Ralph & Genevieve Horween Foundation
Ralph & Genevieve Horween is a private foundation based in Houston, Texas. In its 2024 filing, it reported giving $141,505 in grants to 10 organizations. The foundation states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds.
Key facts about Ralph & Genevieve Horween Foundation
In short: Ralph & Genevieve Horween Foundation gave $142K across 10 grants in 2024 (avg $14K), top state Virginia. 0% of 2024 grantees were new. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.
- EIN
- 76-0401800
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2024
- Annual giving (2024)
- $141,505
- Grants made (2024)
- 10
- Average grant
- $14,151
- Median grant
- $8,878
- New grantees (estimate)
- 0% first-time grantees (0 of 10, 2024)
- Total assets
- $3,751,449
- Primary geography
- Virginia (44% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
- Accepts unsolicited proposals
- No
- How to apply
- The foundation makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Full details ↓
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2024; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Financial Overview
From 2024 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing
Total Assets
$3.8M
+16.5% YoY
Annual Giving
$142K
+42.1% YoY
Grant Count
10
+0.0% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$14K
+42.1% YoY
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Ralph & Genevieve Horween Foundation reported a distributable amount of $213K for 2024 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Is Ralph & Genevieve Horween Foundation open to new grantees?
0%
first-time grantees, 2024
In 2024, 0 of 10 grantees (0%) were first-time recipients. How we count
- 100% of 2024 grantees were also funded in 2023. Method
- Giving grew 25% from 2021 to 2024. Method
- In 2024 it paid out 117% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2020–2024). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Mission & Focus Areas
The available filing information does not state a mission for the foundation. Its 2024 grants went to organizations that include schools, arts organizations, and groups working in areas such as sports, health, animal welfare, and land conservation. These examples describe grantees, not a stated mission or focus of the foundation.
St. Stephen’s and St. Agnes School describes its mission as providing a coeducational college-preparatory education from early grades through twelfth grade in a Christian environment. Peninsula Music Festival says it presents recital, chamber music, and symphony performances and promotes music appreciation and education in Door County, Wisconsin. The Trust for Public Land describes its work as creating parks and protecting land for people and livable communities.
Grantmaking
In 2024, the foundation made 10 grants totaling $141,505. Grants ranged from $5,000 to $36,500, with a median grant of $8,878. All itemized 2024 grants listed a purpose of “PROGRAMS.”
Ready to take the next step with Ralph & Genevieve Horween Foundation?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
The 2024 grant dollars went to recipients in Virginia (44%), Texas (33%), Wisconsin (14%), North Carolina (5%), and California (4%).
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 10 itemized grants.
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $100K (2023) to $142K (2024). In 2024 it made 10 grants totaling $142K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2024
The largest 2024 recipient was Wolf Trap Foundation ($37K). Together the top 10 received $142K.
Grant Size Distribution
66 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 66 grants of 66 (100%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Wolf Trap Foundation Vienna, VA | Programs | $36,500 |
| Folds of Honor Plano, TX | Programs | $22,500 |
| St Stephen's and St Agnes School Alexandria, VA | Programs | $21,250 |
| Peninsula Music Festival Ephraim, WI | Programs | $20,000 |
| Special Olympics Houston, TX | Programs | $10,000 |
| Shriners Hospital for Children Galv Galveston, TX | Programs | $7,755 |
| American Whitewater Cullowhee, NC | Programs | $7,500 |
| Friends of Downtown Friendswood Friendswood, TX | Programs | $6,000 |
| Lost Dog and Cat Foundation Alexandria, VA | Programs | $5,000 |
| The Trust for Public Land San Francisco, CA | Programs | $5,000 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grant total | Grants |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | $3,751,449 | $781,897 | $250,000 | $141,505 | 10 |
| 2023 | $3,219,552 | $441,877 | $200,000 | $99,600 | 10 |
| 2022 | $2,977,675 | $139,957 | $227,924 | $122,450 | 13 |
| Metric | 2024 | 2023 | 2022 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $3,751,449 | $3,219,552 | $2,977,675 |
| Revenue | $781,897 | $441,877 | $139,957 |
| Expenses | $250,000 | $200,000 | $227,924 |
| Qualifying Distributions | $250,000 | $200,000 | $225,000 |
| Net Investment Income | $781,897 | $120,569 | $139,957 |
| Distributable Amount | $213,247 | $245,036 | $244,767 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS November 10, 2021)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2024 filing lists Stuart Chase as Vice President; Frederick Stow Jr as President; Ashley Stow as Vice President and Secretary; and Margaret Meg Stow Crawley as Vice President and Assistant Secretary.
