Magee-Womens Research Institute and Foundation logo

Magee-Womens Research Institute and Foundation

Public charity · Grantmaker Pittsburgh, PA EIN: 25-1462312 Website

Magee-Womens Research Institute and Foundation is a public charity based in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Its work centers on research in women’s health and reproductive biology, translating scientific knowledge into improved health for women and infants, and training scholars in reproductive sciences.

Key facts about Magee-Womens Research Institute and Foundation

In short: Magee-Womens Research Institute and Foundation gave $27.0M across 50 grants in 2025 (avg $539K), top state Pennsylvania. 12% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.

EIN
25-1462312
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2025
Annual giving (2025)
$26,953,698
Grants made (2025)
50
Average grant
$539,074
Median grant
$113,595
New grantees (estimate)
12% first-time grantees (6 of 50, 2025)
Total assets
$95,797,947
Primary geography
Pennsylvania (48% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
How to apply
The institute’s website describes application procedures for these specific programs. Full details ↓

Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.

Financial Overview

From 2025 IRS Form 990 · View filing

Total Assets

$95.8M

-5.8% YoY

Annual Giving

$27.0M

-20.7% YoY

Grant Count

50

-2.0% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$539K

-19.1% YoY

Is Magee-Womens Research Institute and Foundation open to new grantees?

12%

first-time grantees, 2025

In 2025, 6 of 50 grantees (12%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $356K; repeat grants $564K. How we count

Medians: $64K first-time, $124K repeat.

  • 78% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
  • Giving grew 34% from 2022 to 2025. Method

Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990 filings (2019–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.

Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.

Mission & Focus Areas

The organization’s mission is to advance scientific knowledge in reproductive biology and medicine; translate that knowledge into improved health for women and infants; train current and future scholars of reproductive sciences; and foster community investment and involvement in women’s health.

Its stated research areas include reproductive medicine and development, pregnancy and newborn medicine, infectious diseases, gynecology, reproductive endocrinology and fertility, women’s cancers, and women’s wellness. Its 2025 grants included biomedical research and participant recruiting for a research study, as well as program support.

Grantees in 2025 included universities, research and medical institutions, and community organizations. For example, the University of Pittsburgh describes itself as a public research university; Oak Crest Institute of Science describes itself as a chemistry research and education center; and Healthy Start Inc. says its mission is to reduce infant mortality and low birth weight in southwestern Pennsylvania.

Grantmaking

In filing year 2025, the foundation reported 50 grants totaling **$26,953,698**. Grant amounts ranged from **$7,933 to $9,490,449**, with a median of **$113,594**.

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Magee-Womens Research Institute and Foundation?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

The foundation is based in Pittsburgh. In 2025, 48% of grant dollars went to recipients in Pennsylvania, 14% to California, 12% to Virginia, 7% to New York, and 5% to North Carolina. Listed recipients also included organizations in Washington and Texas.

Grant Distribution by State

30states

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 50 itemized grants.

Cities

PittsburghNew YorkSeattleAtlantaDurhamLa JollaBaltimoreChicagoAnn ArborMinneapolisNew OrleansOaklandPhiladelphiaBirminghamDallasHoustonIthacaPortlandSan DiegoSanta Monica

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$10M$20M$30M$40M43 grants2019 55 grants2020 53 grants2021 55 grants2022 51 grants2023 51 grants2024 50 grants2025

From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $19.1M (2021) to $35.4M (2023). In 2025 it made 50 grants totaling $27.0M.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 10 recipients in 2025

University of Pittsburgh: $9.5MUniversity of Pittsburgh$9.5MOak Crest Institute of Science: $3.2MOak Crest Institute of Science$3.2MMagee Womens Hospital of UPMC: $2.5MMagee Womens Hospital of UPMC$2.5MOld Dominion University Research Foundation: $1.8MOld Dominion UniversityResearch Foundation$1.8MEastern Virginia Medical School: $1.4MEastern Virginia MedicalSchool$1.4MFamily Health International: $880KFamily Health International$880KUniversity of Washington: $675KUniversity of Washington$675KThe Population Council Inc: $504KThe Population Council Inc$504KHealthy Start Inc: $486KHealthy Start Inc$486KPath: $482KPath$482K

The largest 2025 recipient was University of Pittsburgh ($9.5M). Together the top 10 received $21.4M.

