Rutherford Family Foundation

Private foundation · Grantmaker Brentwood, TN EIN: 99-4218718

Rutherford Family Foundation is a private foundation, based in Brentwood, TN. IRS filing data is available from 2024 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $932K in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 4 grants totaling $345K. Net investment income was $128K.

Key facts about Rutherford Family Foundation

In short: Rutherford Family Foundation gave $345K across 4 grants in 2025 (avg $86K), mostly in Florida. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

EIN
99-4218718
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025
Annual giving (2025)
$345,000
Grants made (2025)
4
Average grant
$86,250
Median grant
$30,000
Total assets
$931,569
Primary geography
Florida (80% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.

Financial Overview

From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing

Total Assets

$932K

-19.3% YoY

Annual Giving

$345K

+1226.9% YoY

Grant Count

4

+100.0% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$86K

+563.5% YoY

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Rutherford Family Foundation reported a distributable amount of $184K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

How Rutherford Family Foundation gives

  • In 2025 it paid out 188% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Rutherford Family Foundation?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

2states

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 4 itemized grants.

Cities

NashvilleFranklinTampa

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$100K$200K$300K$400K2 grants2024 4 grants2025

From 2024 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $26K (2024) to $345K (2025). In 2025 it made 4 grants totaling $345K.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 4 recipients in 2025

University of Tampa: $275KUniversity of Tampa$275KStars Nashville: $50KStars Nashville$50KAmerican Red Cross: $10KAmerican Red Cross$10KFrist Art Museum: $10KFrist Art Museum$10K

The largest 2025 recipient was University of Tampa ($275K). Together the top 4 received $345K.

Grant Size Distribution

6 grants across all recorded years

4<$50K1$50–100K$100–250K1$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 4 grants of 6 (67%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
University of Tampa Tampa, FLTo Further Exempt Purpose$275,000
Stars Nashville Nashville, TNTo Further Exempt Purpose$50,000
American Red Cross Nashville, TNTo Further Exempt Purpose$10,000
Frist Art Museum Nashville, TNTo Further Exempt Purpose$10,000

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Revenue
Expenses
Qualifying Distributions
Net Investment Income
$0$500K$1M$1.5M2024 2025
Metric20252024
Total Assets$931,569$1,153,745
Revenue$130,759$1,180,345
Expenses$352,935$26,600
Qualifying Distributions$345,000$26,000
Net Investment Income$128,091$157,945
Distributable Amount$183,673$72,762

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS April 30, 2025)
  2. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS March 5, 2026)
  3. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2024–2025

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Rutherford Family Foundation's 2025 filing lists 2 officers; none of the 2 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Nancy Rutherford

    Trustee

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • William Rutherford

    Trustee

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2024–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Frequently asked questions about Rutherford Family Foundation

How much does Rutherford Family Foundation give each year?

Rutherford Family Foundation gave $345K across 4 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $26K across 2 grants.

What is Rutherford Family Foundation's typical grant size?

Rutherford Family Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $30,000, and its average grant was $86,250, across 4 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Where does Rutherford Family Foundation give grants?

Rutherford Family Foundation gives mostly in Florida: 80% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest state was Tennessee (20%). The most frequent recipient cities were Nashville, TN (3 grants).

How large is Rutherford Family Foundation?

Rutherford Family Foundation reported $932K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $345K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $184K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).

What is Rutherford Family Foundation's EIN?

Rutherford Family Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 99-4218718. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2024–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching Rutherford Family Foundation by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Rutherford Family Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

Angel Corps

Nashville, TN

ANGEL CORPS supports organizations serving underserved communities where Southern Land Company has development projects, especially those benefiting women and children; its 2024 grants went almost entirely to Tennessee. Grants ranged from $1,000 to $250,000, with a median of $2,050. It does not describe an open unsolicited application process: local Southern Land Company employees nominate organizations, and those selected by the board receive a request form.

Assets

$8K

Grants

20

Total Given

$382K

The Healing Trust

Nashville, TN

The Healing Trust funds organizations advancing racial equity and addressing health disparities, with priorities including resilient families, thriving communities, and strengthening democracy in five Middle Tennessee counties: Bedford, Davidson, Maury, Montgomery, and Rutherford. Its 2024 grants ranged from $100 to $190,000, with a median of about $26,000. For 2026, it accepts applications only for its Sabbatical and Culture and Care funds, and only from current grantee partners that have received general operating support.

