National Indigenous Womens Resource Center Inc
The National Indigenous Women’s Resource Center (NIWRC) is a Native-led nonprofit based in Lame Deer, Montana. It provides national leadership, technical assistance, training, resources, and policy development to support safety for Native women, children, and communities and to strengthen Tribal sovereignty. Its IRS filing identifies it as a public charity.
Key facts about National Indigenous Womens Resource Center Inc
In short: National Indigenous Womens Resource Center Inc gave $2.7M across 25 grants in 2025 (avg $107K), top state South Dakota. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.
- EIN
- 27-4971660
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990, 2025
- Annual giving (2025)
- $2,680,791
- Grants made (2025)
- 25
- Average grant
- $107,232
- Median grant
- $49,381
- Total assets
- $12,614,435
- Primary geography
- South Dakota (23% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.
Financial Overview
From 2025 IRS Form 990 · View filing
Total Assets
$12.6M
+12.2% YoY
Annual Giving
$2.7M
+49.7% YoY
Grant Count
25
Avg Grant Size
$107K
Mission & Focus Areas
NIWRC’s stated mission is to promote safety for Native women and communities by supporting culturally grounded grassroots advocacy. Its work includes supporting Tribal Nations, programs, advocates, and survivors addressing domestic and intimate partner violence, sexual violence, missing and murdered Indigenous women, stalking, sex trafficking, and related prevention and response efforts.
Its 2025 grants show support for organizations with varied services and approaches. For example, Women of Nations describes its work as providing culturally specific emergency services and support to people affected by domestic violence and sexual assault, alongside education and prevention. Mother Nation describes offering culturally informed healing, advocacy, mentorship, and homelessness prevention for Native and Indigenous women. The Tribal Law and Policy Institute describes providing publications, training, and technical assistance to Native nations and Tribal justice systems.
Grantmaking
In filing year 2025, NIWRC reported 25 grants totaling **$2,680,791**. Grant amounts ranged from **$5,450 to $360,136**, with a median of **$49,381**. The largest listed awards were:
Review Cycle
, and technical assistance is available during the application process. The active RFP listed on the website is for a contractor to plan Phase 1 of the 2027 Women Are Sacred Conference; it is an event-planning opportunity, not a grant award.
How to Apply
. The active RFP listed on the website is for a contractor to plan Phase 1 of the 2027 Women Are Sacred Conference; it is an event-planning opportunity, not a grant award.
Ready to take the next step with National Indigenous Womens Resource Center Inc?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
NIWRC is based in Montana. Its 2025 grant dollars went to recipients in multiple states; the largest reported shares were South Dakota (23%), California (19%), Minnesota (12%), Utah (11%), and Wisconsin (8%).
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 25 itemized grants.
States
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2024 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $1.8M (2024) to $2.7M (2025). In 2025 it made 25 grants totaling $2.7M.
Hatched bars: grants paid as reported on the IRS filing, which lists no individual grants for that year.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Strong Hearted Native Women's Coalition Inc ($360K). Together the top 10 received $2.2M.
Grant Size Distribution
25 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 13 grants of 25 (52%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Strong Hearted Native Women's Coalition Inc Valley Center, CA | General Support | $360,136 |
| Utah Navajo Health Systems Inc Blanding, UT | General Support | $288,166 |
| Wac'ang'a Sisseton, SD | General Support | $230,560 |
| Women of Nations Saint Paul, MN | General Support | $221,450 |
| Waking Women Healing Institute Gresham, WI | General Support | $212,798 |
| Wiconi Wawakiya Inc Fort Thompson, SD | General Support | $209,827 |
| Where All Women Are Honored Rapid City, SD | General Support | $186,171 |
| Mother Nation Seattle, WA | General Support | $183,633 |
| Gray Oak LLC Saco, ME | General Support | $170,102 |
| Minnesota Indian Women Sexual Assault Coalition St. Paul, MN | General Support | $94,795 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants reported |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $12,614,435 | $8,324,187 | $7,299,068 | $2,680,791 across 25 grants |
| 2024 | $11,240,324 | $7,019,964 | $5,838,476 | 0 grants |
| 2023 | $9,842,527 | $6,025,934 | $4,671,715 | 0 grants |
| Metric | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $12,614,435 | $11,240,324 | $9,842,527 |
| Revenue | $8,324,187 | $7,019,964 | $6,025,934 |
| Expenses | $7,299,068 | $5,838,476 | $4,671,715 |
| Net Investment Income | $449,004 | $1,094,937 | $107,561 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS August 4, 2026)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS August 25, 2025)
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2025 filing lists Lucy Simpson as chief executive officer; Kerri Colfer as director of policy and research; Lora Helman as chief financial officer; and Tang Cheam as director of information technology and operations. The listed board officers are Jacqueline Tai Simpson, chair; Carmen O’Leary, vice chair; Leanne Guy, secretary; and Brandi Liberty, treasurer. Randi Barreiro and Linda Thompson are also listed as directors.
