Si Family Foundation

Private foundation · Grantmaker San Jose, CA EIN: 20-4771028

Si Family Foundation is a private foundation, based in San Jose, CA. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2026. As of 2026, the organization holds $143K in total assets. In 2026, it awarded 1 grant totaling $345. Net investment income was $4K.

Si Family Foundation at a glance

In short: Si Family Foundation gave $345 across 1 grant in 2026 (avg $345), mostly in North Carolina. Source: 2026 IRS Form 990-PF.

Annual giving (2026)
$345
-92.0% vs 2025
Grants made (2026)
1
-50.0% vs 2025
Average grant
$345
-84.0% vs 2025
Median grant
$345
Total assets
$143,277
-1.6% vs 2025
Primary geography
North Carolina (100% of itemized 2026 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2026 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2026; updated September 2026.

Who Si Family Foundation funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top recipient in 2026

Duke University: $345Duke University$345

The largest 2026 recipient was Duke University ($345).

Grant Size Distribution

11 grants across all recorded years

11<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 11 grants of 11 (100%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

4states

Share of the 2026 grant dollars on its one itemized grant.

Cities

DurhamIthacaSan JosePittsburgh

How Si Family Foundation gives

  • Giving fell 89% from 2023 to 2026. Method
  • In 2026 it paid out 46% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$2K$4K$6K1 grant2020 1 grant2021 2 grants2022 4 grants2023 2 grants2024 2 grants2025 1 grant2026

From 2020 to 2026, annual grant giving ranged from $345 (2026) to $6K (2022). In 2026 it made 1 grant totaling $345.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Duke University Durham, NCDonations$345
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Si Family Foundation?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsQualifying DistributionsNet Investment IncomeDistributable Amount
2026$143,277$6,983$7,555$3451$4,490$4,076$9,695
2025$145,615$8,512$23,744$4,3002$20,850$5,859$9,152
2024$159,825$4,385$10,129$2,1322$7,503$2,000$8,550
2023$165,569$2,514$11,252$3,1004$8,463$618$8,024
2022$173,808$7,728$13,766$5,8252$10,042$4,631$10,269
2021$201,693$12,072$4,730$1,0251—$11,780$1,369
2020$172,204$2,000$7,000$1,0001—$721$8,605

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Si Family Foundation reported a distributable amount of $10K for 2026 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Si Family Foundation is led by Jitao Si, CEO on every filing since 2020; none of the 2 officers listed in 2026 report compensation.

Officers on the 2026 filing

  • Jitao Si

    CEO

    On filings since 2020

    10 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Shan Zhao

    Secretary & CFO

    On filings since 2020

    10 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2026. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Frequently asked questions about Si Family Foundation

How much does Si Family Foundation give each year?

Si Family Foundation gave $345 across 1 grant in 2026, according to its 2026 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2025 it gave $4K across 2 grants.

How large is Si Family Foundation?

Si Family Foundation reported $143K in total assets on its 2026 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $4K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $10K (roughly 5% of its investment assets). Falling short in one year is not a violation: foundations have until the end of the next year to meet the minimum.

Where does Si Family Foundation operate?

Si Family Foundation has awarded grants in California, North Carolina, New York, Pennsylvania.

What is Si Family Foundation's EIN?

Si Family Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 20-4771028. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2026.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.

Data update history

(8)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2026 (received by the IRS August 13, 2026)
  2. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS February 15, 2021)
  3. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS February 15, 2022)
  4. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS February 14, 2023)
  5. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS February 14, 2024)
  6. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS August 8, 2024)
  7. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS January 28, 2026)
  8. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2025

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Si Family Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders with grantees in common

Grant Thornton Foundation

Chicago, IL

In 2024, the Grant Thornton Foundation funded general support, educational institutions, and disaster relief, awarding 10 grants of $1,575 to $41,450 (median $19,060). It is based in Chicago, with 2024 grants concentrated in California, Arizona, and Florida. The foundation gives only to preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$224K

Grants

10

Total Given

$181K

Magee-Womens Research Institute and Foundation

Pittsburgh, PA

The foundation primarily supports biomedical research and related programs in reproductive biology, women’s health, pregnancy, and infant health, including some community and research-participant activities. In 2025, grants ranged from $7,933 to $9.49 million, with a median of $113,594, and supported organizations in Pennsylvania and elsewhere in the U.S. It describes application procedures for specific research award programs; whether it accepts unsolicited requests generally is not stated.

Assets

$95.8M

Grants

50

Total Given

$27.0M

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Troy, NY

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute’s reported grants primarily support research subcontracts to universities, medical institutions, and research organizations; its student scholarships and fellowships are not grants to outside applicants. In 2025, grants ranged from $5,700 to $659,031, with a median of $71,429, and recipients were located across the U.S., especially in New York. It does not state whether it accepts unsolicited funding requests.

Education

Assets

$1.8B

Grants

57

Total Given

$7.3M

Charles Koch Foundation

Arlington, VA

The Charles Koch Foundation funds research, education, and social entrepreneurs working on issues including criminal justice, economic progress, higher education, health care, immigration, and free speech. Its 2024 grants had a median of $250,000, with awards ranging from $1,540 to $23.7 million; it is based in Virginia, where recipients received 53% of grant dollars, but also funds organizations in other states. It accepts unsolicited proposals online on a rolling basis, with no stated deadlines.

Assets

$758.9M

Grants

93

Total Given

$64.1M

Youth Foundation Inc

New York, NY

Youth Foundation Inc funds scholarships for U.S. citizens attending accredited U.S. colleges and universities, with awards paid directly to schools; its broader mission also supports youth development through mentorship, arts, sports, and recreation. In 2024, it made 101 grants totaling $565,534, typically around $5,000 (ranging from $975 to $10,000), to recipients across multiple states. It directs applicants to download and complete an online application; unsolicited requests are not specifically addressed.

Assets

$16.0M

Grants

101

Total Given

$566K

The Board of Trustees of the Leland Stanford Junior University

Redwood City, CA

The Board of Trustees of Stanford University supports education, research, health care, and related organizations, including universities and medical research institutions. Its 2025 grants ranged from $6,000 to $50 million, with a median of $40,000, and went mainly to recipients in Wisconsin, Massachusetts, and California. No process for unsolicited requests is specified.

Assets

$68.7B

Grants

115

Total Given

$112.1M

More similar funders

More Funders in California

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Si Family Foundation's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Si Family Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?