Motorcities National Heritage Area Partnership Inc logo

Motorcities National Heritage Area Partnership Inc

Public charity · Grantmaker Detroit, MI EIN: 38-3489636 Website

To tell the story of the automobile industry and labor heritage of southeast & central Michigan.

Key facts about Motorcities National Heritage Area Partnership Inc

In short: Motorcities National Heritage Area Partnership Inc gave $89K across 5 grants in 2025 (avg $18K), mostly in Michigan. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.

EIN
38-3489636
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2025
Annual giving (2025)
$89,473
Grants made (2025)
5
Average grant
$17,895
Median grant
$20,000
Total assets
$555,406
Primary geography
Michigan (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)

Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.

Financial Overview

From 2025 IRS Form 990 · View filing

Total Assets

$555K

-8.3% YoY

Annual Giving

$89K

-11.8% YoY

Grant Count

5

-16.7% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$18K

+5.9% YoY

About Motorcities National Heritage Area Partnership Inc

Based on IRS filings

Motorcities National Heritage Area Partnership Inc is a public charity focused on Community Improvement & Capacity Building, based in Detroit, MI. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $555K in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 5 grants totaling $89K. Net investment income was $3K.

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Motorcities National Heritage Area Partnership Inc?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

1state

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 5 itemized grants.

States

Cities

Hickory CornersDearbornDetroitEastpointeFlintRochesterShelby Township

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$50K$100K$150K0 grants2019 0 grants2020 0 grants2021 0 grants2022 0 grants2023 6 grants2024 5 grants2025

From 2024 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $89K (2025) to $101K (2024). In 2025 it made 5 grants totaling $89K.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 5 recipients in 2025

Model a Ford Foundation Inc: $25KModel a Ford Foundation Inc$25KGilmore Car Museum: $23KGilmore Car Museum$23KFord Piquette Avenue Plant Museum: $20KFord Piquette Avenue PlantMuseum$20KMichigan Military & Technical Historical Society: $11KMichigan Military & TechnicalHistorical Society$11KAutomobile Hall of Fame: $10KAutomobile Hall of Fame$10K

The largest 2025 recipient was Model a Ford Foundation Inc ($25K). Together the top 5 received $89K.

Grant Size Distribution

11 grants across all recorded years

11<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 11 grants of 11 (100%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Model a Ford Foundation Inc Hickory Corners, MIModel a Era Vignettes and Learning Center Garage$25,000
Gilmore Car Museum Hickory Corners, MIHeritage Gallery Exhibit Space$23,175
Ford Piquette Avenue Plant Museum Detroit, MIUpdated Architectural Plan$20,000
Michigan Military & Technical Historical Society Eastpointe, MIRoof Repair$11,382
Automobile Hall of Fame Dearborn, MILast Independent Auto Maker Documentary$9,916

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Revenue
Expenses
Net Investment Income
$0$200K$400K$600K$800K2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 2024 2025
Metric202520242023
Total Assets$555,406$605,835$599,579
Revenue$535,404$674,619$560,667
Expenses$636,544$633,573$589,254
Net Investment Income$3,474$151—

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS February 19, 2025)
  2. Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS August 12, 2026)
  3. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2019–2024

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Motorcities National Heritage Area Partnership Inc is led by Shawn Pomaville-Size, Executive Director on every filing since 2019; 1 of 20 officers listed in 2025 is compensated.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Shawn Pomaville-Size

    Executive Director

    On filings since 2019

    40 hrs/week

    $86K (2019) → $91K (2025)

