National Automobile Dealers Association
Represents and lobbies on behalf of franchised car and truck dealers before the US Congress and executive branch on legislative and regulatory matters. Also represents dealers in certain interactions with car and truck manufacturers. NADA provides education to its members on important legal, legislative and regulatory issues impacting their business. NADA provides various education and training services to its members to help them improve their sales, service and operational skills.
Key facts about National Automobile Dealers Association
In short: National Automobile Dealers Association gave $117K across 6 grants in 2024 (avg $20K), top state Nevada. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990.
- EIN
- 53-0114725
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990, 2024
- Annual giving (2024)
- $117,085
- Grants made (2024)
- 6
- Average grant
- $19,514
- Median grant
- $16,583
- Total assets
- $456,199,796
- Primary geography
- Nevada (43% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
Data from IRS Form 990, 2024; updated September 2026.
Financial Overview
From 2024 IRS Form 990 · View filing
Total Assets
$456.2M
+7.4% YoY
Annual Giving
$117K
+90.3% YoY
Grant Count
6
+20.0% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$20K
+58.6% YoY
How National Automobile Dealers Association gives
- Giving grew 55% from 2021 to 2024. Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.
About National Automobile Dealers Association
Based on IRS filings
National Automobile Dealers Association is a public charity, based in Tysons, VA. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2024. As of 2024, the organization holds $456.2M in total assets. In 2024, it awarded 6 grants totaling $117K. Net investment income was $12.7M.
Ready to take the next step with National Automobile Dealers Association?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 6 itemized grants.
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $62K (2023) to $132K (2022). In 2024 it made 6 grants totaling $117K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 6 recipients in 2024
The largest 2024 recipient was Junior Achievement of Southern Nevada Inc ($50K). Together the top 6 received $117K.
Grant Size Distribution
31 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 29 grants of 31 (94%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Junior Achievement of Southern Nevada Inc Las Vegas, NV | General Support | $50,000 |
| US Capitol Historical Society Washington, DC | General Support | $20,420 |
| Automotive Hall of Fame Dearborn, MI | General Support | $18,165 |
| Toys for Tots Triangle, VA | General Support | $15,000 |
| Association for Safe International Road Travel Potomac, MD | General Support | $7,500 |
| Competitive Enterprise Institute Washington, DC | General Support | $6,000 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Metric | 2024 | 2023 | 2022 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $456,199,796 | $424,631,342 | $390,294,001 |
| Revenue | $83,843,152 | $75,893,894 | $69,479,584 |
| Expenses | $81,998,836 | $77,242,026 | $72,849,109 |
| Net Investment Income | $12,650,248 | $9,345,426 | $7,164,572 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS November 15, 2021)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS November 9, 2022)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS November 8, 2023)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS October 30, 2024)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS November 12, 2025)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
National Automobile Dealers Association is led by Michael J. Stanton Jr., President & CEO since 2021 (on filings since 2020); 13 of 78 officers listed in 2024 are compensated.
Officers on the 2024 filing
Michael J. Stanton Jr.
President & CEO
Senior Vice President & Chief Operating Officer → President & CEO, 2021
On filings since 2020
40 hrs/week
$531K (2020) → $1.6M (2024)
Gary Gilchrist
Chairman
Treasurer → Vice Chairman, 2023
Vice Chairman → Chairman, 2024
On filings since 2020
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Annette DiLorenzo Thayer
Director
Chairman & Dealership Operations Committee → Director, 2021
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Chris Coyle
Director
Board Member - Indiana → Director, 2021
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Danny Renshaw
Director
Vice Chairman Region II → Director, 2021
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Donald Don Hicks
Director
Board Member - At-Large West → Director, 2021
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
James Jim Marsh
Director
Board Member - Nevada → Director, 2021
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Jeff Aiosa
Director
Board Member - Connecticut → Director, 2021
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Jeffrey Weber
Director
Chairman & Public Affairs Committee → Director, 2021
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
John Emerson
Director
Board Member - Maine → Director, 2021
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
John Mitchell
Director
Board Member - Alabama → Director, 2021
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
John S Oyler
Director
Board Member - Eastern Pennsylvania → Director, 2021
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Joseph Joe Massarelli
Director
Board Member - Metropolitan Chicago → Director, 2021
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Joshua Johnson
Director
Board Member - Wisconsin → Director, 2021
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Kirk Schneider
Director
Vice Chairman Region IV → Director, 2021
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Mark Hebert
Director
Board Member - Louisiana → Director, 2021
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Michael Joe Cannon
Director
Board Member - Mississippi → Director, 2021
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Michael Mike Suttle
Director
Board Member - Virginia → Director, 2021
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Michelle Primm
Director
Board Member - At-Large East → Director, 2021
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Rhett Ricart
Director
Chairman → Immediate Past Chairman, 2021
Immediate Past Chairman → Director, 2023
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Richard Rick DeSilva Sr.
