Northeast Community College Foundation logo

Northeast Community College Foundation

Public charity · Grantmaker Norfolk, NE EIN: 51-0145185 Website

The purpose of the Northeast Community College Foundation is to assist northeast community college in furthering its educational goals and objectives, and to provide financial support to northeast students, enabling them to afford tuition and other fees for college.

Northeast Community College Foundation at a glance

In short: Northeast Community College Foundation gave $3.2M across 4 grants in 2025 (avg $812K), mostly in Nebraska. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.

Annual giving (2025)
$3,249,284
+156.4% vs 2024
Grants made (2025)
4
+33.3% vs 2024
Average grant
$812,321
+92.3% vs 2024
Median grant
$985,608
Total assets
$42,601,471
+13.1% vs 2024
Primary geography
Nebraska (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.

Who Northeast Community College Foundation funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top recipient in 2025

Northeast Community College: $3.2M across 4 grantsNortheast Community College$3.2M · 4 grants

The largest 2025 recipient was Northeast Community College ($3.2M across 4 grants).

Grant Size Distribution

14 grants across all recorded years

<$50K1$50–100K2$100–250K1$250–500K6$500K–1M3$1–5M1$5M+

The most common grant size was in the $500K–1M range: 6 grants of 14 (43%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

1state

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 4 itemized grants.

States

Cities

Norfolk

How Northeast Community College Foundation gives

  • Giving grew 26% from 2022 to 2025. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$2M$4M$6M$8M1 grant2020 2 grants2021 2 grants2022 3 grants2023 3 grants2024 4 grants2025

From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $644K (2020) to $6.9M (2021). In 2025 it made 4 grants totaling $3.2M.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Northeast Community College Norfolk, NEScholarships$1,202,469
Northeast Community College Norfolk, NEBLDGS and Equip$993,986
Northeast Community College Norfolk, NEOther Support Servic$977,229
Northeast Community College Norfolk, NESoftware$75,600
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Northeast Community College Foundation?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsNet Investment Income
2025$42,601,471$6,190,795$3,681,446$3,249,2844$1,776,579
2024$37,670,424$3,112,369$1,673,146$1,267,1573$1,719,893
2023$33,877,638$2,596,786$3,840,052$3,491,8723$1,596,970
2022$33,653,579$4,360,839$2,803,478$2,586,9282$2,366,259
2021$37,219,205$17,629,165$6,976,067$6,852,7182$811,827
2020$21,001,981$5,117,411$783,516$644,4001$644,119

About Northeast Community College Foundation

Based on IRS filings

Northeast Community College Foundation is a public charity focused on Education, based in Norfolk, NE. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $42.6M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 4 grants totaling $3.2M. Net investment income was $1.8M.

Focus Areas

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Northeast Community College Foundation is led by William Tielke, President on every filing since 2020; 1 of 27 officers listed in 2025 is compensated.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • William Tielke

    President

    On filings since 2020

    0.3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Arlan Kuehn

    Director

    Board of Governors Representative → Director, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    0.3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • E. Clark Gotschall

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    0.3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • G. Tom Surber MD

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    0.3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jeanna Reigle

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    0.3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jeff Scherer

    Director

    Board of Governors Representative → Board of Gov Re, 2023

    Board of Gov Re → Director, 2025

    On filings since 2020

    0.3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Robert Cox

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    0.3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Roy Miller

    Director

    Treasurer → Director, 2025

    On filings since 2020

    0.3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Wayne Studebaker

    Director & Past

    Director → Director & Past President, 2021

    Director & Past President → Director & Past, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    0.3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Juan Sandoval

    Director

    On filings since 2021

    0.3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Leisa Piper

    Director

    On filings since 2021

    0.3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Melissa Figueroa

    Director

    On filings since 2021

    0.3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Amy Shane

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    0.3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Courtney Schmidt

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    0.3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Del Ames

    Director

    Board of Governor → Director, 2024

    On filings since 2023

    0.3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Matt Dresden

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    0.3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Mitch Hyde

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    0.3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Justine Knapp

    Director

    On filings since 2024

    0.3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Brian Schwartz

    Director

    New on the 2025 filing

    0.3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • John Kozyra

    Director

    New on the 2025 filing

    0.3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Mark Zimmerer

    Director

    New on the 2025 filing

    0.3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Tracy Kruse

    Executive Di

    Executive Director → Executive Di, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    6 hrs/week

    $18K (2021) → $21K (2025)

  • Matt Hoesing

    Secretary

    Director → Secretary, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    0.3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Paula Havranek

    Vice President

    Director → Secretary & Director, 2023

    Secretary & Director → Vice President, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    0.3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Scott Gray