Grant Size Distribution

260 grants across all recorded years

101<$50K37$50–100K39$100–250K37$250–500K26$500K–1M15$1–5M5$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 101 grants of 260 (39%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
University of Pittsburgh Pittsburgh, PABiomedical research$9,490,449
Oak Crest Institute of Science Monroiva, CABiomedical research$3,165,378
Magee Womens Hospital of UPMC Pittsburgh, PAProgram Support$2,495,197
Old Dominion University Research Foundation Norfolk, VABiomedical research$1,832,428
Eastern Virginia Medical School Norfolk, VABiomedical research$1,433,723
Family Health International Durham, NCBiomedical research$880,325
University of Washington Seattle, WABiomedical research$674,853
The Population Council Inc New York, NYBiomedical research$503,723
Healthy Start Inc Pittsburgh, PAParticipant recruiting for research study$485,689
Path Seattle, WABiomedical research$482,059

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Filing year Assets Revenue Expenses
2025 $95,797,947 $63,537,877 $64,925,788
2024 $101,671,185 $76,168,361 $75,569,645
2023 $103,774,815 $68,748,529 $71,943,893
Revenue
Expenses
Net Investment Income
$0$25M$50M$75M$100M2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 2024 2025
Metric202520242023
Total Assets$95,797,947$101,671,185$103,774,815
Revenue$63,537,877$76,168,361$68,748,529
Expenses$64,925,788$75,569,645$71,943,893
Net Investment Income$6,085,896$7,320,946$2,650,476

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS March 20, 2020)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS January 28, 2021)
  3. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS January 25, 2022)
  4. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS February 14, 2023)
  5. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS February 6, 2024)
  6. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS January 22, 2025)
  7. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS January 26, 2026)
  8. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2019–2025

Leadership & Key People

Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings

The 2025 filing lists Michael Annichine as CEO; Yoel Sadovsky, Gerald Schatten, Sharon Hillier, Kyle Orwig, Lisa Rohan, and Pamela Moalli as principal investigators; and Theresa Bone as vice chair. Robert Edwards and Joan Ellenbogen are listed as directors.

Magee-Womens Research Institute and Foundation is led by Michael Annichine, CEO on every filing since 2019; 7 of 30 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Michael Annichine

    CEO

    On filings since 2019

    40 hrs/week

    $397K (2019) → $590K (2025)

  • Pamela Moalli

    Interim Executive Director & Principal Investigator

    Professor → Interim Executive Director & Principal Investigator, 2025

    On filings since 2023

    40 hrs/week

    $394K (2023) → $237K (2025)

  • Kelly R Gray

    Chair

    Vice Chair → Chair, 2024

    On filings since 2019

    2.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Carrie Coghill

    Director

    Chair → Director, 2024

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • David Spigelmyer

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Fern Schwartz

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Joan Ellenbogen

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Margaret Joy

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Mary Richter

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Richard Beigi

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Robert Edwards

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Tony Lacenere

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • W Scott Sanford

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • William Pietragallo

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Anantha Shekhar

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Nicole Donnellan

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Carli Siger

    Director

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Deborah Murphy

    Director

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Margaret Archinaco

    Director

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Margot Bingham

    Director

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Olivia Brinker

    Director

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Sheila Escovedo

    Director

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Gerald Schatten

    Principal Investigator

    Professor → Principal Investigator, 2025

    On filings since 2019

    40 hrs/week

    $319K (2019) → $404K (2025)

  • Kyle Orwig

    Principal Investigator

    Professor → Principal Investigator, 2025

    On filings since 2019

    40 hrs/week

    $260K (2019) → $341K (2025)

  • Sharon Hillier

    Principal Investigator

    Professor → Principal Investigator, 2025

    On filings since 2019

    40 hrs/week

    $316K (2019) → $369K (2025)

  • Yoel Sadovsky

    Principal Investigator

    Executive Director & Professor → Principal Investigator, 2025

    On filings since 2019

    40 hrs/week

    $556K (2019) → $552K (2025)

  • Lisa Rohan

    Principal Investigator

    New on the 2025 filing

    40 hrs/week

    $282K (2025)