Ralph & Genevieve Horween Foundation is led by Frederick Stow Jr., President & T since 2022 (on filings since 2020); none of the 4 officers listed in 2024 report compensation.
Officers on the 2024 filing
Frederick Stow Jr.
President & T
Vice President → President & T, 2022
On filings since 2020
No compensation reported
Stuart Chase
Vice President
Secretary → Vice President, 2022
On filings since 2020
No compensation reported
Ashley Stow
Vice President & Secretary
On filings since 2022
No compensation reported
Margaret Meg Stow Crawley
Vice President & Asst.sec
On filings since 2022
No compensation reported
Former officers (2)
- Former: Frederick Stow (2020–2021) — President
- Former: Ralph Stow (2020–2021) — Vice President
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Contact
Mailing address: PO Box 130727, Houston, TX 77219-0727
Phone: (832) 871-4562
Frequently asked questions about Ralph & Genevieve Horween Foundation
How much does Ralph & Genevieve Horween Foundation give each year?
Ralph & Genevieve Horween Foundation gave $142K across 10 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2023 it gave $100K across 10 grants.
What is Ralph & Genevieve Horween Foundation's typical grant size?
Ralph & Genevieve Horween Foundation's median grant in 2024 was $8,878, and its average grant was $14,151, across 10 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.
Where does Ralph & Genevieve Horween Foundation give grants?
Ralph & Genevieve Horween Foundation's top state is Virginia, with 44% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. The next largest states were Texas (33%) and Wisconsin (14%). The most frequent recipient cities were Alexandria, VA (2 grants).
Does Ralph & Genevieve Horween Foundation give general operating support?
Not in 2024: none of the 10 grants with a stated purpose on Ralph & Genevieve Horween Foundation's 2024 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Programs" (10 grants).
Who are Ralph & Genevieve Horween Foundation's largest grantees?
Ralph & Genevieve Horween Foundation's largest 2024 grantees include Wolf Trap Foundation ($36,500), Folds of Honor ($22,500) and St Stephen's and St Agnes School ($21,250), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 57% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.
How large is Ralph & Genevieve Horween Foundation?
Ralph & Genevieve Horween Foundation reported $3.8M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $250K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $213K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What does Ralph & Genevieve Horween Foundation fund?
The available filing information does not state a mission for the foundation. Its 2024 grants went to organizations that include schools, arts organizations, and groups working in areas such as sports, health, animal welfare, and land conservation. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from Ralph & Genevieve Horween Foundation?
The foundation makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑
What is Ralph & Genevieve Horween Foundation's EIN?
Ralph & Genevieve Horween Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 76-0401800. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.
Does Ralph & Genevieve Horween Foundation accept unsolicited proposals?
No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Here's the math on researching Ralph & Genevieve Horween Foundation by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Ralph & Genevieve Horween Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Texas
The Chicago Community Trust
Chicago, IL
The Chicago Community Trust funds nonprofits addressing economic mobility, wealth gaps, and urgent community needs, with priorities including homeownership, small businesses, education, quality jobs, and investment in underinvested communities. Its 2025 itemized grants had a median of $26,500, though awards vary widely; grants generally benefit Chicago-region residents, and the Trust directs applicants to open opportunities but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$7.1B
Grants
4,316
Total Given
$1.2B
Communities Foundation of Texas Inc
Dallas, TX
Communities Foundation of Texas funds charitable work in health, wealth, living, and learning, with much of its grantmaking supporting North Texas nonprofits; its 2025 grants had a median of $18,779, though award sizes varied widely. Nearly all opportunities are by invitation, and its Nonprofit Gateway profile is not a grant application.