  • Michael Bauman

    Chairman

    Board Member → Chairman, 2025

    On filings since 2019

    0.4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Don Nicholson

    Board Member

    Board Member → Secretary, 2020

    Secretary → Board Member, 2024

    On filings since 2019

    0.4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Mallory Bower

    Secretary

    Board Member → Secretary, 2024

    On filings since 2019

    0.4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Margaret Hehr

    Board Member

    On filings since 2019

    0.4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Mark Heppner

    Immediate Past Chair

    Vice Chairman → Chairman, 2021

    Chairman → Immediate Past Chair, 2025

    On filings since 2019

    0.4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Nancy Thompson

    Board Member

    Board Member → Treasurer, 2021

    Treasurer → Board Member, 2025

    On filings since 2019

    0.4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Robert Kreipke

    Board Member

    Board Member → Immediate Past Chair, 2020

    Immediate Past Chair → Board Member, 2025

    On filings since 2019

    0.4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Cynthia Jones

    Treasurer

    Board Member → Treasurer, 2025

    On filings since 2021

    0.4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • George Etheridge

    Vice Chairman

    Board Member → Vice Chairman, 2024

    On filings since 2021

    0.4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Sabin Blake

    Board Member

    On filings since 2021

    0.4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Christopher Topham

    Board Member

    On filings since 2023

    0.4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Julie Pingston

    Board Member

    On filings since 2023

    0.4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Paul Corbett

    Board Member

    On filings since 2023

    0.4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Sue Huggett

    Board Member

    On filings since 2023

    0.4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Nick Nerbonne

    Board Member

    On filings since 2024

    0.4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Amber Taylor Left

    Board Member

    New on the 2025 filing

    0.4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • John Weyer Joined

    Board Member

    New on the 2025 filing

    0.4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Ken Heyward Joined

    Board Member

    New on the 2025 filing

    0.4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Russel Dore

    Board Member

    New on the 2025 filing

    0.4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (36)
  • Former: Ed Clemente (2019–2024) — Board Member
  • Former: Mike Twomley (2019–2024) — Board Member
  • Former: Russ Dore (2019–2024) — Board Member
  • Former: Amber Taylor (2022–2024) — Board Member
  • Former: Anindita Partington (2023–2024) — Board Member
  • Former: Harriet Carter (2023–2024) — Board Member
  • Former: Gina Liburdi (2024) — Board Member
  • Former: David Lorenz (2019–2023) — Board Member
  • Former: Chris Pokorski (2020–2023) — Board Member
  • Former: Drew Kelly (2023) — Board Member
  • Former: Sandra Engel (2023) — Vice Chair
  • Former: Sandra Engle (2019–2022) — Vice Chair
  • Former: Jay Follis (2021–2022) — Board Member
  • Former: Tom Rolands (2022) — Board Member
  • Former: David Cartwright (2019–2021) — Board Member
  • Former: Kevin Kirbitz (2019–2021) — Board Member
  • Former: Carolyn Carter (2021) — Board Member
  • Former: Christopher Fields (2021) — Board Member
  • Former: Annie Rubel (2019–2020) — Board Member
  • Former: Bill Nickels (2019–2020) — Treasurer
  • Former: Chris Shires (2019–2020) — Board Member
  • Former: David Elsila (2019–2020) — Board Member
  • Former: Glenn Shagena (2019–2020) — Board Member
  • Former: John Clor (2019–2020) — Board Member
  • Former: John Neilson (2019–2020) — Board Member
  • Former: Michael O'Callaghan (2019–2020) — Chairperson
  • Former: Ted O'Dell (2019–2020) — Board Member
  • Former: Fred Hoffman (2019) — Board Member
  • Former: Georgi-Ann Bargamian (2019) — Board Member
  • Former: Janice Adams (2019) — Board Member
  • Former: Jeff Romig (2019) — Board Member
  • Former: John Dau (2019) — Board Member
  • Former: Ken Kettenbeil (2019) — Board Member
  • Former: Nancy Darga (2019) — Board Member
  • Former: Nancy Finegood (2019) — Board Member
  • Former: Scott Bentley (2019) — Board Member

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Shawn Pomaville-Size — Executive Director: $91KShawn Pomaville-SizeExecutive Director$91K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $91K, to Shawn Pomaville-Size (Executive Director).

Frequently asked questions about Motorcities National Heritage Area Partnership Inc

How much does Motorcities National Heritage Area Partnership Inc give each year?

Motorcities National Heritage Area Partnership Inc gave $89K across 5 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $101K across 6 grants.

What is Motorcities National Heritage Area Partnership Inc's typical grant size?

Motorcities National Heritage Area Partnership Inc's median grant in 2025 was $20,000, and its average grant was $17,895, across 5 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990.

Where does Motorcities National Heritage Area Partnership Inc give grants?

Motorcities National Heritage Area Partnership Inc gives mostly in Michigan: 100% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990 went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Hickory Corners, MI (2 grants).

Does Motorcities National Heritage Area Partnership Inc give general operating support?

Not in 2025: none of the 5 grants with a stated purpose on Motorcities National Heritage Area Partnership Inc's 2025 IRS Form 990 were described as general or operating support.

Who are Motorcities National Heritage Area Partnership Inc's largest grantees?

Motorcities National Heritage Area Partnership Inc's largest 2025 grantees include Model a Ford Foundation Inc ($25,000), Gilmore Car Museum ($23,175) and Ford Piquette Avenue Plant Museum ($20,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. Together they received 76% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.

How large is Motorcities National Heritage Area Partnership Inc?

Motorcities National Heritage Area Partnership Inc reported $555K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $535K.

What is Motorcities National Heritage Area Partnership Inc?

Motorcities National Heritage Area Partnership Inc is a public charity focused on Community Improvement & Capacity Building, based in Detroit, MI. It holds $555K in total assets as of 2025.

What is Motorcities National Heritage Area Partnership Inc's EIN?

Motorcities National Heritage Area Partnership Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 38-3489636. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching Motorcities National Heritage Area Partnership Inc by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Motorcities National Heritage Area Partnership Inc's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

Community Foundation for Southeast Michigan

Detroit, MI

The Community Foundation for Southeast Michigan funds work in economic opportunity, health equity, youth and education, arts and culture, and public space and the environment across Wayne, Oakland, Macomb, Monroe, Washtenaw, St. Clair, and Livingston counties. Its 2024 median grant was $25,000, though awards varied widely; organizations can submit a brief proposal request for its Community Grants Program, with full applications by invitation.