  • Jason Harrison

    Treasurer

    On filings since 2019

    2.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Susan McGalla

    Secretary

    On filings since 2019

    2.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Theresa Bone

    Vice Chair

    Director → Vice Chair, 2023

    On filings since 2019

    2.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (17)
  • Former: Chad Tomosovich (2019–2024) — Director
  • Former: Elizabeth Krans (2019–2024) — Professor
  • Former: K Scott Roy (2019–2024) — Director
  • Former: Ronald Buckanovich (2020–2024) — Professor
  • Former: Arthur Levine (2019–2023) — Director
  • Former: Hyagriv Simhan (2019–2023) — Professor
  • Former: Linda S Melada (2019–2023) — Director
  • Former: Patricia Siger (2019–2023) — Director
  • Former: Peggy Snavely (2019–2023) — Director
  • Former: Marie Rivera-Johnson (2022–2023) — Director
  • Former: Ed Lettieri (2019–2022) — Director
  • Former: Donald Burke (2020–2022) — Director
  • Former: Suketu Mansuria (2021–2022) — Director
  • Former: Shawntae Spencer (2022) — Director
  • Former: John Comerci (2019–2020) — Director
  • Former: Leslie Davis (2019) — Director
  • Former: Stephen Emery (2019) — Director

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Michael Annichine — CEO: $590KMichael AnnichineCEO$590KYoel Sadovsky — Principal Investigator: $552KYoel SadovskyPrincipal Investigator$552KGerald Schatten — Principal Investigator: $404KGerald SchattenPrincipal Investigator$404KSharon Hillier — Principal Investigator: $369KSharon HillierPrincipal Investigator$369KKyle Orwig — Principal Investigator: $341KKyle OrwigPrincipal Investigator$341KLisa Rohan — Principal Investigator: $282KLisa RohanPrincipal Investigator$282KPamela Moalli — Interim Executive Director/Principal Investigator: $237KPamela MoalliInterim Executive…$237K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $590K, to Michael Annichine (CEO). 7 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Contact

Mailing address: 3240 Craft Place Suite 100, Pittsburgh, PA 15213
Phone: (412) 641-8957
Website: https://mageewomens.org

Frequently asked questions about Magee-Womens Research Institute and Foundation

How much does Magee-Womens Research Institute and Foundation give each year?

Magee-Womens Research Institute and Foundation gave $27.0M across 50 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $34.0M across 51 grants.

What is Magee-Womens Research Institute and Foundation's typical grant size?

Magee-Womens Research Institute and Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $113,595, and its average grant was $539,074, across 50 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Organizations receiving their first grant from Magee-Womens Research Institute and Foundation that year got $356K on average.

Where does Magee-Womens Research Institute and Foundation give grants?

Magee-Womens Research Institute and Foundation's top state is Pennsylvania, with 48% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990. The next largest states were California (14%) and Virginia (12%). The most frequent recipient cities were Pittsburgh, PA (8 grants), Seattle, WA (4 grants), New York, NY (3 grants) and Norfolk, VA (2 grants).

Does Magee-Womens Research Institute and Foundation give general operating support?

Not in 2025: none of the 50 grants with a stated purpose on Magee-Womens Research Institute and Foundation's 2025 IRS Form 990 were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Biomedical research" (43 grants) and "Bio-medical Research" (3 grants).

Who are Magee-Womens Research Institute and Foundation's largest grantees?

Magee-Womens Research Institute and Foundation's largest 2025 grantees include University of Pittsburgh ($9,490,449), Oak Crest Institute of Science ($3,165,378) and Magee Womens Hospital of UPMC ($2,495,197), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. Together they received 56% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.

How large is Magee-Womens Research Institute and Foundation?

Magee-Womens Research Institute and Foundation reported $95.8M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $63.5M.

What does Magee-Womens Research Institute and Foundation fund?

The organization’s mission is to advance scientific knowledge in reproductive biology and medicine; translate that knowledge into improved health for women and infants; train current and future scholars of reproductive sciences; and foster community investment and involvement in women’s health. See mission & focus areas ↑

How do I apply for a grant from Magee-Womens Research Institute and Foundation?

The institute’s website describes application procedures for these specific programs. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑

What is Magee-Womens Research Institute and Foundation's EIN?

