Northern Plains Potato Growers Assoc
Northern Plains Potato Growers Assoc is a private foundation, based in East Grand Forks, MN. IRS filing data is available from 2021 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $118K in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 3 grants totaling $8K. Net investment income was $5K.
Northern Plains Potato Growers Assoc at a glance
In short: Northern Plains Potato Growers Assoc gave $8K across 3 grants in 2025 (avg $3K), mostly in North Dakota. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- Annual giving (2025)
- $7,500
- -28.6% vs 2024
- Grants made (2025)
- 3
- -40.0% vs 2024
- Average grant
- $2,500
- +19.0% vs 2024
- Median grant
- $2,500
- Total assets
- $118,044
- +2.8% vs 2024
- Primary geography
- North Dakota (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.
Who Northern Plains Potato Growers Assoc funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Grant Size Distribution
14 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 14 grants of 14 (100%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 3 itemized grants.
States
Cities
How Northern Plains Potato Growers Assoc gives
- Giving grew 150% from 2022 to 2025. Method
- In 2025 it paid out 209% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2021 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $2K (2021) to $11K (2024). In 2025 it made 3 grants totaling $8K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 3 individual scholarships Recipients not named | — | $7,500 |
Ready to take the next step with Northern Plains Potato Growers Assoc?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Qualifying Distributions | Net Investment Income | Distributable Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $118,044 | $16,394 | $13,215 | $7,500 | 3 | $11,725 | $4,593 | $5,603 |
| 2024 | $114,865 | $10,899 | $11,678 | $10,500 | 5 | $11,007 | $2,533 | $5,169 |
| 2023 | $115,644 | $4,630 | $6,088 | $3,000 | 2 | $5,420 | $1,876 | $4,791 |
| 2022 | $117,102 | $18,617 | $5,216 | $3,000 | 2 | $4,459 | $10,207 | $4,870 |
| 2021 | $103,701 | $29,280 | $3,303 | $2,000 | 2 | — | $14,048 | $4,318 |
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Northern Plains Potato Growers Assoc reported a distributable amount of $6K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Northern Plains Potato Growers Assoc is led by Casey Hoverson, Chairman since 2024 (on filings since 2023); none of the 5 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Casey Hoverson
Chairman
Director → Chairman, 2024
On filings since 2023
0 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Sander Dagen
Vice Chair
Director → Vice Chair, 2024
On filings since 2021
0 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Peter Imle
Past Chair
Director → Past Chair, 2024
On filings since 2023
0 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Tom Nilson
Secretary & Treasurer
On filings since 2024
0 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Nick Desautel
Board Member
New on the 2025 filing
0 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (5)
- Former: David Fedje (2021–2023) — Director
- Former: Eric Halverson (2021–2023) — President
- Former: Greg Campbell (2021–2023) — Director
- Former: Matt Vanray (2021–2023) — Secretary & Treasurer
- Former: Tj Hall (2021–2023) — Vice President
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2021–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Frequently asked questions about Northern Plains Potato Growers Assoc
How much does Northern Plains Potato Growers Assoc give each year?
Northern Plains Potato Growers Assoc gave $8K across 3 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $11K across 5 grants.
What is Northern Plains Potato Growers Assoc's typical grant size?
Northern Plains Potato Growers Assoc's median grant in 2025 was $2,500, and its average grant was $2,500, across 3 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Where does Northern Plains Potato Growers Assoc give grants?
Northern Plains Potato Growers Assoc gives mostly in North Dakota: 100% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there.
Does Northern Plains Potato Growers Assoc give general operating support?
Not in 2025: none of the 3 grants with a stated purpose on Northern Plains Potato Growers Assoc's 2025 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Scholarship" (3 grants).
How large is Northern Plains Potato Growers Assoc?
Northern Plains Potato Growers Assoc reported $118K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $12K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $6K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What is Northern Plains Potato Growers Assoc's EIN?
Northern Plains Potato Growers Assoc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 36-3460092. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2021–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.
Data update history
(6)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS February 10, 2022)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS April 27, 2023)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS May 14, 2024)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS May 7, 2025)
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 11, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2021–2024
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Northern Plains Potato Growers Assoc's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Similar funders in Minnesota
The Minneapolis Foundation
Minneapolis, MN
The Minneapolis Foundation funds civic, social, and economic needs, including economic mobility, education, health, the environment, arts, and human services, with most grant dollars going to Minnesota. Its 2025 grants had a median of $25,000, though amounts varied widely. It says no funding opportunities are currently open; whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.
Assets
$1.2B
Grants
1,565
Total Given
$121.7M
Saint Paul & Minnesota Foundation
St. Paul, MN
The Saint Paul & Minnesota Foundation funds community-led work in areas including economic opportunity, health and human services, youth and education, housing, and organizational capacity. Its 2025 grants had a median of $26,000; listed programs offer up to $50,000 for eligible East Metro work and up to $15,000 for qualifying Minnesota organizations. It accepts applications through specific programs, including rolling application opportunities; the Community Solutions Grant Program serves Dakota, Ramsey, and Washington counties.
Assets
$1.7B
Grants
1,473
Total Given
$107.2M
The Richard M Schulze Family Foundation
Minneapolis, MN
The Richard M. Schulze Family Foundation funds education, health care, and human services, including college scholarships, with most support benefiting working- and middle-class families in specified Minnesota and Florida counties; it also makes some national grants. Its 2024 grants had a median of $5,000, though awards ranged from $50 to $10 million. It plans to move to invitation-only grantmaking in 2027; whether it currently accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.
Assets
$218.3M
Grants
1,431
Total Given
$47.9M
C K Blandin Foundation
Grand Rapids, MN
The C K Blandin Foundation funds rural Minnesota projects that build community wealth, improve rural places, strengthen small communities, and support capacity-building, with a primary focus on the Grand Rapids area. Rural grants are typically $25,000–$150,000; it does not accept unsolicited requests, offering opportunities through invitations or competitive RFPs.
Assets
$506.3M
Grants
931
Total Given
$15.8M
Otto Bremer Trust
St. Paul, MN
The Otto Bremer Trust funds organizations and projects addressing community needs and opportunities, including health care and social services, in Minnesota, Montana, North Dakota, and Wisconsin. In 2025, grants ranged from $3,500 to $4.2 million, with a median of $150,000. It does not accept unsolicited requests or direct grant applications; Community Responsive Fund grants are offered through selected intermediaries.
Assets
$1.4B
Grants
180
Total Given
$57.2M
The McKnight Foundation
Minneapolis, MN
The McKnight Foundation funds arts and culture, resilient food systems, Midwest climate and energy, neuroscience, and equitable communities, with Minnesota a primary focus for several programs and work also extending beyond the state. Its 2024 grants had a median of $100,000; prospective applicants should first discuss fit with program staff, who provide proposal instructions if the work can be considered.
Assets
$2.7B
Grants
790
Total Given
$145.9M
More similar funders
More Funders in Minnesota
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from Northern Plains Potato Growers Assoc's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
Northern Plains Potato Growers Assoc down — hundreds of funders to go?