Assets

$133.2M

Grants

150

Total Given

$4.8M

Steve and Kate Smith Community Trust

McMinnville, TN

The Steve and Kate Smith Community Trust funds charitable organizations serving children in Warren County, Tennessee, with support for youth programs, children’s essentials, education, arts, and related needs. Its 2024 grants ranged from $20,000 to $144,924, with a median of $30,000; organizations apply using a written form, and the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

—

Grants

11

Total Given

$499K

The Trott Family Foundation

Chicago, IL

The Trott Family Foundation’s 2021 grants supported education, scholarships, health care, and other charitable organizations, with most funding going to Illinois and smaller shares to Ohio, Missouri, and Washington, DC. Its 21 grants totaled $33.98 million, with a median award of $50,000, though grants ranged widely. A 2020 filing stated that it funded only preselected organizations and did not accept unsolicited requests; the foundation’s current grantmaking status is unclear.

Assets

—

Grants

21

Total Given

$34.0M

Connie and Bob Lurie Foundation Inc

Redwood City, CA

The foundation funds a varied mix of health care, research, education, and social services, with 93% of its 2024 grant dollars going to California. Its 2024 grants ranged from $100 to $9 million, with a median of $19,630. It supports only preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$80.1M

Grants

77

Total Given

$21.4M

United Way of Wilson County & the Upper Cumberland

Lebanon, TN

United Way of Wilson County & the Upper Cumberland funds nonprofit programs addressing education, financial stability, and health needs in Wilson County and the Upper Cumberland region of Tennessee. Its 2025 grants ranged from $6,060 to $18,000, with a median of $10,000. It accepts nonprofit applications through an annual allocations process; the agency-funding application is listed as currently open.

Human Services

Assets

$507K

Grants

18

Total Given

$206K

Frank and Karen Ptak Family Foundation

Boca Raton, FL

The Frank and Karen Ptak Family Foundation supports eligible educational, religious, and charitable organizations across varied fields, with recent grants mainly in Illinois and Florida and smaller awards in New Jersey and Massachusetts. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,000 to $32,000, with a median of $14,500. It accepts requests by letter, has no standard application form or stated deadline, and limits eligibility to organizations qualifying under IRC Section 170(c).

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$1.6M

Grants

14

Total Given

$242K

Christy-Houston Foundation Inc

Murfreesboro, TN

The Christy-Houston Foundation supports charitable organizations and public entities serving Rutherford County and neighboring counties, with grants spanning healthcare, human services, arts, youth, and community projects. In 2024, grants ranged from $6,000 to $1.5 million, with a median of $49,750. It does not limit giving to preselected organizations; prospective applicants are directed to contact the foundation and use its forms.

Assets

$96.7M

Grants

24

Total Given

$4.2M

Benjamin F Johnston Foundation

Fort Worth, TX

Assets

$116K

Grants

9

Total Given

$3K

The Taylor Foundation

Boston, MA

The Taylor Foundation funds charitable and educational organizations, including museums, schools, arts groups, and community organizations; its 2025 grants ranged from $500 to $36,025, with a median of $3,000. It primarily funded organizations in Massachusetts, with additional grants in New York and Georgia. It gives only to preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$1.2M

Grants

20

Total Given

$162K

Enterprise Holdings Foundation

Saint Louis, MO

Enterprise Holdings Foundation supports nonprofits in health, education, arts, disaster relief, reforestation, hunger relief, and community equity, with an emphasis on organizations actively supported by Enterprise employees and their families. Its reported grants range widely: 2024 giving averaged about $7,700 across 9,499 grants, while the foundation also offers awards of up to $40,000; it supports communities where Enterprise operates worldwide. Unsolicited requests are accepted at any time, but eligible applications must be submitted by an Enterprise team member or their spouse or domestic partner on behalf of a nonprofit they actively support.

Assets

$594.3M

Grants

1

Total Given

$101.4M

Dugas Family Foundation II Inc

Nashville, TN

The foundation supports Tennessee nonprofits working in areas such as addiction recovery, food access, health care, housing, disability services, youth and family programs, and parks. In 2024, grants ranged from $5,000 to $100,000, with a median of $25,000. It does not restrict giving to preselected organizations and requires an application form, but whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.

Assets

—

Grants

18

Total Given

$592K

More Funders in Tennessee

Rutherford Family Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?