Magee-Womens Research Institute and Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 25-1462312. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching Magee-Womens Research Institute and Foundation by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Magee-Womens Research Institute and Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

Yale University

New Haven, CT

Yale supports education, research, scholarship, preservation, public service, and community organizations, including through sponsored research and fellowships. Its 2025 grants ranged from $3,000 to $14.3 million, with a median of about $136,000; recipients were based mainly in Connecticut, California, Massachusetts, New York, and Pennsylvania. The profile does not state whether Yale accepts unsolicited requests.

Education

Assets

$58.9B

Grants

364

Total Given

$168.2M

Emory University

Atlanta, GA

Emory University funds research, health care, and medical research, including university research awards and subcontract grants to organizations. Its 2024 grants had a median of about $87,500, though awards ranged from about $5,300 to $35.5 million; recipients were concentrated in Georgia, which received 46% of grant dollars. The profile does not state whether Emory accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$24.9B

Grants

362

Total Given

$183.7M

Vanderbilt University Medical Center

Nashville, TN

Vanderbilt University Medical Center supports medical and scientific research, health and educational programs, and related institutional purposes, with grants to universities, medical centers, and research organizations. Its 2025 grants had a median of about $116,000, though awards ranged widely; recipients were based across the U.S., with the most funding going to Tennessee. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Health

Assets

$7.8B

Grants

246

Total Given

$125.1M

Johns Hopkins University

Baltimore, MD

Johns Hopkins University funds education, research, clinical practice, and related programs, with many large awards listed as sub-awards; its 2025 grants had a median of $100,000. Grants went mainly to recipients in California and Maryland, among other states, but no geographic restriction or policy on unsolicited requests is stated.

Assets

$25.3B

Grants

813

Total Given

$594.1M

American Heart Association Inc

Dallas, TX

The American Heart Association funds basic, clinical, behavioral, translational, population, and other research on cardiovascular, cerebrovascular, and brain health, mainly through research awards to eligible U.S.-based nonprofit institutions. In 2025, grants ranged from $5,000 to $9.9 million, with a median award of $20,000. Applications are submitted through designated programs; the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Diseases, Disorders & Medical Disciplines

Assets

$2.0B

Grants

833

Total Given

$198.2M

The Trustees of Columbia University in the City of New York

New York, NY

Columbia funds research, education and research, and capital projects, primarily through grants to universities and medical and research institutions across the United States, with the largest share going to New York recipients. Its 2025 grants had a median of about $109,000, though awards ranged from $5,350 to $15.1 million. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$26.0B

Grants

417

Total Given

$208.3M

Gates Foundation

Seattle, WA

The Gates Foundation funds work on global health, poverty reduction, gender equality, economic opportunity, and U.S. education, primarily in low-income countries and the United States. Its 2024 grants had a median of $500,000, though amounts varied widely. It generally does not accept unsolicited requests; organizations are usually invited to apply, with occasional published funding opportunities.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$78.7B

Grants

4,974

Total Given

$6.3B

The Pittsburgh Foundation

Pittsburgh, PA

The Pittsburgh Foundation funds basic needs, racial equity and social justice, environmental action, arts and culture, and economic mobility, primarily for organizations located in or serving Allegheny County, Pennsylvania. Its 2024 grants had a median of $18,576, though awards varied widely; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$1.5B

Grants

1,132

Total Given

$64.0M

The William Penn Foundation

Philadelphia, PA

The William Penn Foundation funds arts and culture, children and families, civic engagement, the environment and public spaces, and workforce training across the Philadelphia region. Its 2024 grants ranged from $45 to $7.78 million, with a median of $50,000. It accepts unsolicited requests through a limited open-application process, though it recommends applying through a relevant RFP when available.

Assets

$3.4B

Grants

1,027

Total Given

$148.8M

Dick's Sporting Goods Foundation

Coraopolis, PA

The DICK’S Sporting Goods Foundation primarily funds youth sports programs that reduce barriers to participation, with additional support for public lands and outdoor access. Its 2025 grants had a median of $5,000, though awards ranged from $626 to $2.5 million, and its Sports Matter program supports eligible organizations across the U.S. Sports Matter opportunities are by invitation only.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$34.5M

Grants

964

Total Given

$18.0M

More Funders in Pennsylvania

Magee-Womens Research Institute and Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?