025

From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $435K (2022) to $825K (2025). In 2025 it made 1 grant totaling $825K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Carroll County Community College Westminster, MDTo Provide College Support$824,696
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with The Carroll Community College Foundation Inc?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsNet Investment Income
2025$36,200,705$6,894,911$1,547,684$824,6961$1,136,177
2024$28,835,665$4,307,623$1,035,800$485,1031$979,728
2023$23,569,667$5,048,242$1,190,838$741,4131$1,009,036
2022$18,538,969$1,904,988$894,455$435,4321$947,007
2021$20,605,745$3,009,946$1,079,176$605,4351$1,561,638
2020$16,835,138$1,352,526$821,963$449,9731$340,696
2019$16,110,057$1,171,580$1,214,976$523,1721$496,717

About The Carroll Community College Foundation Inc

Based on IRS filings

The Carroll Community College Foundation Inc is a public charity focused on Education, based in Westminster, MD. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $36.2M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 1 grant totaling $825K. Net investment income was $1.1M.

Focus Areas

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

The Carroll Community College Foundation Inc is led by Steven Wantz, Executive Director on every filing since 2019; none of the 20 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Steven Wantz

    Executive Director

    On filings since 2019

    37.5 hrs/week

    $114K (2019) → $0 (2025)

  • Benjamin Scheper

    President

    Secretary → Vice President, 2022

    Vice President → President, 2025

    On filings since 2019

    5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Bernard Jones Sr.

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Joseph Dimaggio

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Margaret Welliver

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Virginia R. Harrison

    Director

    Director → Secretary, 2022

    Secretary → Director, 2025

    On filings since 2019

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Emily Bollinger Miller

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Dante Liberatore

    Director

    On filings since 2022

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Gary Harris

    Director

    On filings since 2022

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Alison Martin

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Brian Wolfe

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Denis Lewis

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Coleen Beal

    Director

    New on the 2025 filing

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • James Schwartz

    Director

    New on the 2025 filing

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Walter Smith

    Director

    New on the 2025 filing

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Lorene Shiffler

    Immediate Past President

    Vice President → President, 2022

    President → Immediate Past President, 2025

    On filings since 2019

    5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Tony Chiavacci

    Treasurer

    Director → Treasurer, 2025

    On filings since 2019

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Steven A. Aquino

    Vice President

    Director → Vice President, 2025

    On filings since 2020

    5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Keith Bryan

    At-Large Board Member

    Director → At-Large Board Member, 2025

    On filings since 2021

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Lori Sullivan

    Secretary

    Director → Secretary, 2025

    On filings since 2023

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (23)
  • Former: Kelly W. Hill (2019–2023) — Director
  • Former: Joseph Weikel (2021–2023) — Director
  • Former: Annette M. Danek-Akey (2019–2022) — Immediate Past President
  • Former: Mark C. Krebs (2019–2022) — Treasurer
  • Former: Robin S. Kable (2019–2022) — Director
  • Former: Russell J. Grimes (2019–2022) — Director
  • Former: Mark Carroll (2020–2022) — Director
  • Former: Patty Carroll (2020–2022) — Director
  • Former: Laura McCoy (2021–2022) — Director
  • Former: Amy Giannakoulias (2019–2021) — Director
  • Former: Arnold L. Amass (2019–2020) — Secretary
  • Former: Megan Eaves (2019–2020) — Director
  • Former: R. Lorraine Fulton (2019–2020) — Director
  • Former: Theresa Bethune (2019–2020) — Director
  • Former: Brian Holsonbake (2019) — Vice President
  • Former: Gerald Zoller (2019) — Director
  • Former: Gerard Zeller (2019) — Director
  • Former: Janice Kirkner (2019) — Director
  • Former: John Yingling (2019) — Director
  • Former: Kiran Kuna (2019) — Director
  • Former: Lori Blake (2019) — Director
  • Former: Seth Shipley (2019) — Director
  • Former: Thomas Houck (2019) — Director

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2022 IRS filing

Steven Wantz — Executive Director: $125KSteven WantzExecutive Director$125K

The highest reported compensation on the 2022 filing was $125K, to Steven Wantz (Executive Director).

