Pythian Sisters Home Association

Public charity · Grantmaker Boothbay, ME EIN: 01-6013970

Provide assistance for needy pythian sisters, orphan of a pythian sister, or those dependent upon a pythian sister, belonging to the grand jurisdiction of Maine.

Key facts about Pythian Sisters Home Association

EIN
01-6013970
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2025
Total assets
$439,386

Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.

Financial Overview

From 2025 IRS Form 990 · View filing

Total Assets

$439K

-2.3% YoY

Revenue

$50K

+19.3% YoY

Net Investment Income

$19K

-1.2% YoY

Expenses

$35K

-18.1% YoY

About Pythian Sisters Home Association

Based on IRS filings

Pythian Sisters Home Association is a public charity, based in Boothbay, ME. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $439K in total assets. Net investment income was $19K.

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Pythian Sisters Home Association?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

1state

States

Cities

GouldsboroBoothbayNew SharonRangleyScarborough

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$2.5K$5K$7.5K$10K5 grants2020 Total only2021 0 grants2022 0 grants2023 1 grant2024 0 grants2025

From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $5K (2020) to $10K (2024). In 2024 it made 1 grant totaling $10K.

Hatched bars: grants paid as reported on the IRS filing, which lists no individual grants for that year.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Grant Size Distribution

1 grants across all recorded years

1<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 1 grant of 1 (100%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

No grants recorded for 2025.

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Revenue
Expenses
Net Investment Income
$0$20K$40K$60K2020 2021 2022 2023 2024 2025
Metric202520242023
Total Assets$439,386$449,732$493,787
Revenue$50,226$42,095$13,983
Expenses$35,273$43,061$53,832
Net Investment Income$18,543$18,775$13,883

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS August 13, 2026)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS June 8, 2023)
  3. Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS May 15, 2026)
  4. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2023

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Pythian Sisters Home Association is led by Patricia Young, President on every filing since 2020; 6 of 7 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Patricia Young

    President

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    $100 (2020) → $0 (2025)

  • C. Stanley

    Director

    Member → Director, 2025

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    $10 (2020) → $125 (2025)

  • Gisele Haines

    Director

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    $50 (2025)

  • Anna Morton

    Assistant Treasurer

    Altruistic Committee → Assistant Treasurer, 2025

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    $75 (2020) → $150 (2025)

  • Kareen Nelson

    Assistant Treasurer

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    $50 (2020) → $575 (2025)

  • Kim Rice

    Clerk

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    $300 (2020) → $400 (2025)

  • Ryan Morin

    Vice President

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    $50 (2020) → $100 (2025)

Former officers (2)
  • Former: Donna Gregory (2020–2024) — Treasurer
  • Former: Linda Brewer (2020–2023) — Altruistic Committee

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Kareen Nelson — Asst Treasurer: $575Kareen NelsonAsst Treasurer$575Kim Rice — Clerk: $400Kim RiceClerk$400Anna Morton — Assistant Treasurer: $150Anna MortonAssistant Treasurer$150C Stanley — Director: $125C StanleyDirector$125Ryan Morin — Vice President: $100Ryan MorinVice President$100Gisele Haines — Director: $50Gisele HainesDirector$50

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $575, to Kareen Nelson (Asst Treasurer). 6 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Frequently asked questions about Pythian Sisters Home Association

How large is Pythian Sisters Home Association?

Pythian Sisters Home Association reported $439K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $50K.

Where does Pythian Sisters Home Association operate?

Pythian Sisters Home Association has awarded grants in Maine.

What is Pythian Sisters Home Association's EIN?

Pythian Sisters Home Association's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 01-6013970. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching Pythian Sisters Home Association by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Pythian Sisters Home Association's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

Maine Community Foundation Inc

Ellsworth, ME

Maine Community Foundation supports Maine communities through grants for community building, arts, education, the environment, economic development, human services, and other areas. Its 2024 grants ranged from $5,030 to $2,487,900, with a median of $17,500; the Community Building Grant Program offers awards up to $10,000. Applications are submitted online, and the information does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$807.6M

Grants

1,161

Total Given

$57.6M

TD Charitable Foundation

Portland, ME

The foundation funds education, human services, housing and financial stability, nonprofit capacity-building, and community programs, with particular consideration for underserved and low- to moderate-income communities. Its stated award range is $135–$475,000, though the 2025 median grant was $10,000; it focuses primarily on Florida, New Jersey, and New York. It accepts unsolicited requests through online applications from eligible 501(c)(3) public charities in states with a TD Bank, N.A. branch.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$9.1M

Grants

1,003

Total Given

$24.9M

Simple Generosity Foundation

Cape Elizabeth, ME

Simple Generosity Foundation supports nonprofits across varied missions, with an emphasis on smaller organizations, mainly in the United States. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,002 to $271,548, with a median of $6,287. It does not describe an open unsolicited-request process: nonprofits must join its network and be matched to a client giving program to receive donations.

