The Barrington & Cassandra
The Barrington & Cassandra is a private foundation, based in Sewickley, PA. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $13K in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 4 grants totaling $32K.
The Barrington & Cassandra at a glance
In short: The Barrington & Cassandra gave $32K across 4 grants in 2025 (avg $8K), mostly in Indiana. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- Annual giving (2025)
- $32,000
- -3.0% vs 2024
- Grants made (2025)
- 4
- +0.0% vs 2024
- Average grant
- $8,000
- -3.0% vs 2024
- Median grant
- $5,500
- Total assets
- $12,587
- -4.5% vs 2024
- Primary geography
- Indiana (63% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.
Who The Barrington & Cassandra funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 4 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Eastern Star Church ($20K). Together the top 4 received $32K.
Grant Size Distribution
20 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 20 grants of 20 (100%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 4 itemized grants.
Cities
How The Barrington & Cassandra gives
- Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (−9%). Method
- In 2025 it paid out well above its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $31K (2020) to $42K (2019). In 2025 it made 4 grants totaling $32K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Eastern Star Church Indianpolis, IN | Religious Development | $20,000 |
| American Institute of Architects Washington, DC | HBCU Internship Support | $6,000 |
| Campus Crusade for Christ (CRU) Orlando, FL | Collegiate Religious Support | $5,000 |
| In Touch Ministries Dorsville, GA | Support Religious Ministry | $1,000 |
Ready to take the next step with The Barrington & Cassandra?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Qualifying Distributions | Net Investment Income | Distributable Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $12,587 | $39,706 | $40,296 | $32,000 | 4 | $35,449 | — | $600 |
| 2024 | $13,178 | $30,761 | $33,164 | $33,000 | 4 | $33,000 | $603 | $216 |
| 2023 | $15,581 | $-786 | $33,366 | $33,000 | 4 | $33,000 | $403 | $978 |
| 2022 | $49,735 | $14,507 | $35,647 | $34,990 | 5 | $34,990 | — | $2,182 |
| 2021 | $70,975 | $9,021 | $38,426 | $37,500 | 3 | $37,500 | $8,145 | $4,625 |
| 2020 | $100,282 | $3,903 | $31,568 | $30,500 | 4 | — | $2,882 | $5,409 |
| 2019 | $127,953 | $5,875 | $43,265 | $42,250 | 3 | — | $4,687 | $6,703 |
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, The Barrington & Cassandra reported a distributable amount of $600 for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
The Barrington & Cassandra is led by Barrington C. Owens, Chairman on every filing since 2019; none of the 3 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Barrington C. Owens
Chairman
On filings since 2019
No compensation reported
Cassandra B. Owens
V. Chair & T
On filings since 2019
No compensation reported
Edward B. Aufman
Secretary
On filings since 2019
No compensation reported
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Frequently asked questions about The Barrington & Cassandra
How much does The Barrington & Cassandra give each year?
The Barrington & Cassandra gave $32K across 4 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $33K across 4 grants.
What is The Barrington & Cassandra's typical grant size?
The Barrington & Cassandra's median grant in 2025 was $5,500, and its average grant was $8,000, across 4 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Where does The Barrington & Cassandra give grants?
The Barrington & Cassandra gives mostly in Indiana: 63% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest states were District of Columbia (19%) and Florida (16%).
Does The Barrington & Cassandra give general operating support?
Not in 2025: none of the 4 grants with a stated purpose on The Barrington & Cassandra's 2025 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support.
How large is The Barrington & Cassandra?
The Barrington & Cassandra reported $13K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $35K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $600 (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What is The Barrington & Cassandra's EIN?
The Barrington & Cassandra's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 82-3693586. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.
Data update history
(3)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS July 15, 2020)
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS June 17, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in The Barrington & Cassandra's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
The Community Foundation of Middle Tennessee Inc
Nashville, TN
The Community Foundation of Middle Tennessee supports nonprofits across a range of needs, including housing, disaster relief, education, health, public safety, and the arts. Its 2024 grants had a median award of $8,500, with amounts ranging widely; it primarily serves Middle Tennessee, with 76% of 2024 grant dollars going to Tennessee recipients. Special Interest Grant applications are submitted through its grants portal; no new competitive Community Impact cycle is planned for fiscal year 2026–2027.
Assets
$832.0M
Grants
2,450
Total Given
$107.1M
Educational Credit Management Corporation
Minneapolis, MN
Educational Credit supports postsecondary access and student success, including FAFSA assistance, financial education, and student-support programs. Its 2024 grants had a median of $55,383, though amounts varied widely; funding was concentrated in Minnesota, with grants also reaching other states. The profile states that ECMC Foundation accepts unsolicited requests through a rolling online Letter of Inquiry process.
Assets
$209.1M
Grants
293
Total Given
$177.0M
Idonate Charitable Foundation
Southlake, TX
The foundation converts donated noncash assets into grants for nonprofits serving varied charitable purposes, with 2024 grants ranging from $7,707 to $80,194 and a median of $15,751. It gave across multiple states, with the largest shares going to Texas, North Carolina, Georgia, and Alabama. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$71K
Grants
15
Total Given
$347K
Michaels Frank Scholarship T W
Saint Louis, MO
The foundation funds scholarships for high school seniors attending public schools in Chester County, Pennsylvania. In 2025, it made 13 grants totaling $76,000, typically $5,500–$10,000; applicants are directed to the Center for Scholarship Administration for application details. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$1.7M
Grants
13
Total Given
$76K
Society of Family Planning
Denver, CO
The Society of Family Planning funds research on abortion and contraception, including emerging scholars, medication abortion, and post-abortion contraceptive care, supporting researchers and health organizations across the United States. In 2025, its 61 grants ranged from $400 to $723,000, with a median of about $54,000. It does not accept unsolicited funding requests, though it offers specific application-based opportunities, including one with rolling submissions while funds remain.
Assets
$31.2M
Grants
61
Total Given
$4.5M
Melton Foundation
Hays, NC
The Melton Foundation supports charitable causes including food assistance, scholarships, camps, museums, and general operating needs, primarily in North Carolina, with some funding in Georgia. Its 2025 grants ranged from $1,000 to $6,000, with a median of $1,750; it funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$229K
Grants
14
Total Given
$36K
More similar funders
More Funders in Pennsylvania
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from The Barrington & Cassandra's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
The Barrington & Cassandra down — hundreds of funders to go?