Richard & Susan Smith Family Foundation
The Richard & Susan Smith Family Foundation is a private family foundation based in Newton, Massachusetts. Its stated mission is to effect permanent positive change in the lives of individuals and families across Greater Boston, especially in economically disadvantaged communities. It invests in organizations that improve human health, raise educational attainment, increase economic security, and meet community needs.
Key facts about Richard & Susan Smith Family Foundation
In short: Richard & Susan Smith Family Foundation gave $15.6M across 137 grants in 2025 (avg $114K), mostly in Massachusetts. 36% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- EIN
- 23-7090011
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025
- Annual giving (2025)
- $15,577,783
- Grants made (2025)
- 137
- Average grant
- $113,706
- Median grant
- $35,606
- New grantees (estimate)
- 36% first-time grantees (35 of 97, 2025)
- Total assets
- $302,919,250
- Primary geography
- Massachusetts (97% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- How to apply
- For Small Capital Grants, potential applicants are strongly encouraged to schedule a 15-minute call with Faouzi Talabi before applying. Full details ↓
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Financial Overview
From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing
Total Assets
$302.9M
+2.3% YoY
Annual Giving
$15.6M
-14.6% YoY
Grant Count
137
-8.1% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$114K
-7.1% YoY
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Richard & Susan Smith Family Foundation reported a distributable amount of $19.0M for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Is Richard & Susan Smith Family Foundation open to new grantees?
36%
first-time grantees, 2025
In 2025, 35 of 97 grantees (36%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $59K; repeat grants $218K. How we count
Medians: $13K first-time, $50K repeat.
- 47% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
- Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (+2%). Method
- In 2025 it paid out 95% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2021–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Mission & Focus Areas
The foundation describes its work as engaged, multigenerational family philanthropy. Its Small Capital Grants program supports tax-exempt nonprofits in Greater Boston and Gateway Cities with one-time capital expenses, prioritizing organizations with operating budgets under $3 million and focusing on human services and community development.
Its 2025 grants included support for health, medical research, education, youth development, human services, Jewish causes, and cultural vitality. The grantees describe their own work in varied ways: Boston Medical Center says its mission is to provide excellent, accessible health services regardless of a patient’s status or ability to pay; More Than Words says it empowers youth facing challenges such as foster care, homelessness, or being out of school through business ownership; and the Esplanade Association says it works to enhance the Charles River Esplanade, preserve green space, and provide educational, cultural, and recreational programs. Combined Jewish Philanthropies describes work to sustain and enrich Jewish life in Greater Boston and coordinate Jewish communal services.
Grantmaking
In 2025, the foundation reported 137 grants totaling $15,577,783. The grants ranged from $100 to $1,500,000, with a median of $35,606. Notable awards included $1,500,000 each to Boston Medical Center and Combined Jewish Philanthropies; $1,000,000 to the Esplanade Association; $800,000 to YMCA Cape Cod; and $730,000 to the University of Massachusetts Boston.
The foundation’s Small Capital Grants program is listed as active, with awards of $25,000 to $100,000 for eligible nonprofits. The program description strongly encourages potential applicants to sign up for a 15-minute call with Faouzi Talabi before applying.
How to Apply
For Small Capital Grants, potential applicants are strongly encouraged to schedule a 15-minute call with Faouzi Talabi before applying. The available program information does not specify application materials or a deadline.
Open Grants
1 open opportunity from Richard & Susan Smith Family Foundation
Ready to take the next step with Richard & Susan Smith Family Foundation?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
The Small Capital Grants program serves tax-exempt nonprofits in Greater Boston and Gateway Cities. In 2025, 97% of grant dollars went to recipients in Massachusetts; the listed shares for Connecticut and California were 1% each, and those for New York and Rhode Island were 0% each.
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 137 itemized grants.
States
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2021 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $14.8M (2021) to $18.3M (2023). In 2025 it made 137 grants totaling $15.6M.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Boston Medical Center ($1.6M across 3 grants). Together the top 10 received $9.4M.
Grant Size Distribution
751 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 406 grants of 751 (54%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Boston Medical Center Boston, MA | HEALTH | $1,500,000 |
| Combined Jewish Philanthropies Boston, MA | Jewish Causes | $1,500,000 |
| Esplanade Association Boston, MA | Cultural Vitality | $1,000,000 |
| YMCA Cape Cod West Barnstable, MA | Human Services | $800,000 |
| University of Massachusetts Boston Boston, MA | Education | $730,000 |
| Brigham and Women's Hospital Boston, MA | HEALTH | $500,000 |
| More Than Words Waltham, MA | Youth Development | $500,000 |
| Health Resources in Action Boston, MA | Medical Research | $373,158 |
| Benjamin Franklin Cummings Institute of Technology Boston, MA | Education | $250,000 |
| Boston Children's Hospital Boston, MA | HEALTH | $250,000 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Grants reported | Grant count |
|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $15,577,783 | 137 |
| 2024 | $18,236,150 | 149 |
| 2023 | $18,325,319 | 178 |
Filing type: 990T.