Assets

$1.2B

Grants

938

Total Given

$105.1M

Ronald D & Regina C McNeil Foundation

Lake Zurich, IL

The Ronald D. & Regina C. McNeil Foundation primarily supports education, including scholarships and educational endowments, and also makes grants to charitable organizations. In 2025, organizational grants ranged from $250 to $35,000, with a median of $1,165, and went to recipients in several states, especially Hawaii. It gives only to preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited funding requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$938K

Grants

14

Total Given

$59K

Elizabeth Allan & Warren Shelden Fund

Grosse Pointe, MI

The fund supports nonprofits in health care, youth, education, hunger relief, the environment, arts, and community work, primarily in Michigan, with most grants going to the Detroit area. Its 2024 grants ranged from $7,500 to $1.1 million, with a median of $25,000. It has no formal application procedure; submissions are preferred in November, and the fund does not award grants to individuals.

Assets

$23.5M

Grants

57

Total Given

$4.1M

The Driker Family Foundation

Detroit, MI

The Driker Family Foundation’s grants supported Jewish literature and culture, workforce development and behavioral health, arts, education, and other charitable work. Its 2023 grants ranged from $100 to $100,500, with a median of $3,000; 70% of grant dollars went to Michigan and 30% to Massachusetts. It funded only preselected organizations, did not accept unsolicited requests, and ceased operating on December 31, 2023.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

—

Grants

11

Total Given

$258K

Michigan Humanities Council

Marshall, MI

The Michigan Humanities Council funds public humanities programs that bring people together through stories, history, culture, and conversation, often through collaboration among cultural, educational, and community organizations. It supports Michigan projects, with reported grants typically ranging from $8,925 to $20,000; Bridging Michigan Grants offer up to $2,500. The profile describes application routes for specific programs but does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Assets

$1.1M

Grants

17

Total Given

$254K

Margaret Dunning Foundation

Traverse City, MI

The Margaret Dunning Foundation funds a range of community projects, including education and vocational training, arts and cultural venues, facility improvements, and services for children and people with disabilities. Its 2025 grants ranged from $10,000 to $70,000, with a median of $30,000; 90% of funding went to Michigan, with the rest going to California, Florida, and Massachusetts. It accepts written applications stating the purpose, and the filing says it does not limit giving to preselected organizations.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$25.2M

Grants

33

Total Given

$1.1M

The Kresge Foundation

Troy, MI

The Kresge Foundation funds nonprofits working to expand equity and opportunity in U.S. cities, across arts and culture, education, environment, health, human services and community development, with particular focus on Detroit, Memphis, New Orleans and Fresno. Its 2024 grants ranged from $150 to $5 million, with a median of $140,000; it most often invites applicants, though some programs issue open calls, and its Social Investment Practice does not accept unsolicited proposals.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$4.0B

Grants

800

Total Given

$170.0M

The Stephen F & Camilla T Brauer

Chesterfield, MO

The foundation supports a range of charitable organizations, including educational institutions and community groups, primarily in Missouri. In 2024, its 84 grants ranged from $100 to $400,000, with a median of $1,000. It gives only to preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$5.2M

Grants

84

Total Given

$844K

Rabaut Family Foundation

Great Falls, VA

The Rabaut Family Foundation supports organizations working in areas including military-family scholarships, education, mental health, food access, and cultural institutions. Its 2025 grants ranged from $1,000 to $150,000, with a median of $8,093, and went to organizations in multiple states, especially Washington, DC, Texas, New York, and Virginia. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$5.7M

Grants

30

Total Given

$673K

United Jewish Foundation

Bloomfield Hills, MI

The United Jewish Foundation supports Jewish community continuity, including Jewish organizations, older adults, education, children, medical research, and related services. Its 2025 grants had a median of $18,000, though awards ranged widely; 87% of grant dollars went to Michigan, with some support elsewhere in the U.S. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$761.7M

Grants

274

Total Given

$43.6M

Richard R Dossin Family Foundation

Grosse Pointe Shores, MI

The foundation supports charitable organizations working in areas including health care, vision services, historical preservation, education, and community programs, with most of its giving in Michigan. Its 2025 grants ranged from $500 to $50,000, with a median of $5,500; it funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$4.9M

Grants

18

Total Given

$223K

National Automobile Dealers Association

Tysons, VA

Represents and lobbies on behalf of franchised car and truck dealers before the US Congress and executive branch on legislative and regulatory matters. Also represents dealers in certain interactions with car and truck manufacturers. NADA provides education to its members on important legal, legislative and regulatory issues impacting their business. NADA provides various education and training services to its members to help them improve their sales, service and operational skills.

Assets

$456.2M

Grants

6

Total Given

$117K

More Funders in Michigan

Motorcities National Heritage Area Partnership Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?