Pietro Charitable Foundation
Pietro Charitable Foundation is a private foundation, based in Pennington, NJ. IRS filing data is available from 2021 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $284K in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 6 grants totaling $13K. Net investment income was $19K.
Pietro Charitable Foundation at a glance
In short: Pietro Charitable Foundation gave $13K across 6 grants in 2025 (avg $2K), mostly in New York. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- Annual giving (2025)
- $13,000
- +11.6% vs 2024
- Grants made (2025)
- 6
- -25.0% vs 2024
- Average grant
- $2,167
- +48.8% vs 2024
- Median grant
- $1,000
- Total assets
- $284,437
- +1.4% vs 2024
- Primary geography
- New York (73% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.
Who Pietro Charitable Foundation funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 6 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Epilepsy Institute Foundation ($9K). Together the top 6 received $13K.
Grant Size Distribution
32 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 32 grants of 32 (100%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 6 itemized grants.
Cities
How Pietro Charitable Foundation gives
- Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (+4%). Method
- In 2025 it paid out 89% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2021 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $8K (2021) to $13K (2023). In 2025 it made 6 grants totaling $13K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Epilepsy Institute Foundation New York, NY | Unrestricted General | $8,500 |
| American Heart Association Dallas, TX | Unrestricted General | $1,000 |
| Alzheimers Disease Research Foundation Wellesley Hills, MA | Unrestricted General | $1,000 |
| T1 International USA Portland, OR | Unrestricted General | $1,000 |
| Like a Daisy Roslyn, NY | Unrestricted General | $1,000 |
| Community Foundation of New Jersey Morristown, NJ | Unrestricted General | $500 |
Ready to take the next step with Pietro Charitable Foundation?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Qualifying Distributions | Net Investment Income | Distributable Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $284,437 | $21,031 | $17,107 | $13,000 | 6 | $14,483 | $18,870 | $16,306 |
| 2024 | $280,512 | $21,039 | $14,834 | $11,650 | 8 | $13,544 | $19,541 | $14,514 |
| 2023 | $274,333 | $7,029 | $16,183 | $13,200 | 7 | $14,729 | $5,711 | $13,215 |
| 2022 | $283,494 | $27,238 | $16,819 | $12,441 | 8 | $14,383 | $25,897 | $15,187 |
| 2021 | $273,076 | $42,935 | $11,563 | $8,400 | 3 | — | $41,784 | $14,104 |
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Pietro Charitable Foundation reported a distributable amount of $16K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Pietro Charitable Foundation's only listed officer is Bank Of America, Trustee on every filing since 2021 (compensated).
Officers on the 2025 filing
Bank Of America
Trustee
On filings since 2021
2 hrs/week
$3K (2021) → $3K (2025)
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2021–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2025 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $3K, to Bank of America (Trustee).
Frequently asked questions about Pietro Charitable Foundation
How much does Pietro Charitable Foundation give each year?
Pietro Charitable Foundation gave $13K across 6 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $12K across 8 grants.
What is Pietro Charitable Foundation's typical grant size?
Pietro Charitable Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $1,000, and its average grant was $2,167, across 6 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Where does Pietro Charitable Foundation give grants?
Pietro Charitable Foundation gives mostly in New York: 73% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest states were Texas (8%) and Massachusetts (8%).
Does Pietro Charitable Foundation give general operating support?
Yes: 100% of Pietro Charitable Foundation's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (6 of 6) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Who are Pietro Charitable Foundation's largest grantees?
Pietro Charitable Foundation's largest 2025 grantees include Epilepsy Institute Foundation ($8,500), American Heart Association ($1,000) and Alzheimers Disease Research Foundation ($1,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 81% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is Pietro Charitable Foundation?
Pietro Charitable Foundation reported $284K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $14K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $16K (roughly 5% of its investment assets). Falling short in one year is not a violation: foundations have until the end of the next year to meet the minimum.
What is Pietro Charitable Foundation's EIN?
Pietro Charitable Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 22-3630023. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2021–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.
Data update history
(1)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2021–2025
Live grants for the work Pietro Charitable Foundation funds
Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking Open opportunities, soonest deadline first.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Pietro Charitable Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
Duke Energy Foundation
Charlotte, NC
The Duke Energy Foundation funds workforce and local economic development, disaster resilience, conservation, clean water, and economic opportunity in North Carolina, South Carolina, Florida, Ohio, Kentucky, and Indiana. Its 2024 grants had a median of $25,000; applications for grants of $20,000 or less are accepted year-round, after applicants discuss proposals with a state representative.
Assets
$1.9M
Grants
41
Total Given
$25.6M
Aetna Foundation Inc
Hartford, CT
Aetna Foundation supported health and wellness, access to health care, and related community needs; its 2021 grants ranged from $5,000 to $1 million, with a median of $40,000, and went to organizations across multiple states, especially in D.C. and Connecticut. Its 2021 filing was marked final, so it appears to have ended or be winding down grantmaking; that filing said there were no restrictions on who could apply and pointed applicants to its website for application materials.
Assets
—
Grants
65
Total Given
$7.2M
AbbVie Foundation
North Chicago, IL
The AbbVie Foundation funds health equity, access to care, cancer care, community health, and related community-led programs through partnerships and employee initiatives. Its 2025 grants ranged from $8,000 to $15 million, with a median of $25,000; it supports work worldwide, with the largest share of recent grants going to Illinois. It makes grants only to preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$265.6M
Grants
65
Total Given
$47.1M
McKesson Foundation Inc
Dallas, TX
The McKesson Foundation funds cancer support and care, healthcare workforce pathways, and emergency response, with grants mainly supporting organizations in the United States and Canada. Its 2025 grants had a median of $100,000, though amounts ranged from $10,000 to about $2.47 million. Its filing says it does not accept unsolicited requests, while its application page describes an online application process with stated submission windows.
Assets
$1.6M
Grants
76
Total Given
$16.6M
Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation Inc
Princeton, NJ
The Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation supports health access and stronger health systems, with a focus on adult and pediatric cancers, blood disorders, brain health, and clinical-trial participation in the United States, Brazil, India, and ten Sub-Saharan African countries. In 2024, its median grant was about $134,000, though awards varied widely; it does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests, and advises prospective applicants to contact the Foundation about its process.
Assets
$83.3M
Grants
144
Total Given
$67.7M
United Way Worldwide
Alexandria, VA
United Way Worldwide funds community programs focused on youth opportunity, health, financial security, education, and disaster relief, with 2024 grants made across multiple U.S. states and internationally. Its 209 reported grants ranged from $5,100 to $736,333, with a median of $22,675. It does not state whether it accepts unsolicited grant requests.
Assets
$68.0M
Grants
209
Total Given
$11.4M
More similar funders
More Funders in New Jersey
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from Pietro Charitable Foundation's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
Pietro Charitable Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?