Religion Related

Assets

$2.8M

Grants

339

Total Given

$4.4M

Elmina B Sewall Foundation

Freeport, ME

The Elmina B. Sewall Foundation funds equity and well-being for people, animals, and the environment in Maine, including work on animal welfare, food systems, Wabanaki communities, nature-based education, and rural partnerships. Its 2024 grants ranged from $150 to $580,000, with a median of $30,975. It accepts applications during designated periods; some programs are open to applications, while others are by invitation.

Assets

$164.8M

Grants

296

Total Given

$14.4M

Onion Foundation

Auburn, ME

The Onion Foundation funds arts and nature-related work, including arts education, public engagement, equitable outdoor access, and nature learning, primarily in Maine. In 2024, grants ranged from $1,000 to $625,000, with a median of $15,000; it accepts unsolicited requests from eligible applicants during open grant cycles.

Assets

—

Grants

245

Total Given

$4.4M

Saco & Biddeford Savings

Saco, ME

Saco & Biddeford Savings supports Maine nonprofits working in areas including food access, health and social services, education, youth, arts, elder care, and community development, with most giving concentrated in Southern Maine. Its 2025 grants ranged from $100 to $50,200, with a median of $1,000. It accepts applications from eligible 501(c)(3) organizations; no deadline is listed.

Assets

$478K

Grants

168

Total Given

$372K

Melmac Education Foundation

Augusta, ME

MELMAC Education Foundation funds college and career readiness, post-secondary student success, and partnerships linking education, communities, and employers, primarily in Maine. Its 2024 grants ranged from $2,000 to $219,873, with a median of $2,000. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$38.7M

Grants

180

Total Given

$1.4M

Bangor Savings Bank Foundation

Bangor, ME

The Bangor Savings Bank Foundation funds arts and culture, education, health and wellness, workforce and economic development, and social and community services in Maine, New Hampshire, and Essex County, Massachusetts. Published grant requests are typically $2,000–$25,000, though reported 2025 awards ranged from $1,000 to $50,000, with a median of $4,750. It accepts applications through an online process and reviews them twice a year.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$7.0M

Grants

156

Total Given

$1.2M

John T Gorman Foundation

Portland, ME

The John T. Gorman Foundation primarily supports strategies that strengthen children and families experiencing poverty, with an application-based program for Maine nonprofits addressing food insecurity and housing or shelter needs. Its 2024 grants ranged from $500 to $345,000, with a median of $20,250, and 89% of grant dollars went to Maine recipients. Most grants are invitation-only and unsolicited proposals are generally not funded; the Direct Services Grant Program accepts applications.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$223.5M

Grants

154

Total Given

$7.5M

Lunder Foundation

Portland, ME

The Lunder Foundation supports higher education, the arts, health care, and other charities, primarily in Maine and Massachusetts. Its 2025 grants ranged from $100 to $4.8 million, with a median of $2,016; it accepts requests by brief letter and lists no deadline.

Assets

$380K

Grants

153

Total Given

$24.4M

Franklin Savings Bank Community

Farmington, ME

Franklin Savings Bank Community funds qualifying charities, government organizations, and school scholarships, with emphasis on economic development, affordable housing, support for low-income or underserved people, and job retraining. It primarily serves Western and Central Maine; 2025 grants ranged from $200 to $153,000, with a median of $2,000. It accepts written requests by letter or charitable request form; no definitive deadline is stated.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$4.0M

Grants

182

Total Given

$705K

Maine Technology Institute

Portland, ME

Maine Technology Institute funds innovative products, services, and processes with potential to strengthen Maine’s economy and create jobs, especially in its targeted technology sectors. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,040 to $3 million, with a median of $50,000; first-time Business Innovation Funding grants typically start at $10,000–$30,000. Its programs focus on Maine-based applicants; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$22.5M

Grants

194

Total Given

$22.2M

More Funders in Maine

Pythian Sisters Home Association down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?