Osakis Economic Development Corporation

501(c)(4) organization Osakis, MN EIN: 41-1474752

The organization conducts activities to promote community economic development.

Osakis Economic Development Corporation at a glance

In short: Osakis Economic Development Corporation reported $2K in grants paid in 2020 (a total; its filing lists no individual grants). Source: 2020 IRS Form 990.

Grants paid (2020)
$1,732 — reported as a total on the IRS filing, without an itemized list
-96.0% vs 2019
Total assets
$22,670
-47.4% vs 2019
Revenue (2020)
$-18,332
-266.3% vs 2019
Net investment income (2020)
$17
-52.8% vs 2019
Expenses (2020)
$1,421
-47.6% vs 2019
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2020 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990, 2020; updated September 2026.

Who Osakis Economic Development Corporation funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Grant Size Distribution

1 grant across all recorded years

1<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 1 grant of 1 (100%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

1state

States

Cities

Osakis

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$20K$40K$60K1 grant2019 Total only2020

From 2019 to 2020, annual grant giving ranged from $2K (2020) to $43K (2019). In 2020 it reported $2K in grants paid, as a total without an itemized list.

Hatched bars: grants paid as reported on the IRS filing, which lists no individual grants for that year.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
City of Osakis Osakis, MNGrants to the city of osakis for the purpose of promotion of economic development.$43,000
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Osakis Economic Development Corporation?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsNet Investment Income
2020$22,670$-18,332$1,421$1,732Total only$17
2019$43,125$11,024$2,713$43,0001$36

"Total only": grants paid as reported on the IRS filing, which lists no individual grants for that year.

About Osakis Economic Development Corporation

Based on IRS filings

Osakis Economic Development Corporation is a public charity, based in Osakis, MN. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2020. As of 2020, the organization holds $23K in total assets. In 2020, it reported $2K in grants paid as a total on its IRS filing, without an itemized list. Net investment income was $17.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Osakis Economic Development Corporation is led by Becky Hensley, President on every filing since 2019; none of the 7 officers listed in 2020 report compensation.

Officers on the 2020 filing

  • Becky Hensley

    President

    On filings since 2019

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Greg Weiler

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Lillian Ortendahl

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Shad Schmidt

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Greta Koch

    Treasurer

    On filings since 2019

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Nichol Nessman

    Secretary

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Rodger Larson

    Vice President

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2020. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Frequently asked questions about Osakis Economic Development Corporation

How much does Osakis Economic Development Corporation give each year?

Osakis Economic Development Corporation reported $2K in grants paid in 2020 on its 2020 IRS Form 990, as a total without an itemized list of grants. In 2019 it gave $43K across 1 grant.

How large is Osakis Economic Development Corporation?

Osakis Economic Development Corporation reported $23K in total assets on its 2020 IRS Form 990.

Where does Osakis Economic Development Corporation operate?

Osakis Economic Development Corporation has awarded grants in Minnesota.

What is Osakis Economic Development Corporation's EIN?

Osakis Economic Development Corporation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 41-1474752. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2020.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Data update history

(3)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS July 7, 2020)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS August 2, 2021)
  3. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2019–2020

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Osakis Economic Development Corporation's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Similar funders in Minnesota

The Minneapolis Foundation

Minneapolis, MN

The Minneapolis Foundation funds civic, social, and economic needs, including economic mobility, education, health, the environment, arts, and human services, with most grant dollars going to Minnesota. Its 2025 grants had a median of $25,000, though amounts varied widely. It says no funding opportunities are currently open; whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$1.2B

Grants

1,565

Total Given

$121.7M

Saint Paul & Minnesota Foundation

St. Paul, MN

The Saint Paul & Minnesota Foundation funds community-led work in areas including economic opportunity, health and human services, youth and education, housing, and organizational capacity. Its 2025 grants had a median of $26,000; listed programs offer up to $50,000 for eligible East Metro work and up to $15,000 for qualifying Minnesota organizations. It accepts applications through specific programs, including rolling application opportunities; the Community Solutions Grant Program serves Dakota, Ramsey, and Washington counties.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$1.7B

Grants

1,473

Total Given

$107.2M

The Richard M Schulze Family Foundation

Minneapolis, MN

The Richard M. Schulze Family Foundation funds education, health care, and human services, including college scholarships, with most support benefiting working- and middle-class families in specified Minnesota and Florida counties; it also makes some national grants. Its 2024 grants had a median of $5,000, though awards ranged from $50 to $10 million. It plans to move to invitation-only grantmaking in 2027; whether it currently accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.

Assets

$218.3M

Grants

1,431

Total Given

$47.9M

First Children's Finance

Minneapolis, MN

First Children’s Finance supports child care businesses and communities through grants for projects such as facility improvements, feasibility studies, and provider support, as well as loans paired with technical assistance. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,283 to $50,000, with a median of $11,839; grant examples are in Minnesota, Vermont, and Wisconsin, while its loan fund serves 10 states.

Human Services

Assets

$7.0M

Grants

80

Total Given

$1.1M

C K Blandin Foundation

Grand Rapids, MN

The C K Blandin Foundation funds rural Minnesota projects that build community wealth, improve rural places, strengthen small communities, and support capacity-building, with a primary focus on the Grand Rapids area. Rural grants are typically $25,000–$150,000; it does not accept unsolicited requests, offering opportunities through invitations or competitive RFPs.

Assets

$506.3M

Grants

931

Total Given

$15.8M

Otto Bremer Trust

St. Paul, MN

The Otto Bremer Trust funds organizations and projects addressing community needs and opportunities, including health care and social services, in Minnesota, Montana, North Dakota, and Wisconsin. In 2025, grants ranged from $3,500 to $4.2 million, with a median of $150,000. It does not accept unsolicited requests or direct grant applications; Community Responsive Fund grants are offered through selected intermediaries.

Assets

$1.4B

Grants

180

Total Given

$57.2M

More similar funders

More Funders in Minnesota

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Osakis Economic Development Corporation's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Osakis Economic Development Corporation down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?