Director
Board Member - New Jersey → Director, 2021
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Rob Cochran
Director
Board Member - Western Pennsylvania → Director, 2021
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Robert Tasca Jr.
Director
Board Member - Rhode Island → Director, 2021
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Roger Elswick
Director
Board Member - Southern Texas → Director, 2021
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Samuel Ted Smith III
Director
Board Member - Arkansas → Director, 2021
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Stan Masamitsu
Director
Board Member - Hawaii → Director, 2021
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Stan McNabb
Director
Board Member - Tennessee → Director, 2021
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Thomas Tom Bloomfield
Director
Board Member - Oklahoma → Director, 2021
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Tracy Trace Beck
Director
Board Member - South Dakota → Director, 2021
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Valerie Bowen
Director
Board Member - At-Large West → Director, 2021
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
William Bill Willis Jr.
Director
Director → Secretary, 2023
Secretary → Director, 2024
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Bobby Sight
Director
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Chris Meier
Director
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Colleen McDonald
Director
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
David Taylor
Director
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Donald Kaltschmidt
Director
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
James Rivchin
Director
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
John McClurg
Director
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Mike Alford
Director
Vice Chairman → Immediate Past Chair, 2023
Immediate Past Chair → Director, 2024
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Robert Brogden
Director
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Sandra Fitzgerald Angello
Director
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
C Scott Dube
Director
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Charles Ruwart
Director
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
David Hammer
Director
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Frank Hanenberger
Director
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Jeffrey Longbine
Director
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Jesse Peterson
Director
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Lane Nichols
Director
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Mark Normandin
Director
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Matthew Browning
Director
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Nathaniel Sutton
Director
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Ryan Gremore
Director
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Sidney Dillon
Director
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Tony Pack
Director
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Cheryl Bedford
Director
New on the 2024 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Clifford Cicotte
Director
New on the 2024 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Eric Jones
Director
New on the 2024 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Gregory House
Director
New on the 2024 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Jackson Moses
Director
New on the 2024 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Matthew Laughridge
Director
New on the 2024 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Scott Pearson
Director
New on the 2024 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Thomas Johnson
Director
New on the 2024 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Andrew D Koblenz
Executive Vice President Strategic Affairs & Industry Initiatives
Executive Vice President & General Counsel → Executive Vice President Strategic Initiatives, 2023
Executive Vice President Strategic Initiatives → Executive Vice President Strategic Affairs & Industry Initiatives, 2024
On filings since 2020
40 hrs/week
$668K (2020) → $840K (2024)
David W Regan
Executive Vice President Legislative Affairs
Executive Vice President & Legislative Affairs → Executive Vice President Legislative Affairs, 2021
On filings since 2020
40 hrs/week
$633K (2020) → $602K (2024)
James C Minnis
Senior Vice President & General Counsel
Senior Vice President & Associate General Counsel → Senior Vice President & Associate General Co, 2022
Senior Vice President & Associate General Co → Senior Vice President & General Counsel, 2023
On filings since 2020
40 hrs/week
$354K (2020) → $547K (2024)
Jonathan A Collegio
Senior Vice President Public Affairs
Senior Vice President & Public Affairs → Senior Vice President Public Affairs, 2021
On filings since 2020
40 hrs/week
$461K (2020) → $647K (2024)
Joseph L Cowden
Executive Vice President
Executive Vice President & CFO → Executive Vice President, 2024
On filings since 2020
40 hrs/week
$401K (2020) → $566K (2024)
Michael T Regan
Senior Vice President Industry Affairs
Vice President & Industry Affairs → Senior Vice President Industry Affairs, 2021
