The Anna Greenfield Charitable Fnd
The Anna Greenfield Charitable Fnd is a private foundation based in Pepper Pike, Ohio. Its 2024 filing is marked as a final return: the foundation reported ending the year with zero assets after paying expenses and director-approved contributions, stated that it would not be funded in the future, and said it was dissolved in Ohio. It appears to have wound down and stopped grantmaking.
Key facts about The Anna Greenfield Charitable Fnd
In short: The Anna Greenfield Charitable Fnd gave $327K across 21 grants in 2024 (avg $16K), mostly in Ohio. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.
- EIN
- 81-4086619
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2024
- Annual giving (2024)
- $327,205
- Grants made (2024)
- 21
- Average grant
- $15,581
- Median grant
- $10,000
- Primary geography
- Ohio (100% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
- Accepts unsolicited proposals
- No
- How to apply
- The foundation stated that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests. Full details ↓
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2024; updated September 2026. Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Financial Overview
From 2024 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing
Total Assets
—
Annual Giving
$327K
+1764.4% YoY
Grant Count
21
+50.0% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$16K
+1142.9% YoY
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, The Anna Greenfield Charitable Fnd reported a distributable amount of $5K for 2024 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
How The Anna Greenfield Charitable Fnd gives
- 52% of 2024 grantees were also funded in 2023. Method
- Giving grew 1625% from 2021 to 2024. Method
- In 2024 it paid out well above its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2024). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Mission & Focus Areas
No foundation mission statement is provided. Its 2024 grants show support for organizations working in areas including family and child welfare, hunger relief, music and theatre, literacy, diversity and tolerance, and community programs.
Among the grantees described in their own words, Providence House says it protects at-risk children and supports families in crisis. The Greater Cleveland Food Bank says it provides nutritious food and essential resources to neighbors facing hunger. The Cleveland Jazz Orchestra describes its work as building awareness and appreciation of jazz through performances and educational programming; Dobama Theatre says it produces new plays and provides community engagement and education. These are the grantees’ stated missions, not the foundation’s.
Grantmaking
In 2024, the foundation reported 21 grants totaling $327,205. Grant amounts ranged from $100 to $52,150, with a median of $10,000. Larger awards included $52,150 to Congregation Mishkan Or for program support, $50,500 to Providence House for program support, $50,000 to the Greater Cleveland Food Bank for hunger-relief programs, and $28,000 to North Coast Mens Chorus for performances and its artist fund. Other notable grants included $26,505 to Cleveland Jazz Orchestra, $26,400 to Coach Sams Scholars, and $26,200 to Musical Upcoming Stars in the Class.
The foundation also gave $20,500 to May Dugan Center, $10,500 each to Cleveland Playhouse and Ronald McDonald House, $10,000 to Cleveland Zoological Society, and $6,500 to Dobama Theatre.
How to Apply
The foundation stated that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests. As the foundation reported that it was dissolved and would not be funded in the future, this is not a current application opportunity.
Ready to take the next step with The Anna Greenfield Charitable Fnd?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
All reported 2024 grant dollars went to recipients in Ohio.
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 21 itemized grants.
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2019 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $3K (2020) to $327K (2024). In 2024 it made 21 grants totaling $327K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2024
The largest 2024 recipient was Congregation Mishkan OR ($52K). Together the top 10 received $301K.
Grant Size Distribution
76 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 73 grants of 76 (96%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Congregation Mishkan OR Beachwood, OH | Program Support | $52,150 |
| Providence House Cleveland, OH | Program Support | $50,500 |
| Greater Cleveland Food Bank Cleveland, OH | Support Hunger Relief Programs | $50,000 |
| North Coast Mens Chorus Chagrin Falls, OH | Support for Performances and Artist Fund | $28,000 |
| Cleveland Jazz Orchestra Cleveland, OH | Art Museum Support | $26,505 |
| Coach Sams Scholars Beachwood, OH | Support for Literacy Programs | $26,400 |
| Musical Upcoming Stars in the Class Cleveland, OH | Community Support | $26,200 |
| May Dugan Center Beachwood, OH | General Support Fordiversity and Tolerance | $20,500 |
| Cleveland Playhouse Broadview Heights, OH | Program Support | $10,500 |
| Ronald McDonald House Cleveland, OH | Program Support | $10,500 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | $0 at year-end | $205,650 | $332,555 | $327,205 |
| 2023 | $126,905 | — | $18,625 | $17,550 |
| 2022 | $145,530 | $157,967 | $15,553 | $15,520 |
| Metric | 2024 | 2023 | 2022 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | — | $126,905 | $145,530 |
| Revenue | $205,650 | — | $157,967 |
| Expenses | $332,555 | $18,625 | $15,553 |
| Qualifying Distributions | $328,580 | $18,037 | $15,520 |
| Distributable Amount | $5,117 | $7,440 | $10,641 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS June 29, 2020)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2024 filing lists Anna Greenfield as director and president, and Susan Bened e j c i c as director and secretary-treasurer.