National Indigenous Womens Resource Center Inc is led by Lucy Simpson, Chief Executive Officer since 2025 (on filings since 2019); 4 of 10 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Lucy Simpson
Chief Executive Officer
Executive Director → Chief Executive Officer, 2025
On filings since 2019
40 hrs/week
$112K (2019) → $175K (2025)
Jacqueline Tai Simpson
Chair
New on the 2025 filing
3 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Kerri Colfer
Director of Policy & Research
New on the 2025 filing
40 hrs/week
$122K (2025)
Tang Cheam
Director of Information Technology & Operations
New on the 2025 filing
40 hrs/week
$106K (2025)
Randi Barreiro
Director
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Linda Thompson
Director
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Lora Helman
Chief Financial Officer
New on the 2025 filing
40 hrs/week
$121K (2025)
Carmen O'Leary
Vice Chair
Vice Chair → Interim Chair, 2022
Interim Chair → Vice Chair, 2024
On filings since 2019
3 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Leanne Guy
Secretary
On filings since 2019
3 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Brandi Liberty
Treasurer
On filings since 2024
3 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (6)
- Former: tai simpson (2024) — Chair
- Former: Wanette Lee (2019–2023) — Director
- Former: Wendy Schlater (2019–2023) — Treasurer
- Former: Cherrah Ridge-Giles (2019–2021) — Board Chair
- Former: Deborah Parker (2019–2021) — Director
- Former: Lenora Hootch (2019–2020) — Director
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2025 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $175K, to Lucy Simpson (Chief Executive Officer). 4 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.
Contact
Mailing address: 12 Bow Strings St, Lame Deer, MT 59043
Phone: (406) 477-3896
Website: https://niwrc.org
Frequently asked questions about National Indigenous Womens Resource Center Inc
How much does National Indigenous Womens Resource Center Inc give each year?
National Indigenous Womens Resource Center Inc gave $2.7M across 25 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it reported $1.8M in grants paid.
What is National Indigenous Womens Resource Center Inc's typical grant size?
National Indigenous Womens Resource Center Inc's median grant in 2025 was $49,381, and its average grant was $107,232, across 25 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990.
Where does National Indigenous Womens Resource Center Inc give grants?
National Indigenous Womens Resource Center Inc's top state is South Dakota, with 23% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990. The next largest states were California (19%) and Minnesota (12%). The most frequent recipient cities were Saint Paul, MN (2 grants), Denver, CO (2 grants) and Albuquerque, NM (2 grants).
Does National Indigenous Womens Resource Center Inc give general operating support?
Yes: 100% of National Indigenous Womens Resource Center Inc's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (25 of 25) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990.
Who are National Indigenous Womens Resource Center Inc's largest grantees?
National Indigenous Womens Resource Center Inc's largest 2025 grantees include Strong Hearted Native Women's Coalition Inc ($360,136), Utah Navajo Health Systems Inc ($288,166) and Wac'ang'a ($230,560), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. Together they received 33% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is National Indigenous Womens Resource Center Inc?
National Indigenous Womens Resource Center Inc reported $12.6M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $8.3M.
What does National Indigenous Womens Resource Center Inc fund?
NIWRC’s stated mission is to promote safety for Native women and communities by supporting culturally grounded grassroots advocacy. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from National Indigenous Womens Resource Center Inc?
National Indigenous Womens Resource Center Inc has no public application process in the sources Grantable reviewed. Check niwrc.org for current guidelines, or contact the foundation directly before submitting a request.
What is National Indigenous Womens Resource Center Inc's EIN?
National Indigenous Womens Resource Center Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 27-4971660. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Here's the math on researching National Indigenous Womens Resource Center Inc by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in National Indigenous Womens Resource Center Inc's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
The Notah Begay III Foundation Inc
Santa Ana Pueblo, NM
The Notah Begay III Foundation's (nb3f) mission is to ensure native children achieve their full potential by advancing cultures of native American community health.
Assets
$15.5M
Grants
1
Total Given
$75K
National Council of Urban Indian Health
Washington, DC
The National Council of Urban Indian Health (NCUIH) is a national 501(c)(3) organization devoted to the support and development of quality, accessible, and culturally competent health services for American indians and Alaska natives (ai/ans) living in urban settings.