On filings since 2020
40 hrs/week
$348K (2020) → $541K (2024)
Paul D Metrey
Senior Vice President Regulatory Affairs
Vice President & Regulatory Affairs → Senior Vice President Regulatory Affairs, 2021
On filings since 2020
40 hrs/week
$393K (2020) → $833K (2024)
Ivette Rivera Hayes
Senior Vice President Legislative Affairs
On filings since 2021
40 hrs/week
$397K (2021) → $485K (2024)
John Beckman
Executive Vice President & COO
On filings since 2021
40 hrs/week
$497K (2021) → $568K (2024)
Michael W Harrington
Vice President Legislative Affairs
On filings since 2023
40 hrs/week
$401K (2023) → $413K (2024)
Steve Park
Senior Vice President Dealership Operations
On filings since 2023
40 hrs/week
$496K (2023) → $423K (2024)
Stephen Pugh
Executive Vice President & CFO
New on the 2024 filing
40 hrs/week
$71K (2024)
Geoffrey Pohanka
Immediate Past Chairman
Director → Chairman, 2023
Chairman → Immediate Past Chairman, 2024
On filings since 2020
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Kirtlund Kirt Frye
Treasurer
Board Member - Metropolitan Cleveland → Director, 2021
Director → Treasurer, 2023
On filings since 2020
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Robert Vail
Secretary
Board Member - Metropolitan New York → Director, 2021
Director → Secretary, 2024
On filings since 2020
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Thomas Tom Castriota
Vice Chairman
Secretary → Director, 2023
Director → Vice Chairman, 2024
On filings since 2020
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (35)
- Former: A Foster McKissick III (2020–2023) — Director
- Former: Paul Walser (2020–2023) — Director
- Former: Richard Stephens (2020–2023) — Director
- Former: Steve Middlebrooks (2020–2023) — Director
- Former: Wesley Wes Lutz (2020–2023) — Director
- Former: Hilary Haron (2021–2023) — Director
- Former: Richard Phelps (2021–2023) — Director
- Former: Scott McCandless (2023) — Director
- Former: Brian Hamilton (2020–2022) — Director
- Former: Daniel M. Wilson (2020–2022) — Director
- Former: Desmond Roberts (2020–2022) — Director
- Former: James Jamie Auffenberg Jr. (2020–2022) — Director
- Former: Michael Alford (2020–2022) — Director
- Former: Mitchell H. Jay (2020–2022) — Director
- Former: Richard Dick Hammer (2020–2022) — Director
- Former: Scott Dube (2020–2022) — Director
- Former: Steve Bassett (2020–2022) — Director
- Former: Steven Allwine (2020–2022) — Director
- Former: Timothy Tim Smith (2020–2022) — Director
- Former: Tom Holcombe (2020–2022) — Director
- Former: Andy Crews (2021–2022) — Director
- Former: Dave Moeller (2021–2022) — Director
- Former: Charles Gilchrist (2020) — Immediate Past Chairman
- Former: Dennis Gaudet (2020) — Chairman & Legislative Affairs Committee
- Former: Don Kaltschmidt (2020) — Board Member - Montana
- Former: Greg Galpin (2020) — Board Member - Arizona
- Former: Greg Taylor (2020) — Board Member - Idaho
- Former: H Daniel Jobe (2020) — Board Member - Maryland
- Former: Ivette Rivera (2020) — Senior Vice President & Legislative Affairs
- Former: Jeffrey Jeff Carlson (2020) — Board Member - Colorado
- Former: Kent Scism (2020) — Board Member - Missouri
- Former: Peter Blackstock (2020) — Board Member - Northern California
- Former: Peter Welch (2020) — President & CEO
- Former: robert shuman (2020) — Treasurer
- Former: William Bill Fox (2020) — Board Member - New York
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2024 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2024 filing was $1.6M, to Michael J Stanton (President & CEO). 13 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.
Frequently asked questions about National Automobile Dealers Association
How much does National Automobile Dealers Association give each year?
National Automobile Dealers Association gave $117K across 6 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990. In 2023 it gave $62K across 5 grants.
What is National Automobile Dealers Association's typical grant size?
National Automobile Dealers Association's median grant in 2024 was $16,583, and its average grant was $19,514, across 6 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990.
Where does National Automobile Dealers Association give grants?
National Automobile Dealers Association's top state is Nevada, with 43% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990. The next largest states were District of Columbia (23%) and Michigan (16%). The most frequent recipient cities were Washington, DC (2 grants).
Does National Automobile Dealers Association give general operating support?
Yes: 100% of National Automobile Dealers Association's 2024 grants with a stated purpose (6 of 6) were for general or operating support, per its 2024 IRS Form 990.
Who are National Automobile Dealers Association's largest grantees?
National Automobile Dealers Association's largest 2024 grantees include Junior Achievement of Southern Nevada Inc ($50,000), US Capitol Historical Society ($20,420) and Automotive Hall of Fame ($18,165), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990. Together they received 76% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.
How large is National Automobile Dealers Association?
National Automobile Dealers Association reported $456.2M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $83.8M.