    Ex-Officio D

    Ex-Officio Director & Treasurer → Ex-Officio D, 2023

    On filings since 2021

    0.3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Brian Chapman

    Treasurer

    Director → Treasurer, 2025

    On filings since 2024

    0.3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Terry Nelson

    Board of Gov Re

    New on the 2025 filing

    0.3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (8)
  • Former: Metka Kolm (2023–2024) — Director
  • Former: Brian Weatherwax (2024) — Director
  • Former: Kathryn Svik (2020–2023) — Director
  • Former: Kendra Barnes (2020–2023) — Vice President
  • Former: Walter Aschoff (2020–2023) — Director
  • Former: Greta Roth (2020–2022) — Secretary
  • Former: Larry Poessnecker (2020–2022) — Director
  • Former: Coleen Bressler (2020) — Ex-Officio Treasurer

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Dr Tracy Kruse — Executive Di: $21KDr Tracy KruseExecutive Di$21K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $21K, to Dr Tracy Kruse (Executive Di).

Frequently asked questions about Northeast Community College Foundation

How much does Northeast Community College Foundation give each year?

Northeast Community College Foundation gave $3.2M across 4 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $1.3M across 3 grants.

What is Northeast Community College Foundation's typical grant size?

Northeast Community College Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $985,608, and its average grant was $812,321, across 4 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990.

Where does Northeast Community College Foundation give grants?

Northeast Community College Foundation gives mostly in Nebraska: 100% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990 went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Norfolk, NE (4 grants).

Does Northeast Community College Foundation give general operating support?

Not in 2025: none of the 4 grants with a stated purpose on Northeast Community College Foundation's 2025 IRS Form 990 were described as general or operating support.

How large is Northeast Community College Foundation?

Northeast Community College Foundation reported $42.6M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $6.2M.

What is Northeast Community College Foundation?

Northeast Community College Foundation is a public charity focused on Education, based in Norfolk, NE. It holds $42.6M in total assets as of 2025.

What is Northeast Community College Foundation's EIN?

Northeast Community College Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 51-0145185. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Data update history

(7)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS November 16, 2020)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS November 9, 2021)
  3. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS November 8, 2022)
  4. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS November 2, 2023)
  5. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS November 15, 2024)
  6. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS November 10, 2025)
  7. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2025

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Northeast Community College Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders with grantees in common

Berneice M Hopper Private Foundation

Omaha, NE

The Berneice M. Hopper Private Foundation supports scholarships and general-use or general-support needs, with grants mainly benefiting schools, colleges, and community organizations in Nebraska; it also gave a small share in Iowa and South Dakota. In 2025, it made 28 grants totaling $123,703, with a median award of $3,000. It does not restrict giving to preselected organizations; scholarship applicants must use the foundation’s application and meet its stated eligibility requirements.

Assets

$1.5M

Grants

28

Total Given

$124K

I Car Education Foundation

Hoffman Estates, IL

I CAR Education Foundation funds collision repair education, including student scholarships and school programs’ equipment, supplies, and training resources, across the United States. Its 2024 grants ranged from $5,016 to $163,152, with a median of $28,104; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$6.7M

Grants

333

Total Given

$11.5M

The Hawks Foundation

Omaha, NE

The Hawks Foundation’s stated focus is higher education and ethical business practices, with recent grants also supporting education, mental health, arts, healthcare, legal aid, and community programs. In 2024, its median grant was $40,000, with awards ranging from $1,000 to nearly $6.95 million; 76% of grant dollars went to Nebraska and 22% to New York. The filing describes application procedures for scholarship and medical program applicants but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited grant requests.

Education

Assets

$413.1M

Grants

141

Total Given

$32.6M

Edward L Schwab Memorial Foundation

Aberdeen, SD

The Edward L. Schwab Memorial Foundation primarily funds scholarships, with 2025 grants ranging from $1,133 to $86,993 and a median of $2,900. Most funding goes to South Dakota, and applications are distributed through high schools in five specified South Dakota county school districts; general unsolicited requests are not addressed.

Assets

$1.7M

Grants

29

Total Given

$298K

Beatrice Community Hospital Foundation Inc

Beatrice, NE

The mission of Beatrice Community Hospital Foundation, inc. Is to encourage and inspire charitable giving that will enhance patient and family centered healthcare services provided by the beatrice community hospital and health center, inc. And its associated entities.

Assets

$8.4M

Grants

5

Total Given

$306K

The Sunderland Foundation

Overland Park, KS

The Sunderland Foundation supports organizations serving Greater Kansas City, focusing on affordable housing, economic stability, health and behavioral health, youth development, and select legacy institutions. Its 2024 grants ranged from $2,750 to $25 million, with a median of $375,000; it is invitation-only and is not currently accepting applications or proposals.

Assets

$927.0M

Grants

25

Total Given

$102.1M

More similar funders

More Funders in Nebraska

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Northeast Community College Foundation's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Northeast Community College Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?