Assets
$4.1M
Grants
9
Total Given
$184K
NDN Collective Inc
Rapid City, SD
NDN Collective funds Indigenous-led organizations, Tribes, groups, projects, and individuals working on self-determination, justice, and equity, including land and water protection, food systems, language and cultural revitalization, and frontline organizing. Its 2024 itemized grants had a median of $50,000 and ranged from $5,600 to $1 million; the 2025 Community Self-Determination process was not open to new applicants and was limited to current or former grantee-partners.
Assets
$49.7M
Grants
72
Total Given
$10.3M
Great Plains Tribal Leaders Health
Rapid City, SD
Great Plains Tribal Leaders Health funds tribal health programs, including community and behavioral health, recovery, prevention, and health education, in the Great Plains. Its 2025 grants ranged from $10,000 to $156,226, with a median of $60,952, and went to organizations in South Dakota, Nebraska, and North Dakota; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$264.6M
Grants
12
Total Given
$772K
Seva Foundation
Berkeley, CA
Seva Foundation funds sustainable eye-care programs, including vision centers, children’s eye care, provider training, technology, and efforts to prevent or treat avoidable blindness. Its 2025 grants ranged from $10,000 to $343,058, with a median of $48,500, supporting work in the United States and internationally. It invited applications through its 2025 Innovation Challenge, but the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests outside that past program.
Assets
$31.5M
Grants
16
Total Given
$1.1M
First Nations Development Institute
Longmont, CO
First Nations Development Institute funds tribes, Native nonprofits, and Native individuals working in areas such as Native foods and health, youth, financial empowerment, community institutions, and Native lands. Its 2025 grants ranged from $6,000 to $750,000, with a median of $50,000, supporting Native communities across 46 states, Washington, D.C., American Samoa, and Guam; it does not accept unsolicited requests and accepts applications only through Requests for Proposals.
Assets
$116.2M
Grants
279
Total Given
$14.6M
Otto Bremer Trust
St. Paul, MN
The Otto Bremer Trust funds organizations and projects addressing community needs and opportunities, including health care and social services, in Minnesota, Montana, North Dakota, and Wisconsin. In 2025, grants ranged from $3,500 to $4.2 million, with a median of $150,000. It does not accept unsolicited requests or direct grant applications; Community Responsive Fund grants are offered through selected intermediaries.
Assets
$1.4B
Grants
180
Total Given
$57.2M
Williams-Malone Foundation Inc
Omaha, NE
The Williams-Malone Foundation supports charitable organizations across varied areas, with recent grants concentrated in Colorado, Montana, and California. Its 2024 grants ranged from $5,000 to $60,000, with a median of $15,000. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$11.2M
Grants
31
Total Given
$620K
New Mexico Community Foundation
Santa Fe, NM
The New Mexico Community Foundation funds New Mexico communities through grants addressing areas such as education, rural development, Indigenous-led work, the environment, health, arts, and family well-being. In 2024, grants ranged from $5,500 to $265,000, with a median of $30,000; the information provided does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$60.8M
Grants
63
Total Given
$3.0M
Ch Robinson Worldwide Foundation
Sioux Falls, SD
The C.H. Robinson Worldwide Foundation funds community needs, economic opportunity, supply-chain and logistics initiatives, and environmental sustainability, with Twin Cities grants also supporting hunger, shelter, K–12 education, and workforce development in Minneapolis–St. Paul. In 2024, grants ranged from $750 to $2.69 million, with a median of $5,000. Strategic Industry grants are invitation-only; Twin Cities organizations can apply online, and no general policy on unsolicited requests is stated.
Assets
$18.2M
Grants
87
Total Given
$4.0M
Women's Foundation of Minnesota
Minneapolis, MN
The Women’s Foundation of Minnesota funds community-led work advancing gender and racial justice, including safety, leadership, well-being and reproductive justice, and economic justice, primarily across Minnesota. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,250 to $340,000, with a median of $20,375; several programs are invitation-only, and the profile does not describe a general unsolicited application process.
Assets
$39.4M
Grants
90
Total Given
$3.9M
Seventh Generation Fund for Indigenous Peoples Inc
Eureka, CA
Seventh Generation Fund supports grassroots Indigenous initiatives focused on cultural revitalization, community well-being, sovereignty, and land, water, and climate protection. Its 2024 grants ranged from $10,000 to $50,000, with a median of $35,000, and supported communities across multiple states; one rapid-response program serves Indigenous communities worldwide. It is not currently accepting grant proposals, though it lists some programs as open.
Assets
$31.7M
Grants
145
Total Given
$5.2M
More Funders in Montana
National Indigenous Womens Resource Center Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?