What is National Automobile Dealers Association's EIN?
National Automobile Dealers Association's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 53-0114725. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.
Here's the math on researching National Automobile Dealers Association by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in National Automobile Dealers Association's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Virginia
Aetna Foundation Inc
Hartford, CT
Aetna Foundation supported health and wellness, access to health care, and related community needs; its 2021 grants ranged from $5,000 to $1 million, with a median of $40,000, and went to organizations across multiple states, especially in D.C. and Connecticut. Its 2021 filing was marked final, so it appears to have ended or be winding down grantmaking; that filing said there were no restrictions on who could apply and pointed applicants to its website for application materials.
Assets
—
Grants
65
Total Given
$7.2M
Jack Kent Cooke Foundation
Lansdowne, VA
The Jack Kent Cooke Foundation funds education programs that help exceptionally promising students with financial need, including college access, academic enrichment, and support for talented students. Its 2025 grants ranged from $6 to $515,000, with a median of $7,702; it funds across the United States, with most grant dollars going to Virginia. It does not restrict giving to preselected organizations and directs applicants to its website for current application instructions and eligibility.
Assets
$940.1M
Grants
1,419
Total Given
$25.1M
Donors Trust Inc
Alexandria, VA
Donors Trust supports charities and programs in social welfare, health, the environment, economics, governance, foreign relations, and arts and culture, with a strong emphasis on conservative and libertarian policy and education groups. Its 2024 grants had a median of $50,000, though awards ranged from $5,038 to $35 million, and recipients were concentrated in Washington, D.C., Virginia, New York, Texas, and California. It does not accept unsolicited requests; donor-advisors recommend grants through their accounts.
Assets
$1.4B
Grants
919
Total Given
$282.1M
The Community Foundation Inc
Richmond, VA
The Community Foundation funds health and wellness, education, economic prosperity, and community vibrancy, along with other causes through donor-advised and field-of-interest funds. In 2024, grants ranged from $5,100 to $1,795,000, with a median of $25,000; 78% of grant dollars went to Virginia recipients. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$852.4M
Grants
917
Total Given
$61.8M
America's Charities
Chantilly, VA
AMERICA’S CHARITIES routes donor-directed workplace giving to member charities and provides emergency assistance to eligible employees and people affected by disasters; its reported grants are fiscal-agent disbursements, not awards selected through an application process. In 2025 it reported 808 grants totaling $16.4 million, ranging from $5,000 to $515,354 (median $9,664), to recipients across the United States, with the largest shares going to Pennsylvania, California, Washington, D.C., Virginia, and Arizona. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$36.2M
Grants
808
Total Given
$16.4M
Dominion Energy Charitable Foundation
Richmond, VA
Dominion Energy Charitable Foundation funds eligible 501(c)(3) organizations working in health and human services, education, arts and culture, civic and community development, and the environment within its operating area. Its 2024 grants ranged from $100 to $1 million, with a median of $5,000; it accepts unsolicited requests during spring and fall cycles.
Assets
$2.3M
Grants
773
Total Given
$16.4M
Foster Foundation
Brookneal, VA
Assets
$18.6M
Grants
686
Total Given
$1.3M
JT-Minnie Maude Charitable Trust
Danville, VA
The J.T.–Minnie Maude Charitable Trust funds tax-exempt organizations and government agencies for a wide range of projects that improve quality of life for residents of Danville and/or Pittsylvania County, Virginia. Its 2025 grants had a median of $2,000 and ranged from $500 to $220,000. It accepts unsolicited requests through an online application, with an annual August 1 deadline.
Assets
$51.2M
Grants
678
Total Given
$2.3M
The Nature Conservancy
Arlington, VA
The Nature Conservancy funds conservation work, including land and easement acquisition, research, planning, organizational capacity, and sustainable agriculture, across the United States and internationally. In 2025, its grants had a median of about $31,000, with awards ranging from about $5,000 to $2.1 million; some regional programs offer grants of up to $100,000.
Assets
$10.1B
Grants
671
Total Given
$67.8M
NRA Foundation Inc
Fairfax, VA
The NRA Foundation funds firearm and hunting safety, marksmanship and shooting sports, firearms education, conservation, and related training and community programs at local, state, and national levels, with grants across multiple states. Its 2024 grants had a median of $8,181 (ranging from $5,002 to $7,219,321); a 2027 state grant application is listed as open, though the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$212.2M
Grants
510
Total Given
$13.9M
More Funders in Virginia
National Automobile Dealers Association down — hundreds of funders to go?