Northern Plains Potato Growers Assoc
Research and promotion of potatoes grown in Minnesota and North Dakota.
Northern Plains Potato Growers Assoc at a glance
In short: Northern Plains Potato Growers Assoc gave $172K across 2 grants in 2025 (avg $86K), mostly in North Dakota. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.
- Annual giving (2025)
- $171,823
- -58.9% vs 2024
- Grants made (2025)
- 2
- -50.0% vs 2024
- Average grant
- $85,912
- -17.8% vs 2024
- Median grant
- $85,912
- Total assets
- $1,396,789
- -10.9% vs 2024
- Primary geography
- North Dakota (94% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990, 2025 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.
Who Northern Plains Potato Growers Assoc funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 2 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was North Dakota State University ($161K). Together the top 2 received $172K.
Grant Size Distribution
17 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 12 grants of 17 (71%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 2 itemized grants.
Cities
How Northern Plains Potato Growers Assoc gives
- Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (−8%). Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2021 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $172K (2025) to $418K (2024). In 2025 it made 2 grants totaling $172K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| North Dakota State University Fargo, ND | Research grants for the study of breeding, growing, and irrigation on potatoes. | $161,210 |
| Northern Plains Potato Growers Assoc Research and Education Foundation East Grand Forks, MN | Scholarships | $10,613 |
Ready to take the next step with Northern Plains Potato Growers Assoc?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Net Investment Income |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $1,396,789 | $1,154,904 | $1,130,087 | $171,823 | 2 | $56,104 |
| 2024 | $1,568,228 | $966,652 | $1,142,465 | $417,895 | 4 | $60,019 |
| 2023 | $1,529,753 | $1,120,942 | $1,162,300 | $178,575 | 3 | $-9,889 |
| 2022 | $1,495,579 | $889,462 | $885,537 | $186,088 | 4 | $21,852 |
| 2021 | $1,522,109 | $1,231,654 | $767,183 | $189,646 | 4 | $418,802 |
About Northern Plains Potato Growers Assoc
Based on IRS filings
Northern Plains Potato Growers Assoc is a public charity focused on Agriculture, based in East Grand Forks, MN. IRS filing data is available from 2021 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $1.4M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 2 grants totaling $172K. Net investment income was $56K.
Focus Areas
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Northern Plains Potato Growers Assoc is led by Gary Shields, President since 2025 (on filings since 2021); 2 of 12 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Gary Shields
President
Potato Associate Representative → President, 2025
On filings since 2021
40 hrs/week
$54K (2025)
Casey Hoverson
Chairman & Process Representative
Secretary, Treasurer & Process Representative → Vice Chairman & Process Representative, 2024
Vice Chairman & Process Representative → Chairman & Process Representative, 2025
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Jacey Kuersteiner
Officer & Finance Manager
On filings since 2023
40 hrs/week
$46K (2023) → $76K (2025)
David Fedje
Nd District
Chairman → Past Chairman & Nd District Representative, 2024
Past Chairman & Nd District Representative → Nd District, 2025
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Peter Imle
Past Chairman & Mn Council Representative
Vice Chairman → Chairman, Mn District Representative & Mn Council Representative, 2024
Chairman, Mn District Representative & Mn Council Representative → Past Chairman & Mn Council Representative, 2025
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Sander Dagen
Vice Chairman & Mn District Representative
Mn District Representative → Secretary, Treasurer & Mn District Representative, 2024
Secretary, Treasurer & Mn District Representative → Vice Chairman & Mn District Representative, 2025
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Tj Hall
Nd District Representative
Past Chairman → Nd District Representative, 2023
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Nick Desautel
Nd Council Representative
On filings since 2022
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Cole Vculek
Nd District Representative
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Tom Nilson
Secretary, Treasurer & Nd District Representative
Nd District Representative → Secretary, Treasurer & Nd District Representative, 2025
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Chris Midgarden
Potato Associate Representative
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Justin Kyllo
Nd District Representative
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (6)
- Former: Donavon Johnson (2021–2024) — President
- Former: Eric Halverson (2021–2024) — Nd District Representative
- Former: Greg Campbell (2021–2023) — Nd District Representative
- Former: Matt Vanray (2021–2023) — Past Chairman
- Former: Diane Peycke (2021–2022) — Finance Director
- Former: Michael Hoverson (2021–2022) — Nd Council Representative
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2021–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2025 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $76K, to Jacey Kuersteiner (Office/Finance Manager). 2 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.
