Lila a Lilly Foundation Inc
Lila a Lilly Foundation Inc is a private foundation, based in Portland, OR. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $553K in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 9 grants totaling $63K. Net investment income was $34K.
Lila a Lilly Foundation Inc at a glance
In short: Lila a Lilly Foundation Inc gave $63K across 9 grants in 2025 (avg $7K), mostly in Oregon. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- Annual giving (2025)
- $63,000
- +5.0% vs 2024
- Grants made (2025)
- 9
- +125.0% vs 2024
- Average grant
- $7,000
- -53.3% vs 2024
- Median grant
- $5,000
- Total assets
- $553,482
- -4.1% vs 2024
- Primary geography
- Oregon (76% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.
Who Lila a Lilly Foundation Inc funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 6 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Shu Ren of Portland Inc ($20K). Together the top 6 received $63K.
Grant Size Distribution
28 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 28 grants of 28 (100%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 9 itemized grants.
Cities
How Lila a Lilly Foundation Inc gives
- Giving grew 40% from 2022 to 2025. Method
- In 2025 it paid out 134% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $40K (2021) to $63K (2025). In 2025 it made 9 grants totaling $63K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Shu Ren of Portland Inc Portland, OR | To further their mission. | $20,000 |
| Jin Ren Portland, OR | To further their mission. | $10,000 |
| Gary Sinise Foundation Nashville, TN | To further their mission. | $10,000 |
| Gary Sinise Foundation Nashville, TN | To further their mission. | $5,000 |
| Community Music Center Portland, OR | To further their mission. | $5,000 |
| Grover Cleveland High School Portland, OR | To further their mission. | $5,000 |
| Portland Public Schools Portland, OR | To further their mission. | $3,000 |
| Grover Cleveland High School Portland, OR | To further their mission. | $3,000 |
| Grover Cleveland High School Portland, OR | To further their mission. | $2,000 |
Ready to take the next step with Lila a Lilly Foundation Inc?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Qualifying Distributions | Net Investment Income | Distributable Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $553,482 | $49,129 | $78,457 | $63,000 | 9 | $63,000 | $33,672 | $46,887 |
| 2024 | $577,236 | $87,939 | $76,744 | $60,000 | 4 | $60,000 | $71,195 | $41,985 |
| 2023 | $538,050 | $79,678 | $72,121 | $57,000 | 6 | $57,000 | $64,557 | $41,056 |
| 2022 | $562,323 | $53,007 | $61,183 | $45,000 | 5 | $45,000 | $36,824 | $38,630 |
| 2021 | $567,945 | $99,825 | $55,638 | $40,000 | 4 | $40,000 | $84,187 | $33,458 |
| 2020 | $529,253 | $-25,176 | $72,608 | $58,500 | 7 | — | $2,876 | $36,818 |
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Lila a Lilly Foundation Inc reported a distributable amount of $47K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Lila a Lilly Foundation Inc is led by Matthew A. Healy, President on every filing since 2020; none of the 3 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Matthew A. Healy
President
On filings since 2020
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Dean M. Shyshlak
Secretary - Treasurer
On filings since 2024
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Grace Healy
Vice President
On filings since 2024
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (2)
- Former: Aline Randle (2020–2023) — Vice President
- Former: J. Randall Pinegar (2020–2023) — Treasurer
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Frequently asked questions about Lila a Lilly Foundation Inc
How much does Lila a Lilly Foundation Inc give each year?
Lila a Lilly Foundation Inc gave $63K across 9 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $60K across 4 grants.
What is Lila a Lilly Foundation Inc's typical grant size?
Lila a Lilly Foundation Inc's median grant in 2025 was $5,000, and its average grant was $7,000, across 9 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Where does Lila a Lilly Foundation Inc give grants?
Lila a Lilly Foundation Inc gives mostly in Oregon: 76% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest state was Tennessee (24%). The most frequent recipient cities were Portland, OR (7 grants) and Nashville, TN (2 grants).
Does Lila a Lilly Foundation Inc give general operating support?
Not in 2025: none of the 9 grants with a stated purpose on Lila a Lilly Foundation Inc's 2025 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "To further their mission." (9 grants).
Who are Lila a Lilly Foundation Inc's largest grantees?
Lila a Lilly Foundation Inc's largest 2025 grantees include Shu Ren of Portland Inc ($20,000), Gary Sinise Foundation ($15,000 across 2 grants) and Jin Ren ($10,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 71% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is Lila a Lilly Foundation Inc?
Lila a Lilly Foundation Inc reported $553K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $63K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $47K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What is Lila a Lilly Foundation Inc's EIN?
Lila a Lilly Foundation Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 35-6044315. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.
Data update history
(2)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 13, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Lila a Lilly Foundation Inc's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
The Harold & Arlene Schnitzer Care
Portland, OR
The Harold & Arlene Schnitzer CARE Foundation supports arts and culture, youth, education, medical, social service, and community activities, with most funding in Oregon but grants also going to organizations in states including New York and California. Its 2024 grants ranged from $364 to $1,970,998, with a median of $6,056. It says it funds preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests, though a separate Schnitzer Cares program has offered time-limited public applications for eligible nonprofits serving Oregon residents.
Assets
$104.8M
Grants
245
Total Given
$8.2M
United Way of the Columbia-Willamette
Portland, OR
United Way of the Columbia-Willamette funds early learning, housing stability, disaster resilience, volunteerism, and civic engagement, with a focus on equity and community needs. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,168 to $1,565,638, with a median of $27,326, and primarily supported work in Oregon; its service area also includes parts of Washington and Central Oregon. The 2024–2026 Civic Engagement & Advocacy Fund accepted applications, but that application period is closed; no general unsolicited-request policy is stated.
Assets
$43.1M
Grants
133
Total Given
$15.6M
The Collins Foundation
Portland, OR
The Collins Foundation funds Oregon organizations working on equity and community well-being, including efforts in education, health, arts and culture, environmental protection, and child development. Its 2024 grants had a median of $40,000; single-year GO Grants are typically $25,000–$100,000, averaging $75,000. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$234.9M
Grants
209
Total Given
$10.8M
The Albertsons Companies Foundation
Pleasanton, CA
The foundation funds local organizations working on hunger relief, youth and education, health and human services, veterans, and support for people with special needs, with most funding staying in Albertsons’ communities. Giving varies widely: 2025 grants had a median of $15,750, while some local programs typically award $500–$5,000. Its reach spans multiple states, with the largest share of 2025 grant dollars going to California; some regional programs describe application and review processes, but the profile does not state whether the foundation generally accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$79.9M
Grants
800
Total Given
$55.8M
The Oregon Community Foundation
Portland, OR
The Oregon Community Foundation funds Oregon nonprofits and community-serving projects across education, health, arts and culture, housing, economic and community vitality, and the environment. Its 2024 grants had a median of $25,000, with awards ranging from about $5,000 to nearly $8 million; applications are accepted through specific grant programs and cycles, but the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$3.3B
Grants
2,149
Total Given
$171.4M
OCF Joseph E Weston Public Foundation
Portland, OR
The foundation supports nonprofits serving children, working-poor people, people with disabilities, seniors, and people experiencing homelessness, and also awards school scholarships. It primarily funds Oregon, with grants and scholarships also serving Southwest Washington; in 2024, grants ranged from $5,500 to $3,487,608, with a median of $21,500. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$637.5M
Grants
531
Total Given
$23.3M
More similar funders
More Funders in Oregon
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from Lila a Lilly Foundation Inc's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
Lila a Lilly Foundation Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?