To fund school projects designed to inspire, motivate and challenge our children to excellence in the classroom and beyond. It is our purpose to provide enriched learning experiences for every child in the newton community schools.
Key facts about Newton Community Educational Foundation
In short: Newton Community Educational Foundation reported $45K in grants paid in 2025 (a total; its filing lists no individual grants). Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.
- EIN
- 42-1374689
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990, 2025
- Grants paid (2025)
- $45,262 — reported as a total on the IRS filing, without an itemized list
- Total assets
- $1,436,780
Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.
Financial Overview
From 2025 IRS Form 990 · View filing
Total Assets
$1.4M
+9.2% YoY
Grants Paid (reported total)
$45K
+9.4% YoY
Revenue
$52K
-37.5% YoY
Net Investment Income
—
How Newton Community Educational Foundation gives
- Giving grew 36% from 2021 to 2024. Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.
About Newton Community Educational Foundation
Based on IRS filings
Newton Community Educational Foundation is a public charity focused on Education, based in Newton, IA. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $1.4M in total assets. In 2025, it reported $45K in grants paid as a total on its IRS filing, without an itemized list.
Focus Areas
Ready to take the next step with Newton Community Educational Foundation?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
States
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $24K (2022) to $76K (2023). In 2025 it reported $45K in grants paid, as a total without an itemized list.
Hatched bars: grants paid as reported on the IRS filing, which lists no individual grants for that year.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Grant Size Distribution
3 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 2 grants of 3 (67%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
No grants recorded for 2025.
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Metric | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $1,436,780 | $1,316,165 | $1,222,145 |
| Revenue | $52,182 | $83,511 | $13,985 |
| Expenses | $57,721 | $65,300 | $92,904 |
| Net Investment Income | — | — | — |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS May 15, 2020)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS May 13, 2021)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS May 15, 2022)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS May 13, 2023)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS May 15, 2024)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS May 13, 2025)
- Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 15, 2026)
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Newton Community Educational Foundation is led by Kelly Sorenson, President on every filing since 2024; none of the 11 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Kelly Sorenson
President
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Desiree Cameron
Director
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Mark Allen
Board Member
President → Board Member, 2022
On filings since 2019
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Abby Lamont
Board Member
On filings since 2021
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Amy Doerring
Board Member
On filings since 2021
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Christine Dawson
Secretary
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Graham Sullivan
Treasurer
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Ray Whipple
Vice President
Board Member → Vice President, 2022
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Tom Messinger
Board Member
On filings since 2021
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Lori Gilmore
Nhs Alumni Representative
On filings since 2022
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Robbie Robinson
Board Member
On filings since 2022
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (3)
- Former: Jordan Bell (2021–2023) — President
- Former: Bruce Hoffmeier (2019–2021) — Vice President
- Former: Mark Hallam (2021) — Board Member
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Frequently asked questions about Newton Community Educational Foundation
How much does Newton Community Educational Foundation give each year?
Newton Community Educational Foundation reported $45K in grants paid in 2025 on its 2025 IRS Form 990, as a total without an itemized list of grants. In 2024 it gave $41K across 1 grant.
How large is Newton Community Educational Foundation?
Newton Community Educational Foundation reported $1.4M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $52K.
What is Newton Community Educational Foundation?
Newton Community Educational Foundation is a public charity focused on Education, based in Newton, IA. It holds $1.4M in total assets as of 2025.
Where does Newton Community Educational Foundation operate?
Newton Community Educational Foundation has awarded grants in Iowa.
What is Newton Community Educational Foundation's EIN?
Newton Community Educational Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 42-1374689. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.
Here's the math on researching Newton Community Educational Foundation by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Newton Community Educational Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
Community Fdn of Greater Des Moines
Des Moines, IA
The Community Foundation of Greater Des Moines funds nonprofits through competitive grants for community impact, organizational capacity, and collaboration, with 2026 priorities including housing, transportation, health, economic opportunity, and inclusion. Giving varies widely: 2024 grants had a median of $12,889, while Capacity Building grants are capped at $7,500. Its programs serve Greater Des Moines and, through an affiliated foundation, Adair County; unsolicited requests are not addressed in the profile.