Frequently asked questions about Northern Plains Potato Growers Assoc
How much does Northern Plains Potato Growers Assoc give each year?
Northern Plains Potato Growers Assoc gave $172K across 2 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $418K across 4 grants.
How large is Northern Plains Potato Growers Assoc?
Northern Plains Potato Growers Assoc reported $1.4M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $1.2M.
What is Northern Plains Potato Growers Assoc?
Northern Plains Potato Growers Assoc is a public charity focused on Agriculture, based in East Grand Forks, MN. It holds $1.4M in total assets as of 2025.
Where does Northern Plains Potato Growers Assoc operate?
Northern Plains Potato Growers Assoc has awarded grants in District of Columbia, Minnesota, North Dakota.
What is Northern Plains Potato Growers Assoc's EIN?
Northern Plains Potato Growers Assoc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 41-0686685. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2021–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.
Data update history
(6)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS February 10, 2022)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS April 27, 2023)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS April 25, 2024)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS March 5, 2025)
- Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 7, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2021–2024
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Northern Plains Potato Growers Assoc's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Similar funders in Minnesota
The Minneapolis Foundation
Minneapolis, MN
The Minneapolis Foundation funds civic, social, and economic needs, including economic mobility, education, health, the environment, arts, and human services, with most grant dollars going to Minnesota. Its 2025 grants had a median of $25,000, though amounts varied widely. It says no funding opportunities are currently open; whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.
Assets
$1.2B
Grants
1,565
Total Given
$121.7M
Saint Paul & Minnesota Foundation
St. Paul, MN
The Saint Paul & Minnesota Foundation funds community-led work in areas including economic opportunity, health and human services, youth and education, housing, and organizational capacity. Its 2025 grants had a median of $26,000; listed programs offer up to $50,000 for eligible East Metro work and up to $15,000 for qualifying Minnesota organizations. It accepts applications through specific programs, including rolling application opportunities; the Community Solutions Grant Program serves Dakota, Ramsey, and Washington counties.
Assets
$1.7B
Grants
1,473
Total Given
$107.2M
The Richard M Schulze Family Foundation
Minneapolis, MN
The Richard M. Schulze Family Foundation funds education, health care, and human services, including college scholarships, with most support benefiting working- and middle-class families in specified Minnesota and Florida counties; it also makes some national grants. Its 2024 grants had a median of $5,000, though awards ranged from $50 to $10 million. It plans to move to invitation-only grantmaking in 2027; whether it currently accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.
Assets
$218.3M
Grants
1,431
Total Given
$47.9M
First Children's Finance
Minneapolis, MN
First Children’s Finance supports child care businesses and communities through grants for projects such as facility improvements, feasibility studies, and provider support, as well as loans paired with technical assistance. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,283 to $50,000, with a median of $11,839; grant examples are in Minnesota, Vermont, and Wisconsin, while its loan fund serves 10 states.
Assets
$7.0M
Grants
80
Total Given
$1.1M
C K Blandin Foundation
Grand Rapids, MN
The C K Blandin Foundation funds rural Minnesota projects that build community wealth, improve rural places, strengthen small communities, and support capacity-building, with a primary focus on the Grand Rapids area. Rural grants are typically $25,000–$150,000; it does not accept unsolicited requests, offering opportunities through invitations or competitive RFPs.
Assets
$506.3M
Grants
931
Total Given
$15.8M
Otto Bremer Trust
St. Paul, MN
The Otto Bremer Trust funds organizations and projects addressing community needs and opportunities, including health care and social services, in Minnesota, Montana, North Dakota, and Wisconsin. In 2025, grants ranged from $3,500 to $4.2 million, with a median of $150,000. It does not accept unsolicited requests or direct grant applications; Community Responsive Fund grants are offered through selected intermediaries.
Assets
$1.4B
Grants
180
Total Given
$57.2M
More similar funders
More Funders in Minnesota
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from Northern Plains Potato Growers Assoc's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
Northern Plains Potato Growers Assoc down — hundreds of funders to go?