| Metric | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $302,919,250 | $296,058,142 | $318,152,176 |
| Revenue | $28,349,721 | $5,681,852 | $30,619,653 |
| Expenses | $23,886,671 | $26,492,706 | $29,401,503 |
| Qualifying Distributions | $18,012,938 | $20,435,658 | $20,487,965 |
| Net Investment Income | $15,561,516 | — | $18,620,861 |
| Distributable Amount | $19,017,619 | $18,199,550 | $20,343,394 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS March 14, 2022)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS March 9, 2023)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS March 6, 2024)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS March 10, 2025)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS March 11, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2021–2025
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2025 filing lists Amy S. Berylson, Debra S. Knez, Robert A. Smith, Dana W. Smith, Jennifer Block, Jonathan Block, Jessica Knez Dulac, and Andrew Knez as trustees. Lynne Doblin is listed as executive director, and Marjorie Ringrose as director of education.
Richard & Susan Smith Family Foundation is led by Lynne Doblin, Executive Director on every filing since 2021; 4 of 21 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Lynne Doblin
Executive Director
On filings since 2021
40 hrs/week
$356K (2021) → $433K (2025)
Marjorie Ringrose
Director of Education
Senior Program Officer → Director of Education, 2025
On filings since 2021
40 hrs/week
$192K (2021) → $240K (2025)
Shanna Shulman
Director Health & Medical Research
Senior Program Officer → Director Health & Medical Research, 2025
On filings since 2021
40 hrs/week
$204K (2021) → $245K (2025)
Amy S. Berylson
Trustee
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Andrew Knez
Trustee
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Dana W. Smith
Trustee
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Debra S. Knez
Trustee
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Elizabeth Berylson Katz
Trustee
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
James Berylson
Trustee
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Jennifer Block
Trustee
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Jonathan Block
Trustee
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Krista Knez
Trustee
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Madeleine Smith
Trustee
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Robert A. Smith
Trustee
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Robert Katz
Trustee
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Ryan Smith
Trustee
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Jackson Smith
Trustee
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Jessica Knez Dulac
Trustee
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Nicolas Dulac
Trustee
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Halle Kendall Smith
Trustee
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Amy Hampe
Senior Program Officer
Program Officer → Senior Program Officer, 2025
On filings since 2021
40 hrs/week
$112K (2021) → $168K (2025)
Former officers (2)
- Former: Jessica Knez (2021–2023) — Trustee
- Former: John G. Berylson (2021–2023) — Trustee
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2021–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2025 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $433K, to Lynne Doblin (Executive Director). 4 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.
Contact
Mailing address: One Newton Executive Park 104, Newton, MA 02462
Phone: (857) 404-0700
Frequently asked questions about Richard & Susan Smith Family Foundation
How much does Richard & Susan Smith Family Foundation give each year?
Richard & Susan Smith Family Foundation gave $15.6M across 137 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $18.2M across 149 grants.
What is Richard & Susan Smith Family Foundation's typical grant size?
Richard & Susan Smith Family Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $35,606, and its average grant was $113,706, across 137 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from Richard & Susan Smith Family Foundation that year got $59K on average.
Where does Richard & Susan Smith Family Foundation give grants?
Richard & Susan Smith Family Foundation gives mostly in Massachusetts: 97% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Boston, MA (55 grants), Cambridge, MA (15 grants), Worcester, MA (5 grants) and Needham, MA (5 grants).
Does Richard & Susan Smith Family Foundation give general operating support?
Not in 2025: none of the 137 grants with a stated purpose on Richard & Susan Smith Family Foundation's 2025 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Education" (39 grants), "Medical Research" (31 grants) and "Human Services" (18 grants).
Who are Richard & Susan Smith Family Foundation's largest grantees?
Richard & Susan Smith Family Foundation's largest 2025 grantees include Boston Medical Center ($1,550,000 across 3 grants), Combined Jewish Philanthropies ($1,510,900 across 3 grants) and Harvard College President and Fellows of ($1,506,000 across 10 grants), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 29% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is Richard & Susan Smith Family Foundation?
Richard & Susan Smith Family Foundation reported $302.9M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $18.0M in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $19.0M (roughly 5% of its investment assets). Falling short in one year is not a violation: foundations have until the end of the next year to meet the minimum.
What does Richard & Susan Smith Family Foundation fund?
The foundation describes its work as engaged, multigenerational family philanthropy. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from Richard & Susan Smith Family Foundation?
For Small Capital Grants, potential applicants are strongly encouraged to schedule a 15-minute call with Faouzi Talabi before applying. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑
What is Richard & Susan Smith Family Foundation's EIN?