The Anna Greenfield Charitable Fnd is led by Anna Greenfield, Director & President on every filing since 2021; none of the 2 officers listed in 2024 report compensation.
Officers on the 2024 filing
Anna Greenfield
Director & President
On filings since 2021
No compensation reported
Susan Benedejcic
Director & Sec-Treas
Treasurer → Director & Sec-Treas, 2021
On filings since 2019
No compensation reported
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Contact
Mailing address: 28050 Belgrave Road, Pepper Pike, OH 44124
Phone: (216) 780-2023
Frequently asked questions about The Anna Greenfield Charitable Fnd
How much does The Anna Greenfield Charitable Fnd give each year?
The Anna Greenfield Charitable Fnd gave $327K across 21 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2023 it gave $18K across 14 grants.
What is The Anna Greenfield Charitable Fnd's typical grant size?
The Anna Greenfield Charitable Fnd's median grant in 2024 was $10,000, and its average grant was $15,581, across 21 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.
Where does The Anna Greenfield Charitable Fnd give grants?
The Anna Greenfield Charitable Fnd gives mostly in Ohio: 100% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Cleveland, OH (11 grants) and Beachwood, OH (4 grants).
Does The Anna Greenfield Charitable Fnd give general operating support?
Yes: 10% of The Anna Greenfield Charitable Fnd's 2024 grants with a stated purpose (2 of 21) were for general or operating support, per its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Recurring purposes include "Program Support" (10 grants).
Who are The Anna Greenfield Charitable Fnd's largest grantees?
The Anna Greenfield Charitable Fnd's largest 2024 grantees include Congregation Mishkan OR ($52,150), Providence House ($50,500) and Greater Cleveland Food Bank ($50,000), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 47% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.
What does The Anna Greenfield Charitable Fnd fund?
No foundation mission statement is provided. Its 2024 grants show support for organizations working in areas including family and child welfare, hunger relief, music and theatre, literacy, diversity and tolerance, and community programs. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from The Anna Greenfield Charitable Fnd?
The foundation stated that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑
How much is The Anna Greenfield Charitable Fnd required to give away each year?
Private foundations must generally distribute about 5% of their assets annually. For 2024, The Anna Greenfield Charitable Fnd reported a distributable amount of $5K on its IRS Form 990-PF — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
What is The Anna Greenfield Charitable Fnd's EIN?
The Anna Greenfield Charitable Fnd's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 81-4086619. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2024.
Does The Anna Greenfield Charitable Fnd accept unsolicited proposals?
No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Here's the math on researching The Anna Greenfield Charitable Fnd by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in The Anna Greenfield Charitable Fnd's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Ohio
The Cleveland Foundation
Cleveland, OH
The Cleveland Foundation funds education, human services, neighborhoods and housing, health, arts and culture, the environment, economic development, and other community priorities, primarily through grants to nonprofits in Cuyahoga, Lake and Geauga counties. Its 2024 grants ranged from about $5,000 to $17.5 million, with a median of about $30,700. It accepts applications year-round through its standard grant process, with deadlines determining which cycle an application enters.