Assets
$1.2B
Grants
2,209
Total Given
$209.2M
Greater Houston Community Foundation
Houston, TX
The Foundation makes grants through donor-advised and other donor-established funds for public benefit, human services, education, and health, including initiatives addressing economic mobility and poverty in Harris County. In 2024, its median grant was $25,000; it serves Greater Houston, while grants also go to recipients elsewhere in Texas and beyond. It does not accept proposals for the upcoming High-Impact Grantmaking cycle and plans to invite selected organizations or collaboratives to apply.
Assets
$1.1B
Grants
1,724
Total Given
$232.3M
BNSF Railway Foundation
Fort Worth, TX
The BNSF Railway Foundation supports civic, cultural, educational, health and human services, environmental, and youth programs, as well as general operating costs, in communities served by BNSF across its 28-state network. Its 2025 median grant was $2,500; its current grants program lists awards of $1,000–$10,000.
Assets
$23.0M
Grants
993
Total Given
$7.0M
Baker Hughes Foundation
Houston, TX
Assets
$2.2M
Grants
990
Total Given
$3.2M
Community Foundation of North Texas (Tax
Fort Worth, TX
The Community Foundation of North Texas supports nonprofits through grants for areas including animal welfare, conservation, community development, nonprofit capacity, and opportunity, primarily in North Texas, including seven listed counties. Its 2024 grants had a median amount of $14,250, with awards ranging from $5,100 to $1.5 million. It offers competitive grants through application cycles; nonprofits cannot apply for donor-advised grants.
Assets
$544.9M
Grants
872
Total Given
$41.3M
Michael & Susan Dell Foundation
Austin, TX
The Michael & Susan Dell Foundation funds education, health, family economic stability, and nonprofit capacity, with a strong focus on children and families and its deepest investment in Texas, especially Greater Austin; it also supports work elsewhere in the U.S. and internationally. Its 2024 grants ranged from $75 to $50 million, with a median of $19,324. It accepts unsolicited requests through an online application.
Assets
$7.8B
Grants
835
Total Given
$164.6M
American Heart Association Inc
Dallas, TX
The American Heart Association funds basic, clinical, behavioral, translational, population, and other research on cardiovascular, cerebrovascular, and brain health, mainly through research awards to eligible U.S.-based nonprofit institutions. In 2025, grants ranged from $5,000 to $9.9 million, with a median award of $20,000. Applications are submitted through designated programs; the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$2.0B
Grants
833
Total Given
$198.2M
Laura and John Arnold Foundation
Houston, TX
Arnold Ventures funds evidence-based research, evaluation, and policy work in criminal justice, health care, higher education and career pathways, public finance, and infrastructure. Its 2024 grants had a median of $122,776 (ranging from $685 to $12.5 million); based in Houston, Texas, it does not accept unsolicited requests, but accepts applications through specific requests for proposals.
Assets
$4.8B
Grants
789
Total Given
$193.3M
The Dallas Foundation
Dallas, TX
The Dallas Foundation funds nonprofits and other charitable organizations working on early childhood, maternal and child health, economic mobility, homelessness, youth mental health, and community needs, primarily in Dallas County. Its 2024 itemized grants had a median of $25,000; listed 2026 cycles seek requests of $5,000–$50,000 or $15,000–$50,000, depending on the program. It accepts applications through grant cycles when open; none are currently open, and organizations outside Dallas County may be eligible if most people they serve live there.
Assets
$491.5M
Grants
788
Total Given
$87.3M
More Funders in Texas
Ralph & Genevieve Horween Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?