Richard & Susan Smith Family Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 23-7090011. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2021–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Here's the math on researching Richard & Susan Smith Family Foundation by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Richard & Susan Smith Family Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Massachusetts
Boston Foundation Inc
Boston, MA
The Boston Foundation funds equity-focused work in child well-being, economic opportunity, community wealth, and community leadership, primarily in Greater Boston. Its 2025 grants had a median of $25,000, while specific programs offer awards from up to $15,000 to $50,000; it accepts applications through some competitive initiatives, but whether it accepts unsolicited requests generally is not stated.
Assets
$2.1B
Grants
2,375
Total Given
$228.4M
Eastern Bank Foundation
Wakefield, MA
Eastern Bank Foundation funds systemic efforts to advance economic inclusion and mobility, including small-business equity, early childhood development, affordable housing, and workforce development. Its programs range from $1,000–$10,000 for Community Donations, up to $15,000 for CITC Grants, and $50,000–$150,000 for Impact Grants; it supports organizations primarily in Massachusetts, New Hampshire, and Rhode Island. The foundation accepts online applications, with no specific submission deadlines stated.
Assets
$266.7M
Grants
1,786
Total Given
$19.0M
Cummings Foundation Grants Inc (FKA Oneworld Boston Inc)
Woburn, MA
Cummings Foundation Grants Inc. funds nonprofits working in human services, education, healthcare, fairness and justice, and the environment, primarily in greater Boston and eastern Massachusetts. Its 2024 grants ranged from $1,000 to $3.5 million, with a median of $35,000; it accepts letters of inquiry through an online portal during its application cycle, which was not open at the time described.
Assets
$258.2M
Grants
658
Total Given
$38.2M
Liberty Mutual Foundation Inc
Boston, MA
Liberty Mutual Foundation funds nonprofits working on basic needs such as food and shelter, education and workforce development, and climate and community infrastructure, primarily in the Boston area, with grants also made in other states. Its 2024 grants had a median of $35,000 and ranged from $2,500 to $11 million; it accepts online applications on a rolling basis, with no stated deadlines.
Assets
$46.1M
Grants
706
Total Given
$50.6M
Barr Foundation
Boston, MA
The Barr Foundation funds arts and creativity, climate, education, and New England’s social sector, primarily through long-term support for organizations in New England. Its 2024 grants ranged from $100 to $3.275 million, with a median of $80,000. Its filing says it accepts only requests from preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests, though its website describes program-page inquiries and occasional open calls.
Assets
$1.9B
Grants
903
Total Given
$123.2M
American Tower Corporation Foundation
Boston, MA
Assets
$15.4M
Grants
632
Total Given
$1.7M
Good Sports Inc
Braintree, MA
Good Sports provides free sports equipment, footwear, and apparel to established schools and community organizations running ongoing youth sports and physical-activity programs in high-need communities; it serves all 50 states and Puerto Rico. In 2025, grants ranged from $5,004 to $229,133, with a median of $12,781. Youth programs and schools can apply through its community-organization application process.
Assets
$13.8M
Grants
619
Total Given
$11.2M
The Stephen Phillips Memorial Scholarship Fund Inc
Boston, MA
The Stephen Phillips Memorial funds need- and merit-based scholarships for bachelor’s students, generally awarding $3,000–$17,000 (with typical annual awards of $6,000–$10,000). Applicants must be permanent residents of Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, or Vermont, but may attend college anywhere in the United States. Students apply through the online portal; the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$41.6M
Grants
520
Total Given
$5.1M
Berkshire Bank Foundation Inc
Pittsfield, MA
Berkshire Bank Foundation supports nonprofits working on small-business growth, financial inclusion, affordable housing, and additional needs including health, food access, youth, and the arts. Recent grants ranged from $50 to $33,333, with a median of $2,500; it serves communities in Connecticut, Massachusetts, New York, Rhode Island, and Vermont, though all 2024 grant dollars went to Massachusetts. It accepts written applications from eligible 501(c)(3) public charities, with quarterly deadlines on December 15, March 15, June 15, and September 15.
Assets
$17.1M
Grants
478
Total Given
$2.0M
Givinga Foundation Inc
Wellesley, MA
GIVINGA Foundation supports donor-directed giving through donor-advised funds, charitable campaigns, and approved fiscal-sponsorship projects, with past recipients spanning causes such as children’s health, global development, racial equity, animal welfare, and food access. Reported 2020 awards ranged from about $37,000 to $179,000, but filings list no grants for 2022–2024; it has no stated geographic focus. The profile does not say whether it accepts unsolicited grant requests.
Assets
$2.9M
Grants
424
Total Given
$8.5M
Highland Street Connection
Newton, MA
Highland Street Foundation funds programs supporting children and families, including education, youth mentoring, housing, health care, the environment, and the arts, primarily in Massachusetts, with some support in California and elsewhere. Its 2024 grants ranged from $400 to $100,000, with a median of $5,000. It does not accept unsolicited requests; eligible organizations may submit a letter of inquiry after completing its online eligibility quiz.
Assets
$60.4M
Grants
410
Total Given
$4.4M
More Funders in Massachusetts
Richard & Susan Smith Family Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?