Assets
$3.3B
Grants
1,016
Total Given
$184.2M
The Swagelok Foundation
Solon, OH
The Swagelok Foundation supports a broad range of charitable, community, education, and public organizations in places where Swagelok associates live and work, primarily in Ohio. In 2025 it made 222 grants totaling about $1.37 million, ranging from $20 to $201,000, with a median grant of $1,905. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$10.4M
Grants
222
Total Given
$1.4M
Jewish Federation of Cleveland
Cleveland, OH
The Jewish Federation of Cleveland funds social-welfare, religious, educational, security, and community programs, with a focus on Cleveland and Ohio as well as Jewish needs in Israel and around the world. Its 2025 grants had a median of $22,250, though amounts varied widely; the available information does not specify whether it accepts unsolicited institutional requests.
Assets
$680.2M
Grants
425
Total Given
$72.7M
The Louise H & David S Ingalls Fdn
Shaker Heights, OH
The Louise H. & David S. Ingalls Foundation funds public charities working in areas including the environment, arts and culture, education, and health, with most of its giving going to Ohio. In 2025, grants ranged from $5,000 to $250,000, with a median of $30,000. It does not describe an open unsolicited application process: trustees respond to organizations they wish to pursue, and forms are provided as appropriate.
Assets
$40.3M
Grants
45
Total Given
$2.7M
Columbus Foundation
Columbus, OH
The Columbus Foundation supports a broad range of nonprofit work, including arts, education, health, basic needs, neighborhoods, and capacity building, primarily in central Ohio. Its 2024 grants had a median of $21,471, though amounts varied widely. Most grants are directed by donors and aren’t made through an application process, but some specific programs accept applications.
Assets
$2.8B
Grants
1,747
Total Given
$242.7M
The Greater Cincinnati Foundation
Cincinnati, OH
The Greater Cincinnati Foundation funds nonprofits working on education, housing, community and cultural vibrancy, and related regional needs, with responsive grants focused on its eight-county Greater Cincinnati service area. Its 2024 median grant was $20,000, though amounts vary widely; specific opportunities include awards of up to $35,000 for Resilient Communities and up to $450,000 through the Neighborhood Development Fund. It lists RFP and letter-of-intent opportunities but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$1.0B
Grants
1,408
Total Given
$184.4M
The Scripps Howard Foundation
Cincinnati, OH
The foundation supports journalism education and related programs that foster informed, engaged communities, including journalism fellowships and environmental and technology-focused journalism initiatives. In 2024, grants ranged from $25 to $675,706, with a median of $1,250; funding was concentrated in Maryland and Washington, D.C., followed by Arizona, Ohio, and Colorado. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$69.4M
Grants
819
Total Given
$7.4M
Nisource Charitable Foundation
Columbus, OH
The NiSource Charitable Foundation supports nonprofits addressing safety, workforce and economic development, environmental stewardship, STEM and energy education, and basic needs in communities across Indiana, Kentucky, Maryland, Ohio, Pennsylvania, and Virginia. Its 2024 grants ranged from $60 to $2.1 million, with a median of $3,000. The filing directs applicants to contact the Foundation for application materials and deadlines; it does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$43.0M
Grants
683
Total Given
$7.5M
Dayton Foundation Depository
Dayton, OH
The Dayton Foundation Depository funds charitable, educational, civic, religious, and community activities, including arts and culture, health, education, and human services, primarily in the Greater Dayton region. Its 2025 itemized grants had a median of $12,000; the Foundation’s discretionary program accepts requests of more than $7,500 and up to $75,000, and Greenlight Grants offer $500 to $7,500.
Assets
$42.3M
Grants
677
Total Given
$22.7M
The Dayton Foundation
Dayton, OH
The Dayton Foundation funds nonprofit projects in arts and culture, health, education, human services, and community development, primarily benefiting the Greater Dayton region. Its Greenlight Grants are $500–$7,500, while discretionary grants are more than $7,500 and up to $75,000; it accepts applications through its grants portal.
Assets
$771.2M
Grants
589
Total Given
$32.6M
Timken Co Charitable & Educational Fund
North Canton, OH
The Fund supports approved nonprofits delivering measurable, lasting improvements in communities where Timken operates, including community services, housing, food access, education, and workforce programs. Typical grants are $500–$10,000, with larger requests requiring board preapproval; eligible communities include locations in Ohio, North Carolina, Colorado, Illinois, and South Carolina. It says it gives only to preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$4.1M
Grants
436
Total Given
$2.5M
More Funders in Ohio
The Anna Greenfield Charitable Fnd down — hundreds of funders to go?