Paul W Evelyn J and Stephen Paul Butcher
Paul W Evelyn J and Stephen Paul Butcher is a private foundation, based in Hannibal, MO. IRS filing data is available from 2021 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $791K in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 3 grants totaling $40K. Net investment income was $39K.
Paul W Evelyn J and Stephen Paul Butcher at a glance
In short: Paul W Evelyn J and Stephen Paul Butcher gave $40K across 3 grants in 2025 (avg $13K), mostly in Missouri. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- Annual giving (2025)
- $40,411
- +7.9% vs 2024
- Grants made (2025)
- 3
- +0.0% vs 2024
- Average grant
- $13,470
- +7.9% vs 2024
- Median grant
- $9,595
- Total assets
- $790,879
- -0.6% vs 2024
- Primary geography
- Missouri (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.
Who Paul W Evelyn J and Stephen Paul Butcher funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 3 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Truman State University ($29K). Together the top 3 received $40K.
Grant Size Distribution
13 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 13 grants of 13 (100%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 3 itemized grants.
States
Cities
How Paul W Evelyn J and Stephen Paul Butcher gives
- Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (+13%). Method
- In 2025 it paid out 97% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2022 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $36K (2022) to $40K (2025). In 2025 it made 3 grants totaling $40K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Truman State University Kirksville, MO | Scholarship for brayden moss, waylon anders and aubrielle krigbaum | $28,795 |
| Culver Stockton College Canton, MO | Scholarship for Hailey Golian | $9,595 |
| First United Methodist Church of Hannibal Hannibal, MO | Annual Contribution | $2,021 |
Ready to take the next step with Paul W Evelyn J and Stephen Paul Butcher?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Qualifying Distributions | Net Investment Income | Distributable Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $790,879 | $45,867 | $50,994 | $40,411 | 3 | $40,411 | $39,254 | $41,631 |
| 2024 | $796,006 | $16,618 | $48,292 | $37,465 | 3 | $37,465 | $13,725 | $40,410 |
| 2023 | $827,680 | $-37,251 | $49,613 | $39,895 | 4 | $39,895 | $19,205 | $37,468 |
| 2022 | $914,544 | $16,905 | $47,362 | $35,719 | 3 | $35,719 | $11,637 | $39,892 |
| 2021 | $945,001 | $954,394 | $9,393 | — | — | — | $64,000 | $35,719 |
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Paul W Evelyn J and Stephen Paul Butcher reported a distributable amount of $42K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Paul W Evelyn J and Stephen Paul Butcher's only listed officer is HNB National Bank, Trustee on every filing since 2021 (compensated).
Officers on the 2025 filing
HNB National Bank
Trustee
On filings since 2021
2 hrs/week
$7K (2021) → $10K (2025)
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2021–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2025 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $10K, to HNB National Bank (Trustee).
Frequently asked questions about Paul W Evelyn J and Stephen Paul Butcher
How much does Paul W Evelyn J and Stephen Paul Butcher give each year?
Paul W Evelyn J and Stephen Paul Butcher gave $40K across 3 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $37K across 3 grants.
What is Paul W Evelyn J and Stephen Paul Butcher's typical grant size?
Paul W Evelyn J and Stephen Paul Butcher's median grant in 2025 was $9,595, and its average grant was $13,470, across 3 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Where does Paul W Evelyn J and Stephen Paul Butcher give grants?
Paul W Evelyn J and Stephen Paul Butcher gives mostly in Missouri: 100% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there.
Does Paul W Evelyn J and Stephen Paul Butcher give general operating support?
Not in 2025: none of the 3 grants with a stated purpose on Paul W Evelyn J and Stephen Paul Butcher's 2025 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support.
How large is Paul W Evelyn J and Stephen Paul Butcher?
Paul W Evelyn J and Stephen Paul Butcher reported $791K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $40K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $42K (roughly 5% of its investment assets). Falling short in one year is not a violation: foundations have until the end of the next year to meet the minimum.
What is Paul W Evelyn J and Stephen Paul Butcher's EIN?
Paul W Evelyn J and Stephen Paul Butcher's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 86-6712030. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2021–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.
Data update history
(6)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS January 12, 2023)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS April 13, 2023)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS March 8, 2024)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS March 5, 2025)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS March 5, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2021–2025
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Paul W Evelyn J and Stephen Paul Butcher's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Missouri
Pittsfield High School Class of 1954 Scholarship Fund Inc
Pittsfield, IL
The foundation primarily funds education through four-year grants paid directly to selected students’ colleges, and its board may also support other charities. In 2025, it awarded 19 grants totaling $121,825, ranging from $270 to $27,956, mostly to recipients in Illinois and Missouri. Students apply through their school guidance counselor; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests from other organizations.
Assets
$2.2M
Grants
19
Total Given
$122K
Hardin Memorial Scholarship Foundation
Dallas, TX
The foundation funds scholarships for students who graduate from Pike County, Missouri, with 2025 awards going to Missouri colleges, universities, and a career center. In 2025, it gave 11 grants totaling $109,444, ranging from $4,266 to $32,988. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$1.6M
Grants
11
Total Given
$109K
Swope Memorial Loan Fund
Milwaukee, WI
Assets
$448K
Grants
6
Total Given
$41K
MFA Oil Foundation
Columbia, MO
MFA Oil Foundation supports nonprofit organizations focused on education, youth, human services, and civic endeavors, especially projects involving reusable, long-lasting items; its 2026 program also offers larger grants for community development. Grants are typically up to $2,000, though larger awards are possible, and support goes to communities where MFA Oil has a significant presence, particularly rural areas across its seven-state market. Applications are submitted through its online system; unsolicited requests are not addressed in the profile.
Assets
$6.2M
Grants
150
Total Given
$341K
Michelmann Foundation
Quincy, IL
Assets
$269K
Grants
33
Total Given
$20K
LPL Financial Foundation Inc
Boston, MA
Assets
$7.8M
Grants
55
Total Given
$2.3M
More similar funders
More Funders in Missouri
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from Paul W Evelyn J and Stephen Paul Butcher's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
Paul W Evelyn J and Stephen Paul Butcher down — hundreds of funders to go?