Frequently asked questions about The Carroll Community College Foundation Inc

How much does The Carroll Community College Foundation Inc give each year?

The Carroll Community College Foundation Inc gave $825K across 1 grant in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $485K across 1 grant.

How large is The Carroll Community College Foundation Inc?

The Carroll Community College Foundation Inc reported $36.2M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $6.9M.

What is The Carroll Community College Foundation Inc?

The Carroll Community College Foundation Inc is a public charity focused on Education, based in Westminster, MD. It holds $36.2M in total assets as of 2025.

Where does The Carroll Community College Foundation Inc operate?

The Carroll Community College Foundation Inc has awarded grants in Maryland.

What is The Carroll Community College Foundation Inc's EIN?

The Carroll Community College Foundation Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 52-1886179. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Data update history

(8)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS May 17, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS May 16, 2022)
  3. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS April 25, 2023)
  4. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS May 15, 2024)
  5. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS May 15, 2025)
  6. Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS July 15, 2020)
  7. Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 15, 2026)
  8. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in The Carroll Community College Foundation Inc's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Similar funders in Maryland

Annie E Casey Foundation Inc

Baltimore, MD

The Annie E. Casey Foundation funds U.S. nonprofits and other partners working to improve outcomes for children and young people, including family strengthening, child welfare, education, employment, community development and juvenile justice. In 2024, grants ranged from $50 to $1,185,000, with a median of $40,000. Grants are by invitation only; it does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$2.3B

Grants

1,462

Total Given

$93.1M

The Harry and Jeanette Weinberg

Owings Mills, MD

The Harry and Jeanette Weinberg Foundation funds direct services, programs, general operations, and capital projects in housing, health, jobs, education, and aging for low-income and vulnerable people. Its 2024 grants had a median of $50,000; its Small Grants Program offers up to $50,000 over two years, with funding focused on Baltimore, Hawaiʻi, Israel, and Northeastern Pennsylvania. It awards grants by invitation only and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$1.8B

Grants

872

Total Given

$127.8M

Johns Hopkins University

Baltimore, MD

Johns Hopkins University funds a broad range of education, research, health, and community-related work, with 2025 grants ranging from $5,500 to nearly $95 million and a median of $100,000; many of the largest awards were sub-awards. Its grants went to organizations across the U.S., with the largest shares in California and Maryland, and the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$25.3B

Grants

813

Total Given

$594.1M

The Keith Campbell Foundation

Bethesda, MD

The Keith Campbell Foundation funds nonprofits working for equitable, livable communities, especially on watershed health, clean water, agriculture, and related community needs, with a focus on the Chesapeake and Atlantic Coastal Bays and California’s San Francisco Bay watershed. Giving varies widely: 2024 grants ranged from $40 to $1.5 million, with a median of $5,000. It accepts unsolicited requests, with two application cycles per year.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$420.2M

Grants

688

Total Given

$27.9M

Cystic Fibrosis Foundation

Bethesda, MD

The Cystic Fibrosis Foundation funds cystic fibrosis research, drug development, specialized care, and related training and clinical programs. In 2024, its grants had a median of about $150,000, with awards ranging from $2,800 to nearly $12.9 million; it supports work nationwide. Applications are submitted through specific funding opportunities, but the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Diseases, Disorders & Medical Disciplines

Assets

$5.0B

Grants

624

Total Given

$189.6M

Baltimore Community Foundation Inc

Baltimore, MD

Baltimore Community Foundation supports schools, neighborhoods, and community projects, including work on kindergarten readiness, student well-being, neighborhood vitality, and arts and culture. Its 2024 grants had a median of about $19,800, with amounts varying widely, and its strategic school and neighborhood grants focus on Baltimore City and Baltimore County. It invites applications through its online portal for specified grant programs.

Assets

$314.3M

Grants

604

Total Given

$29.3M

More similar funders

More Funders in Maryland

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from The Carroll Community College Foundation Inc's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

The Carroll Community College Foundation Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?