Assets
$918.7M
Grants
1,259
Total Given
$55.7M
Pella Rolscreen Foundation
Pella, IA
The Pella Rolscreen Foundation supports charitable organizations working in education and community betterment, including civic, cultural, social, and physical-environment programs in communities where Pella Corporation employees live. Large grants generally range from $10,000 to $50,000 and typically cover no more than 25% of project costs; its 2024 grants had a median of $1,029. It accepts unsolicited requests from eligible 501(c)(3) nonprofits and government entities in communities where Pella has manufacturing plants.
Assets
$22.4M
Grants
433
Total Given
$1.9M
Prairie Meadows Race Track and Casino
Altoona, IA
Prairie Meadows funds arts and culture, education, economic development, human services, and youth sports and recreation through grants for projects in central Iowa and across Iowa. Its 2024 grant median was $15,000; program awards range from $100 to $1 million, depending on the grant program.
Assets
$327.6M
Grants
409
Total Given
$33.0M
Iowa Health Care Association Foundation
West Des Moines, IA
The Iowa Health Care Association Foundation funds scholarships and career-education resources for employees of member long-term-care organizations and Iowa high school students pursuing long-term-care careers. Its typical giving level varies: it awarded 287 grants totaling about $4.1 million in 2024, and the listed high school scholarship is $2,000. Its programs focus on Iowa; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$329K
Grants
287
Total Given
$4.1M
New Charitable Foundation
Fort Dodge, IA
Assets
$6K
Grants
264
Total Given
$294K
Quad Cities Community Foundation
Bettendorf, IA
The Quad Cities Community Foundation supports charitable programs in health and human services, education, arts and culture, the environment, youth services, and community development. It primarily serves Rock Island County, Illinois, and Scott County, Iowa, with affiliate funds reaching nearby counties; its 2024 grants had a median of $15,000, while its Operations and Programs Grants accept requests of $5,000–$20,000.
Assets
$209.7M
Grants
263
Total Given
$7.5M
Ottumwa Regional Legacy Foundation Inc
Ottumwa, IA
The foundation funds community projects in Ottumwa and Wapello County, including work in health, education, housing, economic prosperity, and quality of life. Its annual grantmaking averages about $3 million; Bright Ideas grants are typically $2,500–$30,000, while awards overall vary widely. Bright Ideas accepts applications from eligible nonprofits; strategic grants are by invitation only.
Assets
—
Grants
216
Total Given
$3.1M
Community Foundation of Greater Dubuque
Dubuque, IA
The Community Foundation of Greater Dubuque funds projects addressing community needs, including health, education, support for vulnerable people, nonprofit capacity-building, and collaboration, primarily in Northeast Iowa and through local affiliate foundations. Its 2024 grants had a median of $13,500, though awards varied widely; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$165.4M
Grants
211
Total Given
$8.0M
Greater Cedar Rapids Community
Cedar Rapids, IA
The Greater Cedar Rapids Community Foundation funds nonprofit programs, operating support, endowments, and urgent needs across fields including education, health and human services, arts and culture, and the environment, serving Linn County. Its 2024 grants ranged from $5,100 to $371,323, with a median of $17,656. It accepts applications through competitive grant programs and some donor-advised funds.
Assets
$229.3M
Grants
209
Total Given
$9.4M
The Merchants Bonding Company Foundation
West Des Moines, IA
Assets
$1.7M
Grants
186
Total Given
$469K
The Seidler Foundation
Des Moines, IA
The Seidler Foundation funds need-based postsecondary scholarships for students in specified Iowa school districts, along with selected arts and culture projects and efforts to reduce childhood hunger and improve food access. In 2024, grants ranged from $500 to $300,000, with a median of $10,000; giving is concentrated in Iowa, Wyoming, Missouri, and Kansas. It accepts written requests, and its filing says grants are not restricted to preselected organizations.
Assets
—
Grants
175
Total Given
$4.1M
RSM US Foundation
Davenport, IA
The RSM US Foundation funds youth education and programs addressing hunger, housing, and health challenges, along with related scholarships, disaster relief, and employee-volunteer grants. Its 2024 grants ranged from $5,255 to $257,835, with a median of $21,534, and were distributed across the United States, with some Power of Love support reaching other countries. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$17.5M
Grants
165
Total Given
$5.5M
More Funders in Iowa
Newton Community Educational Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?